Nigeria Football Federation Has Been Suspended by FIFA

Re: Nigeria Football Federation Has Been Suspended by FIFA

Lolly wrote:
PapaK wrote:
The only reason that Nigeria is winning anything is 'cos of these two..............

Heroes :thumbs: :thumbs: :clap: :clap: :clap: ..........The NFF crooks :curse: did everything to make sure that we lose to CIV and did their very best to disorganise the MIC's :clap: plans by sacking his able assistant Quicksliver :thumbs: :thumbs: .
We are winning despite the EVIL & criminal plans of the NFF crooks.
I see. So, the two were also responsible for our victory at u-17 abi? I'm a Keshi fan, but he would not have succeeded without the support of NFF as brilliant as he has been.
The Big Boss :thumbs: :thumbs: succeeded...................DESPITE THE NFF CROOKS :curse:
And so did Bonfere (Olympics Gold), Siasia (Olympics Silver , FIFA U20 Silver) and Manu (World U17).
Tell me the last time Germany won the Olympics BS or even played in the finals :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: .........I won't 'glorify' your buffoonery by discussing high-school football aka U-whatever tournament :mrgreen:
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo

It is really sad that most on this site are confusing the matters at hand. There is no where that it states that FIFA is against its officials being charged to court on a criminal case. That is not the issue, at all.

The issue is strictly on government interference on football and in this Nigerian case the interference is glaring. For instance, I doubt that FIFA would have suspended Nigeria if Nigerian football officials were duly taken to court on a criminal matter. Please see below for avoidance of any doubt.
PROBE OF NFF: BLATTER BACKS PROBE OF LULU, OGUNJOBI, UCHEGBULAM
http://www.thenigerianvoice.com/news/29 ... jobi-.html
By NBF News

The Executive Committee of the Federation of International Football Association, FIFA, says it has nothing against the trials of the sacked president of the Nigerian Football Federation, NFF, Sani Lulu, his deputy, Amanze Uchegbulam and chairman, Technical Committee, Taiwo Ogunjobi.

The Executive Committee after itsr meeting yesterday said it was normal everywhere in the world for public office holders to give account of their stewardship.

The committee also acknowledged that it had received Nigeria's letter sent by President Goodluck Jonathan, announcing his decision to reverse the self imposed ban on Nigeria from international competitions for two years.

The committee headed by Sepp Blatter noted that FIFA is aware of the new executive of the NFF, an indication that football is growing in Nigeria.

The body says it would not interfere in the probe, while the new administration in the NFF is in line with the statutes governing the game. Jerome Valcke, General Secretary of FIFA, after yesterday's meeting said: 'FIFA does not give room and will not condone any corrupt official in its fold because FIFA spends millions of dollars on affiliated associations all over the world. It is very important for these officials to give account on how the funds made available to them are spent.' He said there was nothing unusal about the ongoing probe of Lulu and others, saying there is need for accountability. The accused officials were expected yesterday at the EFCC office for interrogation and the outcome was not known as at the time of filing this report.

On the future of football in Nigeria, Valcke said FIFA was delighted that Nigeria's Under-20 female team, the Falconets, was already in Germany to participate in the Under-20 World Cup, which kicks off Tuesday.

FIFA's President, Sepp Blatter, said it was not their intention to expel Nigeria at any point in time because Nigeria is one of the superpowers of football in Africa.

He disclosed that FIFA was glad that Nigeria met with the deadline given to the government to rescind its earlier decision to ban the country from FIFA's programmes for the next two years. He advised football administrators in Nigeria to run the game properly. In another development, he praised South African President, Jacob Zuma, the World Cup Local Organising Committee, LOC, headed by Danny Jordaan and the citizens for giving the world a befitting tournament.

According to him, 'for South Africa, I'm happy. I want to thank the government because we've seen a successful hosting of the Mundial, and we have seen the best World Cup ever organised and we are proud of them.'

The current issue is not about Maigari being charged for criminal offence. It is strictly about government naming a Sole Administrator for Nigeria’s football. According to FIFA, government has no such powers to make such an appointment. That is solely the authority of the Football Congress when properly convened which was not the case here. If Maigari had been appropriately deposed without the Minister announcing a Sole Administrator, there would not have been any basis for this suspension.

On government financing football. That is up to the Nigerian government. My own tuppence about this is first government should not even be involved in making a law for the establishment of the Football Association as is the case in Nigeria. The Football Association can be established by registration via Corporate Affairs and recognized by FIFA. Now, government has a responsibility for youth development using sports and that is why there is a Ministry. To achieve the goals of that Ministry, government may then use the football association and/or other NGOs by providing grants that those bodies must account for.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote:It is really sad that most on this site are confusing the matters at hand. There is no where that it states that FIFA is against its officials being charged to court on a criminal case. That is not the issue, at all.

The issue is strictly on government interference on football and in this Nigerian case the interference is glaring. For instance, I doubt that FIFA would have suspended Nigeria if Nigerian football officials were duly taken to court on a criminal matter. Please see below for avoidance of any doubt.
PROBE OF NFF: BLATTER BACKS PROBE OF LULU, OGUNJOBI, UCHEGBULAM
http://www.thenigerianvoice.com/news/29 ... jobi-.html
By NBF News

The Executive Committee of the Federation of International Football Association, FIFA, says it has nothing against the trials of the sacked president of the Nigerian Football Federation, NFF, Sani Lulu, his deputy, Amanze Uchegbulam and chairman, Technical Committee, Taiwo Ogunjobi.

The Executive Committee after itsr meeting yesterday said it was normal everywhere in the world for public office holders to give account of their stewardship.

The committee also acknowledged that it had received Nigeria's letter sent by President Goodluck Jonathan, announcing his decision to reverse the self imposed ban on Nigeria from international competitions for two years.

The committee headed by Sepp Blatter noted that FIFA is aware of the new executive of the NFF, an indication that football is growing in Nigeria.

The body says it would not interfere in the probe, while the new administration in the NFF is in line with the statutes governing the game. Jerome Valcke, General Secretary of FIFA, after yesterday's meeting said: 'FIFA does not give room and will not condone any corrupt official in its fold because FIFA spends millions of dollars on affiliated associations all over the world. It is very important for these officials to give account on how the funds made available to them are spent.' He said there was nothing unusal about the ongoing probe of Lulu and others, saying there is need for accountability. The accused officials were expected yesterday at the EFCC office for interrogation and the outcome was not known as at the time of filing this report.

On the future of football in Nigeria, Valcke said FIFA was delighted that Nigeria's Under-20 female team, the Falconets, was already in Germany to participate in the Under-20 World Cup, which kicks off Tuesday.

FIFA's President, Sepp Blatter, said it was not their intention to expel Nigeria at any point in time because Nigeria is one of the superpowers of football in Africa.

He disclosed that FIFA was glad that Nigeria met with the deadline given to the government to rescind its earlier decision to ban the country from FIFA's programmes for the next two years. He advised football administrators in Nigeria to run the game properly. In another development, he praised South African President, Jacob Zuma, the World Cup Local Organising Committee, LOC, headed by Danny Jordaan and the citizens for giving the world a befitting tournament.

According to him, 'for South Africa, I'm happy. I want to thank the government because we've seen a successful hosting of the Mundial, and we have seen the best World Cup ever organised and we are proud of them.'

The current issue is not about Maigari being charged for criminal offence. It is strictly about government naming a Sole Administrator for Nigeria’s football. According to FIFA, government has no such powers to make such an appointment. That is solely the authority of the Football Congress when properly convened which was not the case here. If Maigari had been appropriately deposed without the Minister announcing a Sole Administrator, there would not have been any basis for this suspension.

On government financing football. That is up to the Nigerian government. My own tuppence about this is first government should not even be involved in making a law for the establishment of the Football Association as is the case in Nigeria. The Football Association can be established by registration via Corporate Affairs and recognized by FIFA. Now, government has a responsibility for youth development using sports and that is why there is a Ministry. To achieve the goals of that Ministry, government may then use the football association and/or other NGOs by providing grants that those bodies must account for.
Don't waste your time. A lot of people here are unteachable.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

wazobia wrote:For those supporting the actions of the Minister: There are people whose livelihood and future depends on these FIFA tournaments. Where is Justice for them? If the Government has issues with the NFF execs, they could have gone about this without incurring the wrath of FIFA and the ban

The most bizarre thing in this situation is that the government could have easily removed Maigari and his men through the Congress in August. What is shocking is that in spite of the fat that this process available through the statutes was there, they chose instead to use naked force that even the dumb would have easily identified as clear government interference. In doing so, the Nigerian government and its people will be once again embarrassed as was the case in 2010.
first of all, their was a court injunction but FIFA says they are above the laws of the land.

Secondly, he was removed via the NFF congress, but Fifa says they dont care.

Government must have taken this action for reasons we as outsiders cannot see. IF EFCC arrests Maigari now for outright corruption, FIFA would ban NIgeria and call it government interference bcos that is what FIFA stands for, CORRUPTION!

I suggest FIFA should ban Nigeria when we Government Interferes with FUNDS like the $19million that was given to NFF for prosecute the world cup and the $3.5m that was flown to Brazil by the Presidency (this is outright Interference).
folem

Post by folem »

chief nfachairman wrote:
wazobia wrote:For those supporting the actions of the Minister: There are people whose livelihood and future depends on these FIFA tournaments. Where is Justice for them? If the Government has issues with the NFF execs, they could have gone about this without incurring the wrath of FIFA and the ban

The most bizarre thing in this situation is that the government could have easily removed Maigari and his men through the Congress in August. What is shocking is that in spite of the fat that this process available through the statutes was there, they chose instead to use naked force that even the dumb would have easily identified as clear government interference. In doing so, the Nigerian government and its people will be once again embarrassed as was the case in 2010.
first of all, their was a court injunction but FIFA says they are above the laws of the land.

Government must have taken this action for reasons we as outsiders cannot see. IF EFCC arrests Maigari now for outright corruption, FIFA would ban NIgeria and call it government interference bcos that is what FIFA stands for, CORRUPTION!

I suggest FIFA should ban Nigeria when we Government Interferes with FUNDS like the $19million that was given to NFF for prosecute the world cup and the $3.5m that was flown to Brazil by the Presidency (this is outright Interference).
The same court injunction that restrained the congress from sitting?

Hon. Justice P. L Lot of the Plateau State High Court sitting in Jos
granted the Order of Interlocutory Injunction restraining the president of the
NFF, the executive committee members
as well as the NFF Congress from
running affairs of Nigerian football pending the determination of the Motion
on Notice before the court.
The same congress that FIFA wrote about as being illegal before it sat?

There is a difference between interference and intervention.

Interference means interfering in the matters of people without their consent whereas intervention means a necessary mediation required to settle a dispute as well as to ease the tension.

chief nfachairman,

First things first, welcome back!!

My responses are below:
chief nfachairman wrote:

The laws of the land should also respect the agreement signed by the group which is that football matters are not decided in court (see NFF statutes of which Nembe City is a party). It is similar to collective bargaining agreements reached by sports leagues in the USA. That is why those do not go to the courts. If they go, they will be thrown out or referred to the appropriate parties. In any case, the injunction is not really the central issue but government interference is.

Actually, the above is not the case. First, Maigari was replaced by the Minister (Govt) who immediately announced Katken as Sole Administrator on the same day as Court injunction and several days before the "Congress" met. FIFA is stating that the Minister or government had no such authority as peer the NFF statute. Secondly, it is clear what constitutes a legal meeting of the 'Congress" and please click the link to read the details of this issue which will show you clearly that the said "Congress" was in fact illegal http://www.kickoffnigeria.com/news/4655 ... into-chaos

The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics