The best player that ever came from these countries was ....

Mzekezeke
Re: The best player that ever came from these countries was

Post by Mzekezeke »

Samora Machel wrote:Radebe is not RSAs besf player. At least 3 legends I put before him. Mzekezeke, Gudo and Benteke will confirm
Jomo and Ace :thumb: Jomo Sono is a god in south africa, reported to be as good as Eusebio but sadly Jomo didnt have a european country that could adopt him and hitch his star onto :(

Kaizer Motaungs greater legacy was of course his formation of Kaizer chiefs, who it is accalaimed are the most supported team in southern africa. A very succesful British pop band also took the name and scored a number 1 with Ruby, Ruby, Ruby :thumbs:

Kaizer Motaung :thumb:

Jomo is a god to 60 and 70 year olds like youself. :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

On stats and national caps it would be Benni "shibobo" McCarthy as SA's greatest but on pure emotion it would be these Kaizer Chief greats John"shoes" Moshoeu, Doctor Khumalo and Nelson "teenage" Dladla! Amakhosi!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Patrick Ntsoelengo,Nelson Dladla,Petros Nzimande, Abednigo Ngcobo,Doctor Khumalo,Vusi Lamola,Gerald Dlamini,Simom Lehoko,Silvester Kole,Lucas Radebe,Jan Lichaba, Leonard Likoebe,Edson Mguyo, Arie Khongoane,Marks Maponyanye,Donald Khuse, Jabu Pule, Mark Tovey, Zebulon Nhlapo,Gabriel Tikkie Khoza,Moran Khulu,Michael Dlamini,Johannes Mofokeng, Wellinton Manyathi,Jingles Perreira....... to be continued....Amhakhosi Kaizer Chiefs!!!!!!!

Mzekezeke wrote:
Samora Machel wrote:Radebe is not RSAs besf player. At least 3 legends I put before him. Mzekezeke, Gudo and Benteke will confirm
Jomo and Ace :thumb: Jomo Sono is a god in south africa, reported to be as good as Eusebio but sadly Jomo didnt have a european country that could adopt him and hitch his star onto :(

Kaizer Motaungs greater legacy was of course his formation of Kaizer chiefs, who it is accalaimed are the most supported team in southern africa. A very succesful British pop band also took the name and scored a number 1 with Ruby, Ruby, Ruby :thumbs:

On stats and national caps it would be Benni "shibobo" McCarthy as SA's greatest but on pure emotion it would be these Kaizer Chief greats John"shoes" Moshoeu, Doctor Khumalo and Nelson "teenage" Dladla! Amakhosi!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thats the problem with stats. Not even Benni McCarthy's mother would argue he was the best rsa player ever :sneaky. I would choose Moshoeu over Theophilus though

Mzekezeke

Post by Mzekezeke »

Samora Machel wrote:
Mzekezeke wrote:

Thats the problem with stats. Not even Benni McCarthy's mother would argue he was the best rsa player ever :sneaky. I would choose Moshoeu over Theophilus though
Madoda on stats alone Benni is ahead of the Pac but i do not agree with Stats as a measure of a good footballer. Anyone who turned out for Amakhosi gets my unbiased vote though. :biggrin:
Patrick Ntsoelengo,Nelson Dladla,Petros Nzimande, Abednigo Ngcobo,Doctor Khumalo,Vusi Lamola,Gerald Dlamini,Simom Lehoko,Silvester Kole,Lucas Radebe,Jan Lichaba, Leonard Likoebe,Edson Mguyo, Arie Khongoane,Marks Maponyanye,Donald Khuse, Jabu Pule, Mark Tovey, Zebulon Nhlapo,Gabriel Tikkie Khoza,Moran Khulu,Michael Dlamini,Johannes Mofokeng, Wellinton Manyathi,Jingles Perreira....... to be continued....Amhakhosi Kaizer Chiefs!!!!!!!
FATHER TIKO

Post by FATHER TIKO »

Catalyst wrote:

Okocha and Muda > Yekini? Based on what?

Kanu based on what?

Please kindly explain. Be as explicit as possible.
Voting a GOAT or MVP based purely on goal-scoring is becoming increasingly frequent these days.
Its due to our current worrisome obsession with stats.
When did goal-scoring alone become the yard-stick for all-round football ability? Or isn't GOAT or MVP a measure of all-round football ability?

Anyone who truly appreciates football would never put Ye-King ahead of Okocha or Kanu or Muda.
Thank God, we all witnessed them play.

Yekini was the best goal-scorer, not the best player amongst those 4 players mentioned...
"...Some say football is not a matter of life and death;
I can assure you it's more important than that..."
- Bill Shankly

Ghanaba wrote:
KB wrote:Togo: Edmond Appiti aka Dr Kaolo (RIP) (led Togo to first ever ANC in 72, led Etoile Filante to the famous final against Mazembe. Speedy, powerful with deadly accuracy, Dr Kaolo was a more complete player than 'lazy' Adebayor)
Chad: Nabatingue Toko
Congo DR: Pierre Kalala Mukendi
Mali: Fantamadi Salif Keita
Mali: Salif Keita Traore is the man!

CIV: should be Laurent Polkou

Ghana: Osei Kofi by a mile
I thought this man was your best player

Aswani

Post by Aswani »

Ghana - Mohammed Polo
Guinea - Papa Camara

Mzekezeke wrote:
Samora Machel wrote:
Mzekezeke wrote:

Madoda on stats alone Benni is ahead of the Pac but i do not agree with Stats as a measure of a good footballer. Anyone who turned out for Amakhosi gets my unbiased vote though. :biggrin:
Mzakes-man, judging from your name i would guess that you are influenced by that TKZee track - "halakasha , Benni in the 18 area .. Areaaaa !!! :laugh:

we once whoofed you at NSS with Peter Ndlovu but you revenged and cost us lives some years later :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

No me am a later generation, i only saw the last legs of Doctor Khumalo 16 Valve, and the likes of Pollen Ndlanya etc so can't say whose the best

but i have a feeling We all had better player in the 80s and 90s

For me Lucas Radebe is the best S African player. He played at a high level for over a decade and always played with class and composure. I'd put him in the same level as Keshi, Naybet and Kunde.

I watched Khumalo play in the MLS and dude was embarrassing to watch. Don't know about Jomo Sono but I doubt he played consistently at a high level. Benni was a very good striker for some years but he lacked discipline
Chimurenga Rebel

Post by Chimurenga Rebel »

Senegal too many too mention Jules Bocande, Roger Mendy and the whole Senegal 2002 world cup team there where some serious ballers in that team.
"Just call me the Chimurenga Man. A guerilla. Soldier of peace.Man of the people. I write love poems with the barrel of my gun. For Africa always." - Japheth Ncube

Gudo wrote:Senegal too many too mention Jules Bocande, Roger Mendy and the whole Senegal 2002 world cup team there where some serious ballers in that team.
If i am not mistaken the great Bocande graced Zimbabwe and showcased his talent :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:

BAP

Post by BAP »

lukemana wrote:This is the UPDATED list

Algeria - Madjer I would Go for Belloumi
Angola
Benin - Sessegnon
Botswana
Burkina Faso
Burundi
Cameroon - Samuel Eto
Cape Verde
Central African Republic
Chad - Tchami
Comoros
Democratic Republic of the Congo
Djibouti
Egypt - Mohamed Abu Treeka
Equatorial Guinea
Eritrea
Ethiopia
Gabon
Ghana - Abedi Pele Ayew
Guinea - Petit Sory
Guinea-Bissau
Ivory Coast - Didier Drogba /
Kenya - Peter Dawo -- I would go for Dr Joe Masiga
Lesotho
Liberia - George Weah
Libya
Madagascar
Malawi
Mali – Seydou Keita ?/ Kanoute ?
Mauritania
Mauritius
Morocco - Farras I would Go with Abder Merry Kharmou
Mozambique
Namibia
Niger
Nigeria - Okocha or Yekini or Kanu?
Republic of the Congo
Rwanda
São Tomé and Príncipe
Senegal - Diouf
Seychelles
Somalia
South Africa
Sudan
Swaziland
The Gambia --- YUJAM--- :)
Togo - Emmanuel Adebayor
Tunisia
Uganda
Zambia – Kalusha Bwalya
Zimbabwe - Peter Ndolvu I would go with Benjani Mwaruwari

Btw you missed Tanzania ---Juma Pondamali (sp)

BAP wrote:
lukemana wrote:This is the UPDATED list

Algeria - Madjer I would Go for Belloumi
Angola
Benin - Sessegnon
Botswana
Burkina Faso
Burundi
Cameroon - Samuel Eto
Cape Verde
Central African Republic
Chad - Tchami
Comoros
Democratic Republic of the Congo
Djibouti
Egypt - Mohamed Abu Treeka
Equatorial Guinea
Eritrea
Ethiopia
Gabon
Ghana - Abedi Pele Ayew
Guinea - Petit Sory
Guinea-Bissau
Ivory Coast - Didier Drogba /
Kenya - Peter Dawo -- I would go for Dr Joe Masiga
Lesotho
Liberia - George Weah
Libya
Madagascar
Malawi
Mali – Seydou Keita ?/ Kanoute ?
Mauritania
Mauritius
Morocco - Farras I would Go with Abder Merry Kharmou
Mozambique
Namibia
Niger
Nigeria - Okocha or Yekini or Kanu?
Republic of the Congo
Rwanda
São Tomé and Príncipe
Senegal - Diouf
Seychelles
Somalia
South Africa
Sudan
Swaziland
The Gambia --- YUJAM--- :)
Togo - Emmanuel Adebayor
Tunisia
Uganda
Zambia – Kalusha Bwalya
Zimbabwe - Peter Ndolvu I would go with Benjani Mwaruwari
please folk, Benjani is not even in the top 100 in Zim all time greats , Thank You :!: :biggrin:
Last edited by benteke on Fri Jun 26, 2015 11:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Aswani

Post by Aswani »

BAP wrote:
Pondamali from Pan African Bank or something. Great keeper and I agree.
Morroco had Badou Zaki too as another great keeper too.
Mutapaha Kouci or Ali Ferghani for Algeria maybe.

wale1974 wrote:
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:I know many Naija fans have a misplaced feeling of apathy towards Mikel but to be honest and fair, no Naija player has won more hardware or played more important games than Mikel. He is truly Naija's best player of all time!

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

I don't know much about many countries but for Naija if we are true to ourselves no one beats JayJay Okocha!

Top five Naija GOAT:

1. Jayjay Okocha
2. Enyeamagmet
3. Stephen Keshi
4. Odegbami
5. Muda Lawal

But the best player that ever came out of Naija is AUSTIN JAYJAY OKOCHA, who is also the best #10 out of Africa.

tmex12

Post by tmex12 »

Ifeanyi iheanacho.......