Oliseh's Ridiculous Rule - Disappointed with the iffy start

patrick
Re: Oliseh's Ridiculous Rule - Disappointed with the iffy st

Post by patrick »

The YeyeMan wrote:I first called for this exact minimum standard requirement to be introduced a long time ago. So I don't see it as a reaction to Keshi's penchant for puzzling call ups to the senior team.
Enugu II wrote:There really should be no hard and fast rule on where a player should be playing before being inviting to the SE.
Just to be clear, in case there's uncertainty, it's not about "where" the player plys his trade - i.e. Nigeria, Spain, England, China, etc... It's about playing in the top-flight league of those countries.

I don't have many qualms with this rule, as there'll likely be exceptions, but what the rule infers is that if a player in a lower league has ambitions to play for the national team then he will need to improve his game further and/or find himself playing at a higher level in order to fulfill that ambition. It's an incentive to play at the higher level.

International football isn't for everybody. I think this is a sound baseline standard - especially for new players.

Welcome back bro :clap:
When people try to use you to gain relevance, just ignore them. It pains them even more
kulu

Post by kulu »

Seems everyone here is trying to explain Sunday Oliseh's statement. Only Oliseh can do that.

In my opinion, he should have not uttered the words in the first place, instead showing us what he means by his squad selections.
"How can someone qualify his country for the World Cup and then, because he lost a match, everyone is saying they should sack him. Please allow the man to do his work. Nobody is perfect, but if someone can qualify his country for the World Cup, then he deserves some respect. I even heard that it is the second time he has qualified Nigeria for the World Cup. That is huge". - French legend Alain Giresse on Nigeria's Shuaibu Amodu, 2010
opine

Post by opine »

kulu wrote:Seems everyone here is trying to explain Sunday Oliseh's statement. Only Oliseh can do that.

In my opinion, he should have not uttered the words in the first place, instead showing us what he means by his squad selections.

I disagree. This way everybody knows where they stand ahead of time.
Tbite wrote: Yes we have deadweights in our team like Babatunde, Agbim and Rueben, but they are OUR deadweights! Our wastepipes! We must love them...respect them! If we do not love our junks....who will? Who?
azuka

Post by azuka »

The YeyeMan wrote:EII, you say, "international football is for those the NT coach deems good enough to play for the country." And Oliseh has deemed only those playing in the top-flight are good enough to play for the country.

He hasn't boxed himself into a corner at all - he's just laid down the marker.

So to take your examples of Omeruo and Ighalo (and let's add Aluko) - they've already featured for the national team and in order to retain their places they will have to maintain a good level of performance with the senior team.

Now take someone like Carl Ikeme who I consider a good goalkeeper. He hasn't featured for the national team and if he harbours ambitions to do so will need to move to a better club / gain promotion with his team.
Enugu II wrote:YeyeMan,
I disagree with such rules. I believe every coach knows that he/she should always use the best players available to fit the system. A strait jacket rule like this is just hollow IMHO. If you grant several exemptions because you suddenly find out that you cannot implement the rule in an absolute sense, then what is the value of the rule?

In this case, would Omeruo be exempt because he goes back to Middlesborough? Will you decide not to call Ighalo any more if he goes into relegation with Watford? This simply is a slippery slope that Oliseh or any other person does not need for that matter.

Simple -- international football is for those the NT coach deems good enough to play for the country. No need for defining whether the guy plays in Division I or not.

If I was Oliseh, the next time some journalist wants to talk about this my answer will be: "We will invite and use players that we consider to be the best for Nigeria"

Journalist: "But these are players playing for top division clubs, are they not?"

Oliseh: "Not necessarily, while many may play in Division I, it will not dissuade us from using any other player that we find useful for Nigeria"

It just does not make sense to box yourself into a corner.

Its a bad call. After all he was playing for Gent in Belgium when he first played for the SE against Ethiopia. Gent wasnt even a top club in Belgium then. Everyone should be given a chance to prove themselves just like he was given and he proved himself.
patrick

Post by patrick »

azuka wrote:
The YeyeMan wrote:EII, you say, "international football is for those the NT coach deems good enough to play for the country." And Oliseh has deemed only those playing in the top-flight are good enough to play for the country.

So to take your examples of Omeruo and Ighalo (and let's add Aluko) - they've already featured for the national team and in order to retain their places they will have to maintain a good level of performance with the senior team.

Now take someone like Carl Ikeme who I consider a good goalkeeper. He hasn't featured for the national team and if he harbours ambitions to do so will need to move to a better club / gain promotion with his team.
I disagree with such rules. I believe every coach knows that he/she should always use the best players available to fit the system. A strait jacket rule like this is just hollow IMHO. If you grant several exemptions because you suddenly find out that you cannot implement the rule in an absolute sense, then what is the value of the rule?

In this case, would Omeruo be exempt because he goes back to Middlesborough? Will you decide not to call Ighalo any more if he goes into relegation with Watford? This simply is a slippery slope that Oliseh or any other person does not need for that matter.

Simple -- international football is for those the NT coach deems good enough to play for the country. No need for defining whether the guy plays in Division I or not.

If I was Oliseh, the next time some journalist wants to talk about this my answer will be: "We will invite and use players that we consider to be the best for Nigeria"

Journalist: "But these are players playing for top division clubs, are they not?"

Oliseh: "Not necessarily, while many may play in Division I, it will not dissuade us from using any other player that we find useful for Nigeria"

Its a bad call. After all he was playing for Gent in Belgium when he first played for the SE against Ethiopia. Gent wasnt even a top club in Belgium then. Everyone should be given a chance to prove themselves just like he was given and he proved himself.
I disagree, a baseline need to be established. FYI, Oliseh did not play for Gent, he played for RFC Liege and he was one of the best midfielders in Belgian league by miles then. He merited the invitation given to him based on his exploits in Belgium, Mumuni Alao captured his performance in 1993 complete football and Clement W gave him a call up.
When people try to use you to gain relevance, just ignore them. It pains them even more

Enugu II wrote:IMHO, it is an ill-advised statement that is perhaps a reaction to fan displeasure with some of Keshi's invitation of "unknown" names. Oliseh should call up any player that he feels that meets what he and his coaching crew wants and not focus on what fans want. There really should be no hard and fast rule on where a player should be playing before being inviting to the SE. Such rules make very little sense particularly as it pertains to Nigeria. I make this statement because Nigerian players do not often make decisions to join a club because of the club's profile but rather decisions are based on financial reasons. You will find that Oliseh will call up a player from a division lower than the first division. Bet on it. He cannot avoid it if he wants to improve Nigerian football.
Prof., I love the rule.

If you want to make money and chose money over being eligible for National team call up, na your problem be that.

The rule should be in black and white.

It is left for the player and his representatives to determine if they should just pursue money than the glory and honor of representing your country.

I am waiting to hear his stance on minutes played in the month leading to a national team game.

We should have a minimum standard. There should be no ambiguity whatsoever what it takes to get an Eagles call up.

The YeyeMan wrote:I first called for this exact minimum standard requirement to be introduced a long time ago. So I don't see it as a reaction to Keshi's penchant for puzzling call ups to the senior team.
Enugu II wrote:There really should be no hard and fast rule on where a player should be playing before being inviting to the SE.
Just to be clear, in case there's uncertainty, it's not about "where" the player plys his trade - i.e. Nigeria, Spain, England, China, etc... It's about playing in the top-flight league of those countries.

I don't have many qualms with this rule, as there'll likely be exceptions, but what the rule infers is that if a player in a lower league has ambitions to play for the national team then he will need to improve his game further and/or find himself playing at a higher level in order to fulfill that ambition. It's an incentive to play at the higher level.

International football isn't for everybody. I think this is a sound baseline standard - especially for new players.
Kpom!

azuka

Post by azuka »

patrick wrote:
azuka wrote:

I disagree, a baseline need to be established. FYI, Oliseh did not play for Gent, he played for RFC Liege and he was one of the best midfielders in Belgian league by miles then. He merited the invitation given to him based on his exploits in Belgium, Mumuni Alao captured his performance in 1993 complete football and Clement W gave him a call up.

Thanks for the correction. My point is he played for a middle of nowhere club in Belgium when he got his breakthrough.
GDAY

Post by GDAY »

I totally agree you have to be hungry to play first team football and don't accept just being part of the Team, warming the bench in a Top Club and walking into SE to claim Skipper's Band should not exist. But I am not sure about setting a cutoff for First Div, Top Players waiting to be discovered could be in the lower leagues.
”The strength of the Team is each individual member. The Strength of each member is the Team.”
Phil Jackson..

442 :D don return...new credit card in full effect

I wouldn't scrutinize every single word he says and take it that literal. I think he was trying to get across that he wants the best to play for Nigeria. Btw, it's not like Azeez, Akpan, and Ukoh have been that fantastic when they have played for the SE.

I dont get the beef...

azuka wrote:
patrick wrote:
azuka wrote:

Thanks for the correction. My point is he played for a middle of nowhere club in Belgium when he got his breakthrough.
Reggiana as well, if yor team gets relegated does that mean you get disqualified

Thanks opine and patrick.
Prince wrote:Reggiana as well, if yor team gets relegated does that mean you get disqualified
Oliseh has already spoken about that scenario. See earlier posts.

Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25
"The Yeyeman is hardly ever vulgar when dealing with anyone." - Mar 23, '18
"I will take Trump over Clinton but I am in the minority." - Jul 19, '16

© The YeyeMan 2025

Mr. Piffington wrote:Can you people just let the man work and judge him based on his actual results? My goodness.
KPAM!
zoro

Post by zoro »

I like the rule. It will ginger ambition in our players and remove laid back approaches. If a player is good enough he must play in top flight league. Then such a player deserves the GWG shirt. If not pronto
:D :D :D :D :D :D
IGBOS ARE THE IMPORTANT AND USEFUL SLAVES OF NIGERIA. THEY HAVE A CHOICE TO MAKE.
opine

Post by opine »

Looks like agents are gonna have work harder too :D
Tbite wrote: Yes we have deadweights in our team like Babatunde, Agbim and Rueben, but they are OUR deadweights! Our wastepipes! We must love them...respect them! If we do not love our junks....who will? Who?
patrick

Post by patrick »

azuka wrote:
patrick wrote:
azuka wrote:

Yes u are right but his performance was top notch then. The point is we have better players that can play ahead of Ukoh, Akpan et al

Enugu II wrote:IMHO, it is an ill-advised statement that is perhaps a reaction to fan displeasure with some of Keshi's invitation of "unknown" names. Oliseh should call up any player that he feels that meets what he and his coaching crew wants and not focus on what fans want. There really should be no hard and fast rule on where a player should be playing before being inviting to the SE. Such rules make very little sense particularly as it pertains to Nigeria. I make this statement because Nigerian players do not often make decisions to join a club because of the club's profile but rather decisions are based on financial reasons. You will find that Oliseh will call up a player from a division lower than the first division. Bet on it. He cannot avoid it if he wants to improve Nigerian football.
Prof., I love the rule.

If you want to make money and chose money over being eligible for National team call up, na your problem be that.

The rule should be in black and white.

It is left for the player and his representatives to determine if they should just pursue money than the glory and honor of representing your country.

I am waiting to hear his stance on minutes played in the month leading to a national team game.

We should have a minimum standard. There should be no ambiguity whatsoever what it takes to get an Eagles call up.
Cell, I agree with you. Friday Eze, the MVP in Serbia just chose to go to the UAE despite strong interest from clubs in France, Germany and Spain. These players should know they are tossing their international careers awsy when they choose money over career progression.

Prince wrote:
azuka wrote:
patrick wrote:
azuka wrote:

Reggiana as well, if yor team gets relegated does that mean you get disqualified
He left Reggiana for Cologne in the German Bundesliga after they were relegated. In 1993, how many Nigerian players were playing for big teams? Oliseh was with FC Liege as well as Alloy Agu and Victor Ikpeba.

Eddydove wrote:Hi guys,

Hope you're all well - been great reading some of the opinions on here about Oliseh's arrival.

While I am cautiously optimistic, the recent comment he made about squad selection seemed illogical and nonsensical - why say that?

I've got all of my thoughts down here - would be good to get some of your opinions on this.

bit.ly/1JoMtWp

Thanks in advance.

@EddyDove

P.S. Here's a graphic to illustrate my point: Image
It's a pretty Ironic statement coming from Oliseh who's done net to nothing to actually merit his position, but this is Naija na!

Only Azeez and Aluko are actually good enough among these 2nd division guys, given that Juwon will be joining Scottish League team Hearts
mojojojo

Post by mojojojo »

It seems like Oliseh has spoken too soon.

He will be going back on his words very soon I imagine.

Football is team sport so players should not be selected based on the quality of their teams rather they should be selected on their individual contributions to their teams
and potential contributions they can make to the national team.
lekanlij

Post by lekanlij »

Would emunike playing in uae be eligible? Or the recent goal scorer from China?