SHOULD THE CURRENT U-17 COACH BE IN LINE FOR SE JOB ?
First of all I'M NOT ASKING KESHI TO BE REMOVED O!!!But going by the way this U-17 lads are playing, should their coach and his crew eb set in line whenever it is that Keshi moves on?
Available on all major streaming platforms

Re: SHOULD THE CURRENT U-17 COACH BE IN LINE FOR SE JOB ?
Yes. He has earned it. Manu Garba is a genius. The man reminds me that Coaching is an art. The man has taught these kids the kind of soccer that is unique, highly offensive, purposeful ball possessions, limited use of width (they don't go wide for the sake of space; they actually keep the ball close to the opponent's box as much as possible).
I have never seen anything like this.
My God, I hope the NFF is paying this Coaching crew their wages.
I have never seen anything like this.
My God, I hope the NFF is paying this Coaching crew their wages.
Last edited by Finidi on Tue Oct 29, 2013 5:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Youth football and senior football are too different things..I'm a Siasia supporter but he is the best proof for that.
Garba should continue as U-20 coach to further develop this group of talented players.
*a pity Iheanacho is already out injuried..he is a joy to watch.
Garba should continue as U-20 coach to further develop this group of talented players.
"The secret of life is to have no fear." - Fela Kuti
Naija 4 life!
IMO, I feel they should stay as U17 coaches for Continuity purposes.
..absolute nonsense...you're basing that on ONE match bro..ONE...DAgrin wrote:Youth football and senior football are too different things..I'm a Siasia supporter but he is the best proof for that.
Pa

Different skill set required for bothe teams.
Easy for Manu to motivate the boys. Different ball game with adults especially adults with big money
Are you minding Pajane?! He thinks senior team is only about tiki taka. SSS with all his tiki taka couldn't motivate his boys.wanaj0 wrote:Different skill set required for bothe teams.
Pajane, it takes more than tiki taka to coach a national team. If Manu Garba has the balls that Keshi has and can motivate the players then he is good for the job, but he can't. I'm saying this because he has no NAME. There is a reason Keshi is getting the current SE to play what he wants. The best thing is for Manu to understudy Keshi. NFF should make him understudy Keshi just in case it might get to his turn.
....U need to go sue whichever Jujuman man made U this dumb....kolinzo wrote:Are you minding Pajane?! He thinks senior team is only about tiki taka. SSS with all his tiki taka couldn't motivate his boys.wanaj0 wrote:Different skill set required for bothe teams.
Pajane, it takes more than tiki taka to coach a national team. If Manu Garba has the balls that Keshi has and can motivate the players then he is good for the job, but he can't. I'm saying this because he has no NAME. There is a reason Keshi is getting the current SE to play what he wants. The best thing is for Manu to understudy Keshi. NFF should make him understudy Keshi just in case it might get to his turn.

SMHBT...paj wrote:....U need to go sue whichever Jujuman man made U this dumb....kolinzo wrote:Are you minding Pajane?! He thinks senior team is only about tiki taka. SSS with all his tiki taka couldn't motivate his boys.wanaj0 wrote:Different skill set required for bothe teams.

Manu should coach the next u17, then our talent pool should have gone up.
People dey type as if Keshi was never once a youth coach....#smh. Tactical perspective and man-management are two different things..my general thinking is more along the lines of coaches who can get our players to think, work and play like this in the SE..then some yahoo asks these guys to understudy Keshi..
.understudy ko'o...Understydu ni..
.by your logics youth coaches should just stay there and not take on bigger challenges..

He is best suited for the U17. I will leave him where he is. I am not sure he can handle the U20 level.
Some people might just be good identifying Talents- I still question their(coach) technical acumen...The spain under 17 coach (that Nigeria met in 2007) was under 17 coach for some years and helped proudude a talent pool which spain is still benefiting from today.paj wrote:People dey type as if Keshi was never once a youth coach....#smh. Tactical perspective and man-management are two different things..my general thinking is more along the lines of coaches who can get our players to think, work and play like this in the SE..then some yahoo asks these guys to understudy Keshi...understudy ko'o...Understydu ni..
.by your logics youth coaches should just stay there and not take on bigger challenges..
Why do you assume that he's unable to motivate "adults"?wanaj0 wrote:Different skill set required for bothe teams.
Personally, I will prefer him to move on to the U-20s as has been suggested or the home based Eagles team.
"I hear Glenn Hoddle has found God. That must have been one hell of a pass." Jasper Carrott
"Mind you, football is not really about winning, or goals, or saves or supporters. It's about glory. It's about doing things in style, doing them with a flourish. It's
about going out to beat the other lot, not waiting for them to die of boredom."
Danny Blanchflower
"Mind you, football is not really about winning, or goals, or saves or supporters. It's about glory. It's about doing things in style, doing them with a flourish. It's
about going out to beat the other lot, not waiting for them to die of boredom."
Danny Blanchflower
Sunset wrote:IMO, I feel they should stay as U17 coaches for Continuity purposes.

Cadet and senior coaching are miles apart; doesn't mean he can't succeed but name one Naija coach who made a successful transition? Disu? Udemezue? SiaSia?paj wrote:First of all I'M NOT ASKING KESHI TO BE REMOVED O!!!But going by the way this U-17 lads are playing, should their coach and his crew eb set in line whenever it is that Keshi moves on?
He needs to coach at club level domestically or abroad or even handle a less high profile African team to some kind of success.....
IN OUR CASE, THERE IS NO TIME. NO SERIOUS COACH WILL TAKE THIS JOB
Pasamu on Monday Feb 22nd 2010 post ANC- I will repeat again, the problem with our team was never ability or personnel or even tactics . It was confidence pure and simple confidence. Amodus team had been spat upon, anything they did was dismissed as insignificant To see the team going from playing brilliant football against Egypt in the first half of their ANC group game to the cautious fear laden play against Zambia was sad.
I wanted to seriously hit you hard but I will tender your ignorance with mercy. Keshi understudied Shuaibu before getting something bigger. There you go yarning dust again.paj wrote:People dey type as if Keshi was never once a youth coach....#smh. Tactical perspective and man-management are two different things..my general thinking is more along the lines of coaches who can get our players to think, work and play like this in the SE..then some yahoo asks these guys to understudy Keshi...understudy ko'o...Understydu ni..
With the Brand of football which the Argentines displayed against all Nations few years back that resulted in the unlimited fire-weapon they had with players like Batigoal and Ortega. I say YES. This man (Manu & Amunike, Ugbade) knows how to coach. If our Senior team can actually hold and distribute the ball in tight spaces like these kids have been coached to do and are doing in every match played so far? Then we can actually compete globally. That said. I was mad why didn't he change that style against Sweden since Sweden knew thats how they play. Atleast the 2nd half of the game. Penetrating passes through the middle which the Swedes clogged all day long.
...to be objectively you have to break down what really resulted in their "failure".....Christian Chukwu wasn't too bad but he let manmanagement,hard discipline and the NFF's boneheaded decisions cost him...not coaching..tedder89 wrote:Cadet and senior coaching are miles apart; doesn't mean he can't succeed but name one Naija coach who made a successful transition? Disu? Udemezue? SiaSia?paj wrote:First of all I'M NOT ASKING KESHI TO BE REMOVED O!!!But going by the way this U-17 lads are playing, should their coach and his crew eb set in line whenever it is that Keshi moves on?
He needs to coach at club level domestically or abroad or even handle a less high profile African team to some kind of success.....
Pa

- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
Like many here who know football have told you, coaching kids and coaching men are worlds apart.paj wrote:...to be objectively you have to break down what really resulted in their "failure".....Christian Chukwu wasn't too bad but he let manmanagement,hard discipline and the NFF's boneheaded decisions cost him...not coaching..tedder89 wrote:Cadet and senior coaching are miles apart; doesn't mean he can't succeed but name one Naija coach who made a successful transition? Disu? Udemezue? SiaSia?paj wrote:First of all I'M NOT ASKING KESHI TO BE REMOVED O!!!But going by the way this U-17 lads are playing, should their coach and his crew eb set in line whenever it is that Keshi moves on?
Pa
In the youth setup, you coach while in the Men's set up you manage...
Go ask Disu, Hamilton, Siasia just to name a few... managing men ain't no picnic.
If NFF pays the U17 coaches well (and on time), they should stay there for at least 5-8 years... I like their program, both in the style of play and the type of players they recruit to the program...
Leave him there at U17 to keep churning out real talents so the Flying Eagles can have an eternal incoming flow of talents that can eventually feed the Super Eagles team.
Think about the likes of Isaac Success, Yahaya, Ihenacho, etc who will most likely get solid clubs that can bring out the greatness in them from an early age to the benefit of the U-20 and Super Eagles.
"Daddy, that man looks scary" said my 6yr old son on seeing Ghanaian's GK Dauda's face coming towards the Camera Lens. My avatar is my tribute to the only man that has managed to scare the craps out of my son.
...if he can deal with millionaires (in dollars and pounds not naira) fine with me