Medal shy team Nigeria grumbles over $100 a day allowance
Moderator: Moderator Team
- Field Marshall Ogolo
Medal shy team Nigeria grumbles over $100 a day allowance
revealed that the athletes are waiting for the right time to carry out an open protest that would even attract the attention of the world press in order to press home their demand for a better treatment.
The source also disclosed that it took the intervention of top NSC personnel to calm the athletes who almost took to the streets of the Games Village to register their displeasure adding that it would take the grace of God for Nigeria to win any colour of medal with the morale of the athletes being at its lowest ebb.
http://www.nationaldailyngr.com/athleti ... am-nigeria
The source also disclosed that it took the intervention of top NSC personnel to calm the athletes who almost took to the streets of the Games Village to register their displeasure adding that it would take the grace of God for Nigeria to win any colour of medal with the morale of the athletes being at its lowest ebb.
http://www.nationaldailyngr.com/athleti ... am-nigeria
I never LOSE, I either WIN or LEARN. – Nelson Mandela
Re: Medal shy team Nigeria grumbles over $100 a day allowanc
$100 dollars a day is good money for amateurs. That should cover transportation and food for a day, heck I can live on 20 dollars a day.
In London? You'd be in poverty trying to live on $20 a day. $100 a day? As professional 'medal-challenging' athletes, they should be getting paid more than that, all year round. That's only $36,500 a year. And to make matters worse, they only get this for a few days every 4 years. Disappointing.
I thought food was free forathletes in the Olympic village.
I thought gym was free for athletes in the Olympic Village.
I thought sex was free for athletes in the Olympic Village.
I thought steroids were free for athletes in the Olympic Village.
RB.
RB.
Chief Ogbunigwe wrote: is this what we celebrate these days, nutmeg?
- GREENWHITEGREEN
Are the officials receiving more or less than the athletes $100/day ?
-Simpli fy -
- tfco
- Eagle
the issue is probably "how much should they be getting'?? Maybe $250 and somebody dey pocket the extraohenhen1 wrote:$100 dollars a day is good money for amateurs. That should cover transportation and food for a day, heck I can live on 20 dollars a day.
Naira Did We

....and una dey wonder why Nigerian nationals dey jump ship to other countries. Simple things we can't do.
mcal wrote:....and una dey wonder why Nigerian nationals dey jump ship to other countries. Simple things we can't do.

Ohh.... when they see their counterparts getting wined and dined, they are sweating and fighting with officials to give them their allowance.... this is a joke.
Ayton Senna wrote:On a given day, a given circumstance, you think you have a limit. And you then go for this limit and you touch this limit, and you think, 'Okay, this is the limit.' As soon as you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high - Ayton Senna
Roman Obamovitch wrote:In London? You'd be in poverty trying to live on $20 a day. $100 a day? As professional 'medal-challenging' athletes, they should be getting paid more than that, all year round. That's only $36,500 a year. And to make matters worse, they only get this for a few days every 4 years. Disappointing.
Don't forget: Tax free.

- Cristao II
They are not paying for accommodation or feeding or bills. So what exactly are they spending the money on? I think they need to wake up.
- Cristao II
Abi transportation should be free as well.Riversboy wrote:I thought food was free forathletes in the Olympic village.
RB.
they should try and win their individual events and the sky will be the limit!! what is 100 dollars compared to millions they will receive in endorsements!!! shameful athletes!!!
Oh please the only thing expensive in London is transportation. 100 dollars a day is reasonable if transportation and housing is provided. So you are saying a person living off 1500 pounds a month with transportation and housing is living in poverty. Heck the last time I lived with my uncle in London, my daily allowance was like 10 pounds, and I survived. Those athletes should be thankful they are at the Olympics, they should focus on the competition instead of worrying on how to protest. You people have NHS and you are complaining.Roman Obamovitch wrote:In London? You'd be in poverty trying to live on $20 a day. $100 a day? As professional 'medal-challenging' athletes, they should be getting paid more than that, all year round. That's only $36,500 a year. And to make matters worse, they only get this for a few days every 4 years. Disappointing.
This is the point being made: Pay and allowances go beyond sustaining an athlete during those few days of the games. Elite, world class athletes spend almost all of their young lives, training and building up to that moment on the podium. Those Chinese swimmers, divers, and gymnasts, started training when they were 5, and they've been putting over 40 hours a week for up to 15 years now. Athletes in many countries are 'full-time' staff of their federations, who cater for them 24/7 year after year on end to develop them and keep them happy and focused. Go to stratford city Westfield on a normal day, and you'd see the athletes buying stuff for themselves, friends, and family at John Lewis. Even if the $100 a day was extended year-round, that's still less than $37,000. In UK, you have graduates, fresh out of Uni making more than that AFTER TAX. Talk less of someone who carries a country's hopes and dreams on his or her shoulders. I am sorry, but it does your morale no good when you see your rivals being well treated and you don't get the same. Basic Management Psychology tells you that while high pay is not a motivating factor, low pay (or percieved low pay) is a strong DEMOTIVATING factor. In elite sports, where the difference between first and last is a heart beat, you cannot afford demotivation.ohenhen1 wrote:Oh please the only thing expensive in London is transportation. 100 dollars a day is reasonable if transportation and housing is provided. So you are saying a person living off 1500 pounds a month with transportation and housing is living in poverty. Heck the last time I lived with my uncle in London, my daily allowance was like 10 pounds, and I survived. Those athletes should be thankful they are at the Olympics, they should focus on the competition instead of worrying on how to protest. You people have NHS and you are complaining.Roman Obamovitch wrote:In London? You'd be in poverty trying to live on $20 a day. $100 a day? As professional 'medal-challenging' athletes, they should be getting paid more than that, all year round. That's only $36,500 a year. And to make matters worse, they only get this for a few days every 4 years. Disappointing.
If you pay peanuts, you get monkeys for workers.
At the end of the day, when you consider all things, the real surprise of these games would be if Nigeria got a single bronze medal.
- cchinukw
Do you realise that this may be what they do for a living? The hangers on are living large while the donkeys are sweating their arses. Nigeria confirms its a joke.Cristao II wrote:They are not paying for accommodation or feeding or bills. So what exactly are they spending the money on? I think they need to wake up.
"How are UK Conservative MPs selected? They are selected for intelligence and then rejected at final stage for thar fact"
- Peter Hitchens interviewed on Novara Media 2025.

- cchinukw
As usual you are way out of your depth about most things. Do you realise these athletes are working? Do you know what other athletes get for representing their country?ohenhen1 wrote:Oh please the only thing expensive in London is transportation. 100 dollars a day is reasonable if transportation and housing is provided. So you are saying a person living off 1500 pounds a month with transportation and housing is living in poverty. Heck the last time I lived with my uncle in London, my daily allowance was like 10 pounds, and I survived. Those athletes should be thankful they are at the Olympics, they should focus on the competition instead of worrying on how to protest. You people have NHS and you are complaining.Roman Obamovitch wrote:In London? You'd be in poverty trying to live on $20 a day. $100 a day? As professional 'medal-challenging' athletes, they should be getting paid more than that, all year round. That's only $36,500 a year. And to make matters worse, they only get this for a few days every 4 years. Disappointing.

"How are UK Conservative MPs selected? They are selected for intelligence and then rejected at final stage for thar fact"
- Peter Hitchens interviewed on Novara Media 2025.

thats why these people should win their gold medal in their events, how 100 dollars will translate to a million overnight! we all know the officials are probably spending their allowance on their wives and girlfriends, they should develop thick skin, that will be the ultimate payback for those corrupt officials
Many of them may elect to bail out on Nigeria. When I was young, I didn't understand why Francis Obikwelu bailed out on Nigeria to run for Portugal, but now that I see these things, I completely understand why one of my childhood heroes did that.marko wrote:thats why these people should win their gold medal in their events, how 100 dollars will translate to a million overnight! we all know the officials are probably spending their allowance on their wives and girlfriends, they should develop thick skin, that will be the ultimate payback for those corrupt officials
Roman Obamovitch wrote:Many of them may elect to bail out on Nigeria. When I was young, I didn't understand why Francis Obikwelu bailed out on Nigeria to run for Portugal, but now that I see these things, I completely understand why one of my childhood heroes did that.marko wrote:thats why these people should win their gold medal in their events, how 100 dollars will translate to a million overnight! we all know the officials are probably spending their allowance on their wives and girlfriends, they should develop thick skin, that will be the ultimate payback for those corrupt officials
yep of course any talented Nigerian athlete will be more than likely to be snapped by another country, what really bothers me is a small country like jamaica dont have world class facilities comparable to the US / Uk, why do they perform so credibly despite their limited resources???
The slight chance of winning gold is by doping with the way Nigeria prepares its sportsmen for events.marko wrote:thats why these people should win their gold medal in their events, how 100 dollars will translate to a million overnight! we all know the officials are probably spending their allowance on their wives and girlfriends, they should develop thick skin, that will be the ultimate payback for those corrupt officials
Red Dwarf - Legion
Rimmer: Step up to Red Alert
Kryten: Sir, are you absolutely sure? It does mean changing the bulb.
Rimmer: There's always some excuse, isn't there?
Rimmer: Step up to Red Alert
Kryten: Sir, are you absolutely sure? It does mean changing the bulb.
Rimmer: There's always some excuse, isn't there?
Yes they are working and getting paid for their work! Their salary does not stop when they are participating at the Olympics.cchinukw wrote:As usual you are way out of your depth about most things. Do you realise these athletes are working? Do you know what other athletes get for representing their country?ohenhen1 wrote:Oh please the only thing expensive in London is transportation. 100 dollars a day is reasonable if transportation and housing is provided. So you are saying a person living off 1500 pounds a month with transportation and housing is living in poverty. Heck the last time I lived with my uncle in London, my daily allowance was like 10 pounds, and I survived. Those athletes should be thankful they are at the Olympics, they should focus on the competition instead of worrying on how to protest. You people have NHS and you are complaining.Roman Obamovitch wrote:In London? You'd be in poverty trying to live on $20 a day. $100 a day? As professional 'medal-challenging' athletes, they should be getting paid more than that, all year round. That's only $36,500 a year. And to make matters worse, they only get this for a few days every 4 years. Disappointing.
Don't know the right amount BUT we are a society that only money matters. That is why we don't see the big picture.
Salary running, accommodation and feeding provided and an additional $100 to hold body is not bad.
I pity them. If they don't win any medal, na leg dem go use waka go Naija.
...if a Nigerian is caught doping na death sentence be that, no rehabilitation, no come back unlike some US athletes.Guv007 wrote:The slight chance of winning gold is by doping with the way Nigeria prepares its sportsmen for events.marko wrote:thats why these people should win their gold medal in their events, how 100 dollars will translate to a million overnight! we all know the officials are probably spending their allowance on their wives and girlfriends, they should develop thick skin, that will be the ultimate payback for those corrupt officials
- Chingo Bling
Bros,Roman Obamovitch wrote:This is the point being made: Pay and allowances go beyond sustaining an athlete during those few days of the games. Elite, world class athletes spend almost all of their young lives, training and building up to that moment on the podium. Those Chinese swimmers, divers, and gymnasts, started training when they were 5, and they've been putting over 40 hours a week for up to 15 years now. Athletes in many countries are 'full-time' staff of their federations, who cater for them 24/7 year after year on end to develop them and keep them happy and focused. Go to stratford city Westfield on a normal day, and you'd see the athletes buying stuff for themselves, friends, and family at John Lewis. Even if the $100 a day was extended year-round, that's still less than $37,000. In UK, you have graduates, fresh out of Uni making more than that AFTER TAX. Talk less of someone who carries a country's hopes and dreams on his or her shoulders. I am sorry, but it does your morale no good when you see your rivals being well treated and you don't get the same. Basic Management Psychology tells you that while high pay is not a motivating factor, low pay (or percieved low pay) is a strong DEMOTIVATING factor. In elite sports, where the difference between first and last is a heart beat, you cannot afford demotivation.ohenhen1 wrote:Oh please the only thing expensive in London is transportation. 100 dollars a day is reasonable if transportation and housing is provided. So you are saying a person living off 1500 pounds a month with transportation and housing is living in poverty. Heck the last time I lived with my uncle in London, my daily allowance was like 10 pounds, and I survived. Those athletes should be thankful they are at the Olympics, they should focus on the competition instead of worrying on how to protest. You people have NHS and you are complaining.Roman Obamovitch wrote:In London? You'd be in poverty trying to live on $20 a day. $100 a day? As professional 'medal-challenging' athletes, they should be getting paid more than that, all year round. That's only $36,500 a year. And to make matters worse, they only get this for a few days every 4 years. Disappointing.
If you pay peanuts, you get monkeys for workers.
At the end of the day, when you consider all things, the real surprise of these games would be if Nigeria got a single bronze medal.
Even team GB athletes dont earn up to £100 a day from allowances!
The maximum a BAND A (Olympic gold medalist) gets is 27k a year (they take care of coaching costs, training, travelling, etc)