Support for IBB soars in Enugu

By Chukwudi Achife,

Bureau Chief, Enugu

More support have continued to come the way of the presidential ambition of former military president, General Ibrahim Babangida as hundreds of people are daily registering to be members of the Nigerian Youths for Babangida (NAYOB) in Enugu State.

It was learnt that more than 20,000 people have registered with the group, making it the leading organisation in the state of all those fronting for presidential aspirants from the Northern part of the country.

Other aspirants with political structures in the state are Vice President, Atiku Abubakar whose Atiku Consensus Movement is led by Mr. Tony Nwachukwu; and former military Administrator of Lagos State Brigadier-General Buba Marwa.

The popularity of the Babangida movement is attributed to the efforts of the former chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party in the state, Chief Charles Egumbge.

Egumbge is said to have initiated a quarterly meeting of NAYOB that is usually attended by leading political activists. He is also said to be using the structure of the defunct Democratic Party of Nigeria (DPN) to Babangida’s advantage in the state.

The ex-military dictator and some of his close aides are believed to have paid surreptitious visits to the state to shore up support for him in the Southeast.

Sources close to NAYOB said the group's strategy was to mobilise enough grassroots support in Enugu and other South east states to ensure that the other aspirants made no meaningful inroads into the region.

Egumgbe and other leaders of the group do not want to be drawn into the issue of a president of Southeast extraction as being chanted at every opportunity by Igbo political elite under the umbrella of Ohaneze Ndigbo.

"We will know what to do when we get there," was Egumgbe short response when asked why he is not throwing up an Igbo man for president.
Akure4Life

Post by Akure4Life »

I think those who are backing IBB in Enugu are just trying to line their own pocket.
Akure4Life

Ojota is my hood.
Re: Support for IBB soars in Enugu

1naija wrote: More support have continued to come the way of the presidential ambition of former military president, General Ibrahim Babangida as hundreds of people are daily registering to be members of the Nigerian Youths for Babangida (NAYOB) in Enugu State.

It was learnt that more than 20,000 people have registered with the group
These people na yobs. The kind hunger wey dey Enugu now, it is easy to round up 20,000 yobs to support Osama Bin Laden.
BabaNaija

Post by BabaNaija »

Abacha did the same thing. Who remembers that boy Daniel Kanu and his brigade (YeaH)

1naija wrote: More support have continued to come the way of the presidential ambition of former military president, General Ibrahim Babangida as hundreds of people are daily registering to be members of the Nigerian Youths for Babangida (NAYOB) in Enugu State.

These people na yobs. The kind hunger wey dey Enugu now, it is easy to round up 20,000 yobs to support Osama Bin Laden.
:mrgreen: :lol: :lol:

This is not funny at all.

Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:This is not funny at all.
Ogbunigwe, Babangida can't be any worse than what we have.
scholl

Post by scholl »

:lol: :lol: Very possible. I think the current situation has veered off many Nigerians from the reality track.

Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:This is not funny at all.
Ogbunigwe, Babangida can't be any worse than what we have.
1naija:

I agree, but we want someone who's good. If we use OBJ as our yardstick, we are in BIG trouble

living

Post by living »

yes I remeber YEAH by Daniel Kanu,well YOB is nice cos as his predecessor, IBB might .....
Things might come to those who wait but only those things left behind by those who hustle-Abraham Lincoln

NFA is to blame

Post by Mudi E »

Why are we continually rotating all these good for nothing, corrupt, inept, dumb asses as our leaders any way?
Nigeria shall wallop the dormitable lions

Mudi E wrote:Why are we continually rotating all these good for nothing, corrupt, inept, dumb asses as our leaders any way?
Because the present generation of naija leaders are no where to be found. Thanks to hired killers. No one wants to die for a cause that might never come to light
Ayton Senna wrote:On a given day, a given circumstance, you think you have a limit. And you then go for this limit and you touch this limit, and you think, 'Okay, this is the limit.' As soon as you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high - Ayton Senna

Mansa Musa

Post by Mansa Musa »

Mudi, true dat. Na siyasar of naira's, e bi for dia.

chief ogbunigwe, I DISAGREE...

Babangida is far worse than Obasanjo. And I do have my problems with Obasanjo.