Does Martins choose money over honour?
He surely revived his career at Levente after disapointing stints at Kazan and Wolfsburg and this club Levante and its football environement has surely risen his profile again making him one of Nigeria's better recognized strikers again.
He even came back to the limelight for the SE even though he failed to make the ANC squad.
I know that he agreed a huge paycut when he moved to Spain but at least professionally spoken Levante rescued his career and revived his profile.
He seems to be ready to rule cash over recognizion,fame and a continuation of his SE career.
I understand him a bit but it's a pity that Martins doesn't want to continue on the successful path he was going - I surely acknowldged him for coming back this strong and now on his 2nd peak he wants to move to a retirement league.
I don't like that move.
He even came back to the limelight for the SE even though he failed to make the ANC squad.
I know that he agreed a huge paycut when he moved to Spain but at least professionally spoken Levante rescued his career and revived his profile.
He seems to be ready to rule cash over recognizion,fame and a continuation of his SE career.
I understand him a bit but it's a pity that Martins doesn't want to continue on the successful path he was going - I surely acknowldged him for coming back this strong and now on his 2nd peak he wants to move to a retirement league.
I don't like that move.
"The secret of life is to have no fear." - Fela Kuti
Naija 4 life!
Re: Does Martins choose money over honour?
ultimately footballers play for money...if you had a chance to go from making 300,000 Euros/year in an economically unstable Spain to perhaps $1.5M/year in the MLS..which would U pick?DAgrin wrote:He surely revived his career at Levente after disapointing stints at Kazan and Wolfsburg and this club Levante and its football environement has surely risen his profile again making him one of Nigeria's better recognized strikers again.
I don't like that move.
Pa
Available on all major streaming platforms

Siddon dia dey tok say the US league is a retirement leagues. This is the type of attitude that i'm glad keshi doesn't subscribe too.If he did we would never had won the ANC. Btw, the us has the best sports training in the world by far,if martins comes to the US he's sure to remain in top condition and bang if goals frequently. Get off the epl kool aid bro - we have a relations with the europeans going for over 400yrs and we've nattin to show for it. 

I am pretty sure you would live your job for a better well paying one, so stop judging. The average age a footballer retires is 36, 37, so it makes sense for them to make as much money as they can by the time they retire.DAgrin wrote:He surely revived his career at Levente after disapointing stints at Kazan and Wolfsburg and this club Levante and its football environement has surely risen his profile again making him one of Nigeria's better recognized strikers again.
I don't like that move.
IN SUPER EAGLES WE TRUST
It really depends on how high my sportive ambition would still be to perform on the highest level and how interested I would be to earn further national team call-ups.paj wrote:ultimately footballers play for money...if you had a chance to go from making 300,000 Euros/year in an economically unstable Spain to perhaps $1.5M/year in the MLS..which would U pick?DAgrin wrote:He surely revived his career at Levente after disapointing stints at Kazan and Wolfsburg and this club Levante and its football environement has surely risen his profile again making him one of Nigeria's better recognized strikers again.
I don't like that move.
Pa
Naija 4 life!
That definetly does not account to Nigerian players unless we are talking about real age.ogasir wrote:I am pretty sure you would live your job for a better well paying one, so stop judging. The average age a footballer retires is 36, 37, so it makes sense for them to make as much money as they can by the time they retire.DAgrin wrote:He surely revived his career at Levente after disapointing stints at Kazan and Wolfsburg and this club Levante and its football environement has surely risen his profile again making him one of Nigeria's better recognized strikers again.
I don't like that move.
Following this logic Martins should have started much earlier to earn his retirement money.
Naija 4 life!
And do you have proof that he isn't the age he claims? Why are you changing the subject anyway. I thought the discussion is about Martins being motivated by money.DAgrin wrote:That definetly does not account to Nigerian players unless we are talking about real age.ogasir wrote:I am pretty sure you would live your job for a better well paying one, so stop judging. The average age a footballer retires is 36, 37, so it makes sense for them to make as much money as they can by the time they retire.DAgrin wrote:He surely revived his career at Levente after disapointing stints at Kazan and Wolfsburg and this club Levante and its football environement has surely risen his profile again making him one of Nigeria's better recognized strikers again.
I don't like that move.
Following this logic Martins should have started much earlier to earn his retirement money.
IN SUPER EAGLES WE TRUST
Yes he is motivated by money and I don't want to judge him.ogasir wrote:And do you have proof that he isn't the age he claims? Why are you changing the subject anyway. I thought the discussion is about Martins being motivated by money.DAgrin wrote:That definetly does not account to Nigerian players unless we are talking about real age.ogasir wrote:I am pretty sure you would live your job for a better well paying one, so stop judging. The average age a footballer retires is 36, 37, so it makes sense for them to make as much money as they can by the time they retire.DAgrin wrote:He surely revived his career at Levente after disapointing stints at Kazan and Wolfsburg and this club Levante and its football environement has surely risen his profile again making him one of Nigeria's better recognized strikers again.
I don't like that move.
I just think he prevents himself from playing 2 or 3 more years on the highest level - missing out on being recognized and acknowedged among nigerian supporters - fame and reputation is also a motivation of a lot of footballers.
I just believe he constrains himself and his capabilities as a professional footballer.
Naija 4 life!
Are you going to feed his family? Recognition and acknowledgment don't pay the bills.
IN SUPER EAGLES WE TRUST
Are we talking about footballers or low-paid employees?ogasir wrote:Are you going to feed his family? Recognition and acknowledgment don't pay the bills.
Don't act as if footballers struggle to make there daily living - even after retirement with a well reflected money investement former footballers don't face poverty.
They earn millions and if they don't throw their money in the air like some rappers and are not lazy for the rest of their lives they can be wealthy for the rest of their live.
Naija 4 life!
There really are no absolutes in life. What prevents Martins from eating his cake and having it? Being the seasoned football journeyman, he could come to he US and light it up, threading his way back to a big name club in Europe. Otherwise, he could piggy-back on a potentially good outing by the Super Eagles at next year's World Cup to a last huge contract in the same Europe. There are indeed several routes to the destination.
Martins squandered hundreds of thousands at Newcastle and was heavily in the red. Rubin Kazan should've helped blacken his reds. He's pursuing a fiscal promotion and so be it. Throughout his career he hasn't shown the level-headiness nor the wise words in his surroundings that would've taken his untold potential where it should've been.
Martins has won the Serie A trophy, has scored in a Champions League semi final. The only upgrade would be to actually play or win the Champions League title. Maybe actually playing in the Champions League would do. But we all know it won't happen, so I would take the money in his position.DAgrin wrote:It really depends on how high my sportive ambition would still be to perform on the highest level and how interested I would be to earn further national team call-ups.paj wrote:ultimately footballers play for money...if you had a chance to go from making 300,000 Euros/year in an economically unstable Spain to perhaps $1.5M/year in the MLS..which would U pick?DAgrin wrote:He surely revived his career at Levente after disapointing stints at Kazan and Wolfsburg and this club Levante and its football environement has surely risen his profile again making him one of Nigeria's better recognized strikers again.
I don't like that move.
Pa
And I don't know why playing for Levante is more honorable than playing in the MLS.
"If two grown men can't make a pervert happy for a few minutes in order to watch a film about zombies, then maybe we should all just move to Iran!"
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
Maybe as a young player he was playing for fame... but as retirement draws near, he better be playing for money.
Of a truth, MLS is one jacked up league in terms of talent. Whenever I watch them, I keep wondering how most of those guys could call themselves 'Professional football players' with a straight face.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:Siddon dia dey tok say the US league is a retirement leagues. This is the type of attitude that i'm glad keshi doesn't subscribe too.If he did we would never had won the ANC. Btw, the us has the best sports training in the world by far,if martins comes to the US he's sure to remain in top condition and bang if goals frequently. Get off the epl kool aid bro - we have a relations with the europeans going for over 400yrs and we've nattin to show for it.

Some of them are quite good but a majority are plain horrible. Their biggest assess is fitness. Martins will benefit from that and prolong his career but the talent level he faces will not be of great help. The cons, in my opinion.
I thought he said that Levante refused to keep its promise to him. For that reason, he became unhappy with the club. I like to think that there is a reason why he wants to leave Levante.
DAgrin wrote:Yes he is motivated by money and I don't want to judge him.ogasir wrote:And do you have proof that he isn't the age he claims? Why are you changing the subject anyway. I thought the discussion is about Martins being motivated by money.DAgrin wrote:That definetly does not account to Nigerian players unless we are talking about real age.ogasir wrote:I am pretty sure you would live your job for a better well paying one, so stop judging. The average age a footballer retires is 36, 37, so it makes sense for them to make as much money as they can by the time they retire.DAgrin wrote:He surely revived his career at Levente after disapointing stints at Kazan and Wolfsburg and this club Levante and its football environement has surely risen his profile again making him one of Nigeria's better recognized strikers again.
I don't like that move.
I just think he prevents himself from playing 2 or 3 more years on the highest level - missing out on being recognized and acknowedged among nigerian supporters - fame and reputation is also a motivation of a lot of footballers.
I just believe he constrains himself and his capabilities as a professional footballer.
- General Trousers
Martins can come to America with his Ghana wife. They can have the baby right there in Seattle ... Martins can retire in America very happy ... no shaking again. Unless some EPL team comes knocking, Martins could take the offer.
x
x
U dey type as if every player can decide where he goes...man mi sometimes U have to pick from the opportunities offered to U...and being the "meshi" that Oba is he probably will stay 2 years @ MLS before he goes to Middle East for more moni...One Man's meat.....and if he's banging in the goals in the MLS who says Naija wont call him?DAgrin wrote:It really depends on how high my sportive ambition would still be to perform on the highest level and how interested I would be to earn further national team call-ups.paj wrote:ultimately footballers play for money...if you had a chance to go from making 300,000 Euros/year in an economically unstable Spain to perhaps $1.5M/year in the MLS..which would U pick?DAgrin wrote:He surely revived his career at Levente after disapointing stints at Kazan and Wolfsburg and this club Levante and its football environement has surely risen his profile again making him one of Nigeria's better recognized strikers again.
I don't like that move.
Pa
Pa

- maceo4
http://www.mtnfootball.com/africa/niger ... o-usa.html
He has finally moved:
Martins - Coming to America Nigeria striker Obafemi Martins has finally quit Spanish club Levante for Seattle Sounders in the MLS of the USA.
The 28-year-old Martins announced his transfer on his Tweeter handle @oba_martins.
“Finally,I can now announce that I have just signed for Sounders FC. A big step to take in my career.it's a big challenge but I'm ready," said the much-travelled striker, who has been recalled to the Eagles for a World Cup qualifier against Kenya later this month.
“This is so difficult for me to do, but I really do love my fans. Levante fans are the best... I will always cherish the time I played here.
“I look forward to this new era in my career... I also look forward to meet my new teammates and the Sounders FC fans, my new family..."
He added: “I will like to thank Levante UD for giving me a great opportunity to play in one of the best leagues in the world..."
Sounders are believed to have paid off the striker's get-out clause after a long-drawn negotiations with Levante.
‘Obagoal’ has also played in Italy (Inter Milan), England(Newcastle United, Birmingham City), Germany (Wolfsburg) and Russia (Rubin Kazan).
He has finally moved:
Martins - Coming to America Nigeria striker Obafemi Martins has finally quit Spanish club Levante for Seattle Sounders in the MLS of the USA.
The 28-year-old Martins announced his transfer on his Tweeter handle @oba_martins.
“Finally,I can now announce that I have just signed for Sounders FC. A big step to take in my career.it's a big challenge but I'm ready," said the much-travelled striker, who has been recalled to the Eagles for a World Cup qualifier against Kenya later this month.
“This is so difficult for me to do, but I really do love my fans. Levante fans are the best... I will always cherish the time I played here.
“I look forward to this new era in my career... I also look forward to meet my new teammates and the Sounders FC fans, my new family..."
He added: “I will like to thank Levante UD for giving me a great opportunity to play in one of the best leagues in the world..."
Sounders are believed to have paid off the striker's get-out clause after a long-drawn negotiations with Levante.
‘Obagoal’ has also played in Italy (Inter Milan), England(Newcastle United, Birmingham City), Germany (Wolfsburg) and Russia (Rubin Kazan).
Looks like it's official!!!! It seems Martins just bought himself out of his contract. Now a Seattle Sounder
http://sports.yahoo.com/news/soccer-mar ... --sow.html

- Molue Conductor
CEsc took a pay cut when he left Arsenalpaj wrote:ultimately footballers play for money...if you had a chance to go from making 300,000 Euros/year in an economically unstable Spain to perhaps $1.5M/year in the MLS..which would U pick?DAgrin wrote:He surely revived his career at Levente after disapointing stints at Kazan and Wolfsburg and this club Levante and its football environement has surely risen his profile again making him one of Nigeria's better recognized strikers again.
I don't like that move.
Pa
DID DAVID BECHAM RETIRE ? STUPOUS THREADDAgrin wrote:He surely revived his career at Levente after disapointing stints at Kazan and Wolfsburg and this club Levante and its football environement has surely risen his profile again making him one of Nigeria's better recognized strikers again.
I don't like that move.
"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."
- femibyte
Mmm, I guess I'll now be rooting for the Sounders after my Red Bulls 

You'll Never Walk Alone... - Liverpool FC
http://www.femibyte.com