Kenneth Omeruo linked to Hull City (Loan)

Kenneth Omeruo – Nigeria and Chelsea
http://www.hulldailymail.co.uk/World-Cu ... story.html

• Position: Centre back

• Transfer fee: Loan

Kenneth Omeruo may be an unfamiliar name to many but his stock is slowly but surely rising, both on the club and international front. At just 20 years old, Omeruo was one of the stars of Nigeria’s World Cup campaign and he has gained plaudits for his strong performances.

The Chelsea youngster, whose preferred position is centre back, played every minute of the Super Eagles’ four games at the tournament. His partnership with the now-retired Joseph Yobo proved to have the perfect blend of youthfulness and experience. With those two at the heart of the defence, Nigeria didn’t concede in their first two matches.

The pair eventually came unstuck against a Lionel Messi inspired Argentina but Omeruo could again come out of the game with his head held high. A strong, athletic defender, he has already proven himself on the highest possible stage.

Like Campbell, though, the thing he needs now is regular first team football, and a club like City may just suit him. He spent the second half of last season on loan at Middlesbrough in the Championship and boss Aitor Karanka is supposedly keen on his return to the Riverside.

But when you consider the tournament Omeruo has just had, there will surely be offers from higher placed clubs than Boro.

City look to be close to securing the signature of Michael Dawson and it is clear that the centre back position remains a priority. Even if the Spurs man does arrive, it is an area that could still do with a touch more depth, especially if Steve Bruce sticks with the 3-5-2 system.

Omeruo would definitely be a handy addition to a squad that will surely be rotated next season, particularly if City progress to the group stages of the Europa League.
Re: Kenneth Omeruo linked to Hull City (Loan)

As long as he's playing first team soccer I'm happy for him but this is not a good sign.
Chelsea has a tendency to keep its players permanently on loan .
Van Aanohlt , Lukaku, Coutois and McChrechran come to mind.
I dont know why they do this instead of simply selling the player.

Right now their best defenders are as follows:
1. Terry
2. Omeruo
3. Ivanovic
4. Zouma
4. Kalas
5. Cahill

if mourino does not appreciate Omeruo's qualities he simply needs to let the boy go
Lager-back

Post by Lager-back »

smartbrother wrote:As long as he's playing first team soccer I'm happy for him but this is not a good sign.
Chelsea has a tendency to keep its players permanently on loan .
Van Aanohlt , Lukaku, Coutois and McChrechran come to mind.
I dont know why they do this instead of simply selling the player.

Right now their best defenders are as follows:
1. Terry
2. Omeruo
3. Ivanovic
4. Zouma
4. Kalas
5. Cahill

if mourino does not appreciate Omeruo's qualities he simply needs to let the boy go
:evil:

Abeg Kenneth force your way out of that useless club biko ... you are a star in the making

Let us be real here,how is Terry,Cahill, and other Chelsea CD better than this boy?When I say Oyibo players are over hype like Hazard some people think am joking.Omerue is Chelsea best CD in this world cup yet he is good for loan.
Why don't just sell the boy and play against him in EPL.

anikulapo wrote:Abeg Kenneth force your way out of that useless club biko ... you are a star in the making
Kpom!

Like di oda happy to be in Rondon player whose benchitis induced languid play we were forced to witness in Brazil...

Please Kenny, being on a big team bench is not good for a young boys career... just look at Matic... he left and came back a better player.

Riversboy

Post by Riversboy »

First team football in a competitive league and/or in European matches is key.

RB.
Chief Ogbunigwe wrote: is this what we celebrate these days, nutmeg?
Godfather

Post by Godfather »

kajifu wrote:Let us be real here,how is Terry,Cahill, and other Chelsea CD better than this boy?When I say Oyibo players are over hype like Hazard some people think am joking.Omerue is Chelsea best CD in this world cup yet he is good for loan.
Because of ONO. :sneaky:
“Achebe was a writer in whose company the Prison walls fell down.” – Dr. Nelson Mandela.
bolaji

Post by bolaji »

Unfortunately, this trend will continue until we can build and sustain our local league to a level where these boys can earn solid income without the need to move to Europe to become bench warmers and pawn in Division 2 clubs :cry: .
In most casess, unless you're outrageously skilled like Ronaldo or Messi, Oyinbo will give their own below par players opportunities over African players any-day. The plight of the African footballer continues!
kajifu wrote:Let us be real here,how is Terry,Cahill, and other Chelsea CD better than this boy?When I say Oyibo players are over hype like Hazard some people think am joking.Omerue is Chelsea best CD in this world cup yet he is good for loan.
"Daddy, that man looks scary" said my 6yr old son on seeing Ghanaian's GK Dauda's face coming towards the Camera Lens. My avatar is my tribute to the only man that has managed to scare the craps out of my son.
soma

Post by soma »

anikulapo wrote:Abeg Kenneth force your way out of that useless club biko ... you are a star in the making

Now I was hoping he wouldn't sign that new contract and leave on a free but he signed it. What a useless agent.

3. Thomas Sankara
4. Patrice Lumumba
5. Robert Mugabe
6. Murmar "the Lion" Ghaddafi....

bolaji wrote::agree:

Unfortunately, this trend will continue until we can build and sustain our local league to a level where these boys can earn solid income without the need to move to Europe to become bench warmers and pawn in Division 2 clubs :cry: .
In most casess, unless you're outrageously skilled like Ronaldo or Messi, Oyinbo will give their own below par players opportunities over African players any-day. The plight of the African footballer continues!
Like Mikel, Adebayor, Eto, Diamme, Bassong, Pienaar, Demba Ba, Tiotte, Toure, Bentaleb, Mulumbu, Bony, Odemwingie, Pappis?

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
bolaji

Post by bolaji »

Lolly wrote:

In most cases, unless you're outrageously skilled like Ronaldo or Messi, Oyinbo will give their own below par players opportunities over African players any-day. The plight of the African footballer continues!
Like Mikel, Adebayor, Eto, Diamme, Bassong, Pienaar, Demba Ba, Tiotte, Toure, Bentaleb, Mulumbu, Bony, Odemwingie, Pappis?
Olodo, you have come to defend your Masters again, :mrgreen: I said in MOST CASES (translation: more often than not). Your list couldn't fill one line but I'm sure that's major success and enough for you. I'm sure you're fine with Omeruo playing Division 2 fottball despite keeping your Masters' boy like Dzeko, Benzema, et al in his back pocket :lol:
Last edited by bolaji on Sun Jul 06, 2014 11:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"Daddy, that man looks scary" said my 6yr old son on seeing Ghanaian's GK Dauda's face coming towards the Camera Lens. My avatar is my tribute to the only man that has managed to scare the craps out of my son.

bolaji wrote:
Lolly wrote:

In most cases, unless you're outrageously skilled like Ronaldo or Messi, Oyinbo will give their own below par players opportunities over African players any-day. The plight of the African footballer continues!
Olodo, you have come to defend your Masters again, :mrgreen: Your list couldn't fill a line. I'm sure you're fine with Omeruo playing Division 2 fottball despite keeping your Masters' boy like Dzeko, Benzema, et al in his back pocket :lol:
Just thought to give you some free education. If you want more than a line, you will have to pay. What a shame that this forum is now infested with area boys spewing foul language with every response.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
bolaji

Post by bolaji »

soma wrote:

Now I was hoping he wouldn't sign that new contract and leave on a free but he signed it. What a useless agent.
True, but he could easily have ended up injured with no opportunity to showcase himself at the WC and we'd have blamed his agent for not extending his contract.

Look at them, why didn't any of yall find him a club and a monthly salary..smh ., see them. Bunch of hopeless loud trolls. Ken do what will feed you... if you break leg, CE will not send you or your family a bag of rice.. babatunde and onazi broke limbs , but what did they get from this hopeless trolls on ce? They were labeled as junk. CE the forum full of loud trolls offering nothing to Nigerian football but juicy bonus stories smh from twitter

First Omeruo is not good enough for Chelsea. He can't defend cornerkicks and can't score any. So he is really smart for extending with Chelsea. He goes on loan to learn the trade. Hull city is good for him. He will be facing top strikers from Liverpool, Man City, Man U, Southampton, Tottenham, Everton. This is where we will know how good he is.

Ipe Grams

Post by Ipe Grams »

What kind of yeye question is this? They can play whoever they want and more so why should foreign players development be their piority?
"Are you sure you want to go to red alert? It does mean changing the bulb..."
Kryten to Rimmer, Red Dwarf
Ipe Grams

Post by Ipe Grams »

soma wrote:

Leave on a free to where exactly? Am sure if there were other options or better options available he wouldn't have signed? Some here think signing for clubs or top clubs is that simple and easy. :roll:
"Are you sure you want to go to red alert? It does mean changing the bulb..."
Kryten to Rimmer, Red Dwarf
lagos777

Post by lagos777 »

kolinzo wrote:First Omeruo is not good enough for Chelsea. He can't defend cornerkicks and can't score any. So he is really smart for extending with Chelsea. He goes on loan to learn the trade. Hull city is good for him. He will be facing top strikers from Liverpool, Man City, Man U, Southampton, Tottenham, Everton. This is where we will know how good he is.
Not good enough for Chelsea ? Can't defend cornerkicks ? Were did you come with that.
You mean all we've been seeing till now is photo trick. You're not sure Omeruo is very good ?
Mike Ditka quote :
"I didn't say it in those general terms but I said it like that".
lagos777

Post by lagos777 »

Lolly wrote:Like Mikel, Adebayor, Eto, Diamme, Bassong, Pienaar, Demba Ba, Tiotte, Toure, Bentaleb, Mulumbu, Bony, Odemwingie, Pappis?
I'm gonna guess most the players on that list will tell you their stock would have been higher if they were natives.
Mike Ditka quote :
"I didn't say it in those general terms but I said it like that".

kolinzo wrote:First Omeruo is not good enough for Chelsea. He can't defend cornerkicks and can't score any. So he is really smart for extending with Chelsea. He goes on loan to learn the trade. Hull city is good for him. He will be facing top strikers from Liverpool, Man City, Man U, Southampton, Tottenham, Everton. This is where we will know how good he is.
He might be slightly too short to be a Chelsea defender, but he is a D1 defender for sure...

Please sir, how tall is John Terry?
Bushboy's bushmen : 1.Isaac Success 2. Terem Moffi 3. Victor Boniface 4. Samuel Omorodion. 5. Samson Tijani. 6. Rafiu Durosinmi. 7. George Ilenikhena.

6 foot 1 inches is not short for a defender.