Odegbami's 23...

Pounded Yam
Odegbami's 23...

Post by Pounded Yam »

KESHI'S LIST - WHO IS ON THE SUPER EAGLES PLANE TO BRAZIL?
: May 10, 2014

Like most other Nigerians, I have been waiting eagerly for the release of Stephen Keshi’s provisional 30-man list of players.

The final list of 23 players going on the platform of Nigeria’s Super Eagles to Brazil will now only be released in early June. All serious commentary on the players and the team, therefore, will have to wait until after May 28.

On that date the Nigerian national squad will assembly at Craven Cottage, Fulham FC’s stadium in London to play their first preparatory friendly match against Scotland.

Without doubt, unless something of a catastrophic dimension occurs, we can safely assume that we know most of the players whose tickets have already been bought and their seats confirmed on board Keshi’s plane to Brazil.

There are some players previously on the fringes of the Super Eagles whose places in the World Cup bound team cannot be guaranteed.

Add to that a few new and untested who can only join the team now following a performance at Craven Cottage that will convince all Nigerians that they deserve to displace one of the heroes of Nigeria’s recent past.

That’s why all eyes will be focused on May 28th and all roads will lead to London for the big match.

But before then, let me play Devil’s Advocate. Permit me to peer into the crystal ball once again and attempt to see how the players are placed in the different Classes aboard the Super Eagles’ plane to Brazil.

The players are separated into five classes - First Class, Business Class, Premium Economy Class, Economy Class and Stand-by for those awaiting availability of any leftover spaces on board!

FIRST CLASS
These are the players whose positions in the team are critical and indisputable.

They have been the backbone of the resurgence and achievements of the new Super Eagles under Stephen Keshi.

Their seats in the aircraft are guaranteed, and they are permanent features in every match except if incapacitated by injury, by dismissal through cards or put up a truly horrendous performance in a match.

These are the ten I see clearly in this class: Vincent Enyeama, Austin Ejide, Godfrey Oboabona, Kenneth Omeruo, Elderson Echiejile, Mikel Obi, Victor Moses, Emmanuel Emenike and Ogenyi Onazi.

BUSINESS CLASS
This is a class just a step below First Class. The players here are just as assured and confident as their colleagues in First Class. They are regulars in the team.

They will enjoy this status unless there is a last-minute dramatic entry into the team by a new player that puts up a truly exceptional performance in the friendly matches just ahead, or by one of the returning ‘old’ masters.

Otherwise the players here will join those in First Class to make up the core of Nigeria’s starting line-up for most of matches during Brazil 2014!

Joseph Yobo would have been in this Class but I see him more on the bench than on the field during the championship. Even then he would still have to earn the right to go on the trip to Brazil.

May 28 is a very crucial date for him (and Peter Odemwingie to a lesser extent) when he must erase all doubts about his return to the team.

In this class are: Efe Ambrose, Nnamdi Oduamadi, Ahmed Musa, Peter Odemwingie, Joel Obi.

PREMIUM ECONOMY CLASS
This is a class immediately below Business Class. The players are in seats slightly more comfortable than those in Economy Class below them, even if their chances to play during the championship are just as dim as those in economy class.

Some of them will get to play a few matches at one point or the other, either for strategic tactical purposes, or to fill a void created by any one of several factors affecting the team during the competition.

They have confirmed reservations for the flight to Brazil!

They are: Sunday Mba, Joel Obi, Obinna Nsofor, Reuben Gabriel.

ECONOMY CLASS
These are the players whose strategic places are on the bench. They are available for any match without holding a first team or permanent place.

A few of them may even be as good as the players in the classes above them but inconsistent performances give them only temporary status, usually creating the spaces in the team for several anxiously waiting players on Stand-by Class.

These players may not get to play in any match, and even when they do, they are hardly ever expected to change the course of a match. They are fillers!

Like those on Stand-by, these players are likely to constitute most of the seven players to be dropped from the 30-man present list when the final list is to be drawn up in early June before the team departs for the training camp in the United States of America.

Through the hazy lenses of the crystal ball, I see the following here: Shola Ameobi, Azubuike Egwekwe, Ejike Uzoenyi, Joseph Yobo, Babatunde Michael, Nosa Igiebor.

STAND - BY
There is great anxiety on the faces of the players here. They have not even boarded the flight yet.

For most of the players in this class,their journey to the World Cup will terminate here. Seven players will be dropped from Keshi’s present list after Craven Cottage.

Only a last-minute truly extra-ordinary performance will save their drop from the team. To survive means a player already established within Stephen Keshi’s so-far successful squad would have to be dropped. That will be a tough call.

The friendly match(es) may be the last opportunity, so it is going to be a do-or-die affair at Craven Cottage in about three weeks time.

One of the remaining two goalkeepers, Daniel Akpeyi and Chigozie Agbim, will have to drop out at this point.

It is likely to be Agbim. His performance during the Confederations Cup has now become an Albatross! Keshi will find it hard defending his choice ahead of Akpeyi.

The players waiting anxiously, wishing and praying for some divine intervention are: Daniel Akpeyi, Chigozie Agbim, Juwon Oshaniwa, Kunle Odunlami, Ramon Azeez, Uche Nwofor, Michael Uchebo.

GENERAL COMMENTS
It is unfortunate that the process of selecting the 30 players in the provisional list was turned into a circus, an unnecessarily protracted, controversial and suspicious drama.

In the end, the list leaves several unanswered questions about a few of the selected players, particularly a few players from the obscurity of their small European clubs to emerge as possible candidates in the biggest theatre of football in the world without earning the right visibly on the football field.

The good thing is that the names are an insignificant few.

The other issues are the inclusion of Peter Odemwingie and Joseph Yobo, two players that many people felt had given their best in the past, were past their prime, may not have much to offer and would be a distraction from what had been a calm and growing camp of new Super Eagles.

The inclusion also of Agbim, the goalkeeper whose poor performances during the Confederations Cup cost Nigeria dearly and left many people wondering where he came from; the inclusion of Shola Ameobi whose best form is in the distant past, like those of several others no longer in the Eagles team; and the exclusion of a younger and more potent Ike Uche whose current form, age and talent are worth considering for a invitation into Keshi’s provisional list.
These are all the ongoing and raging arguments.

The next few weeks will either justify Keshi or diminish him!
http://www.completesportsnigeria.com/ne ... -to-brazil
Re: Odegbami's 23...

Pounded Yam wrote:KESHI'S LIST - WHO IS ON THE SUPER EAGLES PLANE TO BRAZIL?
: May 10, 2014

Like most other Nigerians, I have been waiting eagerly for the release of Stephen Keshi’s provisional 30-man list of players.

The final list of 23 players going on the platform of Nigeria’s Super Eagles to Brazil will now only be released in early June. All serious commentary on the players and the team, therefore, will have to wait until after May 28.

On that date the Nigerian national squad will assembly at Craven Cottage, Fulham FC’s stadium in London to play their first preparatory friendly match against Scotland.

Without doubt, unless something of a catastrophic dimension occurs, we can safely assume that we know most of the players whose tickets have already been bought and their seats confirmed on board Keshi’s plane to Brazil.

There are some players previously on the fringes of the Super Eagles whose places in the World Cup bound team cannot be guaranteed.

Add to that a few new and untested who can only join the team now following a performance at Craven Cottage that will convince all Nigerians that they deserve to displace one of the heroes of Nigeria’s recent past.

That’s why all eyes will be focused on May 28th and all roads will lead to London for the big match.

But before then, let me play Devil’s Advocate. Permit me to peer into the crystal ball once again and attempt to see how the players are placed in the different Classes aboard the Super Eagles’ plane to Brazil.

The players are separated into five classes - First Class, Business Class, Premium Economy Class, Economy Class and Stand-by for those awaiting availability of any leftover spaces on board!

FIRST CLASS
These are the players whose positions in the team are critical and indisputable.

They have been the backbone of the resurgence and achievements of the new Super Eagles under Stephen Keshi.

Their seats in the aircraft are guaranteed, and they are permanent features in every match except if incapacitated by injury, by dismissal through cards or put up a truly horrendous performance in a match.

These are the ten I see clearly in this class: Vincent Enyeama, Austin Ejide, Godfrey Oboabona, Kenneth Omeruo, Elderson Echiejile, Mikel Obi, Victor Moses, Emmanuel Emenike and Ogenyi Onazi.

BUSINESS CLASS
This is a class just a step below First Class. The players here are just as assured and confident as their colleagues in First Class. They are regulars in the team.

They will enjoy this status unless there is a last-minute dramatic entry into the team by a new player that puts up a truly exceptional performance in the friendly matches just ahead, or by one of the returning ‘old’ masters.

Otherwise the players here will join those in First Class to make up the core of Nigeria’s starting line-up for most of matches during Brazil 2014!

Joseph Yobo would have been in this Class but I see him more on the bench than on the field during the championship. Even then he would still have to earn the right to go on the trip to Brazil.

May 28 is a very crucial date for him (and Peter Odemwingie to a lesser extent) when he must erase all doubts about his return to the team.

In this class are: Efe Ambrose, Nnamdi Oduamadi, Ahmed Musa, Peter Odemwingie, Joel Obi.

PREMIUM ECONOMY CLASS
This is a class immediately below Business Class. The players are in seats slightly more comfortable than those in Economy Class below them, even if their chances to play during the championship are just as dim as those in economy class.

Some of them will get to play a few matches at one point or the other, either for strategic tactical purposes, or to fill a void created by any one of several factors affecting the team during the competition.

They have confirmed reservations for the flight to Brazil!

They are: Sunday Mba, Joel Obi, Obinna Nsofor, Reuben Gabriel.

ECONOMY CLASS
These are the players whose strategic places are on the bench. They are available for any match without holding a first team or permanent place.

A few of them may even be as good as the players in the classes above them but inconsistent performances give them only temporary status, usually creating the spaces in the team for several anxiously waiting players on Stand-by Class.

These players may not get to play in any match, and even when they do, they are hardly ever expected to change the course of a match. They are fillers!

Like those on Stand-by, these players are likely to constitute most of the seven players to be dropped from the 30-man present list when the final list is to be drawn up in early June before the team departs for the training camp in the United States of America.

Through the hazy lenses of the crystal ball, I see the following here: Shola Ameobi, Azubuike Egwekwe, Ejike Uzoenyi, Joseph Yobo, Babatunde Michael, Nosa Igiebor.

STAND - BY
There is great anxiety on the faces of the players here. They have not even boarded the flight yet.

For most of the players in this class,their journey to the World Cup will terminate here. Seven players will be dropped from Keshi’s present list after Craven Cottage.

Only a last-minute truly extra-ordinary performance will save their drop from the team. To survive means a player already established within Stephen Keshi’s so-far successful squad would have to be dropped. That will be a tough call.

The friendly match(es) may be the last opportunity, so it is going to be a do-or-die affair at Craven Cottage in about three weeks time.

One of the remaining two goalkeepers, Daniel Akpeyi and Chigozie Agbim, will have to drop out at this point.

It is likely to be Agbim. His performance during the Confederations Cup has now become an Albatross! Keshi will find it hard defending his choice ahead of Akpeyi.

The players waiting anxiously, wishing and praying for some divine intervention are: Daniel Akpeyi, Chigozie Agbim, Juwon Oshaniwa, Kunle Odunlami, Ramon Azeez, Uche Nwofor, Michael Uchebo.

GENERAL COMMENTS
It is unfortunate that the process of selecting the 30 players in the provisional list was turned into a circus, an unnecessarily protracted, controversial and suspicious drama.

In the end, the list leaves several unanswered questions about a few of the selected players, particularly a few players from the obscurity of their small European clubs to emerge as possible candidates in the biggest theatre of football in the world without earning the right visibly on the football field.

The good thing is that the names are an insignificant few.

The other issues are the inclusion of Peter Odemwingie and Joseph Yobo, two players that many people felt had given their best in the past, were past their prime, may not have much to offer and would be a distraction from what had been a calm and growing camp of new Super Eagles.

The inclusion also of Agbim, the goalkeeper whose poor performances during the Confederations Cup cost Nigeria dearly and left many people wondering where he came from; the inclusion of Shola Ameobi whose best form is in the distant past, like those of several others no longer in the Eagles team; and the exclusion of a younger and more potent Ike Uche whose current form, age and talent are worth considering for a invitation into Keshi’s provisional list.

What has Babatunde Michael, Reuben Gabriel and Nnamdi Oduamadi done to deserve to be included in Uncle Sege's squad? Has he seen them play recently?

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Post by Super Eagle »

I guess my first question is, why is Joel Obi in two classes on the same plane (uncle Sege got him both in Business class and in Premium economy class).

Secondly, Efe Ambrose should book a seat in First Class. Yes, he's one of our best performers. I used to criticize him a lot until I realized that he's a big game player. But I only like him in the RB, I don't wanna see him anywhere close to the CB.

Thirdly, what has Oduamadi done to deserve a seat in the Business Class! That dude doesn't even merit an invite in the first place. If anything, we should place him at the bottom of the standby list.

O pari
Note to: Emir Kongi, big porkey, and smartbrother: Don't talk unless you can improve the silence. (c)
www.awooze.com

#BringBackOurGirls
Hashtag #KeshiDonHammer

Osas suppose dey first class o :twisted:
"How are UK Conservative MPs selected? They are selected for intelligence and then rejected at final stage for thar fact" :rotf: :rotf: - Peter Hitchens interviewed on Novara Media 2025.

Pounded Yam wrote: The inclusion also of Agbim, the goalkeeper whose poor performances during the Confederations Cup cost Nigeria dearly and left many people wondering where he came from; the inclusion of Shola Ameobi whose best form is in the distant past, like those of several others no longer in the Eagles team; and the exclusion of a younger and more potent Ike Uche whose current form, age and talent are worth considering for a invitation into Keshi’s provisional list.

Did Agbim keep the goal for Nigeria at the Conferedation cup or am I missing something here? :?

Super Eagle wrote:I guess my first question is, why is Joel Obi in two classes on the same plane (uncle Sege got him both in Business class and in Premium economy class).

Secondly, Efe Ambrose should book a seat in First Class. Yes, he's one of our best performers. I used to criticize him a lot until I realized that he's a big game player. But I only like him in the RB, I don't wanna see him anywhere close to the CB.

Thirdly, what has Oduamadi done to deserve a seat in the Business Class! That dude doesn't even merit an invite in the first place. If anything, we should place him at the bottom of the standby list.

O pari

My sentiments exactly, and how can Babatunde be above Uchebo and Azeez ? Is this guy smoking crack, or does he know something about Tony Harri$ that we do not know.

Babatunde and Oduamadi should be "human trafficking class" smuggled onto the plane below in the galley.
Last edited by vancity eagle on Wed May 21, 2014 2:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Guys abeg don't take this too seriously. Odegbami doesn't watch a lot of football. You can always read his write-ups and easily see that he's "winging" it. I wish he would stick to writing about the more political aspects of the sport.

Efe Business class? I laugh!! If Efe no start na who wan start?? Mschew. Osaze is a sure banker and his place is secured!! Musa business class? yeah right! Musa is a sure banker! Ameobi is a sure banker!!

If Nwafor scores against Scotland he should be picked . Unfortunately this team has dearth of prolific scorer . Apart from Emenike even watching him recently he is on a decline compared with his standard during the ANC tournament the rest of the players rarely scores. If Nwafor can repeat this same performaces in the match against South Africa Keshi should take a chance on him. Osaeze is an enigma he can go either way thus I will not have my trust on him.
Metho scorpion

Post by Metho scorpion »

kolinzo wrote:Efe Business class? I laugh!! If Efe no start na who wan start?? Mschew. Osaze is a sure banker and his place is secured!! Musa business class? yeah right! Musa is a sure banker! Ameobi is a sure banker!!
...Osaze...? Keshi sure do not want to do with the current best Naija baller out there now...are you kidding..? Osaze in the team while Tony Harris' boy are not...? then someone must pay back refund to Tony Harris...
ifect70

Post by ifect70 »

Pounded Yam wrote: The inclusion also of Agbim, the goalkeeper whose poor performances during the Confederations Cup cost Nigeria dearly and left many people wondering where he came from; the inclusion of Shola Ameobi whose best form is in the distant past, like those of several others no longer in the Eagles team; and the exclusion of a younger and more potent Ike Uche whose current form, age and talent are worth considering for a invitation into Keshi’s provisional list.

Did Agbim keep the goal for Nigeria at the Conferedation cup or am I missing something here? :?
I believe it's a typo, he meant to say CHAN that was hosted by SA.

Ayo might have had a hand in helping Sege write this stuff??? :)
oga99

Post by oga99 »

Super Eagle wrote:I guess my first question is, why is Joel Obi in two classes on the same plane (uncle Sege got him both in Business class and in Premium economy class).

O pari

My sentiments exactly, and how can Babatunde be above Uchebo and Azeez ? Is this guy smoking crack, or does he know something about Tony Harri$ that we do not know.

Babatunde and Oduamadi should be "human trafficking class" smuggled onto the plane below in the galley.

lol
Catalyst

Post by Catalyst »

This Odegbami man again.

smdh.
Christ died for our sins, and was resurrected for our sake. This is indisputable. This is the center of it all.
The earth is not our home.

http://img704.imageshack.us/img704/7711/opaks.gif
http://www.katzy.dsl.pipex.com/Smileys/bsflag.gif

I stopped reading when I saw Oduamadi in business class.
ogiso

Post by ogiso »

My guess for the final 23:
1. Enyeama 2. Ejide 3. Agbim :ohmy:
4. Ambrose 5. Omeruo 6. Obaobona 7. Echiejile 8. Odunlami 9. Oshaniwa 10. Egwuekwe
11. Mikel 12. Moses. 13. Musa 14. Onazi 15. Obi. 16. Azeez 17. Mba 18. Igiebor
19. Emenike 20. Ameobi 21. Uchebo 22. Odemwingie 23. Uzoenyi

Agbim's inclusion and Yobo's exclusion will kick off a storm, but Keshi no dey fear storm!

ogiso wrote:My guess for the final 23:
4. Ambrose 5. Omeruo 6. Obaobona 7. Echiejile 8. Odunlami 9. Oshaniwa 10. Egwuekwe

Agbim's inclusion and Yobo's exclusion will kick off a storm, but Keshi no dey fear storm!
Bros, by FIFA regulation, Agbim or Akpeyi must make team as each team MUST include three goalies. :rotf:
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
HAWKEYE

Post by HAWKEYE »

Bros, by FIFA regulation, Agbim or Akpeyi must make team as each team MUST include three goalies. :rotf:

I'd give 90% for the list. The remaining 10% is 'cos I have a feeling Yobo and Nsofor will be in the plane to Brazil
The two to be dropped? My picks are Egwuekwe and Mba
CAPTAIN HAWKINS

HAWKEYE wrote:

I'd give 90% for the list. The remaining 10% is 'cos I have a feeling Yobo and Nsofor will be in the plane to Brazil
The two to be dropped? My picks are Egwuekwe and Mba
Egwueke will not be dropped. The provisional 30 is thin on defenders as it is.

As usual I give solid props to Big Sege :thumbs: :thumbs: as a living Nigerian football legend........................meaning that he has earned the right to write/say whatever he wants on Nigerian football and the SE.
The only place he got it 'wrong' is on Osaze............................the Big Boss :thumbs: will be making a big mistake if he selects a clown that has proven himself to be a 'useful angel*' for the Nff crooks :curse: .
The Big Boss :thumbs: should remember that this is the same guy that 'backstabbed' his Mentor ................................Amodu the great :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: .
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo

Nna, read again.

They guy said Keshi will include Agbim but u just accused him of the opposite.

Cmoke :D :D :D :D :D