Reactions to Nigeria's U-17 win on the UK Guardian site
- cic old boy
- Flying Eagle
Reactions to Nigeria's U-17 win on the UK Guardian site
chiefhairyman 34m ago
Amazingly, Nigeria have won the U-17s tournament 4 times, and were beaten finalists on another 2 occasions. In fact out of the total 13 tournaments so far, West African sides have produced 11 finalists. Strange that the adult national side rarely achieves much......
JohnBarnesOnToast 50m ago
They can retire now with their heads held high.
HopelessUnbeliever87 2h ago
Congratulations to the Nigerian U25s.
http://www.theguardian.com/football/pic ... n#comments
Re: Reactions to Nigeria's U-17 win on the UK Guardian site
Comments like this pain me to the bone, but the truth is that it's a reaction to our history. We should not waste energy fighting, or trying to "correct" them. Rather, we need to expend the energy to translate youth success to senior level. Then over time, such comments will cease.
Onye kwe, Chi ya ekwe
- FATHER TIKO
And we're supposed to accept their stereotyping as fact?
Let them keep wallowing in their snobbery...If not for our admin shenanigans, we should be regularly flogging their over-rated National Team.
I remember the pre-match press-conference before the 1994 friendly at Wembley, when most of their journos were sounding a bit condescending.
I'll never forget Amodu's cool rebuke: "England did not even qualify for the WCup... we came within a whisker of making the QFinals..."
Let them keep wallowing in their snobbery...If not for our admin shenanigans, we should be regularly flogging their over-rated National Team.
I remember the pre-match press-conference before the 1994 friendly at Wembley, when most of their journos were sounding a bit condescending.
I'll never forget Amodu's cool rebuke: "England did not even qualify for the WCup... we came within a whisker of making the QFinals..."
"...Some say football is not a matter of life and death;
I can assure you it's more important than that..."
- Bill Shankly
I can assure you it's more important than that..."
- Bill Shankly
I agree, but let's flog them first, and then we can look down on them. That's where the #$%^ in the armour is.FATHER TIKO wrote:And we're supposed to accept their stereotyping as fact?
Onye kwe, Chi ya ekwe
Well, I don't recall them flogging us (in a competitive game) either...Chxta wrote:I agree, but let's flog them first, and then we can look down on them. That's where the #$%^ in the armour is.
So, what predicates their dumb arrogance? That they once won a 16-team Africa-less WC at home before most of us were born?

cic old boy wrote:chiefhairyman 34m ago
Amazingly, Nigeria have won the U-17s tournament 4 times, and were beaten finalists on another 2 occasions. In fact out of the total 13 tournaments so far, West African sides have produced 11 finalists. Strange that the adult national side rarely achieves much......
JohnBarnesOnToast 50m ago
They can retire now with their heads held high.
HopelessUnbeliever87 2h ago
Congratulations to the Nigerian U25s.
http://www.theguardian.com/football/pic ... n#comments
Yeah and England has the best league in the world but haven't won anything of significance since 1966
Abeg carry go with this nonsense
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
And the funny thing is that we are yet to play them with a good team in a competitive game.Gotti wrote:Well, I don't recall them beating us (in a competitive game) either...Chxta wrote:I agree, but let's flog them first, and then we can look down on them. That's where the #$%^ in the armour is.
But wait o, what is the significance of posting some nonsensical statement from an obviously nitwit doing on CE? Is it to show us that the Brits also have dimwits?

- cic old boy
- Flying Eagle
1. England do not have the best league in the world. According to Uefa, they are 3rd best in Europe behind Spain and Germany.BAP wrote:
Yeah and England has the best league in the world but haven't won anything of significance since 1966
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UEFA_coef ... nt_ranking
2. It is quite possible that the comments above were not written by English people. So the England-bashing could be misplaced.
...and that has been our achilles heel, and may continue to be so.FATHER TIKO wrote:And we're supposed to accept their stereotyping as fact?
These u-something teams stayed together for a long time before any tournament as opposed to the big boys, scattered all over, and trickle in few days to a major match.
I know people will say how about other countries that win fifa senior tournaments?
Well, they have good admins for starters.
The players are concentrated in one league, on one continent.
Their handlers are not as selfish as ours, ducking kobos and nairas here and there from players.
Until those issues (players welfare) are handled proper we will continue to see negative comments from haters.
What has their senior side done for having the "best league in the word," the last time they won the world cup was in 1966, besides are they going to correct all the politics and cheating at the senior word cup? They want us to believe that there is no fraud at FIFA. Nig vs France in still fresh on my mind, where we were literally cheat cheated us out of the competition. They can continue fooling themselves but one thing I promise them is that, the end is near. Nigeria and the Cameroon won the Olympic gold and I'm wondering if they consider that men against boys too.
A pretty good piece on the issue. My only quarrel with it is the last table. The performance of U17 teams should be correlated with the national team performances a little further down the line. But a good piece all in all.
Onye kwe, Chi ya ekwe
cic old boy wrote:1. England do not have the best league in the world. According to Uefa, they are 3rd best in Europe behind Spain and Germany.BAP wrote:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UEFA_coef ... nt_ranking
2. It is quite possible that the comments above were not written by English people. So the England-bashing could be misplaced.
Well we know that a certain CIColdBoy whom posted a link to his tabloid blog on there isn't English so you are right in that regardhttp://www.theguardian.com/football/pic ... n#comments
CICOldBoy 14m ago
MRI scans were introduced in 2009, but there are still question marks over their use with Nigerian "youth" footballers: http://www.naijiant.com/sports/is-niger ... -football/

- cic old boy
- Flying Eagle
Nitwits of the world, unite!Cellular wrote: But wait o, what is the significance of posting some nonsensical statement from an obviously nitwit doing on CE? Is it to show us that the Brits also have dimwits?
- Scipio Africanus
The comments were probably written by Mexicans.
Dem don suffer.
They go into PTSD mode when they hear the word "Nigeria".

Dem don suffer.

They go into PTSD mode when they hear the word "Nigeria".

Ex nihilo nihil fit
Danfo driver when he comes across a new pic to add to his large collection:

That is EnuguII''s pieceChxta wrote:A pretty good piece on the issue. My only quarrel with it is the last table. The performance of U17 teams should be correlated with the national team performances a little further down the line. But a good piece all in all.
truth hurts right
- metalalloy
- Flying Eagle
Cellular wrote:And the funny thing is that we are yet to play them with a good team in a competitive game.Gotti wrote:Well, I don't recall them beating us (in a competitive game) either...Chxta wrote:I agree, but let's flog them first, and then we can look down on them. That's where the #$%^ in the armour is.
But wait o, what is the significance of posting some nonsensical statement from an obviously nitwit doing on CE? Is it to show us that the Brits also have dimwits?
This! Wetin consign me with a comment from their version of Kolinzo?
Irrelevant commentary
Please tell me where most of the players of the tournaments have been Career wise after U 17
There are many factors affecting why we have not been successful beyond U17, but its a lazy approach to think age is the most significant. In fact its significance is decreasing each tournament
Please tell me where most of the players of the tournaments have been Career wise after U 17
There are many factors affecting why we have not been successful beyond U17, but its a lazy approach to think age is the most significant. In fact its significance is decreasing each tournament
Naija can shame these people by winning at least one Senior world cup
As far as the SE keep struggling to even make it to the "main dance", these allegation & innuendos will continue
How many countries have won the main dance? What do these countries have in common?Rawlings wrote:Naija can shame these people by winning at least one Senior world cup
- metalalloy
- Flying Eagle
Rawlings wrote:Naija can shame these people by winning at least one Senior world cup
Nah brah, Naija doesn't need to "shame" anybody. All they gotta do is keep winning baby.
winning more U17 titles is of no good to Naija. Time to move on to bigger thingsmetalalloy wrote:Rawlings wrote:Naija can shame these people by winning at least one Senior world cup
Nah brah, Naija doesn't need to "shame" anybody. All they gotta do is keep winning baby.
You cannot be driving in first gear forever

- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
"Struggling"? You think it is a Naijarian problem only?Rawlings wrote:Naija can shame these people by winning at least one Senior world cup
Won't it be nice that you all (Ghana) can go to a World Cup and worry about just playing?