DO YOU THINK LAGERBACK DESERVES A $1.7M PAYDAY ?
Based on whatever criteria you wanna use, expereince, success, past records etc ? Do you think he deserves $1.7M payday with Nigeria?
Re: DO YOU THINK LAGERBACK DESERVES A $1.7M PAYDAY ?
I hope someone at the NFF denied this amount by Wednesday before they make this official. We are basically giving this guy retirement money. There is no justification for this paycheck and we are setting very bad precedent here...every yeye coach who comes to Nigeria is going to be demanding the same thing....I would have prefered we payed Hidink $3M than this guy $1.7 becuase he just doesnt deserve it.....He is basically the same defensive conservative guy we have in Amodu, except he is white...
- AreaDaddy
Remember he also only on leave from the Swedish FA to do this...
A summer holiday in South Africa and $1.7mil guaranteed ....Yahoozee Yahoozee
Once he hears this song in Naija, he will have on heavy rotation on his MP3 cos he has well and truly hammered a bunch of maga's
AreaDaddy wrote:Remember he also only on leave from the Swedish FA to do this...

He might add the following as well...
Amodu: $8k per month.
Lagerback: $340k per month.
Incredible.
If ever I saw an absolute scandal.
Incredible.

Last edited by ROSSIKE on Mon Mar 01, 2010 12:27 am, edited 1 time in total.
Imagination is more important than knowledge
- Albert Einstein
It must be a typo.

Mugus R WoWos.

Samson Siasia speaking FACTs about 2008.
“I have been waiting for this job for almost three years now and that was before the 2008 Beijing Olympics. I was to be the coach of the Super Eagles after the interview conducted for the job. But that time I said no, I wasn’t ready. Now that I am ready, I am not intimidated at all. I am ready for this job,” he declared matter-of-factly" http://africanfootball.mtnfootball.com/ ... m_ID=36099
I agree completely with you on this issue. This has turned out to be an utter joke and farce. Amodu now twice has qualified Nigeria and twice has been shown the door before the World Cup.ROSSIKE wrote:Amodu: $8k per month.
Incredible.![]()
It looks like even even success is not enough with many Nigerians. I really am disgusted to the core at all of this self undermining. If Nigeria had gotten Capello, fine, but Lagerback? WTF?
I am going to find it hard to root for the Eagles at the WC. I really am. If Argentina can keep faith with that nut job Maradona, I don't see why Amodu couldn't have been allowed to continue to develop his team.
Cheers, Mate
- nanijoe
- Site Admin
Solowe wrote:Based on whatever criteria you wanna use, expereince, success, past records etc ? Do you think he deserves $1.7M payday with Nigeria?
Deserve ain't got nothing to do with it...
Maga don pay!!!!!
This is not the CHAN.
We are going to the World Cup to compete with the best.
Our players are the peers of the best, play for the same clubs, and earn the same wages.
The issue is not about Lagerback (whom I would not have selected) but about the going rate for World Cup-quality coaches. He is expected to get us to at least the Quarter-Finals, and I would consider approximately $2 million to be the going rate for that outcome, or $ 1.3 million for reaching the round of 16, but only $500,000 for a first round exit.
I didn't want a cheap Metsu/Dujkovic journeyman.
And at least with Lagerback we know we'll be damn good at set-pieces and defending.
Our players are the peers of the best, play for the same clubs, and earn the same wages.
The issue is not about Lagerback (whom I would not have selected) but about the going rate for World Cup-quality coaches. He is expected to get us to at least the Quarter-Finals, and I would consider approximately $2 million to be the going rate for that outcome, or $ 1.3 million for reaching the round of 16, but only $500,000 for a first round exit.
And at least with Lagerback we know we'll be damn good at set-pieces and defending.
- nanijoe
- Site Admin
Really? Are you aware that Lagerback will be the second highest paid coach at the WC? All the other 30 countries must be pretty dumb , going by your [lack of] logic
dcf1 wrote:This is not the CHAN.
This story can't be right, Vogts was on 50 K per month. How can lars lagarback 300 k per month. 30-40 K will be ideal. Even Amodu at 11 K per month and Siasia on 8 K per month was wrong for a national team coach. But 300K would be outrageous.
ohenhen1 wrote:This story can't be right, Vogts was on 50 K per month. How can lars lagarback 300 k per month. 30-40 K will be ideal. Even Amodu at 11 K per month and Siasia on 8 K per month was wrong for a national team coach. But 300K would be outrageous.
Of that 300K, 100K would be his and his employees. NFF and PTF need estacode bump. 200K would do just fine.
On a more serious note, why would anyone think he does not deserve to earn any amount he can earn? He is not an armed robber, but a football coach.
If his employers think that was his worth, who are we to think it was not justified?
Now we may have issues with the employers though.
Last edited by balo on Mon Mar 01, 2010 3:02 am, edited 1 time in total.
Based on his previous record or on feelings?!dcf1 wrote:This is not the CHAN.

Spot on bro...balo wrote:Of that 300K, 100K would be his and his employees. NFF and PTF need estacode bump. 200K would do just fine.
On a more serious note, why would anyone thing he does not deserve to earn any amount he can earn? He is not an armed robber, but a football coach.
If his employers think that was his worth, who are we to think it was not justified?
We foolishly think that just because it's our money, we can criticize its expenditure.
Btw, would these be the same clubs that Lagerback has coached?! Kilafors, Arbrå and Hudiksvalls?!dcf1 wrote:This is not the CHAN.

Failed state of Niggeria! Most people that leave neva wanna go back for a reason! The system is corrupt! Idiotic LOW IQ people running the affairs, racism, inferiority complex!
Lugard was the greatest Nigerian EVER!!!! The rest are basically ....
Yes, he is white/non-African
The coach has got a good record against top european and south american teams. I don't think the amount is too much as long as SE delivers I'm fine. A semi-final target has been set for him so he's got alot of work to do.
http://www.melangeparis.com/
Be More Human!!
What's stopping Nigerian coaches from demanding that salary in Nigeria or abroad?
Gotti,Gotti wrote:Spot on bro...balo wrote:Of that 300K, 100K would be his and his employees. NFF and PTF need estacode bump. 200K would do just fine.
On a more serious note, why would anyone thing he does not deserve to earn any amount he can earn? He is not an armed robber, but a football coach.
We foolishly think that just because it's our money, we can criticize its expenditure.
I am usually the Guy who never criticizes the NFF, but this decision is beyond my understanding...This largerback is not even considered in the TOP 50 of coaches in the world and they are throwing money at him like there is no tomorrow. I would like to first get a confirmation on this from the NFF that this salary is real......I am sure its loaded with incentives but still ???, then I would like to understand their rational for paying and even hiring him.
Anytime we hire a 60 plus year old European for the eagles, its always been a disaster...Libgrets, vogts..they are all cut from the same cloth. We need guys on the way up, not on the way down...Every single European/African coach who has been succesful with was is in their 40"s....Tiko, westerhoff, Bonferere, Troussier.........they all had something to prove...so they put everything into the job....This guy is going to spend most of his time complaining like he is in a retirement home the first the NFF does not make everything perfect for him to do his job. The other guys rolled with the punches, thats why the were succesful...
Play for the same clubs as the best PLAYERS is what I wrote. Mikel plays at Chelsea, Taiwo plays at Marseille, Martins plays at Wolfsburg and Ayila at Dynamo Kiev, every one a Champions League team.Gotti wrote:Btw, would these be the same clubs that Lagerback has coached?! Kilafors, Arbrå and Hudiksvalls?!dcf1 wrote:This is not the CHAN.
I have been consistent about this all along. We should have employed a top coach (Hiddink ideally, failing that Eriksson or even Hoddle) and pay a salary in the middle of the global scale plus big bonuses derived entirely from prize money.
I have made clear my concerns that Lagerback was by far the weakest of the three "good" candidates (Eriksson and Hoddle were the other two), and that as a Scotland reject he sounds off echoes of Berti Vogts. But he is what we have got now, and he is a huge upgrade on Amodu (as we will be able to compete in midfield) or on Onigbinde (as he will presumably not exclude the best players). I didn't prefer him, but I can live with him, and now we need to get behind the team and throw the kitchen sink at getting as far as we can in this tournament.
So no George, it's not your money, or Nigeria's money I would have used. I would have used 10% of the prize money earned to reward a top coach, but that is FIFA World Cup prize money which Nigeria would never see under Amodu, and probably won't under Lagerback..
exactly, amodu took 11k a month or whatever it was knowing that his predecessor earned 50k, he sold himself short. after all, there was no difference between vogts and amodu, and there will likely be no difference between amodu and this guy.
edit- i was referring to goke's post.
My usual reaction after most Arsenal games: "lol, f*** Arsenal."