How would Naija fare in a WC group looking like this?

Brazil
Czech Republic
Greece
Nigeria

Just imagine for a second that the World Cup draws have been made and Nigeria finds herself in a group like this. We all know that this is very possible and there is nothing to suggest that the draw will not end up like this.

Now how do you guys think Nigeria will fare in such a group. Please bear in mind that we all know that if CCC is in charge of the team come Germany 2006, the starting line-up for each game will look like this:

***********Martins***************Aghahowa*************

***Lawal********Okocha********Olofinjana********Utaka***

***Udeze*******Enakarhire*********Yobo*********Odiah***

************************Enyeama**********************

With a good preparation before and after the ANC, I think there will be no problem coming out from that group.
Last edited by Sir V on Mon Mar 28, 2005 10:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
kaycee2g

Post by kaycee2g »

With no prejudice, or antagonism involved,

Nigeria will lose to Brazil. Certainly. When Brazils 3rd team thought us a lesson inour own back yard.

Nigeria will loose to the czech republic :lol: :lol: :lol:

Nigeria might draw with Greece, but i doubt it. Greece plays five in midfield, and will overrun Nigeria in midfield. so therefore, Nigeria will loose to greece.
Last edited by kaycee2g on Mon Mar 28, 2005 10:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Jinn

Post by Jinn »

*HINT*

how did nigeria fare against brazil in the quarterfinals of WC '98?
naija4ever
Location: Latitude 14' 40 N Longitude 90' 31 W(Nollywood 4Ever)
Re: How would Naija fare in a WC group looking like this?

Post by naija4ever »

Ayo Akinfe wrote:Brazil
Czech Republic
Greece
Nigeria

Just imagine for a second that the World Cup draws have been made and Nigeria finds herself in a group like this. We all know that this is very possible and there is nothing to suggest that the draw will not end up like this.

Now how do you guys think Nigeria will fare in such a group. Please bear in mind that we all know that if CCC is in charge of the team come Germany 2006, the starting line-up for each game will look like this:

If CCC is in charge? Well left for u he should qualify us and then leave an FC to take us to WC06, right? If u were C3 I wonder how u would feel at this kind of Monkey dey work Baboon dey chop. Ayo may the good Lord have mercy on u :x :x . And again u have put Martins that couldnt find his period last saturday and ommited the SE hero....Papillo, just shows how biased u must be. In WC, experience matters most and Papillo has it more than Martins :evil: :evil:
Schillachi wrote:Thanks Ghana. I hope this defeat will forever cure us of our colonial mentality when it comes to Coaches...

mystic wrote:
Now, we can criticise CCC for this, that and the other - some of which is warranted, and some of which is complete hogwash. But, in my view, these are the prinicipal areas in which he has been a disappointment.
All the same, I salute Christian Chukwu for his efforts, his selflessness and his hard work. He has served his country to the best of his ability. The predicament that we are in, right now, is not soley of his making and we should all keep that in mind.

The two players are in different worlds. Ade is too young to be compared to Kanu. Kanu has been around and has raked in laurels upon laurels. If he is not scoring, he is assisting; and if he is not, he is entertaining ... one of the finest players in the world. Please for past times, compare Kanu to Brazilian Socrates..bbc606
Cross

Post by Cross »

and there's nothing to suggest that the draws WILL end up like this.

Hypothetically speaking, there was nothing to suggest that Greece were going to win the previous Euro Cup but it happened.

However, the SE will attempt to cross that bridge when they get there; for now, they need to get the WC ticket, a thing some great sides are still unsure of.

We'll pick up between 5 to 6 points. Greece will go down. Cezch may go down or it'll be a draw ... and Brazil will be tough.

UNDER CCCCCC

NIG-BRA 0-3 :lol:
NIG-CZE 1-2 :lol:
NIG-GRE 0-1 :cry:
Well i hope that gives u a clue

kongi the emir

Post by kongi the emir »

The same question could be asked of greece and czech rep and that is assuming they both make it. Against brazil all we need is to settle the midfield area and we are good. Thats why they actually play the game and not let results be determined by oppressed minds from hackney :lol:

Naija4ever:

I want the world class coach NOW not after qualification!

Also, if I have got you right, are you suggesting that Kanu should be a starter?????? How many minutes would you play him for?
mastermind

Post by mastermind »

naija4ever wrote:
Czech Republic
Greece
Nigeria

If CCC is in charge? Well left for u he should qualify us and then leave an FC to take us to WC06, right? If u were C3 I wonder how u would feel at this kind of Monkey dey work Baboon dey chop. Ayo may the good Lord have mercy on u :x :x . And again u have put Martins that couldnt find his period last saturday and ommited the SE hero....Papillo, just shows how biased u must be. In WC, experience matters most and Papillo has it more than Martins :evil: :evil:
SE is not about CCC, it's about what he has to offer against top opposition in WC. If we play 3 friendlies against top european side in 2006 and we lost all of them will use still let him lead us to WC ? CCC hasn't done much outside africa, he doesn't have WC experience. Even if he can't win ANC in 2006 he might be fired.
legend

Post by legend »

Czech Republic
Greece
Nigeria

IT WILL BE A TOUGH FIGHT BETWEEN BRAZIL,CZECH and GREECE FOR THE 2nd PLACE!!
While SE will be busy preparing for their 2nd round opponents.
we top the group with 7pts(2 wins over Greece and Czech and a draw against brazil), Brazil gets 5pts(wins Greece and draws with Czech) Czechs gets 2pts(2 draws against Brazil and Greece) and Greece 1pt(draw with Czech)
Apart from my usual Amodu rantings all in all. He has done very well and the laurels and records speak for itself - MI5

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=157957
mastermind

Post by mastermind »

naija4ever wrote:
Czech Republic
Greece
Nigeria

SE is not about CCC, it's about what he has to offer against top opposition in WC. If we play 3 friendlies against top european side in 2006 and we lost all of them will u still let him lead us to WC ? CCC hasn't done much outside africa, he doesn't have WC experience. Even if he can't win ANC in 2006 he might be fired.
kongi the emir

Post by kongi the emir »

Mastermind,

Remember that we fired Amoudu in 02 after a supposedly disgrace loss to senegal and look what senegal did at the WC.

mastermind wrote: If we play 3 friendlies against top european side in 2006 and we lost all of them will use still let him lead us to WC ? CCC hasn't done much outside africa, he doesn't have WC experience. Even if he can't win ANC in 2006 he might be fired.
When Bora lost every friendly in 1998 ... and lost BIG... did you fire him? No... but Chukwu's own must be different cause of his skin color. The man has his limitations but regardless, the timing of making a change right now will be akin to throwing hard work in the trashcan a la 2002 after Amodu was fired... Amodu put together a solid squad that was sure of itself and even though they stumbled once.... he was fired ... now you people are advocating the same error. The time to have made a change was back in 2002... its 3 yrs later and big tournaments are coming up next year.

We aint gonna do $@#% in that type of group.As long as CCC is the coach we aint going nowhere.During Ahmodus Era.we did good but we didnt score much goals in our games.Ahmodu is by far a better coach than CCC.

mastermind wrote: If we play 3 friendlies against top european side in 2006 and we lost all of them will use still let him lead us to WC ? CCC hasn't done much outside africa, he doesn't have WC experience. Even if he can't win ANC in 2006 he might be fired.
When Bora lost every friendly in 1998 ... and lost BIG... did you fire him? No... but Chukwu's own must be different cause of his skin color. The man has his limitations but regardless, the timing of making a change right now will be akin to throwing hard work in the trashcan a la 2002 after Amodu was fired... Amodu put together a solid squad that was sure of itself and even though they stumbled once.... he was fired ... now you people are advocating the same error. The time to have made a change was back in 2002... its 3 yrs later and big tournaments are coming up next year.
Green4life, make no mistake about it, CCC will be fired after Egypt 2006 when his 4-4-2 proves incapable of winning the trophy. Where does that leave us?

Surely it would make more sense to bring the new coach in now and give him a year's run!
naija4ever

Post by naija4ever »

Ayo Akinfe wrote:Naija4ever:

I want the world class coach NOW not after qualification!

Also, if I have got you right, are you suggesting that Kanu should be a starter?????? How many minutes would you play him for?
Ayo, getting a WC coach now will disrupt our qualifications, left for me, C3 should continue with the good results he's been getting, whether u call it luck or not, guess what? brazil was also lucky to win Peru, football is about luck sometimes. I know u said gra gra wont get him far, but suffice it to say that gra gra has made him to place SE in this group as thus:
P W D L GF GA Pts
Nigeria 6 4 1 1 9 2 13
Angola 6 3 2 1 5 4 11
Zimbabwe 6 2 2 2 6 6 8
Gabon 6 1 3 2 8 9 6
Algeria 6 1 3 2 3 6 6
Rwanda 6 1 1 4 4 8 4

Fixtures:

June 5: Nigeria 2-0 Rwanda; Gabon 1-1 Zimbabwe; Algeria 0-0 Angola

June 19: Rwanda 3-1 Gabon
June 20: Zimbabwe 1-1 Algeria; Angola 1-0 Nigeria

July 3: Nigeria 1-0 Algeria; Gabon 2-2 Angola; Rwanda 0-2 Zimbabwe

September 5: Algeria 0-3 Gabon; Zimbabwe 0-3 Nigeria; Angola 1-0 Rwanda

October 9: Gabon 1-1 Nigeria; Rwanda 1-1 Algeria
October 10:Angola 1-0 Zimbabwe

March 26: Nigeria 2-0 Gabon
March 27: Zimbabwe 2-0 Angola; Algeria 1-0 Rwanda

Finally, the same Zimbabwe that SE led by C3's gra gra team thrashed 3-0, gave Angola 2 uneplied goals....Now u have seen that gra gra can yied results.
As for Kanu, the way C3 used him should be the best way to use him now, c'mon dont tell me that he isnt fit to be in our 22 team squad...thats really bashing at the highest order...If anything I would rather, drop SEYI for Kanu.
Schillachi wrote:Thanks Ghana. I hope this defeat will forever cure us of our colonial mentality when it comes to Coaches...

mystic wrote:
Now, we can criticise CCC for this, that and the other - some of which is warranted, and some of which is complete hogwash. But, in my view, these are the prinicipal areas in which he has been a disappointment.
All the same, I salute Christian Chukwu for his efforts, his selflessness and his hard work. He has served his country to the best of his ability. The predicament that we are in, right now, is not soley of his making and we should all keep that in mind.

The two players are in different worlds. Ade is too young to be compared to Kanu. Kanu has been around and has raked in laurels upon laurels. If he is not scoring, he is assisting; and if he is not, he is entertaining ... one of the finest players in the world. Please for past times, compare Kanu to Brazilian Socrates..bbc606
mastermind

Post by mastermind »

So did we do well in 1998 ? Our problem in 1998 was the double ANC ban. I don't think CCC will be fired though, he was the coach in 1994 even when Westeroff was the Technical adviser. If CCC didnot do well in ANC 2006 and failed the friendly test in 2006, it will be too late to hire a technical adviser. If they wonna hire a FC they better do it before ANC so that he can use that tournament productively. I don't a coach hired 3 months to WC can do anything to help in WC.

mastermind wrote:
naija4ever wrote:
Czech Republic
Greece
Nigeria

SE is not about CCC, it's about what he has to offer against top opposition in WC. If we play 3 friendlies against top european side in 2006 and we lost all of them will u still let him lead us to WC ? CCC hasn't done much outside africa, he doesn't have WC experience. Even if he can't win ANC in 2006 he might be fired.
MistressMind,
I rarely get myself involved in the Pro-IC and Pro-fc debates cos am bored with the whole issue( people re-cycling old facts) but u really got 1 wrong there. Bora our WC98 coach actually lost 90% of his pre-WC games and still led us to the WC proper, so i dont get ur facts above.

I would only rejoin this battle when CCC qualifies us for the WC and ppl still want him out, then all of us will start blowing the grammer we all know how 2 do best.
Thanks
naija4ever

Post by naija4ever »

omey2k4 wrote:We aint gonna do $@#% in that type of group.As long as CCC is the coach we aint going nowhere.During Ahmodus Era.we did good but we didnt score much goals in our games.Ahmodu is by far a better coach than CCC.
With all due respect , I think they need to change ur drugs/medications, it seems the ones u r currently taking arent efficacious anymore, otherwise how any normal person that eats with his mouth,smells and breathes with nose, and thinks with his brain could utter this stupidity is beyond the comprehension of the homo sapiens :x :x :evil: . Why do u have to be making comments of the handicapped? :evil: :x :x

mystic wrote:

Naija4ever, if I have got you straight, you are saying that a coach should never be replaced halfway through a qualification campaign. Well I have news for you, it is common practise.

Take it or leave it but Nigeria needs a world class coach to take her to the World Cup. The sooner one is appointed the better!
Oba

Post by Oba »

Most people here have heads as thick as skull. Are totally incapable of changing mindsets. Once you've decided something, you stick to it. I'm not going to argue with any of you again. I would just take my "akpoti" and go into "siddon mode". I've said all I can say. Instead of worrying about CCC potentially losing to a ludicrous group that can't exist (all teams in this group could potentially be 1st or 2nd tier seeds). Think of how to get Super Eagle's preparation on course. Thinking about how Optima Sports can be encouraged to go into a deal with Globacom to organize friendlies against Czech and Germany. Whether it's that dream foreign coach or the reality of CCC leading the National team, these friendlies must be played for Nigeria to perform as best as it can.

Nigerians have thick skulls. You make up your mind on something without seeing the fact in support or against it and you cannot be moved by anything to change views. Hell, some of you would bash players all they and say they are worthless and they would keep sending you humble pies and you pretend.

We lack humility as a people. We can never be wrong.