Home based Eagles can match our FB

Given we do not have many SE players playing at the very top of European Leagues, the HB eagles are just as good as FB

Why are people afraid of saying this. Look at the way they just destroyed Niger.

Add Iheanacho, Mikel and a few others we should play them against Egypt.
okidoki
Re: Home based Eagles can match our FB

Post by okidoki »

Left for me, we should always have at least 30% being home based, especially during qualifiers.

Post by Super Eagle »

It's against Niger, guys. They played well but let's not go overboard ... it's early days yet. They are yet to be tested.

Talk to me after they win the tournament ... then we can talk.

O pari
Note to: Emir Kongi, big porkey, and smartbrother: Don't talk unless you can improve the silence. (c)
www.awooze.com

#BringBackOurGirls
Hashtag #KeshiDonHammer

Robotnik wrote:Given we do not have many SE players playing at the very top of European Leagues, the HB eagles are just as good as FB

Why are people afraid of saying this. Look at the way they just destroyed Niger.

bya Canadian please it's just one game against the mighty Niger Republic. Abeg you eh, no over do am eh! This isn't curling or hockey eh?

Robotnik wrote:Given we do not have many SE players playing at the very top of European Leagues, the HB eagles are just as good as FB

This seem like an 'ulteration' made due to euphoria. There is a reason why most of these guys are home based. Do I see some of them nudging the current FB ones out of starting position? Yup but on the overall scheme of things, most of our best legs are based outside our shores.

The other question to analyze is why is it that from our so called 'poor' local leagues we are able to come up with decent 11 players for international tournaments.

Time and time again, from u20 to U23 to the senior team this has been the story but for a few exceptions.

It appear the aggregation of the performance of our players in the national team far exceed the norm and it is several levels higher than NPFL footie. What could be responsible?

I agree 30 percent home based is good. It will promote the league and help the NFF reduce cost. No player will hold us for ransom.

Easy on that! They are good but the above is a reach o! There are several home based guys who will make the A team but I would not jettison the foreign-based. Remember, one advantage they (HB) have is they have tons of time training together under Oliseh and his crew. The foreign-based do not have that yet until a tournament appears near the corner.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
sholaJay

Post by sholaJay »

If you're comparing them to keshi Eagles aka the likes of amoebi nwofor Gabriel Reuben oduamadi uchebo and co then yes. But we haven't seen Nigerias best legs play for the team in a competitive tournament for a long time. So no these HB have nothing on our most talented foreign pros.

...this home based players today showed what it is like to practice/play together for a long time before an important match.
What I saw shows the guys understand each other, and know each other's movement.

sholaJay wrote:If you're comparing them to keshi Eagles aka the likes of amoebi nwofor Gabriel Reuben oduamadi uchebo and co then yes. But we haven't seen Nigerias best legs play for the team in a competitive tournament for a long time. So no these HB have nothing on our most talented foreign pros.
...note, the most talented foreign pros are talented to and for their foreign clubs not SE when it matters. We have seen that many a time, where a group of "talented foreign pros" cannot defeat local based African side.
papilo

Post by papilo »

okidoki wrote:Left for me, we should always have at least 30% being home based, especially during qualifiers.
We should invite our best players regardless of where they play
yes o

Context, folks!
Game was against Niger, for crying out loud.
Enough with the mega-hyping!!!

Just after one game?

what if the win the cup?
The headline will be "Home based Eagles can win the [U17] world cup"

Kai after the almighty Niger

Bigpokey24 wrote:Kai after the almighty Niger

Don't mind these people, against a home based Niger team, and now they are ready to take on Argentina and Germany.

Why can't we just look at 1 or 2 individual components that may be of use to SE

Instead we make these stupid statements
Do people remember how we hyped that guy after the last CHAN.

sholaJay wrote:If you're comparing them to keshi Eagles aka the likes of amoebi nwofor Gabriel Reuben oduamadi uchebo and co then yes. But we haven't seen Nigerias best legs play for the team in a competitive tournament for a long time. So no these HB have nothing on our most talented foreign pros.
Please list those most talented foreign pros.

People forget that the same Niger team the so called foreign pros struggled to beat by 2-0 a few months ago in a friendly. The sacred foreign pros.

We tend to jump to conclusions too quickly

This team had some issues despite the victory. In midfield in particular they could not keep the ball flowing especially in the first half. You could also see that Oliseh has been working on the triangle passing style where one man gets open which is how the Spanish dudes like to play. This did not work so well in the first half but was better in the second half when the opponents were tired and lost their structure. The one thing they do better than the A team is play a faster tempo. Looks like they were really conditioned in S Africa

There will be far tougher games to come :-)

ohenhen1 wrote:People forget that the same Niger team the so called foreign pros struggled to beat by 2-0 a few months ago in a friendly. The sacred foreign pros.
In a friendly, a bi. ...

ohenhen1 wrote:People forget that the same Niger team the so called foreign pros struggled to beat by 2-0 a few months ago in a friendly. The sacred foreign pros.
You realize that that team we beat 2-0 had many foreign players. These are not the same teams. YES even Niger has almost half of its squad FB.

Also the pitch that day was horrible and a mud pit due to torrential rains, while the game yesterday was on a pristine field.

So please keep dreaming about how great this HB team is, according to u it's just that simple isn't it ?

You realize that that team we beat 2-0 had many foreign players. These are not the same teams. YES even Niger has almost half of its squad FB.

Also the pitch that day was horrible and a mud pit due to torrential rains, while the game yesterday was on a pristine field.

So please keep dreaming about how great this HB team is, according to u it's just that simple isn't it ?
Most of the players that play for Niger republic are home based. Nigeria is building a strong foundation. We don't have to be held hostage by any FB. I am comfortable with the home based players. They are good.

Please list those most talented foreign pros.
Obiora Nwankwo, Izunna Uzochukwu, Lukman Haruna...oh wait. :oops: