How would Naija fare in a WC group looking like this?
Football is football, are they not all playing the same game?
Ok, if theres such a chasm between the two, why are international managers graduates from domestic leagues? Sven Goran erikson Lazio-England? oh, thats why he's doing so bad, because he was a club coach and now hes a national team manager, playing the same game, but no there not the same game because international football is so much more different than domestic right? Dont tell me, you have to kick the ball over the bar for a conversion, and dive between the posts for a try.
For crying out loud, excuse after excuse. Football is football, a round ball, 22 men, 4 goal posts, 2 goals, 2 nets, one winner, end of story. Yes you can compare football at all levels, management at club level to that at national level, management is management. Your tactical knowledge and ability to influence a game from the bench is not measured in different units bcos its international football. The decisions a manager makes at club level are just as telling as those he makes on the national arena.
...oh i see where this is going. Chukwu doesnt have enough time to gel his players together, he doesnt see them day in day out, he doesnt whisper his magic words into their ears over the course of the season, oh yes, yes of course, thats why we're doing nothing, going nowhere, because Chukwu's not having enough time to make his impression on the lads. Of course, shall we petition for FIFA to get them a 24 man bed and breakfast somewhere, so Old Chrissy boy can play with his boys just as much as Michael Jackson.
Ok, if theres such a chasm between the two, why are international managers graduates from domestic leagues? Sven Goran erikson Lazio-England? oh, thats why he's doing so bad, because he was a club coach and now hes a national team manager, playing the same game, but no there not the same game because international football is so much more different than domestic right? Dont tell me, you have to kick the ball over the bar for a conversion, and dive between the posts for a try.
For crying out loud, excuse after excuse. Football is football, a round ball, 22 men, 4 goal posts, 2 goals, 2 nets, one winner, end of story. Yes you can compare football at all levels, management at club level to that at national level, management is management. Your tactical knowledge and ability to influence a game from the bench is not measured in different units bcos its international football. The decisions a manager makes at club level are just as telling as those he makes on the national arena.
...oh i see where this is going. Chukwu doesnt have enough time to gel his players together, he doesnt see them day in day out, he doesnt whisper his magic words into their ears over the course of the season, oh yes, yes of course, thats why we're doing nothing, going nowhere, because Chukwu's not having enough time to make his impression on the lads. Of course, shall we petition for FIFA to get them a 24 man bed and breakfast somewhere, so Old Chrissy boy can play with his boys just as much as Michael Jackson.
Last edited by Coach on Tue Mar 29, 2005 5:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
count me in. I soundly believe that he can.
I am neither pro-fc nor pro-ic. I am however a pragmatist. I definitely do not want Robson as our coach. And from my understanding, CCC does not object to having a boss. If the NFA thinks they have enough money to hire a real coach let them go ahead. But I can't bash CCC. I dont like his style of football, I dont have much confidence in him. Yet his record speaks for itself.
Ayo Akinfe wrote:How many people here honestly believe that CCC can navigate a World Cup group invluding Brazil, the Czech Republic and Greece? Please, let us have an honest show of hands!
no one man can boast of the ability to accurately forecast the future. i highly doubt anyone thought we'd win the gold in atlanta. Nigeria is possibly the most volatile team in world football, if we got a group like that, i wouldnt put it past us to top it.
if atl 96 and wc 2002 are not perfect examples, i dont know what is.
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
In Atlanta 96, Bonfere had match plans, coherent strategies and was brave enough to ring the necssary changes. In 2002 and now, Onigbinde and Chukwu have not shown that capability.platinum wrote:no one man can boast of the ability to accurately forecast the future. i highly doubt anyone thought we'd win the gold in atlanta. Nigeria is possibly the most volatile team in world football, if we got a group like that, i wouldnt put it past us to top it.
For starters, Bonfere and the NFA had an almighty row about the squad list before Atlanta. The NFA sent its list to Fifa but Bonfere faxed his own one over, saying that Akinyele's shenanigans should be ignored.
On the pitch itself, JJ had a very bad Olympics but Bonfere was never reluctant to pull him off. We all saw how he was replaced in the finals with Garba Lawal and how Ammunike was benched in favour of Ikpeba to provide more firepower upfront.
Just look at the semi finals against Brazil and see how Garba Lawal was fielded as an anchorman for Sunday Oliseh and how Ikpeba was brought on with 15 minutes to go. I can go on and on but can any of you really see Chukwu having the balls to ring any of these changes?
Ayo Akinfe wrote:In Atlanta 96, Bonfere had match plans, coherent strategies and was brave enough to ring the necssary changes. In 2002 and now, Onigbinde and Chukwu have not shown that capability.platinum wrote:no one man can boast of the ability to accurately forecast the future. i highly doubt anyone thought we'd win the gold in atlanta. Nigeria is possibly the most volatile team in world football, if we got a group like that, i wouldnt put it past us to top it.
For starters, Bonfere and the NFA had an almighty row about the squad list before Atlanta. The NFA sent its list to Fifa but Bonfere faxed his own one over, saying that Akinyele's shenanigans should be ignored.
On the pitch itself, JJ had a very bad Olympics but Bonfere was never reluctant to pull him off. We all saw how he was replaced in the finals with Garba Lawal and how Ammunike was benched in favour of Ikpeba to provide more firepower upfront.
Just look at the semi finals against Brazil and see how Garba Lawal was fielded as an anchorman for Sunday Oliseh and how Ikpeba was brought on with 15 minutes to go. I can go on and on but can any of you really see Chukwu having the balls to ring any of these changes?
are u talking of the same 'tear-drops' Bonfrere? did CCC not bench Kanu for most of the last game? didnt he bring him on @ the perfect time to turn the game round? Ayo, that logic you just posited is flawed.
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
Do you think CCC will have the guts to bench JJ if his form is questionable?platinum wrote:
are u talking of the same 'tear-drops' Bonfrere? did CCC not bench Kanu for most of the last game? didnt he bring him on @ the perfect time to turn the game round? Ayo, that logic you just posited is flawed.
Ayo Akinfe wrote:Do you think CCC will have the guts to bench JJ if his form is questionable?platinum wrote:
did CCC bench Kanu? JJ isnt bigger than Kanu u know!
plus, depending on the coach's mindset, if a player is part of his team's spine, he's not benched even if he hasnt displayed excellent recent form. ala Zidane.
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
Sports administrators ned to plan and think ahead. Teams that are thinking about winning the World Cup already have their long term plans mapped out.Kojak wrote:Guys, it's far to early to talk about that....
Even though the likes of Argentina, Brazil, England, Italy and Holland do no talk about it in the press, their plans are well underway. For starters, they have drawn up a list of friendlies to be played between now and march 2006 and are just waiting for the World Cup draw before filling in all the other games that will take them to the Mundial itself.
- naija4ever
- Location: Latitude 14' 40 N Longitude 90' 31 W(Nollywood 4Ever)
For starters, since u have either by omission or commission decided to ignore Papillo's contribution to SE's victory last saturday, Ayo I have to tell u that u there are credibility gaps in ur posts and opinionsAyo Akinfe wrote:Sports administrators ned to plan and think ahead. Teams that are thinking about winning the World Cup already have their long term plans mapped out.Kojak wrote:Guys, it's far to early to talk about that....
Even though the likes of Argentina, Brazil, England, Italy and Holland do no talk about it in the press, their plans are well underway. For starters, they have drawn up a list of friendlies to be played between now and march 2006 and are just waiting for the World Cup draw before filling in all the other games that will take them to the Mundial itself.

U talk about friendlies...yes i guess its C3's fault that SE havent played and arranged one hitherto

If C3 had the guts to bench Kanu I dont see anything stoping him from doing same to JJ, even at that its not necessary cos am sure even if he does that u will still be on his neck. I just wish u have to accept the reality that C3 will lead the SE to the mundial and ANC should we qualify this way u wouldnt need to worry urself that much or start taking pills to calm urself down....
OBJ has said it that naijas will coach SE, take this to the western union and keep the control, nos safe in case of next yr when it starts happening. Finally am out of this debate, as long as u fail to acknowledge both C3's and Papillo's input into last match, I dont think i have anything anymore to contribute, cos if there are no equity and transparency in our judgements, it means they r beclouded by sentiments and prejudices, these I fail to partake in

Schillachi wrote:Thanks Ghana. I hope this defeat will forever cure us of our colonial mentality when it comes to Coaches...
mystic wrote:
Now, we can criticise CCC for this, that and the other - some of which is warranted, and some of which is complete hogwash. But, in my view, these are the prinicipal areas in which he has been a disappointment.
All the same, I salute Christian Chukwu for his efforts, his selflessness and his hard work. He has served his country to the best of his ability. The predicament that we are in, right now, is not soley of his making and we should all keep that in mind..
The two players are in different worlds. Ade is too young to be compared to Kanu. Kanu has been around and has raked in laurels upon laurels. If he is not scoring, he is assisting; and if he is not, he is entertaining ... one of the finest players in the world. Please for past times, compare Kanu to Brazilian Socrates..bbc606
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
Can you please stick to the subject matter Naija4ever!naija4ever wrote: For starters, since u have either by omission or commission decided to ignore Papillo's contribution to SE's victory last saturday, Ayo I have to tell u that u there are credibility gaps in ur posts and opinions![]()
. Even the BBC and other foreign stations were hailing him, give him credit when its due, and criticize when necessary otherwise ppl will just have to accept that u just hate the dude as a person
. Even if his goal and the assists were fluke, still they got us the points needed...humility pays, u know, it wont take anything away from u if u give the dude his credit, the same u did when he gave Utaka the pass that SE used to bury the Ils, u decided to praise Utaka and ignoring him, thats not fair at all, and noble people dont act like this. Again may I remind u that any TA that can handle the team to the WC06 assuming its not C3 will still include him in his squad, I wonder what ur judgement of the TA would be that time. If the goal he scored was done by either Martins or Utaka u would've be giving us 10pointless how they were our heros and bla bla bla how Kanu couldnt have done those.
U talk about friendlies...yes i guess its C3's fault that SE havent played and arranged one hitherto![]()
If C3 had the guts to bench Kanu I dont see anything stoping him from doing same to JJ, even at that its not necessary cos am sure even if he does that u will still be on his neck. I just wish u have to accept the reality that C3 will lead the SE to the mundial and ANC should we qualify this way u wouldnt need to worry urself that much or start taking pills to calm urself down....
OBJ has said it that naijas will coach SE, take this to the western union and keep the control, nos safe in case of next yr when it starts happening. Finally am out of this debate, as long as u fail to acknowledge both C3's and Papillo's input into last match, I dont think i have anything anymore to contribute, cos if there are no equity and transparency in our judgements, it means they r beclouded by sentiments and prejudices, these I fail to partake in![]()
- TonyTheTigerKiller
Re: How would Naija fare in a WC group looking like this?
Not after last saturday's match. Obafemi will be coming off the bench form now onAyo Akinfe wrote:Brazil
Czech Republic
Greece
Nigeria
Just imagine for a second that the World Cup draws have been made and Nigeria finds herself in a group like this. We all know that this is very possible and there is nothing to suggest that the draw will not end up like this.
Now how do you guys think Nigeria will fare in such a group. Please bear in mind that we all know that if CCC is in charge of the team come Germany 2006, the starting line-up for each game will look like this:
***********Martins***************Aghahowa*************
***Lawal********Okocha********Olofinjana********Utaka***
***Udeze*******Enakarhire*********Yobo*********Odiah***
************************Enyeama**********************