Lagerbeer embarrasses Onigbinde

Babafad
Re: Lagerbeer embarrasses Onigbinde

Post by Babafad »

oloye wrote:I wanted to laugh but i realise the time for laughter is not now, it is when i see what Largerback can do with the team. For Largerback's info, the team he struggled to beat was assembled in 3 months, now he has the real opporunity to show AO and the likes of us how he intends to work under the same atmosphere. Only then would he have me laughing, for now let me just say talk is cheap. Lagerback go on soun yap on , but make sure you watch your back.
:thumb:

Nothing more to add..........you don talk am finish! The shoe is now firmly on the other foot, so let's see what this Lager swigging Swede will do! 8-)
Being challenged in life is inevitable, being defeated is optional.

platinum wrote:Easy to laugh. People forget that the Nigerian team was a few unlucky bounces away from beating that Swedish team, talk about a coach riding his luck.

Pa oni is a big crap of a junk coach.
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo
mouko

Post by mouko »

Chief Bambostic wrote:
Bigpokey24 wrote:Posted: 2010-03-01 13:48

New Super Eagles coach Lars Lagerback inadvertently embarrassed one of his predecessors, Adegboyega Onigbinde, during his presentation to the panel interviewing him.

During the course of his presentation, Lagerback spoke about the 2002 World Cup and how Sweden upstaged Argentina, England and Nigeria to win the group.

An insider at the meeting tells KickOffNigeria.com that Lagerback explained that his team scouting identified the strengths and weaknesses of each of the team in the group and Nigeria’s major weaknesses was a lack of tactical depth from the sidelines, despite having more top-class players at the time than Sweden.

Lagerback said they discovered during their scouting that out of 23 players, Argentina had 20 top class players, England had 15, Nigeria had 10 and Sweden had 5.

So he said their best chance was to target a win against Nigeria, and take points off the other two. They identified that Nigeria had great, skilful and strong players, but lacked tactical organisation and the coaches did not respond to tactical changes on the field.”

Lagerback was unaware that the man who ‘did not respond to tactical changes on the field’ at the time was one of his interviewers.

He then went on to break down the tactical errors that cost the Super Eagles on the day and Onigbinde, according to the insider, was suitably chastised.

“Onigbinde said he knew that he had been wondering what he did wrong in 2002 and Lagerback finally explained it to him.”

Colin Udoh

http://www.kickoff.com/static/news/article.php?id=14135

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: now that was funny, onigbide nah reall mogu.. who remembers that move he did when he screen.. taribo, taribo then made a hand gesture , i nearly laugh die
I see that it bothers no one that Lagerback (self-admittedly) has only been following Naija footie closely since the 2008 Nation's Cup (I read that as that's how far back he did his research ahead of the interview...). Otherwise he would certainly have been aware that one of his opposite numbers at the 2002 World Cup was one of his interviewers. In fact this little caveat should have been enough for the panel to question Lagerback's supposed 'encyclopaedic' knowledge of Nigerian football. Abi, if you were interviewing for the National Team job of a country you once played against as a coach, you wouldn't go back to at least remind yourself of who your counterpart was?
Anyway, only conmen can be conned, and that's exactly what has happened here....
Good kweshion....
If Sex and Money can't do it, Forget About It.
01.06.1955 Ghana 7-0 Nigeria International @Kwabena
dudu

Post by dudu »

Sounds too hilarious to be true... Onigbinde would have been greatly embarassed.
Godfather

Post by Godfather »

New Super Eagles coach Lars Lagerback inadvertently embarrassed one of his predecessors, Adegboyega Onigbinde, during his presentation to the panel interviewing him.

During the course of his presentation, Lagerback spoke about the 2002 World Cup and how Sweden upstaged Argentina, England and Nigeria to win the group.

An insider at the meeting tells KickOffNigeria.com that Lagerback explained that his team scouting identified the strengths and weaknesses of each of the team in the group and Nigeria’s major weaknesses was a lack of tactical depth from the sidelines, despite having more top-class players at the time than Sweden.

Lagerback said they discovered during their scouting that out of 23 players, Argentina had 20 top class players, England had 15, Nigeria had 10 and Sweden had 5.

So he said their best chance was to target a win against Nigeria, and take points off the other two. They identified that Nigeria had great, skilful and strong players, but lacked tactical organisation and the coaches did not respond to tactical changes on the field.”

Lagerback was unaware that the man who ‘did not respond to tactical changes on the field’ at the time was one of his interviewers.

He then went on to break down the tactical errors that cost the Super Eagles on the day and Onigbinde, according to the insider, was suitably chastised.

“Onigbinde said he knew that he had been wondering what he did wrong in 2002 and Lagerback finally explained it to him.”

Colin Udoh

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: now that was funny, onigbide nah reall mogu.. who remembers that move he did when he screen.. taribo, taribo then made a hand gesture , i nearly laugh die
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
...and they call CCC clueless! :P
“Achebe was a writer in whose company the Prison walls fell down.” – Dr. Nelson Mandela.
seyiblack

Post by seyiblack »

ogasmooth wrote::rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Rebellious wrote:
ogasmooth wrote:
Rebellious wrote:
ogasmooth wrote:Well Swedes don't have the same history we have do they??? :boo:

Negros are always making lame excuses for others but, are quick to pull their brother down.
Our history does not give us the excuse or the right to be RACIST. And I'm sorry to say but a lot of your comments can easily be categorized as that. Is it hard to imagine that most of the criticism of Amodu was based on his competence and not the colour of his skin?

That's what you think... It was on the color of his skin the people just did not say it...

LugardBack, is being picked for the color of his skin. Nothing on his record shows he is better than the local coaches...

This is what Lugard said in 1926

In character and temperament, the typical African of this race-type is a happy, thriftless, excitable person. Lacking in self-control, discipline and foresight. Naturally courageous, and naturally courteous and polite, full of personal vanity, with little sense of veracity, fond of music and loving weapons as an oriental loves jewelery. His thoughts are concentrated on the events and feelings of the moment and he suffers little from the apprehension for the future, or grief for the past. His mind is far nearer to the animal world than that of the European or Asiatic, and exhibits something of the animals’ placidity and want of desire to rise beyond the State he has reached. Through the ages the African appears to have evolved no organized religious creed, and though some tribes appear to believe in a deity, the religious sense seldom rises above pantheistic animalism and seems more often to take the form of a vague dread of the supernatural"

“He lacks the power of organization, and is conspicuously deficient in the management and control alike of men or business. He loves the display of power, but fails to realize its responsibility... he will work hard with a less incentive than most races. He has the courage of the fighting animal, an instinct rather than a moral virtue... In brief, the virtues and defects of this race-type are those of attractive children, whose confidence when it is won is given ungrudgingly as to an older and wiser superior and without envy...Perhaps the two traits which have impressed me as those most characteristic of the African native are his lack of apprehension and his lack of ability to visualize the future. "
You seem to have complex issues my brother. I cant see what relevance the thoughts of a one-time colonial administrator have with the process of hiring a national team coach in 2010.

Question? Would you still be so irate if the NFF had hired, say, Tigana or John Barnes instead?

Lugardback is being pai 1.7 million dollars for 5 months of work... He is being paid 24X what Amodu made in a month.. What does that say???

this guy is considered a loser in Europe but, in Africa he is considered a hero... Jut like lugard said, all it takes is a little bit and, you will be treated like a master in africa :rotf:
As much as i dont want this to be discussed on racial lines, it is very hard to digest. We have had local coaches in the past and none has come a fraction close to what we have paid foreigners. Someone mentioned reversing roles. What role do you want to reverse? Are you making far more than your colleagues who are natives of their countries?
I will support the SE regardless of who coaches the team. If NFF like, make dem hire dog to take the team to SA...i will cheer Nigeria on. However, it is sad to know how backward and uncivilized that country has become and is becoming.
Support our boys regardless of coach, ethnicity of players and pure jealousy.
Eagle Winged

Post by Eagle Winged »

So Lagerback goes to interview for a country he faced a few years ago and doesn't realise his previous opponent is sat right in front of him? As funny as this incident is, this is slightly worrying.

Ayo Akinfe wrote:Why does this surprise anyone? A division three Swedish coach will embarass any Nigerian IC. That is a fact!
Yeah I ve heard people say the same about Nigerian journalists. There was no distinction between whether they are educated abroad or in Nigeria, but Im going to make a giant leap of faith and assume on their behalf that they mean ALL Nigerian journalists cannot hold a candle to a local reporter at Abingdon, Oxon!!!

akamoke wrote:
Ayo Akinfe wrote:Why does this surprise anyone? A division three Swedish coach will embarass any Nigerian IC. That is a fact!
Yeah I ve heard people say the same about Nigerian journalists. There was no distinction between whether they are educated abroad or in Nigeria, but Im going to make a giant leap of faith and assume on their behalf that they mean ALL Nigerian journalists cannot hold a candle to a local reporter at Abingdon, Oxon!!!
Dele Giwa alone nails that lie. Now name me one Nigerian coach of the stature of Dele Giwa, Ray Ekpu, Yakubu Mohammed or Soji Akinrinnade.

Ayo are you a jounalist and also from Nigeria?

Eagle Winged wrote:So Lagerback goes to interview for a country he faced a few years ago and doesn't realise his previous opponent is sat right in front of him? As funny as this incident is, this is slightly worrying.
131 games as Swedish coach and he is meant to remember every single opponent? With that number of games you remember the opposing coaches that stand out and not the clowns that didn't even last long on the job.

Eagle Winged wrote:So Lagerback goes to interview for a country he faced a few years ago and doesn't realise his previous opponent is sat right in front of him? As funny as this incident is, this is slightly worrying.
131 games as Swedish coach and he is meant to remember every single opponent? With that number of games you remember the opposing coaches that stand out and not the clowns that didn't even last long on the job.

But in all fairness, how can he forget Onigbinde? How many coaches did he face with Yoruba marks on his face?

Bigpokey24 wrote:Ayo are you a jounalist and also from Nigeria?
Yep, he stepped right into my trap, funny he gets defensive when it affects his profession but can cast asperations on other professions. Maybe I should say Journalists under the age of 60 :P

Regardless, it is easy to point fingers at others whilst trying to deflect fingers pointed at you

akamoke wrote:
Yep, he stepped right into my trap, funny he gets defensive when it affects his profession but can cast asperations on other professions. Maybe I should say Journalists under the age of 60 :P

Regardless, it is easy to point fingers at others whilst trying to deflect fingers pointed at you

Utter rubbish. In every endeavour I can think of, Nigeria is producing world class talents buy the bucketful. Doctors, lawyers, engineers, accountants, soldiers, preists, jounalists, chefs, nurses, writers, athletes, musicians, actors, etc. The weakest link in the Nigerian project is football coaches! They are the exception to this rule.

Even our politicians can hold their own internationally.

akamoke wrote:

Utter rubbish. In every endeavour I can think of, Nigeria is producing world class talents buy the bucketful. Doctors, lawyers, engineers, accountants, soldiers, preists, jounalists, chefs, nurses, writers, athletes, musicians, actors, etc. The weakest link in the Nigerian project is football coaches! They are the exception to this rule.

Then why is Nigeria in such a fix today..It must be all those darn useless coaches that we keep producing that are polluting the Atmosphere

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: clowning time :lol: :lol:
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo
SSTAR

Post by SSTAR »

Ayo Akinfe wrote:Utter rubbish. In every endeavour I can think of, Nigeria is producing world class talents buy the bucketful. Doctors, lawyers, engineers, accountants, soldiers, preists, jounalists, chefs, nurses, writers, athletes, musicians, actors, etc. The weakest link in the Nigerian project is football coaches! They are the exception to this rule.

Ayo, you never cease to amaze.
You choose a subjective trade make an argument for incompetence. Rightfully, you are no barrister.
Cheers!!!
The meek shall inherit the earth, but they will not hold the mineral rights!!!
THE BIGGESTMAN

Post by THE BIGGESTMAN »

Colin Udoh

explain in either English or proper pidgin English...... :roll:

Ayo is a clueless journalist.. foreign journos with white skins are miles and miles better than Ayo, nothing more nothing less...

kenmega wrote:Lagerback owned Pa Oni in an interview. :rotf: :rotf:
Lagerback is the man! :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:
:laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: Now Pa Oni go show-am Kanda!

kpom! as long as they are white :woot:
Metho scorpion

Post by Metho scorpion »

..Oloye not only that you know soccer but you are a wise man...your response is that of a wise man unlike some folks that are respoding through the back of their brain...
oloye wrote:I wanted to laugh but i realise the time for laughter is not now, it is when i see what Largerback can do with the team. For Largerback's info, the team he struggled to beat was assembled in 3 months, now he has the real opporunity to show AO and the likes of us how he intends to work under the same atmosphere. Only then would he have me laughing, for now let me just say talk is cheap. Lagerback go on soun yap on , but make sure you watch your back.
Spicyee

Post by Spicyee »

But in all fairness, how can he forget Onigbinde? How many coaches did he face with Yoruba marks on his face?
You two are so unforgiving... :lol: