Nigeria V USA

The Olympic Games Paris 2024 will take place in France from 26 July to 11 August.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Man Ataye
Re: Nigeria V USA

Post by Man Ataye »

Bigpokey24 wrote:on the bright side we scored 73 points, highest in 3 games we've played
MORAL VICTORY... :? :? :? :? :boo:
shaq

Post by shaq »

I saw the 3rd quarter and decided I could not bare to watch the beat down anymore. I just switched the channel

Kai, they beat us like we stole something.
Man Ataye

Post by Man Ataye »

Naija4lyfe wrote:
phantomjournalist wrote:
Naija4lyfe wrote:lol the dust havent settled? guys do we any chance against argentina or france what are the match ups like?
Forget rankings right now, they are the 2nd and 3rd best teams in our group and I don't really see us beating either. Argentina will probably be a big blow out.
oh well whatever happens they got my support 110%
kpom.. :thumb: :thumbs:
Man Ataye

Post by Man Ataye »

Did robbynice have something to do with this????????

ohenhen1 wrote:The US no get shame, Nigeria is just starting out, and they had to score 158 points on us. I will remember, and I hope most Nigerians remember how a big bully the US are. We need to schedule a friendly against them in football, and gather our full strenght. I am a fan of the Spanish team, I hope they can beat the US.
...that cannot happen, even their mls players go deal with u.
Man Ataye

Post by Man Ataye »

ohenhen1 wrote:The US no get shame, Nigeria is just starting out, and they had to score 158 points on us. I will remember, and I hope most Nigerians remember how a big bully the US are. We need to schedule a friendly against them in football, and gather our full strenght.

Dude can you please stop using narcotics :scared:

:laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Na narcs since Rossike na eem supplier???
:scared: :scared: :scared: Dis wan pass those children's aspirin..
Heliopolis

Post by Heliopolis »

bret- hart wrote:
Heliopolis wrote:The sad thing is the US wasnt even trying to run up the score...Nigeria was just so F'n bad. Unlike in other team sports such as soccer, football, hockey, etc were you can just run out the clock if you have a huge lead, it's impossible to do so in basketball due to the shot clock. I mean, the US put a 19 year old out there that never played against professionals before prior to this tournament and he still went 4/4 from the field.

Melo scored 37 points in 14 minutes :scared: . If he played a full game (i.e. 42-44 minutes) he could've beat Wilt Chamberlain's record for most points in a basketball game :oops: :oops: :oops:

Dude FUUUUK YOU!!!!! Where is the Egyptian Bball team Where???? Anuohia wuranwu :curse: :curse: :curse: :curse: :curse: :curse: :curse:
Team Egypt has a legacy of remarkable achievements. Its 9th place at the 1952 Summer Olympics as well as its 5th place at the 1950 FIBA World Championship remain the best results ever of an African nation at each tournament. Further, the title of the 1949 Eurobasket is the most prestigious basketball title of an African nation as well. At the FIBA Africa Championships, Egypt holds a records number of 16 medals.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Egypt_nati ... tball_team
Babafad

Post by Babafad »

pajimoh wrote:We wanted our boys to put Naija BB on the map and I think it would be hard to remove us from that map. They practically cemented us on it :shock: :rotf:
Damn....... :rotf:
Being challenged in life is inevitable, being defeated is optional.
Babafad

Post by Babafad »

Man Ataye wrote:Thats the point, thats what i am saying. Growing pains, it gets better from here, we can only learn.
If it gets any worse, Nigeria will be banned from the Olympics.......all sports, not just BB. :roll:
Being challenged in life is inevitable, being defeated is optional.

ohenhen1 wrote:The US no get shame, Nigeria is just starting out, and they had to score 158 points on us. I will remember, and I hope most Nigerians remember how a big bully the US are. We need to schedule a friendly against them in football, and gather our full strenght. I am a fan of the Spanish team, I hope they can beat the US.

Seriously they need to change the format to U23. The US have an unfair advantage, their league is more advanced than most countries, and they have been playing the sports longer than any country. It should be an age grade competition, enough of the NBA players nonsense. I am now a supporter of Spain for the rest of the tournament. Can't support the Yanks, a bunch of classeless, uncultured, balco drug cheats. They accuse other countries of cheating, when they are the worst culprits, we can talk about Flo Jo and lewis. The Olympic committee should scrap that Flo Jo record, tainted , bunch of cheats. There is a lot of folks that don't like Americans , and going by the people I interact with, I think they are aware of that fact themselves.

soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

we have a problem, with the way countries now poach athletes it will be very difficult to produce a better team that
what we have if we continue to have the useless authorities running our country. It is heading to a situation where
talented Nigerians who have potential to get medals , end up representing the country where they learnt their trade
or earn living, while Nigeria has to make do with our domestic talent , starved of support, starved of professionalism,
and continuously thrown obstacles that will demotivate and deter them from getting the best of their talents.
soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

The sad thing is the US wasnt even trying to run up the score...Nigeria was just so F'n bad.
Stop chatting crap, 63% in 3-point shooting, 70% field goals, and you say they were not running up the score. Please, they wanted to humiliate us and send a message to the other teams.
F360

Post by F360 »

soothsayer wrote:
The sad thing is the US wasnt even trying to run up the score...Nigeria was just so F'n bad.
Stop chatting crap, 63% in 3-point shooting, 70% field goals, and you say they were not running up the score. Please, they wanted to humiliate us and send a message to the other teams.
You know if they really wanted to humiliate us they would have left in the starters right? WTF did you want Coach K to do? Play only Anthony Davis out there and bench the 11 other players? (Davis probably would go 7/7 from three anyway)

It was the perfect storm(bad defense-perimeter especially, a U.S. team seeking to show it's shooting touch was on point and a U.S. team that found it's shooting touch against our weak zone and then regular man to man, a Nigerian team that runs zero plays on offense, a Nigerian team that sends everyone to the rim to rebound, a Nigerian team that plays glorified pickup basketball) and we saw the thrashing that resulted.

--------------------------------------------
F360

Post by F360 »

To some of those upset with those that took this loss badly, keep in mind NO ONE, NOT ONE OF US in our right minds on here expected Nigeria to win. What we did expect or hope for was that we would lose by maybe less than 30 pts. 20 if everything was on our side. Instead we didn't lose by 20, not 30, not 40, not 50, not 60. Not 60 you say? Yup not 60, let's keep going. We didn't lose by 60, not 70, not even 80. 83!
EIGHTY THREE FVCKING POINTS! EIGHTY THREE!
Keep in mind every single player on our team is a professional. No one is still in college. They all get payed to play professional Basketball on teams in decent to good to great leagues all over the world.
How the heck do you lose by 83 points??????
Not even 40. Not even 50. Not even 60.
83?

Shiyeeeeet.

--------------------------------------------

F360 wrote:To some of those upset with those that took this loss badly, keep in mind NO ONE, NOT ONE OF US in our right minds on here expected Nigeria to win. What we did expect or hope for was that we would lose by maybe less than 30 pts. 20 if everything was on our side. Instead we didn't lose by 20, not 30, not 40, not 50, not 60. Not 60 you say? Yup not 60, let's keep going. We didn't lose by 60, not 70, not even 80. 83!
Keep in mind every single player on our team is a professional. No one is still in college. They all get payed to play professional Basketball on teams in decent to good to great leagues all over the world.
83?

Shiyeeeeet.
they refused to play defense, most refused to play with heart, some just came to play and be photographed with the likes of Kobe and LeBron

Seriously they need to change the format to U23. The US have an unfair advantage, their league is more advanced than most countries, and they have been playing the sports longer than any country. It should be an age grade competition, enough of the NBA players nonsense. I am now a supporter of Spain for the rest of the tournament. Can't support the Yanks, a bunch of classeless, uncultured, balco drug cheats. They accuse other countries of cheating, when they are the worst culprits, we can talk about Flo Jo and lewis. The Olympic committee should scrap that Flo Jo record, tainted , bunch of cheats. There is a lot of folks that don't like Americans , and going by the people I interact with, I think they are aware of that fact themselves.
...look at the big picture, the yanks own the IOC, the UN, and anything they can dominate they set the rules.
If the rest of world can get 6 to 7 foot 300 pounders, they will force american football into the olympics.
So rules or no rules they decide you tag along.
soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

F360 wrote:
soothsayer wrote:
You know if they really wanted to humiliate us they would have left in the starters right? WTF did you want Coach K to do? Play only Anthony Davis out there and bench the 11 other players? (Davis probably would go 7/7 from three anyway)

It was the perfect storm(bad defense-perimeter especially, a U.S. team seeking to show it's shooting touch was on point and a U.S. team that found it's shooting touch against our weak zone and then regular man to man, a Nigerian team that runs zero plays on offense, a Nigerian team that sends everyone to the rim to rebound, a Nigerian team that plays glorified pickup basketball) and we saw the thrashing that resulted.
No, I am not arguing that we played badly, we have been playing the same way we have since qualifiers, same defensive weakness same low shooting percentages as in all our other games,.... i'm trying to dispel the argument that they were playing it easy against us, the played to our weakness. The reserves are quality, they are very good shooters, yes its true they took out Anthony but that doesn't mean they eased off. Everyone of those players wanted to score as many 3-points as they could. Tigers are vulnerable against shooting teams, we don't have any shooters of our own.
sabb

Post by sabb »

analyzer wrote:
juventuss wrote:
kalani wrote:Our Tigers are playing basketball and our Eagles play soccer, see what's wrong.

@PJ, thanks for the response.. Cos I saw those U.S boyz just shooting 3s anyhow..
To d Super Eagles - there's no limit to wot can be accomplished when nobody cares who gets the credit (ucb)
speech is ma hammer bang d world into shape - mos def
A win is a win, whether u win by an inch or by a mile - Dominic Toretto
life without knowledge is death in disguise - talib kweli
sabb

Post by sabb »

juventuss wrote:
Riversboy wrote:I have switched off my phone.

RB.
The messages will be waiting for you when you turn it back on.
I sent out a preemptive message before the start of the game.
:lol: :lol: :lol: :rotf: :rotf:
To d Super Eagles - there's no limit to wot can be accomplished when nobody cares who gets the credit (ucb)
sabb

Post by sabb »

Dodo wrote:
F360 wrote:To some of those upset with those that took this loss badly, keep in mind NO ONE, NOT ONE OF US in our right minds on here expected Nigeria to win. What we did expect or hope for was that we would lose by maybe less than 30 pts. 20 if everything was on our side. Instead we didn't lose by 20, not 30, not 40, not 50, not 60. Not 60 you say? Yup not 60, let's keep going. We didn't lose by 60, not 70, not even 80. 83!
83?

Shiyeeeeet.
they refused to play defense, most refused to play with heart, some just came to play and be photographed with the likes of Kobe and LeBron
our boys got caught up in the dunking euphoria, thot they could just throw 3/2 pointer from the free throw area, we are not as good, try every angle possible to slow game down like the tunisians did but no they wanna speed up the game like thy could go toe to toe, well we did alright only to land on our #$%, no lele. Naija always rep anyway, d'tigers una do well but usa pass una.

pick urselves up, work on weaknesses and play ur own game

We lost. Not the end of the world. We will have to face the remaining matches.

Again, kudos to the guys that stood to be counted.
Riversboy

Post by Riversboy »

Those who watched the Qualifying Tournament know how Russia finished us with three pointers. USA did the same thing. Our boys are reluctant to defend the perimeter. I don't know if they are afraid of being mismatched in the paint if they challenge in three-point land. They were not doing full-court presses either, or using physicality to make the yanks work for points. All those things were failures that could have been corrected quickly by the coaching staff.

The rest of it was plain old tactical inferiority, which we all knew and expected. No shame there. But they should have shown waaaay more heart. I was disappointed that they weren't making the yanks work for points.

I still rep Naija. I hope they can recover psychologically to face the argies.

RB.
Chief Ogbunigwe wrote: is this what we celebrate these days, nutmeg?

Its a Goal wrote:How many NBA players do we have on the team?
Former NBA or Current? Don't forget that all of our players grew up and balled in Yankee, no excuse at all man.