Suleiman Folarin's Color Commentary on BEIN Sports

I have to give Mr. Suleiman Folarin kudos for his color commentaries on BEIN Sports. Usually, you want a color commentator to fill you with a lot of background to the players and the teams. He does it and it is clear that he is committed to doing his research. But importantly, you can tell that he is devoted to the African game and thus provides far deeper info on the African game than I have seen from previous commentator in a game involving African teams. This point is critical as he also rings a de-colonialized perspective where the usual stereotypes are non-existent. No more the usual "naive" and similar statements that we get from non-African commentators that do the African game. This to me is important and trail blazing.

It also seems quite apparent that part of his charge is to 'sell' the game to BEIN Sports American and he does a good job here by mentioning some of the relationships between the local MLS and the African teams as well as the African players. Kudos to him.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Thunder
Re: Suleiman Folarin's Color Commentary on BEIN Sports

Post by Thunder »

Enugu II wrote:I have to give Mr. Suleiman Folarin kudos for his color commentaries on BEIN Sports. Usually, you want a color commentator to fill you with a lot of background to the players and the teams. He does it and it is clear that he is committed to doing his research. But importantly, you can tell that he is devoted to the African game and thus provides far deeper info on the African game than I have seen from previous commentator in a game involving African teams. This point is critical as he also rings a de-colonialized perspective where the usual stereotypes are non-existent. No more the usual "naive" and similar statements that we get from non-African commentators that do the African game. This to me is important and trail blazing.

It also seems quite apparent that part of his charge is to 'sell' the game to BEIN Sports American and he does a good job here by mentioning some of the relationships between the local MLS and the African teams as well as the African players. Kudos to him.
Hey Doc, Folarin has been absolutely fantastic. Even your boy came to me to say Folarin, vindicated me about how we play in tight spaces, and the importance of first touch. He's really disappointed Nigeria is not participating, but he's been recording, and watching the games. We need more like Folarin to sell Africa's footy to the world.
WHATEVER, WHEREEVER, & WHENEVER, FOREVER ARSENAL! I am an ARSENALIST!
"Wise men talk because they have something to say, fools talk because they have to say something." - Plato

very good only critiques talks a bit too much, sometimes talks more than the play-by-play guy, goes on tangents but otherwise superb :)

Dude is certainly going places. Also, I noticed that he works hard on areas where he's been criticized in the past while maintaining his unique style of delivery. Definitely comes across as someone that burns the midnight oil while others are asleep :clap: :clap: .

aykwes8

Post by aykwes8 »

too much redundant stuff from him but he is ok. and why the forceful american accent?

aykwes8 wrote:too much redundant stuff from him but he is ok. and why the forceful american accent?
Wonder how a ghana man would do :roll:

imprivata

Post by imprivata »

aykwes8 wrote:too much redundant stuff from him but he is ok. and why the forceful american accent?

whats forceful about it?

He is doing quite well. His knowledge of the Afrycan game is deep

Post by Super Eagle »

King Futcha wrote:very good only critiques talks a bit too much, sometimes talks more than the play-by-play guy, goes on tangents but otherwise superb :)
Well said. That's my only criticism as well :thumb:
Note to: Emir Kongi, big porkey, and smartbrother: Don't talk unless you can improve the silence. (c)
www.awooze.com

#BringBackOurGirls
Hashtag #KeshiDonHammer

He knows his stuff VERY well. He needs to learn that the best use Chinese water torture though not throwing a deluge of water at you all at once. Little by little is the way to go. Keep it simple.

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: what a kweshin...

Metho scorpion

Post by Metho scorpion »

...no one should blame you for your comment...den forget say you no get height...tell the beer parlor owner to lower the height of his TV stand...that way you fit see better and not mix-up Folarin with someone else...short mugu
Globero

Post by Globero »

The guy is good, although he made me look bad when I related to a friend that the tie breaker for Group D at the AFCON was going to be "fair play" as opposed to "drawing lots". :sneaky:

Kia I don denounce am tell the bobo say na Sulai yarn am o ! :woot:

P.S. - I just dey joke, he did say his comment was based on what was on the CAF website, so its all good. :thumb:
From this day forth, I stand by the entity that is ARSENAL.
I'm in despair when we lose, I rejoice when we win and I become emotional for all that happens in between
but may no one dare say I was not there when its all said and done - Globero

I don't enjoy his commentary. I think he needs to cut down on personal references, master his volume, and not distract from the game with unnecessary facts. Having said this, his knowledge of the African game is outstanding.

Post by aykwes8 »

Molue Conductor wrote:I don't enjoy his commentary. I think he needs to cut down on personal references, master his volume, and not distract from the game with unnecessary facts. Having said this, his knowledge of the African game is outstanding.
Thank you! No one says the guy doesn't know his stuff...he does really well. He needs to stop interrupting the main guy with unnecessary information/history. He speaks too much about one thing giving unnecessary details
He needs to chill
Catalyst

Post by Catalyst »

Thunder wrote:Hey Doc, Folarin has been absolutely fantastic.
I would not say that; not even close.

Since true love involves constructive correction or pointing our of weak areas, we need to be honest to him in order to help him become truly fantastic.

It is good he is fighting our cause there (I sense he is - I like to believe that), at this moment, I think he can do much better. I have heard a number of times where he has come up with absolutely unnecessary color commentary that does not add value to the consumers.

For example in one of the games over the weekend, there was a point in the broadcast where he asked his partner to attempt to pronounce one of the players clubside. I was like what??? Another time the week before, he made a reference of the meaning of #$% or something of that nature in a local Nigeria dialect. The conversation was not quality, it was very disappointing. He does this often, devaluing the other things he does well. It seems like he will be more suited for play-by-play specifically.

He needs to cut out unnecessary commentary. Stay solid throughout the game; stay on-point. I want him to be the best. I am sure he will improve with good guidance and counsel around him to help him tighten his game. His effort is definitely there. I pray the best of the best for him.
Christ died for our sins, and was resurrected for our sake. This is indisputable. This is the center of it all.
The earth is not our home.

http://img704.imageshack.us/img704/7711/opaks.gif
http://www.katzy.dsl.pipex.com/Smileys/bsflag.gif

Metho scorpion wrote:
...no one should blame you for your comment...den forget say you no get height...tell the beer parlor owner to lower the height of his TV stand...that way you fit see better and not mix-up Folarin with someone else...short mugu
Don't mind. Let him try and run commentary on Amerian network without trying to pronounce inAmerian English

Catalyst wrote:
Thunder wrote:Hey Doc, Folarin has been absolutely fantastic.
I would not say that; not even close.

Since true love involves constructive correction or pointing our of weak areas, we need to be honest to him in order to help him become truly fantastic.

It is good he is fighting our cause there (I sense he is - I like to believe that), at this moment, I think he can do much better. I have heard a number of times where he has come up with absolutely unnecessary color commentary that does not add value to the consumers.

For example in one of the games over the weekend, there was a point in the broadcast where he asked his partner to attempt to pronounce one of the players clubside. I was like what??? Another time the week before, he made a reference of the meaning of #$% or something of that nature in a local Nigeria dialect. The conversation was not quality, it was very disappointing. He does this often, devaluing the other things he does well. It seems like he will be more suited for play-by-play specifically.

He needs to cut out unnecessary commentary. Stay solid throughout the game; stay on-point. I want him to be the best. I am sure he will improve with good guidance and counsel around him to help him tighten his game. His effort is definitely there. I pray the best of the best for him.
:roll: :roll:

Unless this guy is doing something extraordinary i don't understand why he gets so much coverage on CE
its just color commentary right?
It may be a breakthrough to have a nigerian doing it on foreign tv but its hardly surprising
we are an articulate people ; football crazy too
You should hear my barber bros Shege analyse EPL football
Dude talks far more sense and more eloquently than Chris Twaddle, Jamie Carragher or Steve Mcmananmann
If anything its a surprise we don't have more nigerians doing color commentary at the highest level
munie

Post by munie »

He's good looking, too!

Any clips for those of us outside the US to see?

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: what a kweshin...
Abi ooo

Damunk wrote:Any clips for those of us outside the US to see?
not color, I am distracted by Kay Murray but i'm pretty sure he's in the clip