Arsenal-Related News & Developments - 2013/2014 Season

Re: Arsenal-Related News & Developments - 2013/2014 Season

Tunisian Gooner wrote:Understand the doubts over Arsenal desires/ambitions over the summer, I truly do. Arsenal have not earned the benefit of the doubt over the years but.....I know this has been said a million times before...It's still too early to worry. IMO our top targets must be tied up prior to our pre season camp in mid July, don't have a clue who they are, but despite Arsenal propensity to play hardball again whomever their top targets are must be tied before we head off to Asia.
After the transfer day fiasco about 2 years ago, it is not too early to worry and put pressure on the team to buy players.

For want of predictability...

Thierry Henry says Arsenal should not settle for Champions League qualification

Thierry Henry is urging Arsenal to target the Premier League title and not settle for a place in the Champions League.

The former team-mates of Henry, now with the New York Red Bulls, have been criticised in some quarters for their celebrations after a win at Newcastle that ensured they would finish fourth in the table.

However Henry, who won two titles while at Arsenal, hopes that the Gunners were celebrating qualifying for Europe's elite competition at the expense of north London rivals Tottenham.

"Putting Tottenham out of the top four, and I really do hope that's what they were celebrating about, that's the only thing you can celebrate," said the 35-year-old striker in an exclusive interview with Sky Sports.

"If you're an Arsenal man through and through that's like winning something. :shock:

"I said it when we did to them in 2006. It wasn't the fact that we qualified for the Champions League, it was because we kicked them out of it and we went in.

"Yes, they finished in the top four but there is only one champion - Man United. I'm a competitor so that's the only thing I will remember from the season - Man United won the league. You're going to have to do better than what United did this year.

"Chelsea I'm sure are thinking about the same thing right now, or Man City. Tottenham are going to think, 'how can we come back into the top four?' All the teams are going to be thinking, 'how can we win this title?'"

Henry is hoping that Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger will remain at the club for many years to come, and concedes that his old club would be a strange place without the man who has been in charge since October 1996.

He said: "It's very difficult to see Arsenal playing, one day, without Arsene on the bench. It's going to be weird.

"I'd just love to have him there all the time, but we all know that's not going to happen. One day he's going to have to go, but it's going to be hard. He's not thinking of leaving."

#myopic moron.
Heliopolis

Post by Heliopolis »

Coach wrote:For want of predictability...

Thierry Henry says Arsenal should not settle for Champions League qualification

Thierry Henry is urging Arsenal to target the Premier League title and not settle for a place in the Champions League.

The former team-mates of Henry, now with the New York Red Bulls, have been criticised in some quarters for their celebrations after a win at Newcastle that ensured they would finish fourth in the table.

However Henry, who won two titles while at Arsenal, hopes that the Gunners were celebrating qualifying for Europe's elite competition at the expense of north London rivals Tottenham.

"Putting Tottenham out of the top four, and I really do hope that's what they were celebrating about, that's the only thing you can celebrate," said the 35-year-old striker in an exclusive interview with Sky Sports.

"If you're an Arsenal man through and through that's like winning something. :shock:

"I said it when we did to them in 2006. It wasn't the fact that we qualified for the Champions League, it was because we kicked them out of it and we went in.

"Yes, they finished in the top four but there is only one champion - Man United. I'm a competitor so that's the only thing I will remember from the season - Man United won the league. You're going to have to do better than what United did this year.

"Chelsea I'm sure are thinking about the same thing right now, or Man City. Tottenham are going to think, 'how can we come back into the top four?' All the teams are going to be thinking, 'how can we win this title?'"

Henry is hoping that Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger will remain at the club for many years to come, and concedes that his old club would be a strange place without the man who has been in charge since October 1996.

He said: "It's very difficult to see Arsenal playing, one day, without Arsene on the bench. It's going to be weird.

"I'd just love to have him there all the time, but we all know that's not going to happen. One day he's going to have to go, but it's going to be hard. He's not thinking of leaving."

#myopic moron.
Another traitor.

If it was not for Arsenal, Henry would not be the man he is today.

If not for Wenger, he never would've won the WC and Euro.

If not for Arsenal, he never would've been a spokesman for Gillette or a sponsor for Reebok.

as i said before the end of this week , this thread will reach 20 pages and not a damn player signed :laugh:

@Helio, will be setting up a Facebook group aimed at getting a good cohort of true goons together to descend upon the Emirates and urinate on Henry's statue.

Twitter is alive with news that the dinosaur Peter Hill-Wood is stepping down: All I can say is good riddance. Hopefully Kroenke can see the light and bring in Dein who was born for that position and save this club

Gooner1

Post by Gooner1 »

PHW has a son.....so the bullshit will carry on.....
“If this year, you cannot compete with Spurs, with all the respect I have for them, and Leicester, then change your sport. I’m sorry.” Emmanuel Petit

"I didn't buy Arsenal stake to win trophies" Kroneke
Gooner1

Post by Gooner1 »

Latest rumour: Cesc to leave Barca for Manutd, as Arsenal are not interested in resigning him
“If this year, you cannot compete with Spurs, with all the respect I have for them, and Leicester, then change your sport. I’m sorry.” Emmanuel Petit

"I didn't buy Arsenal stake to win trophies" Kroneke
Heliopolis

Post by Heliopolis »

Gooner1 wrote:Latest rumour: Cesc to leave Barca for Manutd, as Arsenal are not interested in resigning him
If true, I will be really ticked off if he comes back and plays for an English club other than Arsenal. If Barca do want to sell him, they will likely do so for less than they paid for him.

Barca would probably prefer selling him to Arsenal over United anyways so as not to strengthen United in the Champions League.

Fabregas appears to me like one of those guys that truly loved playing for Arsenal. I think it was Pique that said Fabregas is always talking about Arsenal in the dressing room :lol:

I wouldnt be surprised if this was just a BS rumor, but if he is available, Wenger better be working those phone lines trying to bring him back to the Emirates.

Heliopolis wrote:
Gooner1 wrote:Latest rumour: Cesc to leave Barca for Manutd, as Arsenal are not interested in resigning him
If true, I will be really ticked off if he comes back and plays for an English club other than Arsenal. If Barca do want to sell him, they will likely do so for less than they paid for him.

Barca would probably prefer selling him to Arsenal over United anyways so as not to strengthen United in the Champions League.

Fabregas appears to me like one of those guys that truly loved playing for Arsenal. I think it was Pique that said Fabregas is always talking about Arsenal in the dressing room :lol:

I wouldnt be surprised if this was just a BS rumor, but if he is available, Wenger better be working those phone lines trying to bring him back to the Emirates.
Wenger will not pay more than 15m if Barca beg us to buy.Barca will be foolish to sell the bobo,they can even give him to us for a loan.The is no way Barca is selling him when Xavi is going down.They need to play Fab in his real position and cut this false 9 nonsense

I cannot believe Arsenal just released Jermaine Meade :mad: :mad:

Did he have an attitude problem :mad: Dude looked electric and assured in times I saw him play. :curse:

Hope he doesn't come back to haunt us :curse:

Good luck Jermaine

Heliopolis wrote:

Wenger will not pay more than 15m if Barca beg us to buy.Barca will be foolish to sell the bobo,they can even give him to us for a loan.The is no way Barca is selling him when Xavi is going down.They need to play Fab in his real position and cut this false 9 nonsense

Word has it that Arsenal has a 25 million buy back clause according to John Cross

tolahs

Post by tolahs »

Hope PHW rumour's true & Arsenal cannot get thru a season if the 1st refusal clause on Cesc's allowed to fly!!!! If available - get him(end of)
If I give you a good wine, you will see how it tastes and after you ask where it comes from,'' ""To put players in my team who are not good enough will not strengthen the England team, and would weaken the Arsenal team.''The only thing I can say is that whenever England do not win it is always my fault,even when I am not at the game".Wenger said.
Thunder

Post by Thunder »

anikulapo wrote:I cannot believe Arsenal just released Jermaine Meade :mad: :mad:

Did he have an attitude problem :mad: Dude looked electric and assured in times I saw him play. :curse:

Good luck Jermaine
In addition, these players are also released efective July 1: Conor Henderson, Sanchez Watt, James Shea, Reice Charles-Cook, Sead Hajrovic, Philip Roberts, Nigel Neita, Samir Bihmoutine and Josh Rees. Wish them all well!
WHATEVER, WHEREEVER, & WHENEVER, FOREVER ARSENAL! I am an ARSENALIST!
"Wise men talk because they have something to say, fools talk because they have to say something." - Plato

Come on Arsenal!
Skylolo

Post by Skylolo »

Thunder wrote:
anikulapo wrote:I cannot believe Arsenal just released Jermaine Meade :mad: :mad:

Good luck Jermaine
In addition, these players are also released efective July 1: Conor Henderson, Sanchez Watt, James Shea, Reice Charles-Cook, Sead Hajrovic, Philip Roberts, Nigel Neita, Samir Bihmoutine and Josh Rees. Wish them all well!
I expect many of these players to forge good careers for themselves elsewhere especially someone like Conor Henderson....after the good football education Arsenal has given them..Goodluck lads.
To God be the glory

Skylolo wrote:
Thunder wrote:

Good luck Jermaine
I expect many of these players to forge good careers for themselves elsewhere especially someone like Conor Henderson....after the good football education Arsenal has given them..Goodluck lads.
I could be wrong but I think Henderson is more hype than substance. Can someone cable Waffi out of his bunker and find out what's the deal with Meade? The thing vex me no be small sha :curse: if he does not blossom in the next five years then something is truly wrong with him.

Skylolo

Post by Skylolo »

Skylolo wrote:
Thunder wrote:

Good luck Jermaine
I could be wrong but I think Henderson is more hype than substance. Can someone cable Waffi out of his bunker and find out what's the deal with Meade? The thing vex me no be small sha :curse: if he does not blossom in the next five years then something is truly wrong with him.
Aniks Henderson dey ball o, I think injuries have taken their toll but the boy had a sweet left foot as a junior....I did not expect him to make it but I hope he can fulfill his potential at Championship level.....regarding Meade possibly a size problem?
To God be the glory

Skylolo wrote:
Thunder wrote:

Good luck Jermaine
Aniks Henderson dey ball o, I think injuries have taken their toll but the boy had a sweet left foot as a junior....I did not expect him to make it but I hope he can fulfill his potential at Championship level.....regarding Meade possibly a size problem?

Haba how much smaller is Meade than Gibbs, Clichy, Cole or others that have played LFB for us in recent time

The youth project's inevitable exodus. So who are the next "gonna be's, never will be's"? Ignasi Iglesias still revving up the engine to lock down fullback, what about Nordsfelt, Norsveit, Nor-nsense, or whatever he's called, is he ready to step in for Vermaellen? Sadly, no one is coming through for many a year. Frankly speaking, they're not good enough and made worse by the sh*te curriculum of reserve team and under age football. Sentiment aside, truth is the longer these guys are kept away from the first team, the less feasible their inclusion becomes. Gnarby will play how many games next season? Another Alliardiere in the making, bags of potential, never bled in by the great developer of talents. By 18 how many times had Rooney played for Everton? Torres for Athletico? Aneke, Afobe will be the next lot to face the chop.

Coach wrote:The youth projects inevitable exodus. So who are the next "gonna be's, never will be's"? Ignasi Iglesias still revving up the engine to lock down fullback, what about Nordsfelt, Norsveit, Nor-nsense, or whatever he's called, is he ready to step in for Vermaellen? Sadly, no one is coming through for many a year. Frankly speaking, they're not good enough and made worse by the sh*te curriculum of reserve team and under age football. Sentiment aside, fact remains, the longer these guys are kept away from the first team, the less feasible their inclusion becomes. Gnarby will play how many games next season? Another Alliardiere in the making, bags of potential, never bled in by the great developer of talents. By 18 how many times had Rooney played for Everton? Torres for Athletico? Aneke, Afobe will be the next lot to face the chop.
Again you are a master of nonsense :roll: Pray tell, since the great class of La Masia, reputedly the greatest youth school in the world, in the last years since Messi, Busquets and Piqué .... Who have been the great world beaters coming off if that production line :ohmy:

Do you know how much Barcelona has spent on outside stars in the last Five years :ohmy: Jeeez you just know nothing about academy footie and how hard it is to make the grade :roll: LMAO because Rooney made it so ....... What? That's now the norm rather than the exception?

Jeez Charlie go back to Rehab :mrgreen:

Skylolo

Post by Skylolo »

Skylolo wrote:
Thunder wrote:

Good luck Jermaine

Haba how much smaller is Meade than Gibbs, Clichy, Cole or others that have played LFB for us in recent time
Bros Meade is short o, Cole and Clichy are 5ft 9.5 tall, Gibbs 5ft 10 while Meade comes in at a mighty 5ft 3! :shock: I remember the first time I saw the boy even before he touched the ball the first thing that came to my mind is this lad is short o....he could play though.
To God be the glory
Skylolo

Post by Skylolo »

Coach wrote:The youth projects inevitable exodus. So who are the next "gonna be's, never will be's"? Ignasi Iglesias still revving up the engine to lock down fullback, what about Nordsfelt, Norsveit, Nor-nsense, or whatever he's called, is he ready to step in for Vermaellen? Sadly, no one is coming through for many a year. Frankly speaking, they're not good enough and made worse by the sh*te curriculum of reserve team and under age football. Sentiment aside, fact remains, the longer these guys are kept away from the first team, the less feasible their inclusion becomes. Gnarby will play how many games next season? Another Alliardiere in the making, bags of potential, never bled in by the great developer of talents. By 18 how many times had Rooney played for Everton? Torres for Athletico? Aneke, Afobe will be the next lot to face the chop.
Again you are a master of nonsense :roll: Pray tell, since the great class of La Masia, reputedly the greatest youth school in the world, in the last years since Messi, Busquets and Piqué .... Who have been the great world beaters coming off if that production line :ohmy:

Do you know how much Barcelona has spent on outside stars in the last Five years :ohmy: Jeeez you just know nothing about academy footie and how hard it is to make the grade :roll: LMAO because Rooney made it so ....... What? That's now the norm rather than the exception?

Jeez Charlie go back to Rehab :mrgreen:
Don't mind the clown, besides a club should take pride in the Education it gives young players whether they make it at the club or elsewhere....I am sure our Coaching staff still cheer our boys that did not make the grade here but made it elsewhere like Fabrice Muamba, Jerome Thomas, Anthony Stokes, Steve Sidwell etc etc I am sure those players appreciate the role Arsenal played in their football education and their career.....

The master of nonsense mentions Rooney all the time, as if we have not succesfully promoted from the junior ranks at Arsenal. Wilshere, Gibbs, Ramsey, Sczesniy, Mannone......to name a few.
To God be the glory