CAF U23: Nigeria 0 Vs Algeria 0

Re: CAF U23: Nigeria 0 Vs Algeria 0 (2ND HALF)

I didn't see that. They pass the ball quite well and seem to be quite organized. I don't think Siasia's side was better

They'd field a much stronger side at the Oympics with guys like Riyad Mahrez and Sofiane Feghouli
YUJAM wrote:I disagree. They are quite good.

So Nigeria vs Senegal semi on Wed.. I am sure the Senegalese don't like the match-up one bit!
Of the 3 teams we've faced, Algeria has been the poorest (albeit, they were playing for a draw)...
If they qualify for Rio and play this way, they'll be home before the bags are unpacked - same for us!

YUJAM wrote:I didn't see that. They pass the ball quite well and seem to be quite organized. I don't think Siasia's side was better

They'd field a much stronger side at the Oympics with guys like Riyad Mahrez and Sofiane Feghouli
I do not think our team is great either...
But of all the teams we faced, Algeria was the least threatening (again, albeit playing for a draw).

As for the Olympics (if both teams qualify)...
Sans the GK (and RB, where we're traditionally bare), Nigeria could easily field an entirely different XI!

aamimar
PROBATION

Post by aamimar »

So Nigeria vs Senegal semi on Wed.. I am sure the Senegalese don't like the match-up one bit!
Of the 3 teams we've faced, Algeria has been the poorest (albeit, they were playing for a draw)...
If they qualify for Rio and play this way, they'll be home before the bags are unpacked - same for us!
Stop counting your chickens... No one has qualified for Rio yet.
If Algeria get there, Bentaleb, Mahrez, Brahimi and Slimani will be added to the team :taunt:
BOOOOM ANTAR YAHIA! SUDAN WE LOVE YOU!

So do you guys think our players are just bad, or is it the unthinkable....Siasia? :idea:

smartbrother wrote:
tunde72 wrote:All this team need is just to qualify so that the real players can take charge of the olympics
90% of these guys will play in Rio if we qualify
Only additions i expect are Ndidi and Amuzie
I think you meant will not. CAF is punishing Nigeria.

Alampasu
Amuzie
Madu
Muhammad
Nura
Ekong
Omeruo
Ndidi
Mikel Agu
Simon Moses
Isaac Succes
Iheanacho

theYemster wrote:So why was folem arguing about goal scored > goal difference? Some people just like to argue blindly. Thank God Egypt didn't beat Mali 2-0 cos we would've been out.
folem was right but Egypt losing meant that 3-way H2H scenario never happened. I'm surprised supposedly intelligent people still have problems grasping this H2H rule. It comes up again and again, year after year, and people STILL can't figure it out. If I'm not mistaken that was how SA was eliminated from the Nations cup qualifiers a few years back when they were celebrating thinking they were through but had actually lost out on the 3-way H2H.

Damunk wrote:So do you guys think our players are just bad, or is it the unthinkable....Siasia? :idea:
I think SSS is to blame.

Damunk wrote:So do you guys think our players are just bad, or is it the unthinkable....Siasia? :idea:
considering the lack of standout talent in this team, this is a very solid side
we've emerged from a tough group with relative ease
and are on the cusp of securng qualification for th olympics
sia1 is a fantastic coach afaic
folem

Post by folem »

Orion wrote:
theYemster wrote:So why was folem arguing about goal scored > goal difference? Some people just like to argue blindly. Thank God Egypt didn't beat Mali 2-0 cos we would've been out.
folem was right but Egypt losing meant that 3-way H2H scenario never happened. I'm surprised supposedly intelligent people still have problems grasping this H2H rule. It comes up again and again, year after year, and people STILL can't figure it out. If I'm not mistaken that was how SA was eliminated from the Nations cup qualifiers a few years back when they were celebrating thinking they were through but had actually lost out on the 3-way H2H.
A lot of people get confused when it is a 3-way tie.

aamimar wrote:

If Algeria get there, Bentaleb, Mahrez, Brahimi and Slimani will be added to the team :taunt:
I know English is not your first language...
But next time, read and comprehend before you start babbling like a CLOSET drunkard! :taunt:
Last edited by Gotti on Sat Dec 05, 2015 9:24 pm, edited 2 times in total.

smartbrother wrote:
considering the lack of standout talent in this team, this is a very solid side
we've emerged from a tough group with relative ease
and are on the cusp of securng qualification for th olympics
sia1 is a fantastic coach afaic
Exactly! It even lacks the usual Naija standout striker (Ajayi has underwhelmed)...
Nonetheless, the TEAM (not individuals) has found enough to come through a tough group.

Missed the game. Congrats to the boys!!

aamimar
PROBATION

Post by aamimar »

aamimar wrote:

But next time, read and comprehend before you start babbling like a CLOSET drunkard! :taunt:
Duuh! didn't know Shakespeare was Nigerian :D
Besides what makes you think u were better than Algeria.. As far as i know u couldn't beat us :taunt:
BOOOOM ANTAR YAHIA! SUDAN WE LOVE YOU!

aamimar wrote:

Duuh! didn't know Shakespeare was Nigerian :D
Besides what makes you think u were better than Algeria.. As far as i know u couldn't beat us :taunt:
Oh gosh, where did he say Nigeria were better than Algeria? He just said they looked the least threatening of the 3 teams that we played. But also that Nigeria is crappy and like Algeria we will need a big overhaul if we make it to Rio (if we want to make an impact that is).

maceo4 wrote: Oh gosh, where did he say Nigeria were better than Algeria? He just said they looked the least threatening of the 3 teams that we played. But also that Nigeria is crappy and like Algeria we will need a big overhaul if we make it to Rio (if we want to make an impact that is).
Please let's not waste any more time on someone for whom basic comprehension is so obviously a challenge...

omoelenia

Post by omoelenia »

anointed wrote:
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:Just landed at Seattle airport to find out say we no dey go olympics. :scared:
That must be the Ifa Olympics.
Don't use Ifa for the silly purpose of yabbis. Ifa is sacred to some.

I haven't seen our boys play so far but me I think guys exaggerate too much. Just like every other team in the tournament we have room for improvement but the object of this tournament is to qualify for the Olympics. I don't really care how we get the job done as long as we get it done.

All teams in the group (as is) would disgrace Africa, if they featured in the Olympics, including Nigeria.

BUT this is merely Nigeria's qualification team, which is why....Nigeria is the only one I would be comfortable seeing in the Olympics. I don't know about Senegal or the others, I haven't seen any others outside our group.

If that is Algeria's Olympic team (proper), I don't even know why they are bothering. I sincerely hope that is not their real team.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

None of the teams in the tourney except possibly Zambia would fair badly in an Oympics tourney. So no shaking.

That said, I think Algeria has some major talent they can bring in. The same can be said for Senegal and Nigeria
Tbite wrote:

All teams in the group (as is) would disgrace Africa, if they featured in the Olympics, including Nigeria.

BUT this is merely Nigeria's qualification team, which is why....Nigeria is the only one I would be comfortable seeing in the Olympics. I don't know about Senegal or the others, I haven't seen any others outside our group.

If that is Algeria's Olympic team (proper), I don't even know why they are bothering. I sincerely hope that is not their real team.

YUJAM wrote:None of the teams in the tourney except possibly Zambia would fair badly in an Oympics tourney. So no shaking.

That said, I think Algeria has some major talent they can bring in. The same can be said for Senegal and Nigeria
Tbite wrote:

Ikeme
Seth or Amuzie, Omeruo, Ambrose, Madu

Muhammed, Ndidi
Success, Iheanacho, Ighalo, S Moses

Re: CAF U23: Nigeria 0 Vs Algeria 0

People always forget that once we get to the olympics is a totally different ball games.Many teams only do gra-gra in African qualifiers till they get on the world stage...

omoelenia wrote:
anointed wrote:
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:Just landed at Seattle airport to find out say we no dey go olympics. :scared:
That must be the Ifa Olympics.
Don't use Ifa for the silly purpose of yabbis. Ifa is sacred to some.
You should take up the task of writing stuff like this anytime you think a religion is used for the "silly purpose of yabbis". I can assure you that you'd have your work cut out on CE.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe