Mikel backs Matuidi
http://www.kickoff.com/worldcup2014/new ... -card-fair

Article by: Colin UdohNigeria midfielder John Mikel Obi says a yellow card was the fair punishment for Blaise Matuidi for his tackle on Ogenyi Onazi.
The Frenchman's ill-timed challenge left the Nigeria midfielder with a fractured ankle, which required a cast and is expected to keep him out of action for at least six weeks.
But despite widespread condemnation from home, and strong words from Argentina legend Diego Maradona, Mikel has risen to the defence of the French international 'Matuidi is not a dirty player," Mikel told KickOffNigeria.com. "I don't think he did it deliberately.
"They were both boing for the ball, but Onazi was faster and got there first, and then Matuidi caught him. It was a mistake.
"I feel sorry for Onazi because the injury looked very serious and he had to miss the rest of the game. Maybe things would have been different if he had continued playing, I don't know.
"But I think the yellow card was enough punishment for him."
Last edited by Bigpokey24 on Mon Jul 07, 2014 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Re: Mikel backs Matuidi
Mikel head no dey house 

- airwolex

That's how I saw it too, but come Mikel suffer small this WC o...Osaze woz am slap and Giroud elbow am then slapped him.

Una see why this boy's face attracted 'Air Jonathan'...with folks like him FIFA will continue to mess Africa around. I hope the site admin have updated the emoticons with a slap emoticon because right now i feel like tearing him one unfortunately it wont be one with an Air Jonathan..but a cyber one would do for now. 

The more I read about Mikel, the more I rewatch the dross he served during the world cup, the more he loses brownie points. Assuming the article is not jj, that foul has no place in any game.Bigpokey24 wrote:http://www.kickoff.com/worldcup2014/new ... -card-fair
Article by: Colin UdohNigeria midfielder John Mikel Obi says a yellow card was the fair punishment for Blaise Matuidi for his tackle on Ogenyi Onazi.
The Frenchman's ill-timed challenge left the Nigeria midfielder with a fractured ankle, which required a cast and is expected to keep him out of action for at least six weeks.
But despite widespread condemnation from home, and strong words from Argentina legend Diego Maradona, Mikel has risen to the defence of the French international 'Matuidi is not a dirty player," Mikel told KickOffNigeria.com. "I don't think he did it deliberately.
"They were both boing for the ball, but Onazi was faster and got there first, and then Matuidi caught him. It was a mistake.
"I feel sorry for Onazi because the injury looked very serious and he had to miss the rest of the game. Maybe things would have been different if he had continued playing, I don't know.
Bigpokey24 wrote:http://www.kickoff.com/worldcup2014/new ... -card-fair
MIKEL IS A DISGRACE TO CLUB AND COUNTRY!!!! USELESS COLO MENTAL PLAYER
Junk player that can't even stand up for his team mate and country but will rather support the opposition and go as far as suggesting a yellow card is enough for a career threatening tackle?
Whether Matuidi is known as a dirty player is irrelevant, what matters is that he nearly ripped off Onazi's ankle without the ball is sight and that is a red-card offense anyday. It's Matuidi's fault that Onazi was quicker to the ball and should be rightfully carded for his inadequacies. How does Matuidi's slow-reaction exonerate him from the horror tackle he dished out
When the whole world witnessed Suarez's fang into Chiellini's shoulder, Uruguayan Coaches and players swore Suarez was innocent and the public over-reacted but our own Mikel witnessed his mid-field companion go down hard but decides to pitch his camp in the opponent's territory.
Can someone drop kick this guy and exclude him from future SE call ups. Stick and fork in him 'cos he's DONE
Whether Matuidi is known as a dirty player is irrelevant, what matters is that he nearly ripped off Onazi's ankle without the ball is sight and that is a red-card offense anyday. It's Matuidi's fault that Onazi was quicker to the ball and should be rightfully carded for his inadequacies. How does Matuidi's slow-reaction exonerate him from the horror tackle he dished out

When the whole world witnessed Suarez's fang into Chiellini's shoulder, Uruguayan Coaches and players swore Suarez was innocent and the public over-reacted but our own Mikel witnessed his mid-field companion go down hard but decides to pitch his camp in the opponent's territory.

Can someone drop kick this guy and exclude him from future SE call ups. Stick and fork in him 'cos he's DONE

Last edited by bolaji on Mon Jul 07, 2014 5:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"Daddy, that man looks scary" said my 6yr old son on seeing Ghanaian's GK Dauda's face coming towards the Camera Lens. My avatar is my tribute to the only man that has managed to scare the craps out of my son.
Well said Mikel.
Nothing more to add...
The rest is for the #cellular1lameexcusebegets2 crowd..
Nothing more to add...
The rest is for the #cellular1lameexcusebegets2 crowd..
We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
i am liking this thread
so easy

Bigpokey24 wrote:http://www.kickoff.com/worldcup2014/new ... -card-fair
Finally Bigpokey! Please wake up and smell the coffee and stop defending the indefensible.....
Iworo you need help ..is Mikel bigpokey? smh
Come to think of it. Mikel thinks Giroud's elbow to his face should have drawn a red card from the ref but I've now changed my mind about that as well.
Giroud should have ripped Mikel's eyes apart with that elbow for stinking up the joint in Brazil and the ref should have waved play on instead of issuing Giroud a warning.
Slow, useless, and brainless player. No wonder he's been reduced to bench roles at Chelsea. When the legs, heart and BRAIN are gone, the end of the player is around the corner.
Giroud should have ripped Mikel's eyes apart with that elbow for stinking up the joint in Brazil and the ref should have waved play on instead of issuing Giroud a warning.

Slow, useless, and brainless player. No wonder he's been reduced to bench roles at Chelsea. When the legs, heart and BRAIN are gone, the end of the player is around the corner.

"Daddy, that man looks scary" said my 6yr old son on seeing Ghanaian's GK Dauda's face coming towards the Camera Lens. My avatar is my tribute to the only man that has managed to scare the craps out of my son.
dude get a hold of yourself violence isn't cool, you wouldn't want your co-worker sending you to LUTH.I will like to see you log off the internet and run a mile none stop.. see mouth..you know it is easier to sit under A/C with gulder and watch football on the TV... maybe you should try playing football for 2 mis , make we see how your lungs go carry you..smh..mouthing off is so easy kaibolaji wrote:Come to think of it. Mikel thinks Giroud's elbow to his face should have drawn a red card from the ref but I've now changed my mind about that as well.
Giroud should have ripped Mikel's eyes apart with that elbow for stinking up the joint in Brazil and the ref should have waved play on instead of issuing Giroud a warning.![]()

Last edited by Bigpokey24 on Mon Jul 07, 2014 5:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Violence is not cool but for Mikel it's okay for his team-mate to be out for several weeks while his aggressor stays on to play another day.Bigpokey24 wrote:dude get a hold of yourself violence isn't cool, you wouldn't want your co-worker sending you to LUTHbolaji wrote:Come to think of it. Mikel thinks Giroud's elbow to his face should have drawn a red card from the ref but I've now changed my mind about that as well.
Giroud should have ripped Mikel's eyes apart with that elbow for stinking up the joint in Brazil and the ref should have waved play on instead of issuing Giroud a warning.![]()
He gave his opinion on Onazi's injury and I'm giving mine on the elbow he received from Giroud. Pity Giroud didn't gouge his eyes out. Case closed.
Mikel is just looking for more reasons for me to dislike him, by the day.
I don't know how a guy can go from being one of my heroes..to being persona non grata in my household, just like that.

Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT
take another look;airwolex wrote:![]()
That's how I saw it too, but come Mikel suffer small this WC o...Osaze woz am slap and Giroud elbow am then slapped him.
http://thebiglead.com/2014/06/30/blaise ... nyi-onazi/
- Eaglezbeak
That's awful,I wouldn't expect such a reaction from a player about his team mate why even speak on the issue if you can't say anything better?
Eaglezbeak wrote:That's awful,I wouldn't expect such a reaction from a player about his team mate why even speak on the issue if you can't say anything better?
Why not if telling the truth. I don't think Matuidi intended to hurt Onazi. Stuff happens in football.
- nanijoe
- Site Admin
On what planet is this not a red card? The ball was long gone, and Matuidi came in with studs up...Valencia got a red card for a similar challenge, even though he actually got the ball..

SMH
Thanks. This gif shows they both weren't going for the ball as Mikel claims. As the gif shows, Onazi had the ball and Matuidi lunged with open studs. That's a red card offense even in the Cameroonian League.nanijoe wrote:[/img]
cito us wrote:take another look;airwolex wrote:![]()
http://thebiglead.com/2014/06/30/blaise ... nyi-onazi/
Mikel was right here jare...Everything looks bad slow-mo...I already stated on another thread that i didnt think it was a red card..Ball was 50-50 and Onazi got there first...Africans always looking for excuses where there is none..

- Chief Ogbunigwe
nanijoe wrote:On what planet is this not a red card? The ball was long gone, and Matuidi came in with studs up...Valencia got a red card for a similar challenge, even though he actually got the ball..
But this is Mikel we are talking about. Though he thinks Giroud should have gotten a red for the elbow that did not connect. Maybe Onazi will think twice before outshining Mikel next time...or before fraternizing with Oslapze.