Why do most Eaglets not go on to big things in the game?

Jinn

Post by Jinn »

Toxicarrow wrote: By the virtue of attending secondary school at Agege and also studying at UI, I happen to know many ex-internationals (juniors) and national team players. For instance, the same Chidi Ordiah that you guys are screaming about has been in the national soccer scene since 1991/1992. For your information, he was one of many guys that played and trained at Agege Stadium with teams such as Concord FC, NIgerdock, Nigerlox, LSDPC , Vitalo and First Bank. 'The young Ordiah of the present days' started his foreign trials way back in 1993/1994.
u sabi ur soccer...nah 4 agege stadium, koko (sp?) pitch 4 ogba...and anwar ul islam pitch many boys dey train...

a classmate of mine wey join few clubs 4 division 3 including the NAA football club...he was claiming 2 be 13..around '91 he was 22...he never turned 14 even after playing 4 @ least 5 years in this division :lol: :lol:
Jinn

Post by Jinn »

Orion wrote: Of all the German U17 players that played against Nigeria in the 1985 final not a single one of them made it to the German senior team.
u have not said anything different from what i said...but u damaged ur point with the german reference...the german star player in the U-17 tourney in 85 (Marcel Witeczek - highest goal scorer) was in their U-20 squad in 87...and that's 1...there were probably more.

so i may assume u don't know much about youth tourneys.
Last edited by Jinn on Wed Mar 30, 2005 5:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Toxicarrow

Post by Toxicarrow »

Toxicarrow wrote:
oloye wrote:Ayo
Are you saying Sam Elijah played u-17, because there is no record that says he did. For all i know he played u-21 in 1989 and for someone who left secondary school in 1985(was in the Sardauna secondary school that won the World school FC) i dont see any eyebrows to raise here. May be you meant another Sam Elijah, but there is only one Elijah who played football in Naija. So please nack us something about Elijah.
Sam Elijah played for the Flying Eagles in 1989. You are right, he played for Sardauna Memorial College Kaduna that won the world svchool championship in 1984.

I know Sam from my Kaduna days. Do you know that in Kakuri, Sam Elijah, Ayo Ogunlana and Rashidi Yekini all used to train on the same pitch?

I no wan put sand sand for anybodi gari so I will leave it hear for now. Anyway, you were very close to the action yourself, so you know what I am talking about.
Now Ayo, how can say for sure if Sam case was not one of Age ignorance?

Besides, we do not have conclusive evidence and hear-say usually creates more problems in this matter.
How can you say that the case of Sam is an age ignorance when Rasheed Yekini who never studied beyond primary 3 knows his age?

That being said, most parts of nation of Nigeria is not that backward in 70s (and 60s) that people would know that the age of their children or date of birth of their children.

By the virtue of attending secondary school at Agege and also studying at UI, I happen to know many ex-internationals (juniors) and national team players. For instance, the same Chidi Ordiah that you guys are screaming about has been in the national soccer scene since 1991/1992. For your information, he was one of many guys that played and trained at Agege Stadium with teams such as Concord FC, NIgerdock, Nigerlox, LSDPC , Vitalo and First Bank. 'The young Ordiah of the present days' started his foreign trials way back in 1993/1994.
Na becos Ordiah nor play for 3Sc you dey come here come put question marks for him age? Stop dat nonsense oh. :x :x :x :x
What about those 3Sc players? Why una remove their profile from the website?

Abeg stop this kain Bad Bellus. :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
It is not a bad belle. It is the fact. For your information, most of the Concord boys (Duke Udi and etal )and Nigerdock players of that era ended up in Shooting in 1994/1995. The movement was faciliated by Taiwo Ogunjobi who was a closer partner of Alhaji Edewor (the man who ran Concord FC). Also, Godfrey Esu who the coach of Nigerdock in that era, landed in Sooting in 1995/1996. These players with players got from Exide FC, Ibadan (Gbenga O, Mojeed Azeez and etal) formed the winning squad of Shooting in 1993/1994 (coached for a while by Uncle Alabi Aissien) and 1995/96 (coached by Esu).
Check out Sooting's website:
https://shootingstarssc.com/

Jinn wrote:
Orion wrote: Of all the German U17 players that played against Nigeria in the 1985 final not a single one of them made it to the German senior team.
u have not said anything different from what i said...but u damaged ur point with the german reference...the german star player in the U-17 tourney in 85 (Marcel Witeczek - highest goal scorer) was in their U-20 squad in 87.
I thought you said Age issue was the problem. Did the German chap fix his age too? Just stop with this your Age thing being the sole reason, there are so many reasons why many players never make the progression from Youth to Senior level.
Jinn

Post by Jinn »

Jinn wrote:
u have not said anything different from what i said...but u damaged ur point with the german reference...the german star player in the U-17 tourney in 85 (Marcel Witeczek - highest goal scorer) was in their U-20 squad in 87.
I thought you said Age issue was the problem. Did the German chap fix his age too? Just stop with this your Age thing being the sole reason, there are so many reasons why many players never make the progression from Youth to Senior level.
i made a distinction between the problem in africa and europe/south america...and how they differ...i'm sure if u read well u will understand.
Toxicarrow

Post by Toxicarrow »

Jinn wrote:
Toxicarrow wrote: By the virtue of attending secondary school at Agege and also studying at UI, I happen to know many ex-internationals (juniors) and national team players. For instance, the same Chidi Ordiah that you guys are screaming about has been in the national soccer scene since 1991/1992. For your information, he was one of many guys that played and trained at Agege Stadium with teams such as Concord FC, NIgerdock, Nigerlox, LSDPC , Vitalo and First Bank. 'The young Ordiah of the present days' started his foreign trials way back in 1993/1994.
u sabi ur soccer...nah 4 agege stadium, koko (sp?) pitch 4 ogba...and anwar ul islam pitch many boys dey train...

a classmate of mine wey join few clubs 4 division 3 including the NAA football club...he was claiming 2 be 13..around '91 he was 22...he never turned 14 even after playing 4 @ least 5 years in this division :lol: :lol:
Abi now....Yes, Agege stadium, Cocoa pitch near Guinness and Anwaru-Islam College pitch were the centres of action in those days. Emmanuel Ammunike was also a regular face in 1989/1990.

Toxicarrow wrote:
oloye wrote:Ayo
Are you saying Sam Elijah played u-17, because there is no record that says he did. For all i know he played u-21 in 1989 and for someone who left secondary school in 1985(was in the Sardauna secondary school that won the World school FC) i dont see any eyebrows to raise here. May be you meant another Sam Elijah, but there is only one Elijah who played football in Naija. So please nack us something about Elijah.
Sam Elijah played for the Flying Eagles in 1989. You are right, he played for Sardauna Memorial College Kaduna that won the world svchool championship in 1984.

I know Sam from my Kaduna days. Do you know that in Kakuri, Sam Elijah, Ayo Ogunlana and Rashidi Yekini all used to train on the same pitch?

I no wan put sand sand for anybodi gari so I will leave it hear for now. Anyway, you were very close to the action yourself, so you know what I am talking about.
Now Ayo, how can say for sure if Sam case was not one of Age ignorance?

Besides, we do not have conclusive evidence and hear-say usually creates more problems in this matter.
How can you say that the case of Sam is an age ignorance when Rasheed Yekini who never studied beyond primary 3 knows his age?

That being said, most parts of nation of Nigeria is not that backward in 70s (and 60s) that people would know that the age of their children or date of birth of their children.

By the virtue of attending secondary school at Agege and also studying at UI, I happen to know many ex-internationals (juniors) and national team players. For instance, the same Chidi Ordiah that you guys are screaming about has been in the national soccer scene since 1991/1992. For your information, he was one of many guys that played and trained at Agege Stadium with teams such as Concord FC, NIgerdock, Nigerlox, LSDPC , Vitalo and First Bank. 'The young Ordiah of the present days' started his foreign trials way back in 1993/1994.
Na becos Ordiah nor play for 3Sc you dey come here come put question marks for him age? Stop dat nonsense oh. :x :x :x :x
What about those 3Sc players? Why una remove their profile from the website?

Abeg stop this kain Bad Bellus. :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
It is not a bad belle. It is the fact. For your information, most of the Concord boys (Duke Udi and etal )and Nigerdock players of that era ended up in Shooting in 1994/1995. The movement was faciliated by Taiwo Ogunjobi who was a closer partner of Alhaji Edewor (the man who ran Concord FC). Also, Godfrey Esu who the coach of Nigerdock in that era, landed in Sooting in 1995/1996. These players with players got from Exide FC, Ibadan (Gbenga O, Mojeed Azeez and etal) formed the winning squad of Shooting in 1993/1994 (coached for a while by Uncle Alabi Aissien) and 1995/96 (coached by Esu).
The same Ogunjobi who went on to ruin Sootin. Toxic, abeg do not point any finger at any player about age fixing. I say let he who is without sin cast the first stone.

Jinn wrote:
u have not said anything different from what i said...but u damaged ur point with the german reference...the german star player in the U-17 tourney in 85 (Marcel Witeczek - highest goal scorer) was in their U-20 squad in 87...and that's 1...there were probably more.

so i may assume u don't know much about youth tourneys.
Well we had even more players from our 1985 U17 side that made it to U20 in '87. I stated that none of the players made it the German senior team. If you read my post again you'll see that I wasn't sure if any made it to U20 but definitely know that none made it to the senior team. Did Marcel Witeczek make it to the senior team? At least Ugbade played for SE for a bit.

Jinn wrote:
Jinn wrote:
i made a distinction between the problem in africa and europe/south america...and how they differ...i'm sure if u read well u will understand.
No you have not. You merely butressed the view that most Youth team players do not make at senior level. However, for some reason, you are convinced that for Naija, the sole cause of this non progression of youth players to the senior team is age fixing.
Jinn

Post by Jinn »

while marcel was a capable striker...it was certainly hard 2 make it into the german national squad that had been stable since 1982 (especially in the attacking position)! how many young players made it into the senior german squad between '82 and '90? the team was largely very successful because of this stability, which later led to their undoing since no young players were introduced 2 replace the aging stars....marcel just came along @ the wrong time...he could have very well made it 2 the senior team if he came along in the years following 1990.

@ least sammer made it 2 the national team...there certainly was a vacancy in the position he played and he took it.

so all in all, it's still an issue of competition and quite different from our own issue in nigeria.

as a matter of fact i think marcel still plays 4 Borussia Mönchengladbach (i need 2 confirm this though)...20 years later.
Toxicarrow

Post by Toxicarrow »

Waffiman wrote:[
The same Ogunjobi who went on to ruin Sootin. Toxic, abeg do not point any finger at any player about age fixing. I say let he who is without sin cast the first stone.
No false allegation. Just telling what I know about these folks. It breaks my heart when I see folks who are either 5+ older than me or my age mate claiming to be 21 and 17 years old in the national team uniforms. For your information, I was 19 years old when I was asked to 'disgust or be' an under-15 athlete for Lagos State in one of those national sport competition.
Last edited by Toxicarrow on Wed Mar 30, 2005 5:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Jinn

Post by Jinn »

Waffiman wrote: No you have not. You merely butressed the view that most Youth team players do not make at senior level. However, for some reason, you are convinced that for Naija, the sole cause of this non progression of youth players to the senior team is age fixing.
a player reduces his age by 10 years...get's into a club that hopes 2 develop him...and they r disappointed when this development doesn't take place...yet this is not the problem 2 u? if this isn't the problem i can only wish u goodluck...i really don't think there's any other problem bigger than this.

we will always adopt the "oyinbos cheat too" tactic...but how easy is it 2 get away with age cheating in europe? i can get online and obtain the age of anybody in america...it's probably possible in europe as well...matter of fact, ur family will probably report u as a cheat sef.

i already reached a conclusion on ur arguments when u said players may not know their ages...u r a funny dude :lol:
Toxicarrow

Post by Toxicarrow »

Jinn wrote:
Waffiman wrote: No you have not. You merely butressed the view that most Youth team players do not make at senior level. However, for some reason, you are convinced that for Naija, the sole cause of this non progression of youth players to the senior team is age fixing.
a player reduces his age by 10 years...get's into a club that hopes 2 develop him...and they r disappointed when this development doesn't take place...yet this is not the problem 2 u? if this isn't the problem i can only wish u goodluck...i really don't think there's any other problem bigger than this.

we will always adopt the "oyinbos cheat too" tactic...but how easy is it 2 get away with age cheating in europe? i can get online and obtain the age of anybody in america...it's probably possible in europe as well...matter of fact, ur family will probably report u as a cheat sef.

i already reached a conclusion on ur arguments when u said players may not know their ages...u r a funny dude :lol:
A case in point is Jide Olugbodi (who was once hailed on this site as next superstar because he was banging in goals in Austrian league). The bobo was claiming 23 years in 2001/2002 (almost a decade after he graduated from UI). Imagine that ?

No proper planning, to many factors that prevents them from moving up the chain, age factor and many more....
Ayo Odumade

Post by Ayo Odumade »

Ayo Akinfe wrote:Quickie, you failed to add the "Nigerian age factor" to your list of reasons. This football age our players use has not been helpful as it has resulted in many of them burning out as soon as they get on to their first rung on the ladder.
Namesake what do we do to rectify falsifying of age? When I challenged Bonfrere in Lagos shortly before he was sacked as to why he was not into the home-based players he said it is because they are not the age they say they are and when it is time for them to deliver you will find out they have already peaked. It is one of the main reasons why we have problems in the Nigerian society and it should not be tolerated in any shape or form. I can bet that with the exception of probably Babayaro none of the players are the age they claim to be!