[WC2014] France 2-0 Nigeria: FT (Pogba, Yobo(OG))

nim
Re: [WC2014] France 2-0 Nigeria: FT (Pogba, Yobo(OG))

Post by nim »

Imagine allowing moses to stink up the joint for 80 mins without any substitutions...also replacing onazi with Gabriel...

In short,

Keshi is a MORON.

End of story..

Osaze, Enyeama, Omeruo, you have my respects.

The rest?.... Eff y'all!...yep including the coach.

Let a new era begin. Bring in Manu's boys who play with fire in their bellies and wisdom in their heads... And a technically sound coach to imbibe positive football. Not this crappy garbage that we've been force fed with.

Nonsense.
soothsayer
Re: [WC2014] France 1-0 Nigeria: 2nd H

Post by soothsayer »

Riversboy wrote:
marko wrote:Surely its over now, nigeria has simply packed in!! This what happens when you love money more than football!! Yobo just gave the game away, well cameroon ghana nigeria allowed money to get in their way, now they got what they truly deserved!!,
So for the first 80 minutes, when they were playing with heart and doing well, were they loving money more than football?
You have a right to opinion/feelings on the bonus row, but don't yarn opaks about their performance today. They played thrir best game of the tournament, and got punished for a few lapses, while unable to punish the French in turn.

They switched off at the stroke of 90th minute, which is their fault, and that led to the second goal. It happens.

We played well and bravely. I give kudos to my Eagles.
:clap: :clap:

RB.
My main worry is that we don't repeat our mistakes, but I fear thats wishful thinking. Everyone will forget the issues until we start qualifiers again, everyone will start looking after their own interests.
Heliopolis

Post by Heliopolis »

Y'all should hold your heads up high. That was Nigeria's best showing of the tournament and Keshi was 100% spot on with his tactics. Nigeria was comfortable in the first 45 and dominated the first 20 minutes of the 2nd half. France looked completely clueless.

Unfortunately three things hurt Nigeria in the end:
1. The sub to bring off the useless Giroud for Griezmann which balanced France and allowed Benzema to get more comfortable playing in a central role.

2. Nigeria simply ran out of gas around the 70th minute.

3. Lack of enough quality to break down the French defence. Osaze was lively but his final ball was lacking. Emenike had his moments but appeared too nonchalant in the 2nd half. Unfortunately Moses and Musa were just spectators. Musa must have touched the ball less than 5 times in the 2nd half.

Some may scapegoat Enyeama but I think that would be harsh. I'm not sure going into extra time would've had resulted in a different outcome since only one team looked likely of scoring from the 70th minute onward.

Overall a good performance for Nigeria and much to build on. I hope the NFF arent dumb enough to let Keshi go in the next 4 years. He had Nigeria playing its best World Cup ball since 1998.
Re: [WC2014] France 2-0 Nigeria: 2nd H

mmeny wrote:
Cellular wrote:You give up a needless corner when chasing the game...
Instead of letting it go out for a throw in, the guy takes it and gives them a corner, funniest thing ever...when they call us naïve we will start complaining...
Dude let it go... the boys gave it their all.. we didn't have enough quality in or on the bench to beat France... Naive my arse.
Let what go? That was naïvete at its highest...I even think it was our throw in...
Abeg shut up!! That was all on Oshinawa's shoulders! It was going to be a French throw, and they would have killed more time. Osaze hustled to save the throw and passed to Juwon, who was strolling. That was not on Osaze. He did the right thing.
Bushboy's bushmen : 1.Isaac Success 2. Terem Moffi 3. Victor Boniface 4. Samuel Omorodion. 5. Samson Tijani. 6. Rafiu Durosinmi. 7. George Ilenikhena.

kalani JR wrote:This result hurts.

The challenge on Onazi was intentional and for a reason. Once he was taken off, the Eagles became not so super.

Riversboy

Post by Riversboy »

Oh yes... Losing Onazi tipped the balance of the midfield.

RB.
Chief Ogbunigwe wrote: is this what we celebrate these days, nutmeg?
ogiso

Post by ogiso »

Sad to lose. I really believed we would win this one. Well done SE. I hope the technical crew know the areas that need improving. When Emenike goes wide we have no presence in the box. We also lack invention from midfield. Talk will now move on to whether Keshi and his crew should remain. Personally I think they should be allowed to carry on with the job lest we regress. I however do know that there are many who think otherwise and can't wait to see the back of Keshi. I guess we'll find out soon.
Last edited by ogiso on Mon Jun 30, 2014 7:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

U CAN NOT BLAME YOBO FOR THAT DEFLECTION...
okidoki

Post by okidoki »

Martinez tearing Keshi a new one.
kalamashaka

Post by kalamashaka »

Gooner1 wrote:
FRANK WHITE wrote:
blueangel wrote:
FRANK WHITE wrote:
blueangel wrote:we lost to a better team today.

All in ALL, a good WOrld Cup

We shall be back wiser & stronger

you call losing 2 and winning only 1 a good world cup?
We over achieved.
what the hell are you talking about? Over achieved in what? Drawing against Iran and beating a team i their first WC appearance? If we had gone down fighting against France then I would have been okay about it, but that last 10 minutes was pathetic! I am glad I am leaving this forum sha! :roll:
Err when are you leaving? :tic:
It's happened..I have a shared cause with Gooner1 :woot: :woot: when's the party starting????
"How many white men went in the party that destroyed Abame?"

paj wrote:U CAN NOT BLAME YOBO FOR THAT DEFLECTION...
Yes you can because he was non-committal as usual, when you go half-heartedly that's what happens...
mutiman
Re: [WC2014] France 2-0 Nigeria: 2nd H

Post by mutiman »

oloye wrote:The minute we lost Onazi ... i knew we were toast.
I was in tears when he was subbed, my wife was asking why. Told her it was just so obvious that without him our midfield was gone. He's the pivot of midfield.

aamimar wrote:Hard luck Nigeria, the game was there for the taking, France was ordinary. Didn't like Obowinge when he was winking and smiling at the camera during the national anthem.
The good thing was that ALL our senior players were culpable...
There were individual errors. We can blame Enyeama for the first goal, but nobody covered the line for him...

The French had problems dealing with Nigeria, esp with the brain fart of starting Giroud

But they adjusted with Greizman and we had no response. Plus we had no player on the bench who could change things...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

txj wrote:It hurts; it really hurts...

We could've done more in this WC.

Too many decisions that did not pan out...

Too many problems left to fester...
At the end like you pointed out, it will rest on the foot of the coach.

Its a solid French team, but there are no special teams so far in this WC.

With better management we could've done more with the advantages we had in this game...

Yup. This is why I think the Argentines may nick it. No special teams in this tournament but albiceleste have far and away the best player PLUS firepowerr ound him that actually tries.

Underwhelming from us once they scored. I'm not going to bother analyzing us because the things that were missing after they scored are not quantifiable. How a team can just deflate and show ZERO heart like that is baffling.

Painful.

soma wrote:That first goal was coming.. Enyeama has been flapping at corners all day
The sad thing was that he had to do that because of the hopelessness of his defence in dealing with set pieces.

soma wrote:That first goal was coming.. Enyeama has been flapping at corners all day
The sad thing was that he had to do that because of the hopelessness of his defence in dealing with set pieces.
He didn't have to. Funny enough, France had never really caused us much problems from corners until Vincent dashed them one.
Bushboy's bushmen : 1.Isaac Success 2. Terem Moffi 3. Victor Boniface 4. Samuel Omorodion. 5. Samson Tijani. 6. Rafiu Durosinmi. 7. George Ilenikhena.

txj wrote:It hurts; it really hurts...

We could've done more in this WC.

Too many decisions that did not pan out...

Too many problems left to fester...
At the end like you pointed out, it will rest on the foot of the coach.

Its a solid French team, but there are no special teams so far in this WC.

With better management we could've done more with the advantages we had in this game...

Yup. This is why I think the Argentines may nick it. No special teams in this tournament but albiceleste have far and away the best player PLUS firepowerr ound him that actually tries.

Underwhelming from us once they scored. I'm not going to bother analyzing us because the things that were missing after they scored are not quantifiable. How a team can just deflate and show ZERO heart like that is baffling.

Painful.
They were tired. I always thought we needed to score first in this game...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Keshi postgame, blasting the ref about Onazi ,,says the ref is biased ..bobo is blasting the ref :clap: :clap:

bushboy wrote:
He didn't have to. Funny enough, France had never really caused us much problems from corners until Vincent dashed them one.
Exactly...

Bigpokey24 wrote:Keshi postgame, blasting the ref about Onazi ,,says the ref is biased ..bobo is blasting the ref :clap: :clap:
First class flight straight to SA is waiting for him

You guys are so emotional that you fail to realize we were beaten by a tactically better team.. Onazi goes off but the eagles actually player better for about 6 - 8 mins with Reuben leave your emotions and rewatch from about the 59 '

Then in the 62 mins France made the change that killed us - he brought in Griezman and in two mins he alone injured ambrose and created a chance that forced the Enyeama change.. ( Benzema)..

Then forced a save himself with a shot..

Then came the first goal...

That is what you call a tactical change ..this is where I fault Keshi..since he had committed to the Reuben change before Griezman ... He needed one of the faster defenders ( read Ambrose ) tracking Griezman runs and someone else ( osaze or Musa ) tracking Benzema.. Reuben , nor Mikel could not track Griezman..

You say Our defenders where sleeping for the second goal but it was all Greizman again that moved into the hole between Enyeama and Yobo ( something Giroud did not do for 60 mins.

O pari.. I like that boy so I am shrining him and he will go places..

Keshi said ,watch different coaches come out and say could have should have etc :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Pogba is absolute quality.