How will Yekini be remembered??
Thank you. i believe we are all entitled to our opinion, but we also possess the right to try and persuad our fellow man(and woman in Yujam's caseAquinas wrote:As one of the best strikers (if not the best) Nigeria ever had. KpomI have said it before, this is not Yekini v. Oba. please anwser the question, the question is what would ppl remember Yekini for. I stated the ovbious, and what RATIONAL thinkers will remember.

Very sensible and objective. Martins that is yet to find his feet at Inter is being placed beside Yekini... whom I'm sure was Martins role-model. E be like say some people sef no get good memory. Had Yekini not scored all those African goals, how we for smell WC? Left to me, I doubt if Martins, wey efrybodi dey beg to play for Naija go sabi do the kin tin wey Yekini do. Yekini is truly our GOAT!wanaj0 wrote:What emotions are you people talking about?esosa wrote:Kayce is making perfect sense. All u guys have just attacked him but failed to make any reasonable point to refute his claim or support our opinion. How exactly is Yekini the greatest of all time. If we had Obafemi during 94 world cup, would Yekini have benched him. If he, Yekini, were so good, how come less than 4 months after the ANC 94, Yekini was unable to do anything at the world cup. Nobody can even remember his impact at the world cup. Yekini is like the "form 6" boy that you taught was a giant at the time you were in "form 1", only to see him 10 years later and realise he wasn't that big: it was you that was really small. If kayce' critics were objective, they will see that what Kc is trying to say is that the standard of ANC then was abyssmal compared to the world cup and that was why yekini could scale through the ANC looking like a king only to go to the world cup crawling like prisoner.
As for Kaycee, you should know better than to make wise and incisive statements amongst certain nationals who think with emotions. Save your logic for more objective and knowledgable forums.
Yekini was highest goal scorer in Nigeria.
Yekini was highest goal scorer in Ivory Coast
Yekini was highest goal scorer in Portugal (for two seasons)
Yekini was highest goal scorer at ANC's
Yekini scored our first goal at WC
Yes we expected him to score more goals at USA '94. However the same reason why Henry, Zidane etc could not score a SINGLE goal at WC 02, and Eto was finding it difficult finding the back of the net at ANC 2004 was why YEKING could not more than a goal at USA '94.
He does miss sitters. However, that does not detract from his greatness over a long time. For over 10 years, Yekini was doing it consistently for the National team. With all teh competition then, none, bar none of them could bench Yekini. Once he is ready and fit, he plays!!!!!!! Owobokiri, Akpoborie, Ekoku et al where there but none could take the position of Yekini. He was our point man. Even with his limitations, he consistently delivered for the national team.
Back then, Yekini on the SE team list send fears across various teams. You need to look at his exploits at Victoria Setubal. It is just similar to what Maradona did at NAPOLI!!!
You may not like his style, but in terms of output, he is high up there!!!!
I will never forget how in those days, whenever you hear Yekini, the next thing that follows is..."it is a GOOOOOOOAAAAAL"
Last edited by Penarity on Fri Mar 11, 2005 3:26 am, edited 2 times in total.
Kaycee,
The next question I believe we should ask is :
In YOUR opinion, who do YOU think is / was Nigeria's greatest striker ever ( especially since you claim that this thread is not about Martins vs Yekini ) ?

From this day forth, I stand by the entity that is ARSENAL.
I'm in despair when we lose, I rejoice when we win and I become emotional for all that happens in between
but may no one dare say I was not there when its all said and done - Globero
I'm in despair when we lose, I rejoice when we win and I become emotional for all that happens in between
I think Usiyen is up there. BUT if i say Greates, that has lots of meanings, so it would be easier for you, Glob, to flawed my argument. So i will prefer to say most talented. How i wish he had opportunities.Globero wrote:Kaycee,
Martins though, is also up there in terms of Talents, and will prove to be the GREATEST , when we look back in years time.
kaycee2g wrote:I think Usiyen is up there. BUT if i say Greates, that has lots of meanings, so it would be easier for you, Glob, to flawed my argument. So i will prefer to say most talented. How i wish he had opportunities.Globero wrote:Kaycee,
Martins though, is also up there in terms of Talents, and will prove to be the GREATEST , when we look back in years time.
Kaycee,
My intent is not "to flaw your arguement", my intent is to OBJECTIVELY define players based on what THEY HAVE PRODUCED FOR, and I repeat FOR NIGERIA. Again as I stated earlier, Martins is a product in the making hence the comparison between him and Yekini would be unfair on Martins part ( I acknowledge that you have already stated that this is not a Martins vs Yekini debate ). The "if's" that can be attributed to Martins, Usiyen, JAG, Utaka and any other striker you chose to name also apply to Yekini based on the simple fact that "their generations are different". Micheal Jackson is known to be a great dancer because he did the moonwalk on Motown's 25th anniversary as well as come out with some videos which the Kid's in todays world would probably snub for an Usher show on cable. Pele did a "dummy" on the opposing goalie in 1970 at the Mexico World cup, TV clips show this over and over again with glee and poise, yet any striker trying to emulate such a move today without scoring the goal just like Pele would be cursed for showboating. If Kanu did not play a single game after Atlanta 1996, most people would make an arguement that he would have won Nigeria the world cup in 1998 because they would extrapolate that he would have become the most TALENTED player in the world, especially after winning the CL and then Olympic gold. At the end of the day Kaycee, your question of how Yekini would be remembered is simply based on what he did for his beloved country, Nigeria. Anyone trying to do as much or even surpass him ( in the striker's position ), MUST CONSISTENTLY, give us results regardless of how much TALENT / skill / passion or ability such a player may 'claim' to have !

From this day forth, I stand by the entity that is ARSENAL.
Globero wrote:kaycee2g wrote:I think Usiyen is up there. BUT if i say Greates, that has lots of meanings, so it would be easier for you, Glob, to flawed my argument. So i will prefer to say most talented. How i wish he had opportunities.Globero wrote:Kaycee,
Kaycee,
My intent is not "to flaw your arguement", my intent is to OBJECTIVELY define players based on what THEY HAVE PRODUCED FOR, and I repeat FOR NIGERIA. Again as I stated earlier, Martins is a product in the making hence the comparison between him and Yekini would be unfair on Martins part ( I acknowledge that you have already stated that this is not a Martins vs Yekini debate ). The "if's" that can be attributed to Martins, Usiyen, JAG, Utaka and any other striker you chose to name also apply to Yekini based on the simple fact that "their generations are different". Micheal Jackson is known to be a great dancer because he did the moonwalk on Motown's 25th anniversary as well as come out with some videos which the Kid's in todays world would probably snub for an Usher show on cable. Pele did a "dummy" on the opposing goalie in 1970 at the Mexico World cup, TV clips show this over and over again with glee and poise, yet any striker trying to emulate such a move today without scoring the goal just like Pele would be cursed for showboating. If Kanu did not play a single game after Atlanta 1996, most people would make an arguement that he would have won Nigeria the world cup in 1998 because they would extrapolate that he would have become the most TALENTED player in the world, especially after winning the CL and then Olympic gold. At the end of the day Kaycee, your question of how Yekini would be remembered is simply based on what he did for his beloved country, Nigeria. Anyone trying to do as much or even surpass him ( in the striker's position ), MUST CONSISTENTLY, give us results regardless of how much TALENT / skill / passion or ability such a player may 'claim' to have !
Wow... when I read posts like this, I feel happy being a member of this forum. Globero... very well said!!
Globero wrote:kaycee2g wrote:I think Usiyen is up there. BUT if i say Greates, that has lots of meanings, so it would be easier for you, Glob, to flawed my argument. So i will prefer to say most talented. How i wish he had opportunities.Globero wrote:Kaycee,
Kaycee,
Wow... when I read posts like this, I feel happy being a member of this forum. Globero... very well said!!
Kaycee,
Kaycee,
He couldn't do all those fancy tricks, that nigerians are well known for. He couldn't dribble anyone to save his life. And he missed tons of sitters (Nig Vs CIV in 1994, and Nig vs Italy). He was as direct and one-dimensinal as they come.
In fact the only dimension he knew was where the goal was. And thats all I cared for. He's a number 9. His job is to score not dribble, not pass, not cross, not defend. And believe me, that naive looking, unintelligent, never played for a big club, one-footed goal-scorer is the best Nigeria ever produced.
I used to love hearing, Yekini gets the ball... he shoots...its a GOOOOOOAL.... Rashidiii Yekiniiiiiiiiiiii
In fact the only dimension he knew was where the goal was. And thats all I cared for. He's a number 9. His job is to score not dribble, not pass, not cross, not defend. And believe me, that naive looking, unintelligent, never played for a big club, one-footed goal-scorer is the best Nigeria ever produced.
I used to love hearing, Yekini gets the ball... he shoots...its a GOOOOOOAL.... Rashidiii Yekiniiiiiiiiiiii
- Coeur-d'Ivoire
I remember that gameamafolas wrote:He couldn't do all those fancy tricks, that nigerians are well known for. He couldn't dribble anyone to save his life. And he missed tons of sitters (Nig Vs CIV in 1994, and Nig vs Italy). He was as direct and one-dimensinal as they come.

FREE TFCO NOW !!!!! - CAMPAIGN FOR TFCO'S EMANCIPATION (CTE)
Mouvement International de la Defense des Gnomes et pour l'Emancipation de Tfco (M.I.D.G.E.T)
Have you visited The Village Hall this week?
Mouvement International de la Defense des Gnomes et pour l'Emancipation de Tfco (M.I.D.G.E.T)
Have you visited The Village Hall this week?
Yekini left Maldini for dead in 1994, Maldini had to drag him to the ground by grabbing his trailing hand. Any decent referee would have sent Maldini off (last defender). If you want to judge him against quality opposition, make sure you remember that... remember that in 94, yekini was already in decline and maldini was around his peak.
Rashidi Yekini was clinical. I don't care if he didn't look fancy, he buried his chances.
He never missed a penalty for naija. Ever.
He had a perfect shooting technique only Ikpeba and Finidi even had anything like technique at the time.
He had strength, speed and placement. Thats 90% of what a striker needs.
Yekini is the best center forward we ever had... no argument can be made until another striker exceeds his stats in their own generation.
You can only beat what is in front of you... Let Martins or Jag or Yak put 4 past Gabon next game and then they might just have taken the first step on the road towards yekinihood.
Rashidi Yekini was clinical. I don't care if he didn't look fancy, he buried his chances.
He never missed a penalty for naija. Ever.
He had a perfect shooting technique only Ikpeba and Finidi even had anything like technique at the time.
He had strength, speed and placement. Thats 90% of what a striker needs.
Yekini is the best center forward we ever had... no argument can be made until another striker exceeds his stats in their own generation.
You can only beat what is in front of you... Let Martins or Jag or Yak put 4 past Gabon next game and then they might just have taken the first step on the road towards yekinihood.
JJ Okocha will take this freekick... curls it in! Oh! ...curls it right in!! What a goal?!! What a moment of magic from JJ Okocha?!! And its 1-1!!
A SENSIBLE – RATIONAL and REASONABLY INTELLIGENT person will remember that:kaycee2g wrote: yekini and Amokachi played different positions and had different roles.
I have said it before, this is not Yekini v. Oba. please anwser the question, the question is what would ppl remember Yekini for. I stated the ovbious, and what RATIONAL thinkers will remember.
He is currently the highest ever goalscorer for Nigeria with 38 goals in 60games (a ratio of over 1goal per every 2 games)
He scored our first ever world cup goal.
He was highest goalscorer in the 1992 and 1994 ANC.
He is currently the 2nd highest goalscorer in African Nations cup finals history with 13 goals
He was the leading goalscorer three different countries – Nigeria – Ivory Coast – Portugal
He single-handedly got Setubal Promoted to the Portuguese first division.
His goals helped Nigeria win the 1994 African Nations cup.
He single-handedly got Nigeria thru to her first ever World Cup Finals
His exploits contributed to Nigeria’s best ever World ranking of 5th
He was African Player of the Year in 1994
He is worshipped by Setubal Fans
He is adored by Nigerian Fans
He is Loved by Asec Fans
His memory will continue to endure no matter how hard haters like kaycee2g try.
Can you now list what people will remember about Martins, Utaka, and the others you have mentioned
This statement marks you out as lacking in basic football knowledge. I doubt if you ever saw Yekini play. For your education you can view some clips here - http://yekini.vitoriafc.com/videos.htm After you finish your assignment we can talk.kaycee2g wrote:
Let truth be told, yekini was never able to out-run, drible pass, or intelligently decieve a defence. most of his goals were knock-ins. The man was never the greatest, and will never be the greatest. he cannot even compare to Usyen (thompson)..
YNWA
- Senator WIRES
Point of correction: YEKINI IS THE ONLY AFRICAN SO FAR THAT HAS TOP THE LIST OF HIGHEST GOALSCORER IN EUROPE FOR 2 SEASONSwanaj0 wrote:esosa wrote:
Yekini was highest goal scorer in Nigeria.
Yekini was highest goal scorer in Ivory Coast
Yekini was highest goal scorer in Portugal (for two seasons)
Yekini was highest goal scorer at ANC's
Yekini scored our first goal at WC
You may not like his style, but in terms of output, he is high up there!!!!
- YemiBrazil
WOW!!! THIS IS THE MOST INFORMATIVE NIGERIAN SOCCER FORUM IN THE WORLD! Heavy D, thanks for the link to those Yekini video.heavyd wrote:A SENSIBLE – RATIONAL and REASONABLY INTELLIGENT person will remember that:kaycee2g wrote: yekini and Amokachi played different positions and had different roles.
I have said it before, this is not Yekini v. Oba. please anwser the question, the question is what would ppl remember Yekini for. I stated the ovbious, and what RATIONAL thinkers will remember.
He is currently the highest ever goalscorer for Nigeria with 38 goals in 60games (a ratio of over 1goal per every 2 games)
He is currently the 2nd highest goalscorer in African Nations cup finals history with 13 goals
He was the leading goalscorer three different countries – Nigeria – Ivory Coast – Portugal
He is Loved by Asec Fans
Can you now list what people will remember about Martins, Utaka, and the others you have mentioned
This statement marks you out as lacking in basic football knowledge. I doubt if you ever saw Yekini play. For your education you can view some clips here - http://yekini.vitoriafc.com/videos.htm After you finish your assignment we can talk.kaycee2g wrote:
Let truth be told, yekini was never able to out-run, drible pass, or intelligently decieve a defence. most of his goals were knock-ins. The man was never the greatest, and will never be the greatest. he cannot even compare to Usyen (thompson)..
I STILL MISS THAT FAMILIAR SHOUT FROM COMMENTATORS TILL TODAY...... IT IS A GOOAAAAAAAAAAALLLLL!!! R-A-S-H-I-D-I Y-E-K-I-N-I!!!!!!!
Forget dribbling and showmanship - RASHEED YEKINI is Nigeria's greatest striker of all time.
I have read this whole thread and I must say, without any emotion involved, that Yekini is definitely or current GOAT. Given all his achievements and the fact that I believe you must judge strikers mainly by their ability to score goals, Yekini has to be it.
Kaycee2g, you argument that he may not be the most "talented" may hold water, but your claim that "he just wasn´t good enough" seems a bit unfounded and appears only useful to incite the emotions of the more emotional on this forum. Nobody who is average or not good enough can ever aspire to having such a record that Yekini does.
Another BIG reason why I believe your argument is quite weak is because you seem to want to remember Yekini solely on USA 94 (and France 98, when he was well past his peak!). He may have performed below expectations in USA 94 but I think it is unfair to base your claim that he NEVER performed against quality opposition on one sinlge competition. That´s like basing Thierry Henry´s career on World cup 02 & Euro2004 and turning a blind eye on everything else. Bear in mind that Yekini´s Nigeria career spanned almost 15 years (if you include france `98) but his peak was late eighties, early nineties when it was not as common for Africa´s top players to be in Europe. Given the opportunity, I don´t doubt that he would have excelled at a top Euro club in his prime.
Kaycee, can I ask you when exactly you started watching football? Because it is either you have a short memory, or you just simply never watched Yekini before 1994. Because if you did, you would not remember him as simply an average player. You would remember him as the most profilic striker that Nigeria has ever produced, that always brought ALL Nigerians confidence that we could score goals whenever he was on the teamsheet!
I remember prior to Senegal ´92, in a qualifier in 1991 when Yekini single-handedly put 5 goals past Burkina Faso in the 7-1 victory that I believe was Finidi´s debut (he got one goal also). Now, I know you will say the opposition was only Burkina Faso, and African opposition was weaker then, but if the likes of Aghahowa, Yakubu or Obafemi are so much better, then when they start putting pairs, quartets or quintets of goals past African opposition (let´s not even include world-class opposition) over a 10 year period, then they can start contesting for the title of GOAT when it comes to Nigeria.
Do you have any other memories of Yekini apart from USA 94 & France 98? If you do, please let us know because it would greatly help your argument if you made it clear that you didn´t start watching football in 1994. ¿Comprendes?
Kaycee2g, you argument that he may not be the most "talented" may hold water, but your claim that "he just wasn´t good enough" seems a bit unfounded and appears only useful to incite the emotions of the more emotional on this forum. Nobody who is average or not good enough can ever aspire to having such a record that Yekini does.
Another BIG reason why I believe your argument is quite weak is because you seem to want to remember Yekini solely on USA 94 (and France 98, when he was well past his peak!). He may have performed below expectations in USA 94 but I think it is unfair to base your claim that he NEVER performed against quality opposition on one sinlge competition. That´s like basing Thierry Henry´s career on World cup 02 & Euro2004 and turning a blind eye on everything else. Bear in mind that Yekini´s Nigeria career spanned almost 15 years (if you include france `98) but his peak was late eighties, early nineties when it was not as common for Africa´s top players to be in Europe. Given the opportunity, I don´t doubt that he would have excelled at a top Euro club in his prime.
Kaycee, can I ask you when exactly you started watching football? Because it is either you have a short memory, or you just simply never watched Yekini before 1994. Because if you did, you would not remember him as simply an average player. You would remember him as the most profilic striker that Nigeria has ever produced, that always brought ALL Nigerians confidence that we could score goals whenever he was on the teamsheet!
I remember prior to Senegal ´92, in a qualifier in 1991 when Yekini single-handedly put 5 goals past Burkina Faso in the 7-1 victory that I believe was Finidi´s debut (he got one goal also). Now, I know you will say the opposition was only Burkina Faso, and African opposition was weaker then, but if the likes of Aghahowa, Yakubu or Obafemi are so much better, then when they start putting pairs, quartets or quintets of goals past African opposition (let´s not even include world-class opposition) over a 10 year period, then they can start contesting for the title of GOAT when it comes to Nigeria.
Do you have any other memories of Yekini apart from USA 94 & France 98? If you do, please let us know because it would greatly help your argument if you made it clear that you didn´t start watching football in 1994. ¿Comprendes?
heavyd wrote:A SENSIBLE – RATIONAL and REASONABLY INTELLIGENT person will remember that:kaycee2g wrote: yekini and Amokachi played different positions and had different roles.
He is Loved by Asec Fans
- Jiggerman21
A brave performance in USA 94 despite carrying a reported injury.
Nigeria's first ever Goal in a WC finals, which is befitting of Nigeria's deadliest striker ever.
An explosive right foot!
A very polite gentleman who sat next to me once at the airport. Very polite!
Nigeria's first ever Goal in a WC finals, which is befitting of Nigeria's deadliest striker ever.
An explosive right foot!
A very polite gentleman who sat next to me once at the airport. Very polite!
A stubborn goat can never learn from past mistakes. Nuff said.
To discount the impact of Rasheed Yekini is unfair. I saw a raw Rasheed Yekini in 1983 when Onigbinde brought him from UNTL Kaduna to Shooting Stars and for years after, Yekini delighted fans at Liberty Stadium. I still recall daft coversations on the terraces in Liberty such as "what do you think will happen if Shootin' had 5 Yekinis.." Remember that after Thompson Usyien (Nigeria's best and most instinctive striker in my opinion) left for the US in '77, we had no replacement for him until 1984 when Yekini burst onto the scene. Now, remember that Yekini stopped playing for us actively after the '98 World Cup and 7 years later, we still do not have a replacement.
Yekini was fearsome. He had a bullet shot and he terrorised many defenders and keepers and he remains the highest goal scorer in our history. Segun Odegbami reckoned that Yekini was his best playing partner even though Segun Odegbami played alongside Usiyen. The problem that Yekini had (in my view) was that he produced some comical misses. A new video released in England showing the worse misses in football also included Yekini's open goal miss against Gabon in CAN '94. His misses were, indeed, embarrasing. His misses in particular in the second half of our CAN '94 semi-final against CIV is enough to give you an evening's pleasure. They almost gave me a heart attack at that time. But that should not take away the quality of the man. Although, calling him the greatest is unreal. He was not!!
You can control your choice, but not necessarily the consequences
CHEI! I remember that match very well. That game had no business going into a shoot-out. Yekini missed some chances that even my grandma would have converted.Goldleaf wrote:To discount the impact of Rasheed Yekini is unfair. I saw a raw Rasheed Yekini in 1983 when Onigbinde brought him from UNTL Kaduna to Shooting Stars and for years after, Yekini delighted fans at Liberty Stadium. I still recall daft coversations on the terraces in Liberty such as "what do you think will happen if Shootin' had 5 Yekinis.." Remember that after Thompson Usyien (Nigeria's best and most instinctive striker in my opinion) left for the US in '77, we had no replacement for him until 1984 when Yekini burst onto the scene. Now, remember that Yekini stopped playing for us actively after the '98 World Cup and 7 years later, we still do not have a replacement.
Bushboy's bushmen : 1.Isaac Success 2. Terem Moffi 3. Victor Boniface 4. Samuel Omorodion. 5. Samson Tijani. 6. Rafiu Durosinmi. 7. George Ilenikhena.
- YemiBrazil
Truly Yekini missed a lot of chances but his excellent positioning also gave him a lot of chances and he scored a lot!!!
I still cherish matches like
- Shooting Stars vs Maghred Fez of Morocco, Shooting vs Tonnere Kalala, Shooting vs Zamalek all in 1984.
- Nigeria vs Kenya 1985
- Abiola Babes vs Esperance of Tunisia 1986? (2 Unbeiievable goals from Yekini).
- Africa Sports vs Iwuanyanwu Nationale - (Go and ask Andrew Uwe what he faced against Yekini in that match).
- Nigeria's matches at Algiers 90.
- Nigeria vs Cameroon (Senegal 92)
- Nigeria vs South Africa (Lagos 1992) 4-0
- Congo vs Nigeria - Bullet free-kick goal from 35 yards.
- NIGERIA VS ALGERIA -4-1 Lagos 3rd July 1993 - JJ Okocha's 2nd match for SE. - Yekini scored 2 wonderful goals including one from an impossible angle!!!
- Nigeria vs Cote D'Ivoire - 4-1 Lagos 25th Sept 1993 - Yekini blasted in goals no.3 and 4.
Even at France 98 - I still can't forget easily how Yekini came in and changed the game against Spain. Still fresh is that scissors' kick that narrowly missed target.
YEKINI WAS UNBELIEVABLY CONSISTENT! He hardly had an off-day in two consecutive matches. He is the greatest. THOMPSON USIYEN did not stay consistently long enough to be rightly adjudged as the best ever!
THOMPSON USIYEN was invited and played the game between Nigeria and Algeria on October 10, 1981 when Nigeria was humiliated 2-0 by Lackdar Belloumi, Ali Ferghani, Rabah Madjer and co at the National Stadium - USIYEN was ineffective in that match. But notwithstanding, THOMPSON USIYEN was a complete striker in his hey days, just like TESLIM BALOGUN in his days -
BUT NIGERIA'S GREATEST STRIKER OF ALL TIME IS RASHEED YEKINI. Any counter opinion should be backed with reasonable facts.
I still cherish matches like
- Shooting Stars vs Maghred Fez of Morocco, Shooting vs Tonnere Kalala, Shooting vs Zamalek all in 1984.
- Nigeria vs Kenya 1985
- Abiola Babes vs Esperance of Tunisia 1986? (2 Unbeiievable goals from Yekini).
- Africa Sports vs Iwuanyanwu Nationale - (Go and ask Andrew Uwe what he faced against Yekini in that match).
- Nigeria's matches at Algiers 90.
- Nigeria vs Cameroon (Senegal 92)
- Nigeria vs South Africa (Lagos 1992) 4-0
- Congo vs Nigeria - Bullet free-kick goal from 35 yards.
- NIGERIA VS ALGERIA -4-1 Lagos 3rd July 1993 - JJ Okocha's 2nd match for SE. - Yekini scored 2 wonderful goals including one from an impossible angle!!!
- Nigeria vs Cote D'Ivoire - 4-1 Lagos 25th Sept 1993 - Yekini blasted in goals no.3 and 4.
Even at France 98 - I still can't forget easily how Yekini came in and changed the game against Spain. Still fresh is that scissors' kick that narrowly missed target.
YEKINI WAS UNBELIEVABLY CONSISTENT! He hardly had an off-day in two consecutive matches. He is the greatest. THOMPSON USIYEN did not stay consistently long enough to be rightly adjudged as the best ever!
THOMPSON USIYEN was invited and played the game between Nigeria and Algeria on October 10, 1981 when Nigeria was humiliated 2-0 by Lackdar Belloumi, Ali Ferghani, Rabah Madjer and co at the National Stadium - USIYEN was ineffective in that match. But notwithstanding, THOMPSON USIYEN was a complete striker in his hey days, just like TESLIM BALOGUN in his days -
BUT NIGERIA'S GREATEST STRIKER OF ALL TIME IS RASHEED YEKINI. Any counter opinion should be backed with reasonable facts.
- JayJayOkochasbrother
doesnt matter how u score...doesnt have to be spectacular..as long as you put the ball into the damn net!! the papers will show ur name on it, not necessarily how u scored (in certain instances)...being prolific is the key...Look at Lineker..some are just prolific and great like Ronaldo..But Yekini was a legend...
"JayJay come home"-- MummY
Based on the aggregate of the reasonable and unreasonable facts catalogued above so far, the answer to your question has one most likely answer, that is - RASHIDI YEKINI.JayJayOkochasbrother wrote:so then which single player can we say is the greatest striker Nigeria ever produced?
But instead of going out of the pitch Odinga seized the card from referee Sabitu and flashed it back at the referee. It took the intervention of Sharks' assistant coach, Nduka Ndubuisi before the card was retrieved from the player and handed back to the referee.