SE VS Arsenal August 5TH.

Re: SE VS Arsenal August 5TH.

@Catalyst re: Another opportunity to upgrade and bring Abuja stadium up to date. Hopefully the funds raised will be used well.

E still dey do u like film trick. (@Robby, marks out of 10). All proceeds will go into deep pockets, permitting recipients to procure herds from Hausa men, ready for roasting and the finest ashewos Abuja has to offer. The national stadium will continue to resemble the play pen of Hannibal's elephants rehearsing their stampede on Ancient Rome.

If we win, it's lousy win against common Arsenal who hasn't won anything in decades. If we lose then Keshi has disgraced us.
kalani

Post by kalani »

I wish they could play Dolphins or Enyimba then cane them 8-1, like Inter did that time.
megapro wrote:
Yobo’s problem is easy to analyze. His name is Omeruo. You don’t have to be a genius, just a normal guy like me to understand that we’re talking about frustration. It’s not easy for a player to see how he’s outperformed by a 19 year-old kid, but the kid is fantastic. I had the courage to play him and the problem is very simple.
Re: NAIJA V ARSENAL:SHOULD KESHI CHANGE HIS HOME-BASED FORMU

To be frank, I don't even know why Nigeria is playing this game. It would have been better to have either Enugu Rangers or Kano Pillars playing the game. If it is the HB team, then Keshi should use the game to try newer discoveries from the home front as he will have a more important Brazil game just a week or so later or have the U-20 boys play the match. The Arsenal game does not even count as an international appearance for the SE players who will be playing in it and frankly I see no benefit except just practice for the boys to state the least.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

In one word money!

That stadium will be jammed.
It should be a good pay day for everyone involved... :biggrin:

Enugu II wrote:To be frank, I don't even know why Nigeria is playing this game. It would have been better to have either Enugu Rangers or Kano Pillars playing the game. If it is the HB team, then Keshi should use the game to try newer discoveries from the home front as he will have a more important Brazil game just a week or so later or have the U-20 boys play the match. The Arsenal game does not even count as an international appearance for the SE players who will be playing in it and frankly I see no benefit except just practice for the boys to state the least.

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Bigpokey24 wrote:so who will Nigerians support? i wonder who robby go support
Go Arsenal

txj,

But the tag for that money is Arsenal and not necessarily the Home based team. In a sense, the crowd and money will still be out there with Rangers or Pillars going against Arsenal. That is exactly why I do not understand why a Nigeria XI is playing the game (i.e. our NT).

Txj, I was in Nigeria when Man U visited. Their match against Portsmouth would have been packed (It was not) but the organizers got greedy and afterwards you had people making some really curoious comments like -- we had the fees raised because we wanted the game restricted to certain class of spectators. Hopefully, that will not be the case this time.

txj wrote:In one word money!

Enugu II wrote:To be frank, I don't even know why Nigeria is playing this game. It would have been better to have either Enugu Rangers or Kano Pillars playing the game. If it is the HB team, then Keshi should use the game to try newer discoveries from the home front as he will have a more important Brazil game just a week or so later or have the U-20 boys play the match. The Arsenal game does not even count as an international appearance for the SE players who will be playing in it and frankly I see no benefit except just practice for the boys to state the least.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Perhaps, although I have my doubts...but it certainly will not be asmuch as against the SE.

Its a nice payday for everybody....and why not!

Enugu II wrote:txj,

But the tag for that money is Arsenal and not necessarily the Home based team. In a sense, the crowd and money will still be out there with Rangers or Pillars going against Arsenal. That is exactly why I do not understand why a Nigeria XI is playing the game (i.e. our NT).

Txj, I was in Nigeria when Man U visited. Their match against Portsmouth would have been packed (It was not) but the organizers got greedy and afterwards you had people making some really curoious comments like -- we had the fees raised because we wanted the game restricted to certain class of spectators. Hopefully, that will not be the case this time.

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

My take is that the gate will matter more. As long as it is Arsenal, the crowd will show (No matter the opponent) if the gate is right. As I noted, the crowd for Man U v Portsmouth and Man. U v Pillars the last time was low because of fees. However, there was a large crowd that showed to see Man U at the NICON on arrival. :rotf: The HB is not exactly the same as SE, at least not at this time in terms of bringing in the crowd. In any case, it is what it is but if I was in the NFF I would not be signing on to this type of arrangement that adds little value to the NT.
txj wrote:Perhaps, although I have my doubts...but it certainly will not be asmuch as against the SE.

IMO, based on the perspective of the organizers, the interest of the NT here is secondary...

The goal is to make money; period...

I agree with you on the gate fees though...

Enugu II wrote:My take is that the gate will matter more. As long as it is Arsenal, the crowd will show (No matter the opponent) if the gate is right. As I noted, the crowd for Man U v Portsmouth and Man. U v Pillars the last time was low because of fees. However, there was a large crowd that showed to see Man U at the NICON on arrival. :rotf: The HB is not exactly the same as SE, at least not at this time in terms of bringing in the crowd. In any case, it is what it is but if I was in the NFF I would not be signing on to this type of arrangement that adds little value to the NT.
txj wrote:Perhaps, although I have my doubts...but it certainly will not be asmuch as against the SE.

kalani

Post by kalani »

Should have been (or marketed as) a Nigerian Premier League All Star team
megapro wrote:
Yobo’s problem is easy to analyze. His name is Omeruo. You don’t have to be a genius, just a normal guy like me to understand that we’re talking about frustration. It’s not easy for a player to see how he’s outperformed by a 19 year-old kid, but the kid is fantastic. I had the courage to play him and the problem is very simple.

Bigpokey24 wrote:so who will Nigerians support? i wonder who robby go support
Ol'boy win, lose, or draw...It is Arsenal...oops I mean Super Eagles for life! :D

1naija wrote:If we win, it's lousy win against common Arsenal who hasn't won anything in decades. If we lose then Keshi has disgraced us.
Depending on how you look at it, it is a win win and a lose lose situation for us then... :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

ROSSIKE

Post by ROSSIKE »

nemi2002 wrote:What rubbish. Why would Nigeria be playing against a clubside?
My brotha I don't know why we keep belittling ourselves. I've never heard of a club saying they're going to play Argentina, Germany, or Brazil, or even England, Sweden or Czech Rep.

So how can Arsenal be playing Nigeria?

Back in the 70s and 80s when we had pride and dignity, top clubs like Santos of Brazil would visit Nigeria, play OUR CLUBS and then the NFA would form a side - 'NFA Selected' - to play them. The idea of the Green Eagles being called in to play a visiting clubside was unheard of, and would have been considered a sacrilege.

Today, we're just happy to be on the same field as Arsenal!

SHAMEFUL.
Last edited by ROSSIKE on Wed Jun 27, 2012 7:09 pm, edited 4 times in total.
Imagination is more important than knowledge

- Albert Einstein

If they pick a strong side, Nigeria will beat Arsenal.

ROSSIKE wrote:
My brotha I don't know why we keep belittling ourselves. I've never heard of a club saying they're going to play Argentina, Germany, or Brazil, or even England, Sweden or Czech Rep.

Back in the 70s and 80s when we had pride and dignity, top clubs like Santos of Brazil would visit Nigeria, play OUR CLUBS and then the NFA would form a side - 'NFA Selected' - to play them. The idea of the Green Eagles being called in to play a visiting clubside was unheard of, and would have been considered a sacrilege.

SHAMEFUL.
Didn't Bayern Minich play Holland in a friendly recently???

ROSSIKE wrote:

SHAMEFUL.
Clubsides do regularly play National teams in a run up to a competition. I know we have been on the receiving end of some serious beating from clubsides when we were prepping for a tourney.

For what it is worth, it is a good exposure for the players... The Naija select side no go find am easy as clubsides are usually better than national teams since they have the benefit of training together and understanding each other. Maybe one or two players will get noticed by the Arsenal scouts...

folem

Post by folem »

Sunset wrote:
ROSSIKE wrote:

SHAMEFUL.
Didn't Bayern Minich play Holland in a friendly recently???
Abi oo.

Last edited by folem on Sat Jun 30, 2012 12:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

.... :blink: I mean..Bros EII I understand you dont think Nigeria should be playing a clubside but....unless I dont know Arsenal well I believe MOST of their players are high calibre INTERNATIONALS in their own rights so..why would you NOT want to test the Super Eagles against a topflight opponent? :blink: Of what purpose will it serve to field a team that can't compete with Arsenal? :atc:

Hmmm between the threat of Boko Haram Mullahs and the potential for one of these Naija Boys to break the legs of these Biscuit Boned Arsenal Panzies me I no sabi about dis wan :?

folem

Post by folem »

When national teams play clubs sides: England v Spurs, France v Arsenal, Brazil v Barca and more

With the success of the Champions League and Premier League, not to mention the fact that the biggest club sides have their pick of the world's best players, international football isn't what it used to be. The controversy surrounding FIFA has also brought into question just how important the international game is in modern football. Could any international team win the Champions League? Would Brazil beat Barca? Could England beat Man United?

There have been occasions in the past when club teams have actually faced national sides. talkSPORT looks at the matches that made club v country a reality...

TOTTENHAM HOTSPUR 3 ENGLAND 2, 1961 CHARITY SHIELD

Despite being billed as an 'FA XI', Tottenham's opponents in the 1961 Charity Shield was undoubtedly the England team of that time (minus Spurs' England internationals), managed by England boss Walter Winterbottom. Spurs had won the double that year, the first time since the Charity Shield was inaugurated in 1908 that this feat had been achieved, leading to England's participation in the event (the practice of inviting the league runners up to take part in such an event first occurred in 1986). Spurs beat an England team containing the likes of Bobby Charlton, Bobby Robson and Johnny Haynes in an entertaining game at White Hart Lane.

Bradford City 2 ENGLAND 1, 1986

This match was held to mark the re-opening of Bradford City's Valley Parade ground in December 1986, over a year after a tragic fire in the main stand had killed 56 people who had simply gone to watch a game of football. A quarter of a century after he'd played for England against Spurs, a crowd of 15,000 were present to see Bobby Robson manage England to a 2-1 defeat against the Bantams.

AYLESBURY UNITED 0 ENGLAND 7, 1988

England went into the 1988 European Championships hopeful, as ever, of glory. How did they warm up for the challenge of Jack Charlton's tough Irish side, the Dutch team of Ruud Gullit and Marco van Basten and the powerful Soviets? With a friendly against Beazer Homes League team Aylesbury United. Peter Beardsley scored four as England unsurprisingly cruised to victory, a feeling that would elude them in West Germany when they lost all three games to crash out of the Euros.

ARSENAL 2 FRANCE 0, 1989

On Valentine's Day 1989 Arsenal took on a France team looking to acclimatise to the British style of play before they faced Scotland in a crucial World Cup qualifier. Arsenal's Scottish manager George Graham was criticised by national team boss Andy Roxburgh for agreeing to the fixture, but it didn't help the French, who lost out on a place at the 1990 World Cup to the Scots. Meanwhile, Arsenal (who went on to be crowned champions that season) beat France 2-0 thanks to goals from Alan Smith and Martin Hayes. The French team contained a certain Eric Cantona and the Arsenal fans serenaded their team with a rendtion of 'Arsenal for England!'

ARSENAL 3-2 AUSTRALIA, 1984

The win against France wasn't the first time Arsenal had beaten international opposition at Higbury. Five years previously the Gunners beat Australia in a November friendly, in which John Kosmina (at Arsenal between 1978 and 1979) lined up against his old team for the Socceroos. Arsenal's 3-2 win was revenge for a 3-1 defeat they had suffered to Australia in Sydney back in 1977, with George Armstrong grabbing the Gunners' consolation.

BARCELONA 2 BRAZIL 2, 1999

This incredible contest took place at the Nou Camp as part of Barcelona's centenary celebrations. Ronaldo put Brazil ahead on his return to Barca (he was an Inter player by this point, but had yet to sign for Real Madrid!) before Barca equalised. Barcelona's Rivaldo put Brazil 2-1 up by half-time (he was playing for his country), but the Catalans levelled things when Brazilian Sonny Anderson (who couldn't break into his national side) got the game's final goal.

GIN

Post by GIN »

That's what Keshi has reduced us to. You would recall he dragged us to far away Peru to be slaughtered by a bunch of Universtiy students.
Togo slaughtered us at home.
Samson Siasia speaking FACTs about 2008.
“I have been waiting for this job for almost three years now and that was before the 2008 Beijing Olympics. I was to be the coach of the Super Eagles after the interview conducted for the job. But that time I said no, I wasn’t ready. Now that I am ready, I am not intimidated at all. I am ready for this job,” he declared matter-of-factly" http://africanfootball.mtnfootball.com/ ... m_ID=36099

ROSSIKE wrote:

SHAMEFUL.
Clubsides do regularly play National teams in a run up to a competition. I know we have been on the receiving end of some serious beating from clubsides when we were prepping for a tourney.

For what it is worth, it is a good exposure for the players... The Naija select side no go find am easy as clubsides are usually better than national teams since they have the benefit of training together and understanding each other. Maybe one or two players will get noticed by the Arsenal scouts...
U beat me to it. Clubs are usually stronger than national teams so it's a good quality work out depending on the side we put out. By the way, is this game on a FIFA window?