UEFAlona exposed :Ovrebo
Ovrebo: My errors cost Chelsea in 2009
Tom Henning Ovrebo, the referee of the controversial Champions League semi-final between Chelsea and Barcelona in 2009, has admitted that he made mistakes in the game that denied the Premier League side a place in the final.
Ovrebo found himself at the centre of a firestorm at Stamford Bridge at the end of the second leg three years ago, having rejected four reasonable penalty claims from the home side - then managed by Guus Hiddink - during the 90 minutes, as they eventually went out to Andres Iniesta's last-minute strike.
The Norwegian official was confronted by Michael Ballack and Didier Drogba even before the final whistle, and subsequently received death threats from a section of irate Chelsea fans. Ovrebo has now revealed that he still receives threatening messages, and has admitted that he did not enforce the laws correctly during the game at Stamford Bridge.
"I still get a few death threats, but they go straight into the garbage box. I don't take them seriously, although sometimes I wonder about the people who send them," Ovrebo told The Times. "Just yesterday I got an email from a Chelsea fan saying he wanted to kill me and my family.
"Everyone who knows the laws of the game knows I should have done things differently, but that's the life of a referee. In a strange way, I was actually satisfied with the way we all managed to keep calm in a tense situation."
He added: "On the pitch I did my best. I shouldn't have to apologise as mistakes are part of the game."
Drogba was subsequently given a five-game ban by UEFA for his outburst at the final whistle, with team-mate Jose Bosingwa given a three-game suspension. Ovrebo feels no ill-will towards the Ivorian, however, after the pair reconciled their differences at the disciplinary hearing.
"It was a very challenging match and with the angry scenes after the final whistle it became less enjoyable," Ovrebo noted. "Some players got too emotional and behaved badly, but no one got killed. It's important to put it into perspective.
"It helped me as a referee ... if I can cope with Drogba screaming at me, I can cope with anything - although he's a nice guy, really."
The Blues have the chance to gain revenge on the Spanish club, as they face them in the Champions League semi-finals again this season. The first leg takes place at Stamford Bridge on Wednesday
Source: http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story ... 09?cc=5901
Tom Henning Ovrebo, the referee of the controversial Champions League semi-final between Chelsea and Barcelona in 2009, has admitted that he made mistakes in the game that denied the Premier League side a place in the final.
Ovrebo found himself at the centre of a firestorm at Stamford Bridge at the end of the second leg three years ago, having rejected four reasonable penalty claims from the home side - then managed by Guus Hiddink - during the 90 minutes, as they eventually went out to Andres Iniesta's last-minute strike.
The Norwegian official was confronted by Michael Ballack and Didier Drogba even before the final whistle, and subsequently received death threats from a section of irate Chelsea fans. Ovrebo has now revealed that he still receives threatening messages, and has admitted that he did not enforce the laws correctly during the game at Stamford Bridge.
"I still get a few death threats, but they go straight into the garbage box. I don't take them seriously, although sometimes I wonder about the people who send them," Ovrebo told The Times. "Just yesterday I got an email from a Chelsea fan saying he wanted to kill me and my family.
"Everyone who knows the laws of the game knows I should have done things differently, but that's the life of a referee. In a strange way, I was actually satisfied with the way we all managed to keep calm in a tense situation."
He added: "On the pitch I did my best. I shouldn't have to apologise as mistakes are part of the game."
Drogba was subsequently given a five-game ban by UEFA for his outburst at the final whistle, with team-mate Jose Bosingwa given a three-game suspension. Ovrebo feels no ill-will towards the Ivorian, however, after the pair reconciled their differences at the disciplinary hearing.
"It was a very challenging match and with the angry scenes after the final whistle it became less enjoyable," Ovrebo noted. "Some players got too emotional and behaved badly, but no one got killed. It's important to put it into perspective.
"It helped me as a referee ... if I can cope with Drogba screaming at me, I can cope with anything - although he's a nice guy, really."
The Blues have the chance to gain revenge on the Spanish club, as they face them in the Champions League semi-finals again this season. The first leg takes place at Stamford Bridge on Wednesday
Source: http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story ... 09?cc=5901
Re: UEFAlona exposed :Ovrebo
I'd keep quiet till after the game if I were in your shoes
I am shocked to hear him admit this openly especially before a big game.
He puts pressure on today's refs, and somehow helps to psyche of Chelsea.
Christ died for our sins, and was resurrected for our sake. This is indisputable. This is the center of it all.
The earth is not our home.
http://img704.imageshack.us/img704/7711/opaks.gif
http://www.katzy.dsl.pipex.com/Smileys/bsflag.gif
- tfco
- Eagle
oh okBigpokey24 wrote: "I still get a few death threats, but they go straight into the garbage box. I don't take them seriously, although sometimes I wonder about the people who send them," Ovrebo told The Times.
Naira Did We

keep quite , there are 2 legs..fyi....for exposing UEFALONA? if Chelsea can be robbed for dem backyard, what stops that from happening today... we could careless , nah Arsenal i dey look foward to on saturday. Barcelona is not a good team in my eyes, and i do not rate them due to the under ground exchange of goods. Barca is like james iboriYUJAM wrote:I'd keep quiet till after the game if I were in your shoes
'quiet' not 'quite'
Bigpokey24 wrote:keep quite , there are 2 legs..fyi....for exposing UEFALONA? if Chelsea can be robbed for dem backyard, what stops that from happening today... we could careless , nah Arsenal i dey look foward to on saturday. Barcelona is not a good team in my eyes, and i do not rate them due to the under ground exchange of goods. Barca is like james iboriYUJAM wrote:I'd keep quiet till after the game if I were in your shoes
How exactly is that exposed ? He said what every1 has been saying all these years. He made huge mistakes basically asserting the concern every1 had when a ref with little experience was choosen to handle a game of that calibre.
LOLBigpokey24 wrote:keep quite , there are 2 legs..fyi....for exposing UEFALONA? if Chelsea can be robbed for dem backyard, what stops that from happening today... we could careless , nah Arsenal i dey look foward to on saturday. Barcelona is not a good team in my eyes, and i do not rate them due to the under ground exchange of goods. Barca is like james ibori
smh
Christ died for our sins, and was resurrected for our sake. This is indisputable. This is the center of it all.
- bret- hart
Hmm what abt the sending off of Abidal? Please Chelski fans are already coming up with excuses for an upcoming azzwhooping. Barca is the best team in the universe. Chelski that overrated garbage team from london does not even come close to Barca interms of quality. Sit back and chop your beating like men. You should be honored that Barca is playing at stamford bridge today.
Are you freeking kidding me? Are you serious? No way.bret- hart wrote:Hmm what abt the sending off of Abidal? Please Chelski fans are already coming up with excuses for an upcoming azzwhooping. Barca is the best team in the universe. Chelski that overrated garbage team from london does not even come close to Barca interms of quality. Sit back and chop your beating like men. You should be honored that Barca is playing at stamford bridge today.
Chelsea has lodged an appeal with UEFA regarding the inevitable red card......
nemi2002 wrote:Chelsea has lodged an appeal with UEFA regarding the inevitable red card......

Let the mind games begin.

- bret- hart
Catalyst wrote:Are you freeking kidding me? Are you serious? No way.bret- hart wrote:Hmm what abt the sending off of Abidal? Please Chelski fans are already coming up with excuses for an upcoming azzwhooping. Barca is the best team in the universe. Chelski that overrated garbage team from london does not even come close to Barca interms of quality. Sit back and chop your beating like men. You should be honored that Barca is playing at stamford bridge today.
Orvebo sent off Abidal. It was a dubious red card but loser Chelski fans conveniently ignore that fact. Yes Orvebo was a disaster that night but his decisions affected both teams not just Chelski.
It was dubious?bret- hart wrote:Orvebo sent off Abidal. It was a dubious red card but loser Chelski fans conveniently ignore that fact. Yes Orvebo was a disaster that night but his decisions affected both teams not just Chelski.Catalyst wrote:Are you freeking kidding me? Are you serious? No way.bret- hart wrote:Hmm what abt the sending off of Abidal? Please Chelski fans are already coming up with excuses for an upcoming azzwhooping. Barca is the best team in the universe. Chelski that overrated garbage team from london does not even come close to Barca interms of quality. Sit back and chop your beating like men. You should be honored that Barca is playing at stamford bridge today.
Seriously?
I am sure you are confusing that play with something else.
To be sure, did Abidal clip Anelka ankle (in a goal bound effort) - yes or no?
PS. Please remember, Anelka is not a faker or diver like Ribery or Obasi.
- Killa Adjei
And who are you, you think Barca cares if you rate them..People think highly of themselvs..A Chelsea fan not rating Barca, like anyone gives a $@#%..Bigpokey24 wrote:keep quite , there are 2 legs..fyi....for exposing UEFALONA? if Chelsea can be robbed for dem backyard, what stops that from happening today... we could careless , nah Arsenal i dey look foward to on saturday. Barcelona is not a good team in my eyes, and i do not rate them due to the under ground exchange of goods. Barca is like james iboriYUJAM wrote:I'd keep quiet till after the game if I were in your shoes

We are the centre of the pitch, we are precise, we are our effort, we are attackers who defend, we are defenders who attack, we are respected by our rivals, we are recognised by our rivals, we are every goal that we score, we are those who always look for our opponent's goal, WE ARE ONE.
Pep Guardiola To Barca Before CL Final
Ovrebo is a cheat, a confirmed cheat on UEFA's list of special refs deployed to ensure their interest is protected. Ovrebo is FA's version of Howard Webb. Every FA have one from FIFA to the least of them, they are all bloody cheats. Beni emi ni mo sobe.
- tfco
- Eagle
Killa Adjei wrote:And who are you, you think Barca cares if you rate them..People think highly of themselvs..A Chelsea fan not rating Barca, like anyone gives a $@#%..Bigpokey24 wrote:keep quite , there are 2 legs..fyi....for exposing UEFALONA? if Chelsea can be robbed for dem backyard, what stops that from happening today... we could careless , nah Arsenal i dey look foward to on saturday. Barcelona is not a good team in my eyes, and i do not rate them due to the under ground exchange of goods. Barca is like james iboriYUJAM wrote:I'd keep quiet till after the game if I were in your shoes

Allik's final post on CE
Naira Did We

Maybe I have missed something, but I did not see any contact between Abidal and Anelka.Catalyst wrote:It was dubious?bret- hart wrote:Orvebo sent off Abidal. It was a dubious red card but loser Chelski fans conveniently ignore that fact. Yes Orvebo was a disaster that night but his decisions affected both teams not just Chelski.Catalyst wrote:Are you freeking kidding me? Are you serious? No way.bret- hart wrote:Hmm what abt the sending off of Abidal? Please Chelski fans are already coming up with excuses for an upcoming azzwhooping. Barca is the best team in the universe. Chelski that overrated garbage team from london does not even come close to Barca interms of quality. Sit back and chop your beating like men. You should be honored that Barca is playing at stamford bridge today.
Seriously?
I am sure you are confusing that play with something else.
To be sure, did Abidal clip Anelka ankle (in a goal bound effort) - yes or no?
PS. Please remember, Anelka is not a faker or diver like Ribery or Obasi.
"If two grown men can't make a pervert happy for a few minutes in order to watch a film about zombies, then maybe we should all just move to Iran!"
Oga Kofi,kofi86 wrote:Maybe I have missed something, but I did not see any contact between Abidal and Anelka.
Anelka was tripped by Abidal. Anelka is no Drogba - and the vids does not lie.
- Undertaker
Men, i can't wait for Tuesday game at Nou Camp! Let just say Chelsea will be exposed like a two dollar whore!
- tfco
- Eagle
Undie..wassup
Naira Did We

- chendosplastic
YUJAM wrote:'quiet' not 'quite'
Bigpokey24 wrote:keep quite , there are 2 legs..fyi....for exposing UEFALONA? if Chelsea can be robbed for dem backyard, what stops that from happening today... we could careless , nah Arsenal i dey look foward to on saturday. Barcelona is not a good team in my eyes, and i do not rate them due to the under ground exchange of goods. Barca is like james iboriYUJAM wrote:I'd keep quiet till after the game if I were in your shoes
make tfco cath you.

"The history book on the shelf is always repeating itself" - ABBA.
"Facts, Logic, truth is the way....stop ranting via emotions; seeing things through the prism of ethnicity is comfortable but ultimately a road to perdition." - airwolex.