10 things I have to say about the Italy game yesterday
Re: 10 things I have to say about the Italy game yesterday
Ayo Akinfe wrote:From what I can see, if Dike had tracked back, that goal would have been prevented.
KPOM. That is exactly the problem on this play. He should have anticipated the danger with Giacherini setting up behind Kwambe and knowing that the defense would have to shift towards the strong side. He cannot simply stop completing a play. One second taken off at this level can lead to disaster as this demonstrates.
In fact, in comparison take a look at Nigeria's second goal in that game. Note that as the four Italian defenders shift towards the strong side, that a fifth player (likely a wide midfield) makes a strong run to cover the backside of the defense (a run Dike failed to do in the case of Italy's second goal).
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
In my discussions with the NFF staff while they were in London, Keshi is generally very receptive to suggestions about how to improve the team. He may need a training ground coach to come in and work on these matters. Do you know that in England, there are certain coaches like Don Howe, Mark Lawrenson, Bob Wilson, etc who are always behind the scenes working on the training pitch but never actually managing teams?Enugu II wrote:Ayo Akinfe wrote:From what I can see, if Dike had tracked back, that goal would have been prevented.
KPOM. That is exactly the problem on this play. He should have anticipated the danger with Giacherini setting up behind Kwambe and knowing that the defense would have to shift towards the strong side. He cannot simply stop completing a play. One second taken off at this level can lead to disaster as this demonstrates.
In fact, in comparison take a look at Nigeria's second goal in that game. Note that as the four Italian defenders shift towards the strong side, that a fifth player (likely a wide midfield) makes a strong run to cover the backside of the defense (a run Dike failed to do in the case of Italy's second goal).
To me, it appears that Keshi needs this kind of assistance. Someone who is a technocrat that will work on all these finer details with him and the boys.
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle

See how close Dike is to Giaccherini here. They are either side of the referee and he could easily have tracked him.
In all fairness to Dike, Kwambe should have been instructing him to track his man as he might be needed in the middle. This is where leadership comes into play. If we had a senior right back like say Philip Lahm playing there, he would have shouted instructions at Dike having anticipated the fact that he might be needed in the middle.
At last, we can now see the plan.
Marketers claiming to be fans. Hope NFF gave you contract to look for TRAINING GROUND ASSISTANT for Keshi.
smh
Marketers claiming to be fans. Hope NFF gave you contract to look for TRAINING GROUND ASSISTANT for Keshi.

smh
Ayo Akinfe wrote:In my discussions with the NFF staff while they were in London, Keshi is generally very receptive to suggestions about how to improve the team. He may need a training ground coach to come in and work on these matters. Do you know that in England, there are certain coaches like Don Howe, Mark Lawrenson, Bob Wilson, etc who are always behind the scenes working on the training pitch but never actually managing teams?Enugu II wrote:Ayo Akinfe wrote:From what I can see, if Dike had tracked back, that goal would have been prevented.
To me, it appears that Keshi needs this kind of assistance. Someone who is a technocrat that will work on all these finer details with him and the boys.
Ayo,Ayo Akinfe wrote:In my discussions with the NFF staff while they were in London, Keshi is generally very receptive to suggestions about how to improve the team. He may need a training ground coach to come in and work on these matters. Do you know that in England, there are certain coaches like Don Howe, Mark Lawrenson, Bob Wilson, etc who are always behind the scenes working on the training pitch but never actually managing teams?Enugu II wrote:Ayo Akinfe wrote:From what I can see, if Dike had tracked back, that goal would have been prevented.
I do not believe the fact that this play broke down is evidence that the team does not work on this type of play. You could work on a lot of stuff on training ground but it is left for the player to execute those things (inspite of tension) on match days. Importantly, this is why I am completely against changing a large number of the players. Keshi must have the time to work on his strategies and tactics with his squad over a long [period to ensure that his ideas are not only fully grasped but executed with few errors.
I certainly do not support any one coming in right now. Keshi has a staff that he is happy with. If he wants an assistant now that should be the recall of Sylvanus Okpala.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
Enugu II, are the current staff competent enough though? I spoke with George Abbey during the game for instance, who told me he is now a physical fitness trainer. He went back to college to train and now is the kind of professional who is responsible for player fitness.
He joked about the fact that there is no such fitness player in the Eagles set-up. Now, if we look across the spectrum and examine all the technical areas, I think you will find out that we are short of qualified personnel.
- kash n' karry
Ayo Akinfe wrote:Enugu II, are the current staff competent enough though? I spoke with George Abbey during the game for instance, who told me he is now a physical fitness trainer. He went back to college to train and now is the kind of professional who is responsible for player fitness.

First Ayo, we need certified team psychologist to whip those boyz head, they admitted they got intimidated in da 2nd half against Italy !!

Now we all know that 90% of pro sport games are won mentally and 10% physically !!

Enugu II wrote:Ugbowo wrote:Pic#1
Pass comes in to Balotelli. Look at everybody's position. There is really no cause for alarm here everyone is covered. Egwueke and Kwambe have all slid because Oboboana went with Balotelli.
Next second....
In this pic you can clearly see Giacherrini running directly at Kwambe. So can Dike. He sees no need to move closer to goal to "help"...unless an Italian full back comes in and joins the attack to over load on this side. Since Italy don't want to be caught out on a counter, they will only smartly overload on one side and keep their other defenders home.Ugbowo, Dike has no business waiting for the fullback to join. His immediate concern is attack on his goal area. This is not man marking where he can only join because a designated fullback also joins.
You can also see Egwueke running away from Kwambe...going to add bodies to an already overloaded side. Naïve defending if u ask me. All the players are being attracted to the ball like a magnet. No one picking up runners.
In fact, Egwueke is needed to close the hole by shifting. Here is what is possible if he fails to -- first note the Italian forward running into Balotelli's back heel. If Egwueke fails to step up, that is a free run at goal by the attacker. However, because, Egwueke steps up, it forces the Italian to pass the ball because the opening that he expects has now been closed. High marks here for Egwueke, IMHO.
Next second...wahala
Onazi and Francis have both lost the battle to retrieve Balotelli's flick and the over zealous Egwueke is here to try to block the attacker's path to goal...something I think Francis could have capably done had Egwueke held off for one more second. But he has nonetheless given a wide open lane for a pass to Rossi.....
Ugbowo, Francis does not run between the attacker and goal and thus is not in position to stop anything. My belief is that FRancis' run was to assist on Balotelli if Balotelli decides to turn on Oboabona but not to stop the fwd who receives Balotelli's pass. As for Onazi, he runs in to help as well and actually Balotelli's back heel was not entirely effective. If you watch the slow motion you will realize that the back heel actually goes directly to Onazi but Onazi fails to stop the BALL and instead it rebounds fortuituisly to the Italian forward!
the rest was history.
I think Mikel could have helped here. He was too far away from this play. Dike is NOT at fault for this goal.Now for those wondering why NIgerian players were loaded on this side of the field? That is actually how a defense should play in a zone i.e. load up on the ball side hoping to block off passing lanes. For the offense, Italy responses perfectly. If you notice they are spread out to widen passing lanes. THat is classic. When you have the ball - widen the field. When you don't, then make the field compact around the ball! That is the simple and most basic principle. THus, I am stunned when people see wide forwards for the offensive team that are wide open and then assume that the defense has played it poor. Instead, the defense has done exactly what is expected i.e no need to address the guy on the weak side except with a wide forward.
Much as I hate to do this, I need to point out you are misinforming peeps about what a zonal system is about. Its not the 5th amendment that any defender who screws up can plead.
There are three elements that define tactics on defence- the ball, the player and the goal.
From the clips above which element do the Nigerian players appear to be primarily responding to? The ball, the goal or Balotelli?
A defensive area is typically subdivided into 3-4 zones. From the pics how many zones do the SE defenders appear to be occupying?
There are two facets of zoning, the space dimension, and then the player's movement/reaction within the time space/dimension.
Even IF the allegation of zoning by the SE is given the benefit of the doubt, by the time the ball got to Giacherini, the strong side had flipped and the challenge of the zonal defending had moved from the space dimension to the player movement/reaction WITHIN HIS ZONE. Its called awareness of the opponent; a similar mistake made by Oboabona in Mexico.
The zonal defence is a tactical concept. But its not entirely abstract. That's why you cannot blame zonal defence for Arsenal failing to defend the set piece that led to RVP's goal...
Try and understand these concepts bro...
A wide back who doesn't defend his blind side cannot plead the 5th amendment!
Several goals conceded by Barca from Dani Alves' blind side led to his being benched last season...
We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
They actually have a good team psychologist in Dr Robinson Okosun. He spent a week at Arsenal seeing how things are done and has tried to introduce some of these changes.kash n' karry wrote:Ayo Akinfe wrote:Enugu II, are the current staff competent enough though? I spoke with George Abbey during the game for instance, who told me he is now a physical fitness trainer. He went back to college to train and now is the kind of professional who is responsible for player fitness.
He joked about the fact that there is no such fitness player in the Eagles set-up. Now, if we look across the spectrum and examine all the technical areas, I think you will find out that we are short of qualified personnel.![]()
First Ayo, we need certified team psychologist to whip those boyz head, they admitted they got intimidated in da 2nd half against Italy !!![]()
Now we all know that 90% of pro sport games are won mentally and 10% physically !!
why celebrate a draw? Africans must get over our inferiority complex with European teams. we have to believe we can beat them before we can actually beat them. a draw with a good team is fine. but to celebrate the way SE fans are doing here? good grief!!!
Papilos the Great
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
From what I've seen so far, if I was picking the team today
From what I've seen so far, if I was picking the team today It would look like this:
*********************************************Emenike*********************************************
**************Aluko**************************************************Moses***********************
*******************************************************Haruna**************************************
****************************Mikel****************************************Onazi**********************
***Benjamin***************Oboabona********************Omeruo*********************Kwambe***
***************************************************Enyeama*********************************************
Obviously, a lot can change between now and May 2014 but for now, this is Nigeria's strongest 11 in my opinion
*********************************************Emenike*********************************************
**************Aluko**************************************************Moses***********************
*******************************************************Haruna**************************************
****************************Mikel****************************************Onazi**********************
***Benjamin***************Oboabona********************Omeruo*********************Kwambe***
***************************************************Enyeama*********************************************
Obviously, a lot can change between now and May 2014 but for now, this is Nigeria's strongest 11 in my opinion
Re: From what I've seen so far, if I was picking the team to
Ayo haba you no dey taya?
Tbite wrote: Yes we have deadweights in our team like Babatunde, Agbim and Rueben, but they are OUR deadweights! Our wastepipes! We must love them...respect them! If we do not love our junks....who will? Who?
Ayo Akinfe wrote:It would look like this:

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:Ayo Akinfe wrote:It would look like this:
Obviously, a lot can change between now and May 2014 but for now, this is Nigeria's strongest 11 in my opinion![]()

Ayo, Aluko and Haruna are injured.Ayo Akinfe wrote:It would look like this:
...work out your own salvation with fear and trembling. - Phil. 2: 12
...as for me and my house, we will serve the LORD. - Josh. 24: 15
"You need to grow up and respect the fact that people can disagree with you without you getting personal about it. People have a right to express their opinion and you have no right to try and suppress the rights of others because you do not like or disagree with it." - Waffiman
...as for me and my house, we will serve the LORD. - Josh. 24: 15
"You need to grow up and respect the fact that people can disagree with you without you getting personal about it. People have a right to express their opinion and you have no right to try and suppress the rights of others because you do not like or disagree with it." - Waffiman
All these selections sef! Haba!, please spare us all dis nonsense.
For the past 12 years you come and blast us with your player selections, haven't got a new book to write?
“If this year, you cannot compete with Spurs, with all the respect I have for them, and Leicester, then change your sport. I’m sorry.” Emmanuel Petit
"I didn't buy Arsenal stake to win trophies" Kroneke
Ayo,
Seriously, where did you see Haruna, who in any case is reported injured like Aluko?
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe
- cchinukw
Actually Aluko is my number 1 support striker ahead of Ideye Brown if he is fit. I am still not sold on Haruna in this SE team.Ayo Akinfe wrote:It would look like this:
I hope Keshi includes him in his permutations ahead of Brazil.
"How are UK Conservative MPs selected? They are selected for intelligence and then rejected at final stage for thar fact"
- Peter Hitchens interviewed on Novara Media 2025.

TXJ, I'm not gonna get into tactics with you , you probably know more about that. I want to ask you a simple football 101 question. What do you think kwambe should have done in this situation ?txj wrote:Much as I hate to do this, I need to point out you are misinforming peeps about what a zonal system is about. Its not the 5th amendment that any defender who screws up can plead.
There are three elements that define tactics on defence- the ball, the player and the goal.
From the clips above which element do the Nigerian players appear to be primarily responding to? The ball, the goal or Balotelli?
A defensive area is typically subdivided into 3-4 zones. From the pics how many zones do the SE defenders appear to be occupying?
There are two facets of zoning, the space dimension, and then the player's movement/reaction within the time space/dimension.
Even IF the allegation of zoning by the SE is given the benefit of the doubt, by the time the ball got to Giacherini, the strong side had flipped and the challenge of the zonal defending had moved from the space dimension to the player movement/reaction WITHIN HIS ZONE. Its called awareness of the opponent; a similar mistake made by Oboabona in Mexico.
The zonal defence is a tactical concept. But its not entirely abstract. That's why you cannot blame zonal defence for Arsenal failing to defend the set piece that led to RVP's goal...
Try and understand these concepts bro...
A wide back who doesn't defend his blind side cannot plead the 5th amendment!
Several goals conceded by Barca from Dani Alves' blind side led to his being benched last season...

Mike Ditka quote :
"I didn't say it in those general terms but I said it like that".
I don't think anyone is "celebrating" the result; to go from not qualifying for the ANC in 2012 to winning it and qualifying for the WC is quite an achievement. We must always remember that we have a ways to go before being regarded as elite again and these performances are indicative of how far we have come.owarean wrote:why celebrate a draw? Africans must get over our inferiority complex with European teams. we have to believe we can beat them before we can actually beat them. a draw with a good team is fine. but to celebrate the way SE fans are doing here? good grief!!!
IN OUR CASE, THERE IS NO TIME. NO SERIOUS COACH WILL TAKE THIS JOB
Pasamu on Monday Feb 22nd 2010 post ANC- I will repeat again, the problem with our team was never ability or personnel or even tactics . It was confidence pure and simple confidence. Amodus team had been spat upon, anything they did was dismissed as insignificant To see the team going from playing brilliant football against Egypt in the first half of their ANC group game to the cautious fear laden play against Zambia was sad.
Ayo likes full backs that recklessly bomb forward and forget their primary responsibilities as defenders.Gooner1 wrote:Ayo, I'm sorry but I smell a rat big time........
How can you honestly say, hand on heart that that right back had a good game?
Did you shake his hand before before kick off, or are you his agent, cause even Ray Charles could see this guy was out of his depth.....

Nigeria shall wallop the dormitable lions
................and this won them how many European championships.Ayo Akinfe wrote:In my discussions with the NFF staff while they were in London, Keshi is generally very receptive to suggestions about how to improve the team. He may need a training ground coach to come in and work on these matters. Do you know that in England, there are certain coaches like Don Howe, Mark Lawrenson, Bob Wilson, etc who are always behind the scenes working on the training pitch but never actually managing teams?Enugu II wrote:Ayo Akinfe wrote:From what I can see, if Dike had tracked back, that goal would have been prevented.

No biggie.......................'football-know-nothings'

"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
Mudi E wrote:Ayo likes full backs that recklessly bomb forward and forget their primary responsibilities as defenders.Gooner1 wrote:Ayo, I'm sorry but I smell a rat big time........
How can you honestly say, hand on heart that that right back had a good game?
Did you shake his hand before before kick off, or are you his agent, cause even Ray Charles could see this guy was out of his depth.....
Like Efe Ambrose abi? See the goal he gifted Uruguay: