The SE WC Delusion...

Re: The SE WC Delusion...

Lagerback said the Semi Final ticket is achieveable. He knew everything before saying so. So why should we be called deluded fans for believing a coach earning such a hefty salary?

For anyone that supported the sacking of a coach few weeks to a tournament to now talk of deluded fans is an irony! I mean what were we expecting from the sack of Amodu? What did we expect the new coach to achieve?

Our WC dream was on course before the sack of Amodu. His sack basically destroyed whatever is left. Even Maradona was not sacked by Argentina!

Do you have evidence to support the underlined part or just repeatedly speaking from the crack of ur arse?

wanaj0 wrote:Lagerback said the Semi Final ticket is achieveable. He knew everything before saying so. So why should we be called deluded fans for believing a coach earning such a hefty salary?

For anyone that supported the sacking of a coach few weeks to a tournament to now talk of deluded fans is an irony! I mean what were we expecting from the sack of Amodu? What did we expect the new coach to achieve?

Our WC dream was on course before the sack of Amodu. His sack basically destroyed whatever is left. Even Maradona was not sacked by Argentina!

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

txj wrote:Do you have evidence to support the underlined part or just repeatedly speaking from the crack of ur arse?

wanaj0 wrote:Lagerback said the Semi Final ticket is achieveable. He knew everything before saying so. So why should we be called deluded fans for believing a coach earning such a hefty salary?

I leave that to lawyers to do. They are the one that are allowed to submit evidence in a court of law.

Only YAYA said expressly that after November or so Amodu should not be sacked.

People like you went on as to how Amodu is not capable of leading us to the WC. Amodu is gone. I hope for the best BUT a first round exit will not be a surprise

By the way, can you be civil, courteous and respectful in your discourse.

This thread has me repeatedly stating that I regret Amodu was sacked. This thread also has Enugu II, confirming my views on this from the very beginning. U can believe what u may. But my wish was that we continue with Amodu, down the ditch we were inevitably headed!

txj wrote:Do you have evidence to support the underlined part or just repeatedly speaking from the crack of ur arse?

I leave that to lawyers to do. They are the one that are allowed to submit evidence in a court of law.

People like you went on as to how Amodu is not capable of leading us to the WC. Amodu is gone. I hope for the best BUT a first round exit will not be a surprise

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Maybe I missed your angst against the sacking of Amodu. Apologies then.

But you supported the sack of Eguavoen and the employment of Berti. Hope you will apologise for helping in leading us to the inevitable along with Berti. At least, Amodu cant be worse than Berti

Am not angry at the sacking of Amodu. Why would I be angry at the sacking of a clueless coach. I am angry it took two years to be rid of a man who has never shown any real competence in his three prior stints with the SE.

I however REGRET that he was sacked at this late stage. My wish was that he be left alone so he can lead both the team and the NFF down the gutter...

wanaj0 wrote:Maybe I missed your angst against the sacking of Amodu. Apologies then.

But you supported the sack of Eguavoen and the employment of Berti. Hope you will apologise for helping in leading us to the inevitable along with Berti. At least, Amodu cant be worse than Berti

yaya

Post by yaya »

Thank you very much! Am happy someone remembers. I believed, then, and still do believe that Amodu is a useless coach. But NFF and Nigeria are more useless for keeping a coach past november 30, when they knew that he would be fired in February. Everyone knew he would be fired in february, but they were dilly dallying! :mad: If by November 30 they refused to fire him, then let him stay and finish his work! that was my stance then, and still my stance now. I will support Nigeria, blindly, but I am not stupid. I know that to be successful, you need preparation.
spastic

Post by spastic »

kalani wrote:Nice writeup txj :thumb: ! Some of y'all are misunderstanding/mislabeling him as a WOWO/ABA/WAYC. Here he is not laying the blame at the coach but at the mishandling of our preparations by the NFF (ie friendlies etc).
Kalani,

1. Please, please, please... do not be fooled by the word jargon of a simpleton who thrives on whooing the naive :boo:

Take any part of what he said and put it under a microscope, and it crubles like stale bread. You don't believe me? Well lets put it to the testt; take the first point he makes after claiming expecting Semifinal is arrogant and stupid.... His very first sentence is as follows

"Ninety-five percent or more of the teams going to the WC started building their teams four years ago."

Now a simple check of the facts, proves what I already know. Having debunked this dudes false claims for years :roll: In reality, only 9 of the 32 teams hired their coaches four years ago or before.
Brazil- Dunga
USA- Braddley
Uruguay-Tabarez
New Zealand- Herbert
Denmark- Olsen
France- Domenench
Germany- Low
Greace- Rehhagel
Slovenia- Mek

He has a penchant for playing loose with the facts. Knows very little, yet as stubborn as an uncooked hide :boo:

I used to play this game with his diatribes back in the day. I'll take each sentence and test its validity against the facts, and when it is just hedging babble- I compare it to his previous statements on the issue. It never fails.

I got bored doing that a while back.. With time you will se it too. :idea: Go ahead and compare his different posts on this thread alone. you'd be amazed at the level of inconsistency... Like Eba made in warm water and stirred with a knife.

Dude is legendary :idea:
spastic

Post by spastic »

yaya wrote:

Thank you very much! Am happy someone remembers. I believed, then, and still do believe that Amodu is a useless coach. But NFF and Nigeria are more useless for keeping a coach past november 30, when they knew that he would be fired in February. Everyone knew he would be fired in february, but they were dilly dallying! :mad: If by November 30 they refused to fire him, then let him stay and finish his work! that was my stance then, and still my stance now. I will support Nigeria, blindly, but I am not stupid. I know that to be successful, you need preparation.
I see you too have noticed how After the fact is trying to sneak into ur corner :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: It is as laughable as it is sad.
Mudi E

Post by Mudi E »

All these target this abi na tangent dat sef.
Why set a semi final target? The purpose of going to any competition is to win the damn thing. Why limit yourself?
You prepare accordingly, go and win the thing. If not, why even go? I'm so tired of reading about all these so-called TARGETS set by the NFF.
Last edited by Mudi E on Fri May 07, 2010 1:34 am, edited 1 time in total.
Nigeria shall wallop the dormitable lions

spastic wrote:
wanaj0 wrote:TXJ, I care less about Amodu. I am more bothered about process.

Agreed, NFF is useless and in their stupidity they stuck with Amodu till after the ANC. Dont you think that continuing with the stupidity and allowing the coach (same with Bosso) to complete the job is far better than paying one 'whitey' an all expenses paid vacation to South Africa?

The actual delusion is that we can do far better than Amodu with another coach. Before Amodu, we missed out of the last WC. Went to the last ANC and could only win ONE match against Republic of Benin. So with all the failures of Amodu, he did left the SE better than he met it. World class Vogts that you shrined on this forum could not even near Amodu's achievements with SE which makes one to wonder the basis of your supports and criticisms.

Anyone that supports the sacking of a coach who met ALL targets set before him few weeks to a major tournament is actually the deluded one. It does not matter if it is Amodu, Siasia, Troussier, or Lagerback!
The bolded above is beyond the collective capacities of these folks. It cannot be said of them, that they have (over our time here) acquired the capacity to reason logically. Even more annoying is their feeble attempts at 'slight of hand.'

When it is a foreigner their stories follows the weak pattern of foisting blame on the NFF for its incompetence, and withholding judgment until after the games are played. Yet the moment a Nigerian is hired, complaints that the said coach is not contacting, scouting(both abroad and at home), setting up friendlies, using merit to pick player e.t.c. start to fly around.

Suddenly we are regaled with intellectual babble about the difference between results and performance (this after 1 game)... We are told time without number, how stupid we are to not see 2006 obviously happening all over again in front of our eyes. Until 2006 did not happen... But hey in their opinion, thanks to Mozambique! Perhaps they should have considered Mozambique before blowing their anus excrement all over these pages for the better part of 2 years :roll:

These same mugus, who thought we would never make the WC, and after we did, predicted we wouldn't get out of the first round of the ANC all because we were -in their opinion- being coached by an incompetent, suddenly now BELIEVE it delusional to think we should make the semifinals.... I mean surely if we are to follow their dumb reasoning: the exiling of an incompetent coach, who in spite of his incompetence was able to maneuver around the pitfalls of a WCQ, and take the same team to the Semifinals of the just concluded ANC- Clearly if the talent was so good, that in spite of said coach's supposed incompetence, they accomplished this much...the least one should expect from a competent coach, is a Semi final, NO?

I don't even know why I am writing all this, it is not as if this isn't obvious to anyone with more than a peanut between their ears :roll: :roll: :roll:
If the truth is so bitter why then is the truth wey Spastic yarn so dey sweet my belle? :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:

txj:

The point is that I have read through your responses and you are yet to tell us what a reasonable target ought to be if a semi-final target is delusional. Apparently, you have a scheme that allows you to be able to concludse a semi-final target as delusional. Is it possible that the scheme allows you to brave what a reasonable target ought to be for Lagerback? What should it be? It is a simple question.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
yaya

Post by yaya »

Enugu II wrote:txj:

The point is that I have read through your responses and you are yet to tell us what a reasonable target ought to be if a semi-final target is delusional. Apparently, you have a scheme that allows you to be able to concludse a semi-final target as delusional. Is it possible that the scheme allows you to brave what a reasonable target ought to be for Lagerback? What should it be? It is a simple question.
for me, a set target as always is to win the whole thing. HOWEVER, what the coach should be told is that anything less than __________________ is completely unacceptable. I am a reasonable man, I see that we have never gotten past the second round. Thus, our aim , of course, should always be to surpass our past achievement. As a result, the coach should be told that anything less than quater-finals is a failure. simple as that.

kalani wrote:Nice writeup txj :thumb: ! Some of y'all are misunderstanding/mislabeling him as a WOWO/ABA/WAYC. Here he is not laying the blame at the coach but at the mishandling of our preparations by the NFF (ie friendlies etc).
That's my take too. It's clear some people have either difficulty understanding his post or hold some kind of vendetta.

Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25
"The Yeyeman is hardly ever vulgar when dealing with anyone." - Mar 23, '18
"I will take Trump over Clinton but I am in the minority." - Jul 19, '16

© The YeyeMan 2025

yaya:

Sure everyone in the competition including North Korea hopes to win the Cup but teams do have realistic targets which help to determine success or failure and that does not have to be winning the Cup. For instance, Brazil, Italy, and the like would have the target of winning the cup but that isn't our target. The NFF (actually from the lead of the NSC) set a semi-final target for Nigeria based precisely on past achievement but also because Nigeria will be at home in Africa. Point is that if such a target is delusional, then we want txj to tell us a target that wouldn't be delusional but reasonable. Importantly, it ought to be one that warrants the appointment of Lagerback considering that the target itself was a major consideration for bringing him in "as Amodu was not expected to go that far (?)." if we are to believe analysts on CE.

Just a note, I believe the NFF expects Nigeria to set a landmark by being the African team to get to the semis. Quarters really would mean merely equallying Cameroon and Senegal (a team that has not even won the ANCs that we won twice). Moreover, those two reached the quarters in competitions played outside the continent. To top it off, the NFF are paying top dollar for a foreign coach that we have been told holds the magic wand. Thus, the NFF are arguably very reasonable in the target that they have set.
yaya wrote:
Enugu II wrote:txj:

for me, a set target as always is to win the whole thing. HOWEVER, what the coach should be told is that anything less than __________________ is completely unacceptable. I am a reasonable man, I see that we have never gotten past the second round. Thus, our aim , of course, should always be to surpass our past achievement. As a result, the coach should be told that anything less than quater-finals is a failure. simple as that.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

That's my take too. It's clear some people have either difficulty understanding his post or hold some kind of vendetta.
Bro, the only NEW variable in the Eagles' equation is Lagerback...

Fact is that the NFF is NOT doing new things that it never did in the past. Accordingly, it is rather interesting how when an Oyinbo coach is at the helm, it somehow suddenly seems to dawn upon some folks that the blame for Nigeria's habitual poor preparations lies (properly?) with the NFF -- even after much the same folks have regaled us about how the Oyinbo coach would improve upon our preparations and take no crap from the NFF. But of course when it is an IC at the helm, much the same folks blather on about the coach's "laziness and incompetence" (a la WINNERMAN) or the coach's purported lack of "competence and professionalism" (as put by someone else whose name presently escapes me *cough*). As the wise and discerning would say "yeye dey smell"!

Bro, the only NEW variable in the Eagles' equation is Lagerback...

Fact is that the NFF is NOT doing new things that it never did in the past. Accordingly, it is rather interesting how when an Oyinbo coach is at the helm, it somehow suddenly seems to dawn upon some folks that the blame for Nigeria's habitual poor preparations lies (properly?) with the NFF -- even after much the same folks have regaled us about how the Oyinbo coach would improve upon our preparations and take no crap from the NFF. But of course when it is an IC at the helm, much the same folks blather on about the coach's "laziness and incompetence" (a la WINNERMAN) or the coach's purported lack of "competence and professionalism" (as put by someone else whose name presently escapes me *cough*). As the wise and discerning would say "yeye dey smell"!

realtrouble

Post by realtrouble »

ALL GET IT INTO YOUR HEAD NIGERIAN NEVER WANTED AMODU OR LARGERBACK ....PERIOD

AMODU SHOULD NEVER HAVE BEEN SELECTED TO COACH NIGERIA AND HOPEFULLY WILL NEVER AGAIN. AMODU HUMILATED NIGERIA WITH HIS DIGRACEFUL COACHING TACTIC, THAT WAS EMBARRASING TO WATCH. NIGERIAN HAVE NO REGRET THAT AMODU WAS SACKED.

realtrouble wrote:ALL GET IT INTO YOUR HEAD NIGERIAN NEVER WANTED AMODU OR LARGERBACK ....PERIOD

AMODU SHOULD NEVER HAVE BEEN SELECTED TO COACH NIGERIA AND HOPEFULLY WILL NEVER AGAIN. AMODU HUMILATED NIGERIA WITH HIS DIGRACEFUL COACHING TACTIC, THAT WAS EMBARRASING TO WATCH. NIGERIAN HAVE NO REGRET THAT AMODU WAS SACKED.
Thanks for sharing the results of your poll of Nigerians...
But that is hardly the issue under discourse on this thread.

tippy

Post by tippy »

I should say that while I have never cared for Amodu (even back in 1995 when he first got the gig), I would not have fired him after the ANC. I would have grinned and borne the humiliation we would have received this summer and looked towards Gabon and Brazil with hope as this is the cross every football fan must bear.

I would like to ask some questions though?

Do you think a team with a midfield that was molested by Benin while the coach did nothing will triumph in our groups?
Do you think a team that does not make runs off the ball, does not have any set piece routines or any idea what to do at them, that does not seem to have a clue will qualify for the 2nd round?
Do you think that performances against Zambia are acceptable?
My usual reaction after most Arsenal games: "lol, f*** Arsenal."

So txj is happy Amodu was sacked but not happy with the timing. He is also unhappy with the target set by the NFF for the new coach describing the target as a delusion, when exactly did he realise this? However Lagerback has not come out to say the target is delusional after publicly accepting to meet the target and stating that it was feasible.

Well, Amodu met his targets despite his shortcomings, hope Lagerback will meet his set target playing Arsenal like football and I hope he will be placed under the same scrutiny Amodu was placed!

nemi2002 wrote:So txj is happy Amodu was sacked but not happy with the timing. He is also unhappy with the target set by the NFF for the new coach describing the target as a delusion, when exactly did he realise this? However Lagerback has not come out to say the target is delusional after publicly accepting to meet the target and stating that it was feasible.

Well, Amodu met his targets despite his shortcomings, hope Lagerback will meet his set target playing Arsenal like football and I hope he will be placed under the same scrutiny Amodu was placed!
Lagerback is on an ALL expenses paid vacation! Yes the semi final according to him but you can be sure he is not interested. He is only interested in the money and you can be sure he will enjoy his millions. Personally I dont blame him.
tippy

Post by tippy »

nemi2002 wrote:So txj is happy Amodu was sacked but not happy with the timing. He is also unhappy with the target set by the NFF for the new coach describing the target as a delusion, when exactly did he realise this? However Lagerback has not come out to say the target is delusional after publicly accepting to meet the target and stating that it was feasible.

Lagerback is on an ALL expenses paid vacation! Yes the semi final according to him but you can be sure he is not interested. He is only interested in the money and you can be sure he will enjoy his millions. Personally I dont blame him.

don't be silly, who vacations in Nigeria?
My usual reaction after most Arsenal games: "lol, f*** Arsenal."