The best player that ever came from these countries was ....

Roger Kengele
Re: The best player that ever came from these countries was

Post by Roger Kengele »

There can't be a best player. I will at least name the best 11 per country. Yujam Mputu :rotf: this is a joke or what?
"...il n'est rien de caché qui ne doive être découvert, rien de secret qui ne doive être mis au jour."
(Marc 4, 22.)

Cameroon - Roger Milla

wale1974 wrote:
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:I know many Naija fans have a misplaced feeling of apathy towards Mikel but to be honest and fair, no Naija player has won more hardware or played more important games than Mikel. He is truly Naija's best player of all time!

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Na too much EPL matches dey cause that. Mikel Naija's best player?? Not even close to Oliseh not to talk of the likes of Odegbami, Muda Lawal, JJ Okocha, Yekini and Kanu. I dey laff again :rotf: :rotf:

eyan

Post by eyan »

What was Kanu's impact with Super Eagles? We are not talking about age grade competition here.
Chimurenga Rebel

Post by Chimurenga Rebel »

Chad - Japhet N'Doram
Udanga - Majid "magic" Musisi
"Just call me the Chimurenga Man. A guerilla. Soldier of peace.Man of the people. I write love poems with the barrel of my gun. For Africa always." - Japheth Ncube
KB

Post by KB »

Togo: Edmond Appiti aka Dr Kaolo (RIP) (led Togo to first ever ANC in 72, led Etoile Filante to the famous final against Mazembe. Speedy, powerful with deadly accuracy, Dr Kaolo was a more complete player than 'lazy' Adebayor)
Chad: Nabatingue Toko
Congo DR: Pierre Kalala Mukendi
Mali: Fantamadi Salif Keita
The more widely Christianity was diffused, and the greater the number of people unprepared for it who were brought under its sway, the less it was understood, the more absolutely was its infallibility insisted on, and the less possible it became to understand the true meaning of the doctrine. Leo Tolstoy, 'The Kingdom of God is within you', Chap 3

lukemana wrote:
King Futcha wrote:your Ivory Coast is incorrect

Mali- Seydou Keita
What is the correct answer for Ivory Coast ?
Even Yaya is a better player than Drogba.
Abeg go and watch 92 ANC and see some CIV ballers.Drogba is popular does not mean the best
Han????

Most of the '92 squad are folks I know very well. Adbdoulaye Traore, Sie Donald Olivier, Sam Abouo Dominique, Serge Magui Alain, Youssouf Fofana, Kassi Kouadio Lucien, Tiehi Joel, Dao Lacina etc.... They all pale compared to Drogba's accomplishment, who by the way is the higher goal scorer for the Elephants.

By the way, thanks for Adding Seydou Keita to Mali...I don't know how I forgot about him.

Cheers!!!
I guess you could have asked for the most accomplished player. 'Best' may be subjective and depends on an individual's opinions.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe

airwolex wrote:
airwolex wrote:All I know is that the 50th best Nigerian player Yakubu Aiyegbeni is better than Kenya's best!! :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:
No way is he better than Wanyama
How many WC's as Inyanma been to? How many ANC medals? When Yak was at his prime he was one of the deadliest guys in the Prem for years...if he were Kenyan, they'd have retired his jersey and named several streets after him.
How many world cups did Abedi Pele, Weah, go to?
Apart From Drogba, who has scored goals like Yakubu in England?

Bobo is on three figures! How many players hit three figures in England?
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

For Mozambique it is the great Eusebio and for Tunisia, it is Tarek Dhiab. Also it is Taher Abou Zeid and not Tarek.

YUJAM wrote:Algeria - Rabah Madjer
Angola - Manucho
Benin - Philip Sessegnon
Botswana
Burkina Faso - Jonathan Pitroipa
Burundi
Cameroon - Samuel Eto
Cape Verde
Central African Republic
Chad - Japhet N'doram
Comoros
Democratic Republic of the Congo - Tresor Mputu
Djibouti
Egypt - Tarek Abu Zeid
Equatorial Guinea - Javier Balboa
Eritrea
Ethiopia
Gabon - Pierre Aubemayang
Ghana - Abedi Pele Ayew
Guinea - Petit Sory
Guinea-Bissau
Ivory Coast - Didier Drogba
Kenya - Victor Wanyama
Lesotho
Liberia - George Weah
Libya
Madagascar
Malawi
Mali - Salif Keita
Mauritania
Mauritius
Morocco - Noureddine Naybet
Mozambique
Namibia
Niger
Nigeria - Nwanku Kanu
Republic of the Congo
Rwanda
São Tomé and Príncipe
Senegal - Jules Bocande
Seychelles
Somalia
South Africa - Lucas Radebe
Sudan
Swaziland
The Gambia - Alhaji Njie Biri
Togo - Emmanuel Adebayor
Tunisia - Radhi Jaidi
Uganda
Zambia - Kalusha Bwalya
Zimbabwe - Peter Ndlovu
Democratic Republic of Congo - Kabongo N'goy
Egypt - Gamal Abdel Hamid or Hassan Hossam or Hassan Shehata
Tunisia - Tarek Dhiab
Morocco - Aziz Bourdebala or Mohammed Timoumi, or Mustapha Hadji or Badou Zaki
Guinea - Papa Camara
Uganda - Phillip Omondi
Kenya - Dennis Oliech

lukemana wrote:

Please help me correct my selections. My son needs this info. Who is the best soccer player from the following African countries ?
UPDATED LIST

Algeria - Madjer
Angola
Benin - Sessegnon
Botswana
Burkina Faso
Burundi
Cameroon - Samuel Eto
Cape Verde
Central African Republic
Chad - Tchami
Comoros
Democratic Republic of the Congo
Djibouti
Egypt - Mohamed Abu Treeka
Equatorial Guinea
Eritrea
Ethiopia
Gabon
Ghana - Abedi Pele Ayew
Guinea - Petit Sory
Guinea-Bissau
Ivory Coast - Didier Drogba /
Kenya - Peter Dawo
Lesotho
Liberia - George Weah
Libya
Madagascar
Malawi
Mali – Seydou Keita
Mauritania
Mauritius
Morocco - Farras
Mozambique
Namibia
Niger
Nigeria - Okocha or Yekini or Kanu?
Republic of the Congo
Rwanda
São Tomé and Príncipe
Senegal - Diouf
Seychelles
Somalia
South Africa
Sudan
Swaziland
The Gambia
Togo - Emmanuel Adebayor
Tunisia
Uganda
Zambia – Kalusha Bwalya
Zimbabwe - Peter Ndolvu

Papa Camara

Kanu is overrated. He was good in age grade Competitions. All in all Kanu played 9 competitions for the super eagles of Nigeria without scoring a single goal! In his whole career in Europe,he had just 1 or two good seasons. Most of the time he was just a part time bench player. Nigerias luckiest player? Yes. Nigerias best? Hell no!
lukemana

Post by lukemana »

anointed wrote:
lukemana wrote:

Mali- Seydou Keita
Abeg go and watch 92 ANC and see some CIV ballers.Drogba is popular does not mean the best
Han????

Most of the '92 squad are folks I know very well. Adbdoulaye Traore, Sie Donald Olivier, Sam Abouo Dominique, Serge Magui Alain, Youssouf Fofana, Kassi Kouadio Lucien, Tiehi Joel, Dao Lacina etc.... They all pale compared to Drogba's accomplishment, who by the way is the higher goal scorer for the Elephants.

By the way, thanks for Adding Seydou Keita to Mali...I don't know how I forgot about him.

Cheers!!!
I guess you could have asked for the most accomplished player. 'Best' may be subjective and depends on an individual's opinions.
Brother, I've got so many suggestions for some countries that I don't even know what to give my son. This report is due on Friday, last day of classes. I guess by tomorrow night (Thursday), I will give him the most common suggestions. For CIV for example, there is a choice between Drogba and "Gnegneri". For Nigeria, the choice differs between Okocha, Kanu and Mikel. Someone even suggested Yakubu Aiyegbeni :rotf:

Thanks to All of you for your inputs. I am not a soccer expert, I have always said it here. Your suggestions are appreciated.

Cheers

I also agree that there were way too many people that performed better for the SE for Kanu to be numero uno. It's between Okocha and Yekini. Mikel isn't even in the top 10.

lukemana wrote:
anointed wrote:
lukemana wrote:

Mali- Seydou Keita
Han????

Cheers!!!
Brother, I've got so many suggestions for some countries that I don't even know what to give my son. This report is due on Friday, last day of classes. I guess by tomorrow night (Thursday), I will give him the most common suggestions. For CIV for example, there is a choice between Drogba and "Gnegneri". For Nigeria, the choice differs between Okocha, Kanu and Mikel. Someone even suggested Yakubu Aiyegbeni :rotf:

Thanks to All of you for your inputs. I am not a soccer expert, I have always said it here. Your suggestions are appreciated.

Cheers
Mikel may have delivered more sideways passes than all have Naija lecturers have given pass marks to uni students but pls remove his name. It is even sacrilege to consider him as Naija best players.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe
lukemana

Post by lukemana »

anointed wrote:
lukemana wrote:
anointed wrote:
lukemana wrote:

Mali- Seydou Keita
Han????

Cheers!!!

Cheers
Mikel may have delivered more sideways passes than all have Naija lecturers have given pass marks to uni students but pls remove his name. It is even sacrilege to consider him as Naija best players.
Brother Anointed, that was cold, kai!!! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Chimurenga Rebel

Post by Chimurenga Rebel »

Dammy wrote:For Mozambique it is the great Eusebio and for Tunisia, it is Tarek Dhiab. Also it is Taher Abou Zeid and not Tarek.
Eusebio turned out for Portugal though. It's like saying Zinadine Zidane is the best player from Algeria.
"Just call me the Chimurenga Man. A guerilla. Soldier of peace.Man of the people. I write love poems with the barrel of my gun. For Africa always." - Japheth Ncube

Gudo wrote:
Dammy wrote:For Mozambique it is the great Eusebio and for Tunisia, it is Tarek Dhiab. Also it is Taher Abou Zeid and not Tarek.
Eusebio turned out for Portugal though. It's like saying Zinadine Zidane is the best player from Algeria.
Zidane was born and bred in France, Eusebio was born in Mozambique.

airwolex wrote:
airwolex wrote:All I know is that the 50th best Nigerian player Yakubu Aiyegbeni is better than Kenya's best!! :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:
No way is he better than Wanyama
How many WC's as Inyanma been to? How many ANC medals? When Yak was at his prime he was one of the deadliest guys in the Prem for years...if he were Kenyan, they'd have retired his jersey and named several streets after him.
How many world cups did Abedi Pele, Weah, go to?
Wanyanma hasn't even started...he's had two seasons, one poor the other decent. Yak is the 27th top scorer in premiership history, just behind Adebayor and ahead of Rudd Van Nilsteroy.

Samora Machel wrote:
Kaizer Motaung :thumb:
[/img]
Samora, which one of this guys is Kaizer Motaung? :D

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:I know many Naija fans have a misplaced feeling of apathy towards Mikel but to be honest and fair, no Naija player has won more hardware or played more important games than Mikel. He is truly Naija's best player of all time!

ToughTonyTheNtantaKiller, given that you are by far the oldest (olodoest surely? :D ) man on CE, I fully expected you to say "Albert Onyeanwuna," Okocha's football grandfather.
Catalyst

Post by Catalyst »

It will hard to measure the "best" for some countries like Nigeria.

So it is best to use metrics like scoring, assists, wins, etc.

For Nigeria:

1) Yekini
2) Keshi
3) Chukwu
Christ died for our sins, and was resurrected for our sake. This is indisputable. This is the center of it all.
The earth is not our home.

http://img704.imageshack.us/img704/7711/opaks.gif
http://www.katzy.dsl.pipex.com/Smileys/bsflag.gif
Catalyst

Post by Catalyst »

I will take Mikel or Kanu over Augustine Okocha.

And Mikel is not that great, as Keshi and Yeking, for that matter.

Kanu is not that great either - but that is an aside.

That said, all 3 of them are top 10 for Nigeria.
Christ died for our sins, and was resurrected for our sake. This is indisputable. This is the center of it all.
The earth is not our home.

http://img704.imageshack.us/img704/7711/opaks.gif
http://www.katzy.dsl.pipex.com/Smileys/bsflag.gif