US Audience

US Audience

What's with Brad Friedel and his fake English accent? If na Mikel now we for yab am.
spurs
Re: US Audience

Post by spurs »

How can he live in England for over ten years be married to an English girl and not be expected to adapt. The other Americans in Europe, are never there as long and absolutely never marry there; they always marry American. so there is no real comparison to Fridel.

[color=brown]spurs[/color] wrote: How can he live in England for over ten years be married to an English girl and not be expected to adapt. The other Americans in Europe, are never there as long and absolutely never marry there; they always marry American. so there is no real comparison to Fridel.
Choi, you finally show face around here again :mrgreen:. So those mama sitas finally let go of you to post again :lol:.
2 of the finest indigenous coaches Nigeria ever had lost in a space of 4 days. Dear Lord, is this a sign that you are taking away from us what we failed to appreciate? I pray for forgiveness of our sins. I pray for the humility to recognize our wrongs and the humbleness and wisdom to right our ways.

1naija wrote:What's with Brad Friedel and his fake English accent? If na Mikel now we for yab am.
See this okrika man always talking about accent as if .... Ok, no comment but we are not fooled. Accent is natural but the narrow-minded 'world series' Americans can't see that :D

spurs

Post by spurs »

Its a Goal wrote:
[color=brown]spurs[/color] wrote: How can he live in England for over ten years be married to an English girl and not be expected to adapt. The other Americans in Europe, are never there as long and absolutely never marry there; they always marry American. so there is no real comparison to Fridel.
Choi, you finally show face around here again :mrgreen:. So those mama sitas finally let go of you to post again :lol:.

Ol boy,

that Chelsea game compel me to enter this site again. As usual the circumstances have conspired to screw spurs out of champions league football. na so life be, when you rely on germans to do your work for you, one becomes relegated to Europa cup footie.

Spurs
General Trousers

Post by General Trousers »

1Naija - The man has lived in England since the early 90s. He is married to a BRITISH woman ... it had to happen.

x

1naija wrote:What's with Brad Friedel and his fake English accent? If na Mikel now we for yab am.
Do u speak with agbero accent or yankee accent????

Brad Fridel is a Britanican! So he has a mixture of British and American accent. Kinda like how I'm Nigerican with a mixture of Nigeria and American accent.

General Trousers wrote:1Naija - The man has lived in England since the early 90s. He is married to a BRITISH woman ... it had to happen.

x
So how come Kanu can't speak it eventhough he's lived in England longer?

General Trousers wrote:1Naija - The man has lived in England since the early 90s. He is married to a BRITISH woman ... it had to happen.

x

x
...just like William Gallas (in an interview way back) can't speak english even tho he plays in england and he is european. Everyone has their priorities.

x
...just like William Gallas (in an interview way back) can't speak english even tho he plays in england and he is european. Everyone has their priorities.

The whole point of my observation is that his English accent sounds forced and fake. If it were natural I wouldn't have noticed it.

x

The whole point of my observation is that his English accent sounds forced and fake. If it were natural I wouldn't have noticed it.
Yes, and that's why it's called ACCENT and you sometimes have to force and fake to sound like the natives.

x

you're right... Tim Howard does the same thing, must be a GK thing

YemiBrazil wrote:

x

Yes, and that's why it's called ACCENT and you sometimes have to force and fake to sound like the natives.
Uncle Yemmibrassiere, we know you are worried we would talk about your heavy Ijebu accent, but we don't care about anything you have to say so it doesn't matter that no one can understand you. And at 57 it's too late to learn to speak like the rest of us.

YemiBrazil wrote:

x

Kid Yemmibrassiere, we know you are worried we would talk about your heavy Ijebu accent, but we don't care about anything you have to say so it doesn't matter that no one can understand you. And at 57 it's too late to learn to speak like the rest of us.

:D :D :D :D Grand Uncle 1naira, knowing fully well that you started twisting and forcing your Okrika English to American ghetto English with considerable success at the age of 62 then at my current age of 27 I still get strong hope.

x

...it has to be, forced and faked, but the content is what u gotta listen to. Having been away from naija long my Igbo is not as fluent as e suppose to be. I get double take kind of look for local market places i venture to.
ROTC

Post by ROTC »

what made it fake? I actually thought it was a fine blend. If he was faking it.... then more props to the fella! He looked the most comfortable among all the panelists.

What happened to Warren Barton? I didn't see him at halftime and beyond. I was hopping he hadn't made an inappropriate comment and was booted off.
American Police: Under trained, Over armed and a threat to all of society
F360

Post by F360 »

Friedel has been trying to work that fake English accent since the 1st day he landed in England.

Ask the U.S. fans, they've discussed that his fake accent for over a decade now. The dude has been trying to speak like that forever, I don't know if his accent has changed but Kasey Keller who moved to England before Friedel did in the 90's did not have an English accent during his time there, yet the moment Friedel landed in Merseyside he was blowing grammer in some weird Scouse/English accent.

--------------------------------------------

F360 wrote:Friedel has been trying to work that fake English accent since the 1st day he landed in England.

Ask the U.S. fans, they've discussed that his fake accent for over a decade now. The dude has been trying to speak like that forever, I don't know if his accent has changed but Kasey Keller who moved to England before Friedel did in the 90's did not have an English accent during his time there, yet the moment Friedel landed in Merseyside he was blowing grammer in some weird Scouse/English accent.

the accent is not fake... John Harkes found it tough to lose his "British" accent... Ran into Brad Friedel once in DC at a function and he was not pretending to have an accent... he DID HAVE an accent.

F360

Post by F360 »

F360 wrote:Friedel has been trying to work that fake English accent since the 1st day he landed in England.

the accent is not fake... John Harkes found it tough to lose his "British" accent... Ran into Brad Friedel once in DC at a function and he was not pretending to have an accent... he DID HAVE an accent.

Pardon me but John Harkes "British" accent is one of the fakest things ever. Dude was trying to work the British accent the moment he landed in England. Undoubtedly after a significant stay, one picks up an accent but when you're already speaking in said accent after a few months there, something is funny.

You can say for certain Friedel did have an accent? I find it hard to believe anyone but Friedel and his close family would know if his accent is fake or not. Regardless, i'm sure after all this time he has picked up a bit of an accent but my point is that a portion(major or minor) is fake and he was speaking that way after less time on Merseyside than Kasey Keller who had been in England for way longer than Friedel at that time in the 90's.

--------------------------------------------

I heard an American accent. I must be deaf.

F360 wrote:

Pardon me but John Harkes "British" accent is one of the fakest things ever. Dude was trying to work the British accent the moment he landed in England. Undoubtedly after a significant stay, one picks up an accent but when you're already speaking in said accent after a few months there, something is funny.

You can say for certain Friedel did have an accent? I find it hard to believe anyone but Friedel and his close family would know if his accent is fake or not. Regardless, i'm sure after all this time he has picked up a bit of an accent but my point is that a portion(major or minor) is fake and he was speaking that way after less time on Merseyside than Kasey Keller who had been in England for way longer than Friedel at that time in the 90's.
You are basing Friedel's accent on Kasey Keller's? You for real?

Folks have different affinity for language immersion including honing down the accent part...

There folks in the US for years yet can't lose their thick accents and you have JJC who just got off the boat and in two years can hide their accents better than the folks who have been here for years.