Re: AKPAN UDOH
Re: Re: AKPAN UDOH
Nothing obvious about what he said.wale1974 wrote:Thank God people like you are not fit to be Oga to anything.............Imagine this rubbish.Its a Goal wrote:If I was still a moderator I would have locked this thread for the following reasons:
1. The accusation raised had no merit.
2. The so called evidence to support the accusation was successfully and unequivocally debunked.
3. The accuser is a perpetual and notorious poster fond of raising issues that have no substance.
4. The case is effectively closed and the thread will not add anymore value to the discuss.
Mods, please lock this thread. If possible txj should be given a 2 week suspension.
2 week suspension for stating the obvious...................Get lost my friend.
- Chief Ogbunigwe
wale1974 wrote:Thank God people like you are not fit to be Oga to anything.............Imagine this rubbish.Its a Goal wrote:If I was still a moderator I would have locked this thread for the following reasons:
2. The so called evidence to support the accusation was successfully and unequivocally debunked.
3. The accuser is a perpetual and notorious poster fond of raising issues that have no substance.
4. The case is effectively closed and the thread will not add anymore value to the discuss.
Mods, please lock this thread. If possible txj should be given a 2 week suspension.
2 week suspension for stating the obvious...................Get lost my friend.
gerra hia. You think we are still in 1974?
Is the site you referenced official? While I lived in Nigeria, everyone, regardless of background, started primary school at 5 years of age. This was definitely the norm and not the exception. Most of my classmates, irrespective of their backgrounds, were aged 16 years of age in SS3 except for those that repeated and those that skipped classes.txj wrote:Cito wrote:Txj, I know you so badly want to be right but you are the one with a fuzzy Maths. Look around you. Most people on here deal with complex calculations daily. Simple number cannot be used to bamboozle us.txj wrote:Its a Goal wrote:Insinuation of the age you purported he was in SS2 is a evidence of you making aspersion of age cheat. You are just being a coward not coming out to say so. If you continue to persist with this argument I will call on mods to take a vote on you. Surely you are violating forum rule making false accusations. Quit with all these innuendos.[color=brown]txj[/color] wrote:The thread will not be locked, and here is why:Its a Goal wrote: If I was still a moderator I would have locked this thread for the following reasons:
1.I have not accused Udoh of being overaged.
2. I have simply highlighted his chronology and raised questions about it.
3. I have also demonstrated that it doesn't fit into the normal pattern of kids in Nigeria.
First I'm not violating forum rules by stating an opinion.
If anything, u are the one violating forum by continuously insulting me personally!
Stay focused on the issue and stop being emotional. Raising up these things to bait me and get the thread locked will not work![]()
Fact is the premise on which your argument is based on was wrong. If you read my last input, I admitted it would seem out of place based on time and events if this kid was in SS2 in 2013. Now that we know the date you sited was wrong, then my assumptions were more sensible.
The kid I assumed started school in 2004 at 5 years of age and he completed the 6-3-3 in 12 total years which places him no more than 16 ( 16 in that the 2004 counted for his elementary 1) at this point in time.
Move on bro. You were wrong and we all have been wrong at one point or another. No shame in admitting you are in this case.
On what basis do you make this assumption? What official data supports it?
- metalalloy
- Flying Eagle
txj wrote:Damunk wrote:I thought you were first insisting he was in SS2 in 2013.txj wrote:I have not said Udoh is overaged. I have only said that the chronology that places him in SS2 in 2014 does not add up.
Or am I missing something?
Abi you don move goalposts again?
Yes I did, and I was wrong in identifying correctly the date on the article cited.
HOWEVER:
based on the normal/official starting age for primary school in Nigeria, and of the vast majority of kids, Udoh's chronology doesn't add up for him to be in SS2 in 2014.
Stats? Studies? links? any records? to back this up pls?
- theDunamis
Txj, I have been following your argument in this thread and you were at least attempting a reasonably sound method to raise questions about Udoh's stated age. But the above is quite frankly daft!!!! Why?txj wrote:My assumptions are based on the documented, official start age for primary school kids in Nigeria, not personal stories like your daughter, your wife's brother's son's nephew, etc...
I was two months beyond my 15th birthday on matriculation day. That is not the norm. To then compare ur daughter, from an elitist background to those of footballers is laughable...
Because in one breath you accept that anecdotes like green4life's are and can be exceptions to the documented "official" start age for primary school kids in Nigeria; but in the next breath you doggedly want to fit Udoh into this "official" box and not make provisions that he may also be an exception like others. That's illogical. If Udoh was so far off from the mainstream that he becomes an exception to the exceptions, then your argument and reasoning will be sound, but right now, you sound like you need to explain when and where you got through your first 12 years of education with such faulty logical reasoning.
When: So that you remove some doubt that you are not a mental U12
Where: So that we avoid sending any other person to where you acquired your logical reasoning skills
- metalalloy
- Flying Eagle
theDunamis wrote:Txj, I have been following your argument in this thread and you were at least attempting a reasonably sound method to raise questions about Udoh's stated age. But the above is quite frankly daft!!!! Why?txj wrote:My assumptions are based on the documented, official start age for primary school kids in Nigeria, not personal stories like your daughter, your wife's brother's son's nephew, etc...
I was two months beyond my 15th birthday on matriculation day. That is not the norm. To then compare ur daughter, from an elitist background to those of footballers is laughable...
Because in one breath you accept that anecdotes like green4life's are and can be exceptions to the documented "official" start age for primary school kids in Nigeria; but in the next breath you doggedly want to fit Udoh into this "official" box and not make provisions that he may also be an exception like others. That's illogical. If Udoh was so far off from the mainstream that he becomes an exception to the exceptions, then your argument and reasoning will be sound, but right now, you sound like you need to explain when and where you got through your first 12 years of education with such faulty logical reasoning.
Where: So that we avoid sending any other person to where you acquired your logical reasoning skills
The implicit point he is arguing is that footballers are too dumb to be an exception to his self declared "norm." Simple and short.
A child sitting at home and not going to school until age 6 is quite rare, esp in southern Nigeria. Neighbours will even abuse the parents....and it doesn't matter how poor you are.kzz5joa wrote:Is the site you referenced official? While I lived in Nigeria, everyone, regardless of background, started primary school at 5 years of age. This was definitely the norm and not the exception. Most of my classmates, irrespective of their backgrounds, were aged 16 years of age in SS3 except for those that repeated and those that skipped classes.txj wrote:Cito wrote:Txj, I know you so badly want to be right but you are the one with a fuzzy Maths. Look around you. Most people on here deal with complex calculations daily. Simple number cannot be used to bamboozle us.txj wrote:Its a Goal wrote:Insinuation of the age you purported he was in SS2 is a evidence of you making aspersion of age cheat. You are just being a coward not coming out to say so. If you continue to persist with this argument I will call on mods to take a vote on you. Surely you are violating forum rule making false accusations. Quit with all these innuendos.[color=brown]txj[/color] wrote:The thread will not be locked, and here is why:Its a Goal wrote: If I was still a moderator I would have locked this thread for the following reasons:
1.I have not accused Udoh of being overaged.
2. I have simply highlighted his chronology and raised questions about it.
3. I have also demonstrated that it doesn't fit into the normal pattern of kids in Nigeria.
First I'm not violating forum rules by stating an opinion.
If anything, u are the one violating forum by continuously insulting me personally!
Stay focused on the issue and stop being emotional. Raising up these things to bait me and get the thread locked will not work![]()
Fact is the premise on which your argument is based on was wrong. If you read my last input, I admitted it would seem out of place based on time and events if this kid was in SS2 in 2013. Now that we know the date you sited was wrong, then my assumptions were more sensible.
The kid I assumed started school in 2004 at 5 years of age and he completed the 6-3-3 in 12 total years which places him no more than 16 ( 16 in that the 2004 counted for his elementary 1) at this point in time.
Move on bro. You were wrong and we all have been wrong at one point or another. No shame in admitting you are in this case.
On what basis do you make this assumption? What official data supports it?
In the north it is a different matter.
We have something called nursery school in Nigeria!
We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
theDunamis wrote:Txj, I have been following your argument in this thread and you were at least attempting a reasonably sound method to raise questions about Udoh's stated age. But the above is quite frankly daft!!!! Why?txj wrote:My assumptions are based on the documented, official start age for primary school kids in Nigeria, not personal stories like your daughter, your wife's brother's son's nephew, etc...
The exceptions are the small minority of kids who start school at 5yrs.
Footballers don't fit that exception; and not just in Nigeria. Footballers are not exceptional students. Doesn't mean they are daft; just means their intelligence is expressed differently...
metalalloy wrote:txj wrote:Damunk wrote:I thought you were first insisting he was in SS2 in 2013.txj wrote:I have not said Udoh is overaged. I have only said that the chronology that places him in SS2 in 2014 does not add up.
Or am I missing something?
Abi you don move goalposts again?
Yes I did, and I was wrong in identifying correctly the date on the article cited.
HOWEVER:
based on the normal/official starting age for primary school in Nigeria, and of the vast majority of kids, Udoh's chronology doesn't add up for him to be in SS2 in 2014.
Stats? Studies? links? any records? to back this up pls?
The world bank keeps data on the starting age for primary school across the world. I have posted the link here. Use it bro!
aruako1 wrote:There is no such thing as "documented official start age for primary school kids in Nigeria". A world bank report that suggests that most Nigerian kids start primary school at 6 does not mean that it is not uncommon for kids to start at 5. The boy is 16 in SS3. Perfectly normal for Nigeria.txj wrote:green4life wrote:One of my daughters is in SS1 (10th grade equivalent) but she's only 13yrs old. In USA, her peers are not less than 16yrs old. And partly due to growing up in USA plus her moms good cooking, she's a big girl for her age but if I didn't divulge you wouldn't know she's only 13.txj wrote:Why is he not usual?wanaj0 wrote:Maybe because he is not the USUAL. Many prople spend ONLY 5 years in primary school.
In any case, your assertions are Not true. Its a few who do finish in 5yrs.
Now I know ALL the age-cheating apologists here will now claim they finished primary school at 4-5yrs, but that is not typical.
The typical start age for primary school in Nigeria is 5-6, and far more are 6yrs when they start.
And the early starters are usually the brighter kids. They are usually not kids from the background that the typical Nigerian footballer comes from.
My point being that the assumptions used to reach your assertions are flawed. You have no proof yet you're hurting a young man's name.
My assumptions are based on the documented, official start age for primary school kids in Nigeria, not personal stories like your daughter, your wife's brother's son's nephew, etc...
There is. That's why we have an education system called the 6-3-3-4. What the WB data shows is the norm. The exception is the minority that start earlier than 6yrs.
If u bothered to read the OP, you would've found that I've never questioned whether the boy is 16yrs old in SS3.
I've repeatedly stated here that I question the chronology of his records that puts him in SS2 in 2014, based on the normal start age for kids in primary school, which remains 6yrs.
Actually, the WB data you referenced is questionable - based on what we know about the normal school age especially in Southern Nigeria. As I mentioned earlier, everyone I know started primary school at age 5 - no exceptions as this was definitely the system in place.txj wrote:aruako1 wrote:There is no such thing as "documented official start age for primary school kids in Nigeria". A world bank report that suggests that most Nigerian kids start primary school at 6 does not mean that it is not uncommon for kids to start at 5. The boy is 16 in SS3. Perfectly normal for Nigeria.txj wrote:green4life wrote:One of my daughters is in SS1 (10th grade equivalent) but she's only 13yrs old. In USA, her peers are not less than 16yrs old. And partly due to growing up in USA plus her moms good cooking, she's a big girl for her age but if I didn't divulge you wouldn't know she's only 13.txj wrote:Why is he not usual?wanaj0 wrote:Maybe because he is not the USUAL. Many prople spend ONLY 5 years in primary school.
Now I know ALL the age-cheating apologists here will now claim they finished primary school at 4-5yrs, but that is not typical.
The typical start age for primary school in Nigeria is 5-6, and far more are 6yrs when they start.
And the early starters are usually the brighter kids. They are usually not kids from the background that the typical Nigerian footballer comes from.
My point being that the assumptions used to reach your assertions are flawed. You have no proof yet you're hurting a young man's name.
My assumptions are based on the documented, official start age for primary school kids in Nigeria, not personal stories like your daughter, your wife's brother's son's nephew, etc...
There is. That's why we have an education system called the 6-3-3-4. What the WB data shows is the norm. The exception is the minority that start earlier than 6yrs.
If u bothered to read the OP, you would've found that I've never questioned whether the boy is 16yrs old in SS3.
I've repeatedly stated here that I question the chronology of his records that puts him in SS2 in 2014, based on the normal start age for kids in primary school, which remains 6yrs.
txj wrote:aruako1 wrote:There is no such thing as "documented official start age for primary school kids in Nigeria". A world bank report that suggests that most Nigerian kids start primary school at 6 does not mean that it is not uncommon for kids to start at 5. The boy is 16 in SS3. Perfectly normal for Nigeria.txj wrote:green4life wrote:One of my daughters is in SS1 (10th grade equivalent) but she's only 13yrs old. In USA, her peers are not less than 16yrs old. And partly due to growing up in USA plus her moms good cooking, she's a big girl for her age but if I didn't divulge you wouldn't know she's only 13.txj wrote:Why is he not usual?wanaj0 wrote:Maybe because he is not the USUAL. Many prople spend ONLY 5 years in primary school.
No, you questioned how he could be in SS2 in 2013! When you were caught in a lie and showed that he was in SS2 in 2014, you knew the game was up, but your ego will not let you admit you were wrong. In this very thread, you agreed that most kids in Nigeria finished around 16/17. When i showed you proof using your evidence that he finished at 16, you still carried on. You are a piece of work!
- Curve whiz
You surely have a serious ego problem sha! A bit of advice...when you're in hole, just stop digging man

I started school at 4 in Ondo state and could have finished form 5 at 15 years. But, I changed school, joined them in form 2 instead of form 3, then our set joined the 6:3:3:4 system and I ended up finishing at 17 years cos of an extra year at SS3. So where do you get your facts from?

txj wrote:theDunamis wrote:Txj, I have been following your argument in this thread and you were at least attempting a reasonably sound method to raise questions about Udoh's stated age. But the above is quite frankly daft!!!! Why?txj wrote:My assumptions are based on the documented, official start age for primary school kids in Nigeria, not personal stories like your daughter, your wife's brother's son's nephew, etc...
Footballers don't fit that exception; and not just in Nigeria. Footballers are not exceptional students. Doesn't mean they are daft; just means their intelligence is expressed differently...
- metalalloy
- Flying Eagle
txj wrote:theDunamis wrote:Txj, I have been following your argument in this thread and you were at least attempting a reasonably sound method to raise questions about Udoh's stated age. But the above is quite frankly daft!!!! Why?txj wrote:My assumptions are based on the documented, official start age for primary school kids in Nigeria, not personal stories like your daughter, your wife's brother's son's nephew, etc...
Just wow

- green4life
I can assure you that the average naija kid starts primary school at 5yrs old (Many at 4). Whether rich or poor. My daughter is at one end of the spectrum but how do you explain my last son who at 6yrs old and in primary 1, is practically the oldest kid in his class! And he comes from the same so called elitist womb that churned out my daughter.txj wrote:green4life wrote:One of my daughters is in SS1 (10th grade equivalent) but she's only 13yrs old. In USA, her peers are not less than 16yrs old. And partly due to growing up in USA plus her moms good cooking, she's a big girl for her age but if I didn't divulge you wouldn't know she's only 13.txj wrote:Why is he not usual?wanaj0 wrote:Maybe because he is not the USUAL. Many prople spend ONLY 5 years in primary school.
Again my point being that your assumptions are flawed. I could explain that reasons why one skipped a couple levels whereas the other didn't but it doesn't matter. All you need to know is age had nothing to do with it. I'm perfectly happy with my 6yr old being a Papa in primary one and ironically, I'm not that thrilled that my daughter moved too fast. But what does any of this have to do with estimating their respective ages? Nothing.
Adokiye became attorney general. Odegbami, Usiyen, Emenalo and even Taiwo Awoniyi.metalalloy wrote:txj wrote:theDunamis wrote:Txj, I have been following your argument in this thread and you were at least attempting a reasonably sound method to raise questions about Udoh's stated age. But the above is quite frankly daft!!!! Why?txj wrote:My assumptions are based on the documented, official start age for primary school kids in Nigeria, not personal stories like your daughter, your wife's brother's son's nephew, etc...
Just wowBecause there is a way to determine ones future at age 5? Just for clarity sake, are you saying no naija footballer fits the exception of kids who start school at age 5? I would love to know a chemical engineer like Seyi Olofinjana started education
- Cristao II
I have even posted on this thread that I was born in 1982 and was in Hussey College by the time I was 9. My son is unfortunate in that his school insists that his age must determine his class and as such he will be 5 instead of 4 when he starts primary school. It is very irritating for me. He is clearly smarter than the people in his class but montessori schools insist on age (That is another argument).
TXJ, the hypothesis put forward is flawed. Find another one - a better one and at least consult CE members on the ground. It is not unusual in Nigeria to find kids who are book smart and good sports people. It is the one positive I see in the Nigerian schooling system. Popularity in school is often determined by intelligence and sportiness.
Below is a plausible explanation.txj wrote:1. DOB: July 1999
2. 2005: Start Primary School: Typical start age in Nigeria is 5-6 years
3. JULY 2009: Called to NFF-U13 camp: http://www.kickoff.com/news/9890/nff-in ... er-13-camp
How old would he be to be called to U-13 camp, considering that in July 2009 he is 9-10yrs?
4. 2011: Finish Primary School: Typical duration of primary education in Nigeria is 6 years. UDOH'S PROJECTED AGE: 12 years
Note, that I am assuming Udoh started primary school at 6 yrs old, which is typical for kids with his background. The typical Nigerian kid of his background would be done with primary school at 12yrs.
This is the world bank data for starting age for primary school in Nigeria in 2005 and beyond:
http://data.worldbank.org/indicator/SE.PRM.AGES?page=2
No its not strange, but that is not the normal pattern.
Every age apologist on CE started primary school straight from the womb!!!!
5. 2011: Start Junior Secondary: Typical duration in Nigeria is 3 years. UDOH'S PROJECTED AGE: 11 years
This is where it starts to get fuzzy.
6. 2014: He is an SS2 student at Akesan Community Grammar School in Ikenne.
How could he be in SS2 in 2014, based on his primary school starting date?
http://www.futaa.com/football/article/e ... s-leopards
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=252309
Now I'm not saying Udoh is overaged, but my question is:
How is this possible?
How is it that his biodata does not conform to the usual for a Nigerian youth?
This are not official records!.
Akpan Udoh Born 18/07/1999
Primary 1 2004-05
Primary 2 2005-06
Primary 3 2006-07
Primary 4 2007-08
Primary 5 2008-09
Junior Secondary 1 2009-10
Junior Secondary 2 2010-11
Junior Secondary 3 2011-12
Senior Secondary 1 2012-13
Senior Secondary 2 2013-14
Senior Secondary 3 2014-15
http://theeagleonline.com.ng/amosun-tas ... t-players/

http://www.vanguardngr.com/2013/08/ogun ... -to-italy/

http://www.fifa.com/fifa-tournaments/pl ... ml#2731553

- metalalloy
- Flying Eagle
The world bank keeps data on the starting age for primary school across the world. I have posted the link here. Use it bro!
Thank you. I did not see your earlier response. The following is from your link:
That is a big assumption. There are other studies that show that that approximately 30% of primary school students are outside of the official school age range of age 6-11 reported (both overage and underage). 30% is not an insignificant number.Primary school starting age (years)
Entrance age of primary is the age at which students would enter primary education, assuming they had started at the official entrance age for the lowest level of education, had studied full-time throughout and had progressed through the system without repeating or skipping a grade.
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
This thread is funny sha...
Too funny to comment.
Anyway, na una way no know TXJ way go continue to argue with am. It is like arguing with Comrade CICOB. They know what they know and no matter what, you will not change their mind.
Kickoff is now official age keeper for Naija.
World Bank stats is now official stats... jos like majority of us live on less than $1/day. Please can we get more donations from WB to help us feed and keep better records?
Ps., Naija suppose import the knowledge of how to beat MRI machines to our Ghananese bredas. I bet their Secret Police is furiously searching to find out how the Naijarians are doing it.

Too funny to comment.
Anyway, na una way no know TXJ way go continue to argue with am. It is like arguing with Comrade CICOB. They know what they know and no matter what, you will not change their mind.
Kickoff is now official age keeper for Naija.
World Bank stats is now official stats... jos like majority of us live on less than $1/day. Please can we get more donations from WB to help us feed and keep better records?
Ps., Naija suppose import the knowledge of how to beat MRI machines to our Ghananese bredas. I bet their Secret Police is furiously searching to find out how the Naijarians are doing it.

It doesn't take anything from the 6-3-3-4 system. You appear far from the reality. My kid in sec school spent 5 years while the one in pry 5 now is preparing for sec schl. Cos of the years spent in pre-primary school, pry 6 is becoming extinct though you can still find that in some public schools. And at the end of the day, they get their pry schl leaving cert, which says they read pry 6.txj wrote:I can understand why most here are attacking me rather than dealing with the issues. Because realistically, there is nothing else to do!
The problem is that it is not about me, txj.
Its about the math....It simply does not add up, based on the chronology of his records as publicly declared.
Predictably, all sorts of red herring are being pulled from the ar$e:
Me, my sister and I started primary school at 2 and finished at 4!
Nobody goes to primary 6!
Never mind that Nigeria still has the 6-3-3-4 system, and employs teachers to teach primary school students!!!
Its the Math, b1tches!!!
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe
Primary six has been threatened with extinction for decades.anointed wrote:It doesn't take anything from the 6-3-3-4 system. You appear far from the reality. My kid in sec school spent 5 years while the one in pry 5 now is preparing for sec schl. Cos of the years spent in pre-primary school, pry 6 is becoming extinct though you can still find that in some public schools. And at the end of the day, they get their pry schl leaving cert, which says they read pry 6.txj wrote:I can understand why most here are attacking me rather than dealing with the issues. Because realistically, there is nothing else to do!
The problem is that it is not about me, txj.
Its about the math....It simply does not add up, based on the chronology of his records as publicly declared.
Predictably, all sorts of red herring are being pulled from the ar$e:
Me, my sister and I started primary school at 2 and finished at 4!
Nobody goes to primary 6!
Never mind that Nigeria still has the 6-3-3-4 system, and employs teachers to teach primary school students!!!
Its the Math, b1tches!!!
None of my classmates did Pry 6.
None of our kids (as far as I know) did Pry 6.
Nigerian parents are more likely to push their kids, rushing them into schools early, even before they are ready.
I am actually surprised some people still see Pry 6 as the norm rather than the exception.