Rooney should not have started against Italy

icee
Rooney should not have started against Italy

Post by icee »

One mistake Roy made was to start Rooney yesterday. I think Rooney based on how he played against Ukriane was the weakest link in attack. Andy Carroll should have started. Rooney never gelled in this tournament and he wasn't subbed off- a mistake
Skylolo
Re: Rooney should not have started against Italy

Post by Skylolo »

Have to say there are real doubts as to whether this Rooney dude is a World class player at all...he looked below what was required "technically" throughout this tournament.
To God be the glory

Far from match fit, but because of his ability to conjure something, was given the nod. Starting with Carroll would've resulted in raking longballs from the get go and lost possession (even more than the 60% conceded). Pour moi, Wellbeck was a bad call, for all his running and willingness, he seldom offered a goal threat and was easily thwarted the opposition. Defoe's movement off the ball would've been better, but Roy wanted someone to hold it up, run down the clock, right from the off.

The formation was sh*t, they conceded the midfield and paid dearly for doing so.

That Adam Johnson guy that plays for City, did he make the team ?
Also Joe Cole. how come these guys were not used. Looks like they preferred to use guys that would run forever but could not play the technical part
Ayton Senna wrote:On a given day, a given circumstance, you think you have a limit. And you then go for this limit and you touch this limit, and you think, 'Okay, this is the limit.' As soon as you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high - Ayton Senna

@Juve, Joe Cole is finished. He's perfecting Wengerism in France, tearing up le daisies with Big John "Forever Young" Utaka. Brendan Rogers' style night yet breath life back into the Jazzman, but in all fairness, he's done at international level. Surprised Hodgson didnt take Lennon and Johnson, not sure what he hoped to gain from Downing and Oxlade.

icee wrote:One mistake Roy made was to start Rooney yesterday. I think Rooney based on how he played against Ukriane was the weakest link in attack. Andy Carroll should have started. Rooney never gelled in this tournament and he wasn't subbed off- a mistake

what exactly did Andy Carroll do when he came on? Rooney is being unfairly scapegoated for this loss. I can understand the error in starting rooney over some other midfielder who would harass Pirlo all game, but def not Carroll. They lost to a better team simple and short.

juventuss wrote:That Adam Johnson guy that plays for City, did he make the team ?
Also Joe Cole. how come these guys were not used. Looks like they preferred to use guys that would run forever but could not play the technical part

Are you serious? Do you think England is Nigeria?

icee wrote:One mistake Roy made was to start Rooney yesterday. I think Rooney based on how he played against Ukriane was the weakest link in attack. Andy Carroll should have started. Rooney never gelled in this tournament and he wasn't subbed off- a mistake

what exactly did Andy Carroll do when he came on? Rooney is being unfairly scapegoated for this loss. I can understand the error in starting rooney over some other midfielder who would harass Pirlo all game, but def not Carroll. They lost to a better team simple and short.
People are not giving Italy credit, it's all about what Eng should have done

This game should not even have gone to ET.

Carroll was ok against UKR but was completely lost yesterday. I don't rate him anyway.

For Italy, Cassano should pass the ball more to Balo.

Undertaker wrote:
juventuss wrote:That Adam Johnson guy that plays for City, did he make the team ?

Are you serious? Do you think England is Nigeria?
I am just thinking of guys who are comfortable with the ball, and not always looking to play it long.
Ayton Senna wrote:On a given day, a given circumstance, you think you have a limit. And you then go for this limit and you touch this limit, and you think, 'Okay, this is the limit.' As soon as you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high - Ayton Senna

There was a time during the game yesterday when Chelsea vs Bayern or Chelsea vs Barcelona came to mind. One team clearly dominate and better than the other while the other team steal the match with one strike or on PK! Thank God that The God of soccer was watching as well!
The Eagle

Post by The Eagle »

Rooney was not very effective, but he was much, much, much more effective than Wellbeck. If it had been the Eagles, this forum would have lit up with abuse of the coach for not substituting Wellbeck sooner ... not that Carroll was any better.

I saw Defoe after the match was over. I don't pay as much attention to EPL as y'all .... has Defoe lost form or something? Why didn't he smell the pitch?

PS: tfco, I agree about Cassano. He reminded me of Obinna Nsofor:

(a) cut in
(b) shoot pointlessly
(c) repeat (a) and (b).
The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects the wind to change; the realist adjusts his sails.
Don't believe anything until it has been officially denied.
If you are controversial, you will lose some votes. If you are courageous, you will lose the election.
Tunisian Gooner

Post by Tunisian Gooner »

No doubt Rooney is over hyped but can't do much with a totally useless midfield.

Put Rooney on Germany with a midfield that consists of ballers such as Ozil, Khaderia and Schweinsteiger and he'd produce the goods. 4-5-1 with a fit Wilshere, Adam Johnson, Ox, Gerrard and Carrick would have been miles better than to what England put on display last night.
Detective Bunk Moreland

'The bigger the lie, the more they believe'

The Eagle wrote:Rooney was not very effective, but he was much, much, much more effective than Wellbeck. If it had been the Eagles, this forum would have lit up with abuse of the coach for not substituting Wellbeck sooner ... not that Carroll was any better.

I saw Defoe after the match was over. I don't pay as much attention to EPL as y'all .... has Defoe lost form or something? Why didn't he smell the pitch?

PS: tfco, I agree about Cassano. He reminded me of Obinna Nsofor:

(a) cut in
(b) shoot pointlessly
(c) repeat (a) and (b).
:lol: :lol: :lol: At least Nsofor dey manage score sometimes. Cassano was at the end of most of the italian attacks that fizzled out.

Fit Wilshere...and so the circus begins, good player 'yes', saviour of English football 'no'. Rest assured, Jack Wilshere will be the next Scott Parker.

Tunisian Gooner wrote:No doubt Rooney is over hyped but can't do much with a totally useless midfield.

Put Rooney on Germany with a midfield that consists of ballers such as Ozil, Khaderia and Schweinsteiger and he'd produce the goods. 4-5-1 with a fit Wilshere, Adam Johnson, Ox, Gerrard and Carrick would have been miles better than to what England put on display last night.

Calling him "white pele" is extreme hype but i think he is an excellent player that will definitely make it on any national team side in the world when he is fit. Rooney has carried some rather pedestrian manure and English sides on his back. As much as i cant stand manure, he is one heck of a player and almost unstoppable on his day.

kalani

Post by kalani »

Skylolo wrote:Have to say there are real doubts as to whether this Rooney dude is a World class player at all...he looked below what was required "technically" throughout this tournament.
Like he won't lay the smackdown on you favorite 'English team next season.
megapro wrote:
Yobo’s problem is easy to analyze. His name is Omeruo. You don’t have to be a genius, just a normal guy like me to understand that we’re talking about frustration. It’s not easy for a player to see how he’s outperformed by a 19 year-old kid, but the kid is fantastic. I had the courage to play him and the problem is very simple.

Clowns if Rooney had not started they would have gone to town calling Roy a Looney :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: .You guys sometimes need to look at yaself in the mirror and think about changing ya profession to fortunetellers, the only thing is that you need to warn ya clients that you do ya fortune telling with the benefit of hindsight. :woot: :woot: :woot: :woot:

Undertaker wrote:There was a time during the game yesterday when Chelsea vs Bayern or Chelsea vs Barcelona came to mind. One team clearly dominate and better than the other while the other team steal the match with one strike or on PK! Thank God that The God of soccer was watching as well!
is this a football analysis or just a feeling rant. because, people dey talk about tactics and technique you dey talk about spiritual soccer

goke313

Post by goke313 »

Undertaker wrote:There was a time during the game yesterday when Chelsea vs Bayern or Chelsea vs Barcelona came to mind. One team clearly dominate and better than the other while the other team steal the match with one strike or on PK! Thank God that The God of soccer was watching as well!
Chelsea had Drogba...England is stuck with Rooney 8-)

oloye wrote:Clowns if Rooney had not started they would have gone to town calling Roy a Looney :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: .You guys sometimes need to look at yaself in the mirror and think about changing ya profession to fortunetellers, the only thing is that you need to warn ya clients that you do ya fortune telling with the benefit of hindsight. :woot: :woot: :woot: :woot:
...very right because rooney is next in line to the queen :lol: :lol: :lol:
Tunisian Gooner

Post by Tunisian Gooner »

Coach wrote:Fit Wilshere...and so the circus begins, good player 'yes', saviour of English football 'no'. Rest assured, Jack Wilshere will be the next Scott Parker.
Wilshere won't be the next Pirlo but not a chance in hell he is the next Scott Parker.
Detective Bunk Moreland

'The bigger the lie, the more they believe'
Skylolo

Post by Skylolo »

Tunisian Gooner wrote:
Coach wrote:Fit Wilshere...and so the circus begins, good player 'yes', saviour of English football 'no'. Rest assured, Jack Wilshere will be the next Scott Parker.
Wilshere won't be the next Pirlo but not a chance in hell he is the next Scott Parker.
Have said many times, Coach knows nothing about football..
To God be the glory
ROSSIKE

Post by ROSSIKE »

Tunisian Gooner wrote:No doubt Rooney is over hyped but can't do much with a totally useless midfield.

Calling him "white pele" is extreme hype but i think he is an excellent player that will definitely make it on any national team side in the world when he is fit. Rooney has carried some rather pedestrian manure and English sides on his back. As much as i cant stand manure, he is one heck of a player and almost unstoppable on his day.
On his day? WHEN IS IT EVER ''HIS DAY'' in his national team colours?

In all the tournaments he's played for England since 2004 (8 years) he's only scored ONE goal.

The guy always goes missing when it's time to represent.

But sure, he can terrorise Sunderland, QPR, and Wigan, and ''ON HIS DAY''. :dream: :dream:
Imagination is more important than knowledge

- Albert Einstein