'I'll Take Nigeria To Final'--Jo Bonfrere says for World Cup

NigerianPrince
'I'll Take Nigeria To Final'--Jo Bonfrere says for World Cup

Post by NigerianPrince »

Interesting Article. I think Nigeria should re-hire the Legend Jo Bonfrere. What do you think? Feel free to view the article below or visit the link at http://nationscup.mtnfootball.com/live/ ... m_ID=27268 (Link to view)
Enjoy...

P.S.: With 4 months left to go to the start of the World Cup, it seems every Coach wants to coach Nigeria at the upcoming 2010 FIFA World Cup...Funny, isn't it? Yesterday we heard about Egyptian Coach, on this past weekend we heard about Zambian Coach, now we have Jo Bonfrere. Who will it be tomorrow??? LOL...LOL...LOL...

Peace and God Bless,
from the one and only,
NigerianPrince...

'I'll Take Nigeria To Final' (Latest News on Tuesday, February 2nd 2010)
Jo Bonfrere (left) during his time with South Korea

February 2nd, 2010

Dutchman Jo Bonfrere Monday told only MTNFootball.com that he will guide Nigeria to the final of the 2010 World Cup, if he is given the Nigeria coaching job.

Bonfrere told MTNFootball.com on phone from his home in Belgium that with him in charge of the team, the Super Eagles would surpass their semi-final finish at the Africa Cup of Nations by going all the way to the final of South Africa 2010.

"The team stopped in the semi-final in Angola. If I'm given another chance with Nigeria, I will do better by getting them to the final of the World Cup," said the Dutch coach, who led Nigeria to win an historic Olympic gold in 1996.

"Work for the World Cup must start immediately, not two weeks to the tournament and with the right preparation, Nigeria have the quality to take the world by storm.

"I know a good number of these players as well as their mentality because I spent over six years in Nigeria. I also know the country. I have the experience and we all know I won the Olympic gold with this team."

Bonfrere tore at the team paraded by Shuaibu Amodu in Angola.

"This was no team, there were no tactics and most of the players were used wrongly. They did not play good," he said.

The Dutch coach also warned the authorities from trying to hire a big-name coach, saying such a move would destroy the team.

"Getting a big-name coach will kill the team. It will not help Nigeria. You need someone who is ready to work, a coach who will give players in the local league a chance to fight for a place on the World Cup squad."

His conditions to take the team again would include working with Daniel Amokachi as his assistant and also he said he will not submit his CV until the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) approach him to do so because "they already know me".

Bonfrere, 63, has been out of work for over three years, but the coach, who first worked in Nigeria as assistant to compatriot Clemens Westerhof in 1990, said he has refused several offers from Greece, Japan and South Korea because he has been waiting for Nigeria to call him up.

"Last week, I would have signed for a club in Greece, but if I do that, it would mean that I can no longer take up the Nigeria job should I be approached," he told MTNFootball.com "I have refused over 10 offers from Japan and Korea, but my mind is on Nigeria because Nigeria need a good coach."

Bonfrere, who guided Nigeria to the final of the 2000 Nations Cup jointly hosted by Ghana and Nigeria, was fired as coach by Nigeria in April 2002 with Nigeria's qualification for the 2002 World Cup in the balance after a shock 1-0 loss in Sierra Leone.
Eclipse
Re: 'I'll Take Nigeria To Final'--Jo Bonfrere says for World Cup

Post by Eclipse »

ohhh f*ck off!!! :evil: :evil: :evil:
only the super eagles of nigeria are capable of snatching defeat from the jaws of victory-total football magazine circa june 02'
ogasir

Post by ogasir »

Its reckless statements like this that put these coaches in trouble.
IN SUPER EAGLES WE TRUST

J Bonfrere wrote:
Bonfrere, 63, has been out of work for over three years, but the coach, who first worked in Nigeria as assistant to compatriot Clemens Westerhof in 1990, said he has refused several offers from Greece, Japan and South Korea because he has been waiting for Nigeria to call him up.
yeah right !

4 - ONE - 9
4 - ONE - 9
4 - ONE - 9
4 - ONE - 9
4 - ONE - 9
4 - ONE - 9

:biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin:

God forbid bad thing :curse: :curse: :curse: :curse: :curse: :curse: :curse: :curse: :curse: :curse: :curse: :curse:

blackjack

Post by blackjack »

stupid punk insulting local coaches just like sheta7a
Lagos Bobo

Post by Lagos Bobo »

God forbid bad thing!!! This BonJo man is shameless man. Can't he find another country to defraud? This man was disgraced out of Nigeria and, yet, he just can't go away! What a shameless twat!

He thinks he owns naija footie just b'cos he reaped where he didn't plant by using Westerhof's team to win the Olympic games. I'd rather stick with Amodu than hire BonJo even for FREE sef. gosh, BonJo is even worse than the PE teacher Pa Oni sef :evil:
My Amodu is a Clown Realization Moment (Amodu had been asked how he intends to fix the Eagles' wobbly midfield and he said):
“Midfield does not win matches. If it does, then Nigeria had no business beating Kenya because the Eagles' midfield failed against Harambee Stars.
“Midfield is just a bridge between the attack and the defence. ...”

I would take him over most of the names that have been bandied around thus far..truthfully, I have more confidence in him than in Amodu
SUYA

Post by SUYA »

Instead let Ayo with Vogts as an Asst and only with 3sc players GO! :veryangry:
The above comments are private and not affiliated with supersport in any manner or form

Yes, bring on Bonfrere Herve Renard could be his assistant...lets go for gold!!!! :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:
2drama
Location: To my Late Grand-Papa Pa onyemere(he left us oct-26-07) -i miss you -R-I-P

Post by 2drama »

maceo4 wrote:Yes, bring on Bonfrere Herve Renard could be his assistant...lets go for gold!!!! :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:
http://www.2dramasports.com is live ,Get SE downloads links or watch online links
Get Your Super Eagles Games on DvD Pm 2drama don't live history have a part of it

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nigerian_national_football_team
amoky

Post by amoky »

I would prefer him to any big name. he understands our metality
Mudi E

Post by Mudi E »

nanijoe wrote:I would take him over most of the names that have been bandied around thus far..truthfully, I have more confidence in him than in Amodu
I was about to say that. He can't do any worse than Amodu.

Beside, those deriding him above..when he took Nigeria to the Olympics in '96, played beautiful soccer and won the gold, I didn't hear you spew that bile above.
Nigeria shall wallop the dormitable lions

Post by GUEST »

Since he said that

Will he accept Zero Payment bt Now and JulY BUT If he takes Nigerian Green Eagles to Final--He get Paid but if he fail--No

Kobo--I doubt if this Old Retiree will accept this Deal--ANOTHER JOURNEY MAN--ZERO ACCOMPLISHMENT IN

YRS :twisted: :twisted: ...It was Amodu that rescued us from this Journey Man 8 yrs ago when his Team couldn't beat

Sierra-Leone--Liberia....

FOR THOSE EVEN HINTING AT PICKING BONFRERE OVER AMODU I ASK...

...wasn't Binfrere the bloke who threatened to keep Nigeria out of Korea/Japan until Amodu rode to the rescue? And some of you are acting as though that history does not exist. Another piece of history is that (and I take no joy in saying that) the man, like Westerhoff, have no success outside Nigeria.

FOR ALL THOSE WONDERING WHY THESE FC'S KEEP APPLYING...

...no surprise there. Through speeches and action, Nigerians have given ample assurance that an IC is only a stop gap until an FC, any one at all, can be hired.

ONE TRUTH IN THIS TREATISE ON BONFRERE

Don't go [merely] for a big name coach.
grammar patrol

Post by grammar patrol »

I really like BonJo!!! Has everyone forgot ANC 2000 and how well the team played? His subs vs. Senegal and the comeback vs Cameroon? He understands Naija mentality, so no learning curve there, he understands the uselessness of the NFA and the certain lack of preparation. He knows for sure that we will be fighting over money come the world cup, so he's very prepared for the job in my opinion.

I am strong supporter of keeping Amodu (for continuity and stability sakes, not his skills), but I wouldn't be bothered if BonJO got the job.
When in doubt, visit www.dictionary.com

wasn't this clown the dude who coached when JJ missed 15 freekicks in the "game of his life" in Freetown?

spastic

Post by spastic »

Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:wasn't this clown the dude who coached when JJ missed 15 freekicks in the "game of his life" in Freetown?
:shock: There should be a mercy rule after 5 misses :rotf:
Catalyst

Post by Catalyst »

BJ did not say those things.

There is just no way I will believe he will say such things :lol: :lol: :lol:
Christ died for our sins, and was resurrected for our sake. This is indisputable. This is the center of it all.
The earth is not our home.

http://img704.imageshack.us/img704/7711/opaks.gif
http://www.katzy.dsl.pipex.com/Smileys/bsflag.gif
CMS

Post by CMS »

Bon Wetin? :evil: :evil: :evil: Bonfere ko, Bonjibiti nii
http://nigeriamasterweb.com/paperfrmes.html

Keshi said that before the team arrived South Africa that he told skipper Joseph Yobo that the Eagles were going to win the Cup but the former Everton defender did not believe.
Rogermilla

Post by Rogermilla »

Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:wasn't this clown the dude who coached when JJ missed 15 freekicks in the "game of his life" in Freetown?

Chei I miss those days of UBA vs Shrinners
"History shows that this club has had very few strikers like him. I do not know if there has ever been anyone like him before. What I do know is that Barcelona should erect a statue for him. Samuel was a fundamental player here in recent years and was key to all of the titles that the team won."

Andres Iniesta, August 2009