Kenneth Omeruo linked to Hull City (Loan)

Re: Kenneth Omeruo linked to Hull City (Loan)

bushboy wrote:
kolinzo wrote:First Omeruo is not good enough for Chelsea. He can't defend cornerkicks and can't score any. So he is really smart for extending with Chelsea. He goes on loan to learn the trade. Hull city is good for him. He will be facing top strikers from Liverpool, Man City, Man U, Southampton, Tottenham, Everton. This is where we will know how good he is.
He might be slightly too short to be a Chelsea defender, but he is a D1 defender for sure...
Please sir, how tall is John Terry?
Taller than Omeruo

bushboy wrote:
kolinzo wrote:First Omeruo is not good enough for Chelsea. He can't defend cornerkicks and can't score any. So he is really smart for extending with Chelsea. He goes on loan to learn the trade. Hull city is good for him. He will be facing top strikers from Liverpool, Man City, Man U, Southampton, Tottenham, Everton. This is where we will know how good he is.
He might be slightly too short to be a Chelsea defender, but he is a D1 defender for sure...
Taller than Omeruo
:) :lol: :lol:
Bushboy's bushmen : 1.Isaac Success 2. Terem Moffi 3. Victor Boniface 4. Samuel Omorodion. 5. Samson Tijani. 6. Rafiu Durosinmi. 7. George Ilenikhena.

ohenhen1 wrote:6 foot 1 inches is not short for a defender.
Of course not, but Chelsea seem to favor tallish/bigger defenders...not really a knock on Omeruo, but guys like Varane would also struggle to start at Chelsea as well...
Last edited by maceo4 on Mon Jul 07, 2014 5:02 am, edited 1 time in total.

bushboy wrote:
Taller than Omeruo
Compare Kenneth's height to Terry's using Mikel as a common reference.

Last edited by niyi on Mon Jul 07, 2014 5:03 am, edited 1 time in total.

niyi wrote:
bushboy wrote:
Taller than Omeruo

Don't waste your time with that bobo abeg. He just dey misyarn.
Bushboy's bushmen : 1.Isaac Success 2. Terem Moffi 3. Victor Boniface 4. Samuel Omorodion. 5. Samson Tijani. 6. Rafiu Durosinmi. 7. George Ilenikhena.

niyi wrote:
bushboy wrote:
Taller than Omeruo

Terry is taller by about an inch, also bulkier more of a physical specimen, the type of brutes Chelsea likes...

bushboy wrote:
niyi wrote:
bushboy wrote:
Taller than Omeruo

How much you want to bet he is taller than Omeruo?

bushboy wrote:
niyi wrote:
bushboy wrote:
Taller than Omeruo

How much you want to bet he is taller than Omeruo?
I don't think the very little height (likely less than an inch) difference will stop Kenneth from being a Chelsea defender. Mourinho used Gallas in his first 2 seasons at Chelsea. Even more recently, he used Carvalho and Ramos (these guys aren't short but they're def not as tall as Kenneth).

niyi wrote:
I don't think the very little height (likely less than an inch) difference will stop Kenneth from being a Chelsea defender. Mourinho used Gallas in his first 2 seasons at Chelsea. Even more recently, he used Carvalho and Ramos (these guys aren't short but they're def not as tall as Kenneth).
You are right, I shouldn't have just said height, but overall stature, he is too slight a defender, can't see him being a starter at Chelski if he doesn't bulk up a bit...he did well for the most part against Dzeko but he was getting beaten a lot on crosses and being out-muscled (esp. towards the end of the match)...

Don't waste your time with mace abeg! His argument makes absolutely no sense. Height difference of less than an inch is what means he can't be a Chelsea defender? Lol...Chei! My people o!!
Last edited by bushboy on Mon Jul 07, 2014 5:18 am, edited 1 time in total.

You guys! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

niyi wrote:
You are right, I shouldn't have just said height, but overall stature, he is too slight a defender, can't see him being a starter at Chelski if he doesn't bulk up a bit...he did well for the most part against Dzeko but he was getting beaten a lot on crosses and being out-muscled (esp. towards the end of the match)...
Yup he def needs to bulk up. I also remember those plays towards the end of the game... thought some of those were illegal though. The referees should have called that one where Dzeko held him down.

bushboy wrote:Don't waste your time with mace abeg! His argument makes absolutely no sense. Height difference of less than an inch is what means he can't be a Chelsea defender? Lol...Chei! My people o!!
I already corrected myself so you get my point, that its not just height its his overall stature, to me he is not a Chelsea-type defender, if you think he is then fine, let him go win his starting shirt we will all celebrate. But to me "smaller"/slender defenders like Omeruo/Varane wouldn't necessarily thrive at a Chelsea, you forget that even Mikel had to bulk up from the U-20 version to make it at Chelsea, something Omeruo hasn't really done yet...
lagos777

Post by lagos777 »

Chelsea bought him for a reason. They resigned him to a contract for a reason. I don't think they do that for a player they think is not their kinda guy.
Mike Ditka quote :
"I didn't say it in those general terms but I said it like that".

lagos777 wrote:Chelsea bought him for a reason. They resigned him to a contract for a reason. I don't think they do that for a player they think is not their kinda guy.
But, they also keep loaning him out for a reason...
lagos777

Post by lagos777 »

It's logical to think they farm him out because they think he's not ready. If he's not tall enough for them, they won't resign him.

Your argument should be maybe he's not ready, on that reasonable mind can disagree.
Mike Ditka quote :
"I didn't say it in those general terms but I said it like that".

bushboy wrote:Don't waste your time with mace abeg! His argument makes absolutely no sense. Height difference of less than an inch is what means he can't be a Chelsea defender? Lol...Chei! My people o!!

smartbrother wrote:As long as he's playing first team soccer I'm happy for him but this is not a good sign.
Chelsea has a tendency to keep its players permanently on loan .
Van Aanohlt , Lukaku, Coutois and McChrechran come to mind.
I dont know why they do this instead of simply selling the player.

Right now their best defenders are as follows:
1. Terry
2. Omeruo
3. Ivanovic
4. Zouma
4. Kalas
5. Cahill

if mourino does not appreciate Omeruo's qualities he simply needs to let the boy go
What do yo think of the props in the article to Yobo? :sneaky:
"How are UK Conservative MPs selected? They are selected for intelligence and then rejected at final stage for thar fact" :rotf: :rotf: - Peter Hitchens interviewed on Novara Media 2025.

Riversboy

Post by Riversboy »

niyi wrote:
bushboy wrote:
Taller than Omeruo

Niyi don bring forensic science join. CE :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

RB.
Chief Ogbunigwe wrote: is this what we celebrate these days, nutmeg?

Oh my height ke? I habe read it all on CE

lagos777 wrote:It's logical to think they farm him out because they think he's not ready. If he's not tall enough for them, they won't resign him.

Your argument should be maybe he's not ready, on that reasonable mind can disagree.
But why do they think he is not ready? For me it's his size and strength compared to who they already have and seem to prefer to play in the past...
analyzer

Post by analyzer »

Abeg Niyi no kill me for here..

As for KO, Saw him at Curitiba - thought bobo has a decent height for a CB than i had initially expected...
By the way, JT is listed at about 1/2 an inch taller than KO (6' 1'').. KO is 20 and could still add to his height..

Mind you, in Jose 1st tenure at CFC - he had 3 main CBs in Gallas/JT/Calvalho.. Calvalho and Gallas measure out at about 6ft.. Doubt size is the issue, maybe strength (thinking of hummels and Varane.. :lol: :lol: ) and other intricate aspects of his game..

I have no issue with a loan move to a quality league as it fosters KO's development. There are still aspects of his game to improve on.. As long as KO is not going back to championship, then no quanta.. He is past that level..
Lampard: 101 goals and counting.......

64 GAMES UNBEATEN AT STAMFORD BRIDGE... A NEW RECORD IS SET.....

analyzer wrote::lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Abeg Niyi no kill me for here..

As for KO, Saw him at Curitiba - thought bobo has a decent height for a CB than i had initially expected...
By the way, JT is listed at about 1/2 an inch taller than KO (6' 1'').. KO is 20 and could still add to his height..

Mind you, in Jose 1st tenure at CFC - he had 3 main CBs in Gallas/JT/Calvalho.. Calvalho and Gallas measure out at about 6ft.. Doubt size is the issue, maybe strength (thinking of hummels and Varane.. :lol: :lol: ) and other intricate aspects of his game..

I have no issue with a loan move to a quality league as it fosters KO's development. There are still aspects of his game to improve on.. As long as KO is not going back to championship, then no quanta.. He is past that level..
I agree, its not simply height, I also brought up the Varane reference as well as another CD that most likely wouldn't be a Chelsea style defender, but he is able to thrive at another big club in Real....so not being able to make it at Chelsea doesn't mean you can't make it at a big club, if he could bulk up like Mikel did he would stand a better chance tho...