SHOULD THE CURRENT U-17 COACH BE IN LINE FOR SE JOB ?

U-17 COACH FOR SE LATER OR STICK WITH YOUTH DEVELOPMENT?

Yes
40%
No
60%

Total votes: 48

Re: SHOULD THE CURRENT U-17 COACH BE IN LINE FOR SE JOB ?

This clearly shows that people watch football and come to conclusion based on feeligns. We have had great history at U-17 level its nothing new,Tella's boys were also as good as this set,majority of thier set was very talented,ina space of 2 years things can change.

And managing boys and men are 2 different ball games. Myabe at u-20 level its possible because its tougher at the U-20 level,its dificult. This thread is just a case of premature ejaculation.

I voted No.

Manu Garba and his staff are doing an excellent job. But everything does not begin and end with the Super Eagles. There is a great value in having a set of coaches like these stay at age grade level and consistently churn out talent. Let them be tasked with doing that for a while, and we can revisit their worthiness for the Super Eagles some other time. In other words, if these coaches can be kept at youth level, and produce 2 or 3 more teams of this quality, they would have done their bit for Nigeria. Then at that time, we can consider where their services are best needed.

Also, keep in mind that the Super Eagles job is a whole different ball game. The pressure and politics involved is something else; the coaches will be dealing with adults who make lots of money and not eager kids; and apart from tournaments the Super Eagles usually have a week or less to train before a match. You do not have months and months at a time to train your boys, imbibe your philosophy in them, and build team cohesion. Not saying that Garba and co. aren't up for the job, but there is no guarantee that they would be able to translate the same level of success.

Nope. For the time being, I say keep them at youth level (U-17 or U-20) and task them with the responsiblity of churning out talent for Nigeria.

omey2k4 wrote:This clearly shows that people watch football and come to conclusion based on feeligns. We have had great history at U-17 level its nothing new,Tella's boys were also as good as this set,majority of thier set was very talented,ina space of 2 years things can change.

And managing boys and men are 2 different ball games. Myabe at u-20 level its possible because its tougher at the U-20 level,its dificult. This thread is just a case of premature ejaculation.
. Bros..I'm NOT talking about promoting the U-17 boys ...I'm not talking about Manu coaching the Super Eagles next year....so dont try to lecture us on that..I'm talking about based on his coaching PHILOSOPHY, should be somewhere in the line @ some point if he continues to succeed?U guys type as if National team coaches started @ the top...it's a process and it's usually their success and philosophy that got them there.U'r assuming too much on the question.We have a "Great History" inthe U-17 but forgot to add it was a mostly dishonest history...THIS particular team is as close to honesty as we've gotten...and there is a DISTINCT difference in the way they play that sets them apart(not necessary better than) from previous squads....so if this coaching crew continue to succeed with this philosophy, what is prematurely ejaculative about it?
Last edited by paj on Tue Oct 29, 2013 10:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

mystic wrote:I voted No.

Manu Garba and his staff are doing an excellent job. But everything does not begin and end with the Super Eagles. There is a great value in having a set of coaches like these stay at age grade level and consistently churn out talent. Let them be tasked with doing that for a while, and we can revisit their worthiness for the Super Eagles some other time. In other words, if these coaches can be kept at youth level, and produce 2 or 3 more teams of this quality, they would have done their bit for Nigeria. Then at that time, we can consider where their services are best needed.

Also, keep in mind that the Super Eagles job is a whole different ball game. The pressure and politics involved is something else; the coaches will be dealing with adults who make lots of money and not eager kids; and apart from tournaments the Super Eagles usually have a week or less to train before a match. You do not have months and months at a time to train your boys, imbibe your philosophy in them, and build team cohesion. Not saying that Garba and co. aren't up for the job, but there is no guarantee that they would be able to translate the same level of success.

Nope. For the time being, I say keep them at youth level (U-17 or U-20) and task them with the responsiblity of churning out talent for Nigeria.
I did NOT suggest a timeframe.....did I? #JumpingtheGun

paj wrote:

Not saying that you did. Simply laying out an argument for keeping them at youth level. Now that we have found good coaches that can bring forth genuine young talent, I think it is important that we stick with them for awhile at U-17/U20 level. If they produce a few more teams like this, it bodes well for the future of Nigerian football.

Everybody is telling Pajane to go siddon but he would not listen. I've told you before and I will tell you again, it takes more than tiki taka to succeed at the senior level. If Manu should be on the line to coach SE then the most sensible thing is for him to understudy Keshi -a successful national coach. It is only after then you can nominate him for the senior team. Keshi had to understudy Amodu for him to succeed. How you just can't understand this is baffling!! And I am the dumb one?

kolinzo wrote:Everybody is telling Pajane to go siddon but he would not listen. I've told you before and I will tell you again, it takes more than tiki taka to succeed at the senior level. If Manu should be on the line to coach SE then the most sensible thing is for him to understudy Keshi -a successful national coach. It is only after then you can nominate him for the senior team. Keshi had to understudy Amodu for him to succeed. How you just can't understand this is baffling!! And I am the dumb one?
:clap: :clap: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Pa J is useless

Youth Coaching is different as you as a coach will contribute to the players development at an early stage there for you'd have less complicated issues to deal with.

kolinzo wrote:Everybody is telling Pajane to go siddon but he would not listen. I've told you before and I will tell you again, it takes more than tiki taka to succeed at the senior level. If Manu should be on the line to coach SE then the most sensible thing is for him to understudy Keshi -a successful national coach. It is only after then you can nominate him for the senior team. Keshi had to understudy Amodu for him to succeed. How you just can't understand this is baffling!! And I am the dumb one?
..YES! :tic: U be massive mumu.. :taunt: why would someone with a coaching philosophy that is freightening the opposition for most part understudy another coach with a different philosophy?Are U talking about tactics or are U talking about player management? LEt's assume most of us love the way this team plays,, and for the next few years there's replenishment and continuity,If the NFF decides to create a direct path for these kids to go from U-17 to U-20 to U-20 to U-23 to SE give or take a few players here and there that can fit into the system,who should then be understudying who?

Eaglezbeak wrote:Youth Coaching is different as you as a coach will contribute to the players development at an early stage there for you'd have less complicated issues to deal with.
..if you have a large talent pool to pick from with players of near equal calibre I bet U the 'issues' will reduce or disappear...it's all abotu options bro..
Pa

mystic wrote:
paj wrote:

Not saying that you did. Simply laying out an argument for keeping them at youth level. Now that we have found good coaches that can bring forth genuine young talent, I think it is important that we stick with them for awhile at U-17/U20 level. If they produce a few more teams like this, it bodes well for the future of Nigerian football.
..understood...but for how long?imagine if Steve Clarke had just remained a youth coach @ Chelsea.....

U guys wanna take another crack @ the question? :laugh:

paj wrote:U guys wanna take another crack @ the question? :laugh:
No, smoke it all by yourself. :lol:
JACKAL

Post by JACKAL »

He has coached both at Junior and senior levels... So I am comfortable with him Manu anywhere...

The thing I like the most about him is that he is college educated which differentiates him from a lot of Nigerian coaches. He was also a former player and coached a number of NPL clubs. He knows good players and his game is really very different from what we have seen in the past. He has an offensive philosophy but at the same time, he has a game plan each and every time. I really like this dude

We should replace the entire SE coaching crew with the U17 Coaching team.

paj wrote:
mystic wrote:
paj wrote:

..understood...but for how long?imagine if Steve Clarke had just remained a youth coach @ Chelsea.....

A decision has to be made after this tournament whether to leave them to raise another U-17 team or promote them to the Flying Eagles. Personally, I would like to see them promoted to U-20 ahead of the 2015 U-20 World Cup so that they can coach these same set of U-17 boys at the next level. After that, we can evaluate where their services best suit Nigeria.

mystic wrote:
paj wrote:
mystic wrote:
paj wrote:

A decision has to be made after this tournament whether to leave them to raise another U-17 team or promote them to the Flying Eagles. Personally, I would like to see them promoted to U-20 ahead of the 2015 U-20 World Cup so that they can coach these same set of U-17 boys at the next level. After that, we can evaluate where their services best suit Nigeria.
My question though is: Can one coaching staff handle two teams?say they get promoted to the U-20...can they still select the next U-17 team?

...to coach the SE you have to be able to instill fear and respect, this U17 Garba guy can't do that with millionaires. Remember Nigerians thrive on who has what more you know whos.

mcal wrote:...to coach the SE you have to be able to instill fear and respect, this U17 Garba guy can't do that with millionaires. Remember Nigerians thrive on who has what more you know whos.
remember Keshi was once a youth coach....and so was Chukwu...so was Siasia....

paj wrote:
mcal wrote:...to coach the SE you have to be able to instill fear and respect, this U17 Garba guy can't do that with millionaires. Remember Nigerians thrive on who has what more you know whos.
...and they all graduated to where they are today, especially with the guys they coached as youths (may be).

paj wrote:
mystic wrote:
paj wrote:
mystic wrote:
paj wrote:

My question though is: Can one coaching staff handle two teams?say they get promoted to the U-20...can they still select the next U-17 team?

It would be too difficult and the logistics would be a nightmare. I would love to see them raise another terrific U-17 team. However, the problem is who would you trust to take these boys to the next level (U-20) and not screw it up? I'd hate to see a repeat of what happened to Tella's boys after Ladan Bosso took charge of the Flying Eagles.

paj wrote:
...and they all graduated to where they are today, especially with the guys they coached as youths (may be).
chei...maybe we need them to start a certain philosophy to emaluate for the upcoming generation to follow..likea La Masia if U will...
GIN

Post by GIN »

Let the man continue for another campaign or two as coach of the GE.
Samson Siasia speaking FACTs about 2008.
“I have been waiting for this job for almost three years now and that was before the 2008 Beijing Olympics. I was to be the coach of the Super Eagles after the interview conducted for the job. But that time I said no, I wasn’t ready. Now that I am ready, I am not intimidated at all. I am ready for this job,” he declared matter-of-factly" http://africanfootball.mtnfootball.com/ ... m_ID=36099