Should Oliseh not be watching players in Europe?
Re: Should Oliseh not be watching players in Europe?
No vex with Ayo. It's fixed bro.mystic wrote:Say what?Ayo Akinfe wrote:I hope Oliseh watches at least two players make love this weekend in Europe. Has he ever been to Watford before?
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe
The nonsense about our national team coaches living abroad started by Berti Vogts, continued by Keshi and lately Oliseh has to stop. Anyone who wants to coach Nigeria must be prepared to live in the country and do the hard work. Delegating responsibility to assistant coaches is not acceptable. Our most successful coach, Clemens Westerhoff, despite being a foreigner, lived in Nigeria and was able to unearth players like Iroha, Okechukwu, Finidi, Oliha, Amokachi, Elaho etc.
I have never supported the SE coach to be in charge of the CHAN SE. It is too much of a distraction. In fact, I don't think we should have a different CHAN team different from the home based players that qualified for the Olympics. The team would have been preparing and as well be beneficial to the SE but a major issue btw our national team coaches is the lack of synergies. They seem to be working at variance.
The last CHAN team that came 3rd is of no benefit to the SE as all the players have fizzled out. In fact, if Oliseh can promote at least a couple of players from this CHAN team to the SE, then this CHAN team would have done getter than the last one. Winning CHAN shouldn't be an end but a means to an end.
Coaching home based Naija players can be quite challenging because as I have often said, our home based SE players have football IQ challenges. That a coach did well or not with the CHAN SE is not a measure of the coach's acumen. Even CHAN itself get as e be...for crying out loud, Libya won this tourney. Even DRC that won the inaugural tourney are not likely to win AFCON
The last CHAN team that came 3rd is of no benefit to the SE as all the players have fizzled out. In fact, if Oliseh can promote at least a couple of players from this CHAN team to the SE, then this CHAN team would have done getter than the last one. Winning CHAN shouldn't be an end but a means to an end.
Coaching home based Naija players can be quite challenging because as I have often said, our home based SE players have football IQ challenges. That a coach did well or not with the CHAN SE is not a measure of the coach's acumen. Even CHAN itself get as e be...for crying out loud, Libya won this tourney. Even DRC that won the inaugural tourney are not likely to win AFCON
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe
That is the crux of the matter, the coaches seem to be working at cross purposes, We have a situation where players are unable to make the grade at U20 and U23 levels, make it to the SE and you have players in the SE, who are eligible for the age grade teams but are ignored by the selectors. Daniel and Etebo had a great U23 championship, yet were ignored for CHAN. Oliseh seems to have no time for the Olympic team, yet that is the team just below the level of the SE. He was busy watching Arsenal with Amaju Pinnick on the day the Olympic team had a crucial qualifier in Congo. Also he was no where to be found when the team played in the U23 championship in Senegal. Even Keshi was present in Morocco during the U23 Olympic qualifiers in 2012. The Olympics gave us players like West, Babangida, Babayaro, Garba Lawal, Dosu, Isaac Okoronkwo, Agali, Kanu, Apam, Adeleye, Ajilore, Kaita, Obasi etc, who became established players in the SE. OLiseh needs to work closely with the coaches of the U20 and U23 teams.anointed wrote:I have never supported the SE coach to be in charge of the CHAN SE. It is too much of a distraction. In fact, I don't think we should have a different CHAN team different from the home based players that qualified for the Olympics. The team would have been preparing and as well be beneficial to the SE but a major issue btw our national team coaches is the lack of synergies. They seem to be working at variance.
Is Oliseh ready for what awaits him against Egypt ?
AFCON 2017: Egypt step up for Nigeria double header
Egypt's head coach Hector Cuper
by Staff Reporter
Wednesday Jan 27, 2016. 10:35
Egypt have stepped up their preparations for crunch AFCON 2017 qualifiers against Nigeria in March, as manager Hector Cuper has lined up friendlies for the home-based players against Jordan and Libya on Wednesday and Friday.
Leading Group G on six points following two easy wins over Tanzania and Chad last year, Egypt will be looking to further enhance their chances of reaching the Nations Cup for the first time since 2010, when they meet Nigeria, their main challengers in the group.
Egypt's one-week training camp in the Upper Egyptian city of Aswan looks to be an integral part of Cuper's preparations, where his side will play Jordan and Libya.
"We chose to play against Jordan and Libya to instill a winning mentality among the players in all games, whether official or friendly matches," the Argentine coach said in a television interview.
"We also want to experiment with some new faces to act as back-ups for our regular players."
The ex-Valencia boss had selected a total of 32 players for the two games, with Cairo giants Ahly and Zamalek constituting the major bulk – with 10 players called upon from each club.
The entire Ahly and Zamalek backlines were included, with Sabri Rahil, Hamada Tolba, Ali Gabr, Ahmed Dwidar, Ahmed Hegazy, Ramy Rabia, Omar Gaber and Mohamed Hani all making the cut.
Egypt's top two clubs also shared their attacking departments in the national team's roster, with Ramadan Sobhi, Moemen Zakareya, Abdallah El-Said, Amr Gamal, Ayman Hefni, Mahmoud Kahraba, Mostafa Fathi and Bassem Morsi all present.
Similarly, Ahly and Zamalek midfield Hossam Ghaly and Tarek Hamed were both named, before ENPPI's Salah Soliman replaced the latter after he was injured in a 1-1 league draw with Smouha. anchors
Record seven-time African champions Egypt resume their 2017 CAN qualifying campaign by visiting Nigeria on March 23 before hosting the Super Eagles five days later.
by Staff Reporter
Egypt have stepped up their preparations for crunch AFCON 2017 qualifiers against Nigeria in March, as manager Hector Cuper has lined up friendlies for the home-based players against Jordan and Libya on Wednesday and Friday.
Leading Group G on six points following two easy wins over Tanzania and Chad last year, Egypt will be looking to further enhance their chances of reaching the Nations Cup for the first time since 2010, when they meet Nigeria, their main challengers in the group.
Egypt's one-week training camp in the Upper Egyptian city of Aswan looks to be an integral part of Cuper's preparations, where his side will play Jordan and Libya.
"We chose to play against Jordan and Libya to instill a winning mentality among the players in all games, whether official or friendly matches," the Argentine coach said in a television interview.
"We also want to experiment with some new faces to act as back-ups for our regular players."
The ex-Valencia boss had selected a total of 32 players for the two games, with Cairo giants Ahly and Zamalek constituting the major bulk – with 10 players called upon from each club.
The entire Ahly and Zamalek backlines were included, with Sabri Rahil, Hamada Tolba, Ali Gabr, Ahmed Dwidar, Ahmed Hegazy, Ramy Rabia, Omar Gaber and Mohamed Hani all making the cut.
Egypt's top two clubs also shared their attacking departments in the national team's roster, with Ramadan Sobhi, Moemen Zakareya, Abdallah El-Said, Amr Gamal, Ayman Hefni, Mahmoud Kahraba, Mostafa Fathi and Bassem Morsi all present.
Similarly, Ahly and Zamalek midfield Hossam Ghaly and Tarek Hamed were both named, before ENPPI's Salah Soliman replaced the latter after he was injured in a 1-1 league draw with Smouha. anchors
Record seven-time African champions Egypt resume their 2017 CAN qualifying campaign by visiting Nigeria on March 23 before hosting the Super Eagles five days later.
He is working with local players - not scouting abroad

vancity eagle wrote:Is Oliseh ready for what awaits him against Egypt ?
by Staff Reporter
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
YUJAM wrote:He is working with local players - not scouting abroad![]()
by Staff Reporter
What on earth is wrong with you Yujam? Egypt's best players all play at home!
Really?
Ayo Akinfe wrote:YUJAM wrote:He is working with local players - not scouting abroad![]()
by Staff Reporter
What on earth is wrong with you Yujam? Egypt's best players all play at home!
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
You are starting to annoy me now Yujam. About 80% of the Egyptian national team play for El-Ahly and Zamalek, while in Nigeria, we will be lucky to get one home-based player in our starting line-up.
Comparing the two scenarios is just plain daft! Egypt's equivalent of Mikel, Ighalo, Iheanacho, Moses, etc all ply their trade in the local league.
I think they have at least four or five starters who are foreign based. The point I am making is they are working on their local NT not running around scouting players in Europe
Ayo Akinfe wrote:You are starting to annoy me now Yujam. About 80% of the Egyptian national team play for El-Ahly and Zamalek, while in Nigeria, we will be lucky to get one home-based player in our starting line-up.
This is the test that we need..................let dem bring it.vancity eagle wrote:Is Oliseh ready for what awaits him against Egypt ?
by Staff Reporter
By the way I really admire the local players from Tunisia and Egypt, I pray that we get back to that level again one day.
Internet gangster
Uses the internet as a front for acting like a tough guy gang member, usually because they are hoping to gain the respect that they lack in their real life. Don't be fooled........This person is a sham. This person is not actually an attack dog, they are a timid house cat.
Troll
One who deliberately starts an argument in a manner which attacks others on a forum without in any way listening to the arguments proposed by his or her peers.
Uses the internet as a front for acting like a tough guy gang member, usually because they are hoping to gain the respect that they lack in their real life. Don't be fooled........This person is a sham. This person is not actually an attack dog, they are a timid house cat.
Troll
One who deliberately starts an argument in a manner which attacks others on a forum without in any way listening to the arguments proposed by his or her peers.
Ayo Akinfe wrote:You are starting to annoy me now Yujam. About 80% of the Egyptian national team play for El-Ahly and Zamalek, while in Nigeria, we will be lucky to get one home-based player in our starting line-up.
No mind him.
Anyways I know Egypt will be prepared for us, there is no doubt about that.
Will Oliseh have us prepared ?
YUJAM wrote:I think they have at least four or five starters who are foreign based. The point I am making is they are working on their local NT not running around scouting players in Europe
How many players does Egypt have abroad in total ? No more than 10 I would say.
Now compare that to the hundreds or even thousands that Nigeria has, and you will know that your insinuations and comparisons are that of someone who is mentally challenged.
These same home based players you said he's working with just failed against Niger, Tunisia and Guinea. Does that assure success against Egypt whose team crux play at home?YUJAM wrote:He is working with local players - not scouting abroad![]()
by Staff Reporter
You obviously want Nigeria to fail. Maybe it's cos you are not a Nigerian.
Anointed,anointed wrote:These same home based players you said he's working with just failed against Niger, Tunisia and Guinea. Does that assure success against Egypt whose team crux play at home?YUJAM wrote:He is working with local players - not scouting abroad![]()
by Staff Reporter
You just echo what I am thinking

When people try to use you to gain relevance, just ignore them. It pains them even more
Nah the mentally challenged are those who think the foreign based player is the savior.
African teams won't get to the next level until they start getting to the point where they can build a solid national team from a good home league. This allows them to develop a pattern of play and solid fundamentals that players no matter where they go can back and pick up immediately. This as opposed to slapping together 11 foreign based 'names' and expecting them to perform miracles.

vancity eagle wrote:YUJAM wrote:I think they have at least four or five starters who are foreign based. The point I am making is they are working on their local NT not running around scouting players in Europe
Now compare that to the hundreds or even thousands that Nigeria has, and you will know that your insinuations and comparisons are that of someone who is mentally challenged.
The reality is that Oliseh has to use players that he believes can best deliver for him. The belief that only foreign players or only local players can be effective for Nigeria has not been justified by result. While these home-based failed at CHAN so also did we watch our foreign based fail at home in a critical game against South Africa just about a year ago. So what gives? The reality is that the most effective players can come from abroad or from home and not exclusively based on one of those.
This argument is a rehash of foreign coach v indigenous coaches for which there is no data to support one being better than the other in any significant way. Neither does the claim that the best Nigerian players are based abroad hold any water. If that was true, how come we continue to have the likes of Iheanacho, Osimhen, Chikatara etc discovered on daily basis in Nigeria and then moving abroad. That al;one points to the fact that good players continue to be produced in Nigeria. It is a conveyor belt that does not stop. The more convincing argument is that the probability is high that most(NOT all) of our better players are based oversea. It can never be all of them because of the constant production of new and significant talents in Nigeria.
Importantly, a team is not good based on just a 2 or 3-day training that we now have for players returning from foreign clubs. A team has to have significant amount of time playing together. The story here about Egypt points to an advantage that they will have over our SE --- it is an advantage of TIME together training. That should never be underestimated. The task is how best do we match that. It isn't going to be matched by picking players as if we are in a pick up Sunday game.
This argument is a rehash of foreign coach v indigenous coaches for which there is no data to support one being better than the other in any significant way. Neither does the claim that the best Nigerian players are based abroad hold any water. If that was true, how come we continue to have the likes of Iheanacho, Osimhen, Chikatara etc discovered on daily basis in Nigeria and then moving abroad. That al;one points to the fact that good players continue to be produced in Nigeria. It is a conveyor belt that does not stop. The more convincing argument is that the probability is high that most(NOT all) of our better players are based oversea. It can never be all of them because of the constant production of new and significant talents in Nigeria.
Importantly, a team is not good based on just a 2 or 3-day training that we now have for players returning from foreign clubs. A team has to have significant amount of time playing together. The story here about Egypt points to an advantage that they will have over our SE --- it is an advantage of TIME together training. That should never be underestimated. The task is how best do we match that. It isn't going to be matched by picking players as if we are in a pick up Sunday game.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
You guys haven't figured it out yet? The key to a successful NT team is building solid structures that include a good home-based league and local NT. Take Tunisia for example. There reason they were able to nearly play Nigeria off the park (despite being a nation of barely 11 million) is because they have a solid league where excellent players are developed. In fact, Tunisia produces in its local league players that are far better than many of the guys Patrick promotes on CE. The same applies to Egypt.
Obviously Nigeria can compete with these teams presently but I believe the NT would be even stronger in the future if a home based backbone to the NT is developed with the aim of getting players who have the prerequisite level of fitness, skill and tactical adaptability. As this happens, serious work has to be done to getting NFF to levels of the Tunisians and Egyptian leagues. If these goals can be achieved, I have no doubt that in time, Nigeria would actually produce NTs that are world cup contenders
However, I believe this idea being promoted by VE and Ayo that you can simply get a bunch of eleven European players together for a few weeks and expect them to be world beaters in ridiculous. It is a fantasy that has been debunked over and over again yet folks never learn
Obviously Nigeria can compete with these teams presently but I believe the NT would be even stronger in the future if a home based backbone to the NT is developed with the aim of getting players who have the prerequisite level of fitness, skill and tactical adaptability. As this happens, serious work has to be done to getting NFF to levels of the Tunisians and Egyptian leagues. If these goals can be achieved, I have no doubt that in time, Nigeria would actually produce NTs that are world cup contenders
However, I believe this idea being promoted by VE and Ayo that you can simply get a bunch of eleven European players together for a few weeks and expect them to be world beaters in ridiculous. It is a fantasy that has been debunked over and over again yet folks never learn

patrick wrote:Anointed,anointed wrote:These same home based players you said he's working with just failed against Niger, Tunisia and Guinea. Does that assure success against Egypt whose team crux play at home?YUJAM wrote:He is working with local players - not scouting abroad![]()
by Staff Reporter
You just echo what I am thinking
Balderash. Nigeria's best moments in the mid 90s wasn't built around home based players but its best players. The issue is not just about home based vs foreign based; it is about using Nigeria's best players. I have up till last season watched the Naija league and I have sounded it repeatedly here that home based players have low football IQ. The reason is not unconnected with the coaching. The coaches need to build their capacity for tactical acumen. What we have are just shouters. Nothing more. No coaching is done around here.YUJAM wrote:Nah the mentally challenged are those who think the foreign based player is the savior.![]()
vancity eagle wrote:YUJAM wrote:I think they have at least four or five starters who are foreign based. The point I am making is they are working on their local NT not running around scouting players in Europe
There's a reason for which Nigeria's best players are not playing inside Nigeria. The foreign clubs even know Nigeria's best players when they see them so they take them. It is only Yujam who thinks nationalism and pan-Africanism win football matches. How many Naija players do you know that travelled out of the country and came back to play that didn't improve in its football abilities?
Tell CIV to use their home based players to play their WCQ. There's a reason for which Africa Sports and Asec Mimosas are not of a force to reckon with on the continent these days. CIV's best players are outside CIV playing. Same goes for Ghana. No more Kumasi Asanti Kotoko or Hearts of Oak. What about Cameroun? When last did you hear of Canon Sportif or Tonere Kalala? Best Camerounian players are in Europe. So, we leave DR Congo and the North African clubs, whose best players are inside their countries to rule the roost. For crying out loud, Libya even won CHAN. Why don't you just put your thinking dreads and ask why.
If Gambia has its best players foreign based players playing in foreign counties like Sierra Leone, Mauritania, South Sudan et al believe me they will use them. How many of Holland's best players play in Holland? How many of Wales or Belgium's best players play inside their countries? What do you know about the Welsh football league? There's one club there named Cwmbran. Almost difficult to pronounce. How has the Welsh league contributed to its recent national team success? Welsh clubs like Swansea and Cardiff don't even play in the Welsh football league. If they were rugby, cricket or hurling clubs, they will be playing in Wales. Yet, you go on as if the only reason or the major reason why the national team will emancipate is a good football league. The only reason why Wales is doing well is that its best ever players have converged in the same generation. The same went for Croatia. Their best generation was in the mid 90s and so their best performances and records were also in the mid-90s.
Anderlecht and Club Brugge used to be forces in Europe, when the best Belgian players used to play in Belgium, when they even compete financially with other Europe's top clubs to attract the best players. Not only Belgium but the likes of Steua Bucharest, Red Star Belgrade, PSV Eindhoven, Ajax Amsterdam, Olympique Marseille, Dynamo Kiev and even Porto and Benefica. These clubs won European club titles. But since when? What happened? Their countries' best players are attracted outside their countries and they cant attract decent players to join their ranks and make them competitive enough to stand toe to toe with the better financially doped clubs.
Ol' boy wake up and smell the weed.
Last edited by anointed on Thu Jan 28, 2016 6:42 am, edited 1 time in total.
Those Nigerian players were developed in Nigeria. In fact, you can list a first eleven from then and virtually all of them were formed in Nigeria. The 94 team was not developed overnight. Guys like Keshi, Yekini, Rufai and others started playing for Nigeria in the early to mid 80s
BTW, there is a reason why Nigerian league is poor and players play like they have low IQs (according to you). It is because the local league has been neglected. Do you think the Tunisian and Egyptian players have a higher IQ or are more physically capable than Nigerian players?
anointed wrote:Balderash. Nigeria's best moments in the mid 90s wasn't built around home based players but its best players. The issue is not just about home based vs foreign based; it is about using Nigeria's best players. I have up till last season watched the Naija league and I have sounded it repeatedly here that home based players have low football IQ. The reason is not unconnected with the coaching. The coaches need to build their capacity for tactical acumen. What we have are just shouters. Nothing more. No coaching is done around here.YUJAM wrote:Nah the mentally challenged are those who think the foreign based player is the savior.![]()
There's a reason for which Nigeria's best players are not playing inside Nigeria. The foreign clubs even know Nigeria's best players when they see them so they take them. It is only Yujam who thinks nationalism and pan-Africanism win football matches. How many Naija players do you know that travelled out of the country and came back to play that didn't improve in its football abilities?
Tell CIV to use their home based players to play their WCQ. Same to Ghana. If Gambia has its best players foreign based players playing in foreign counties like Sierra Leone, Mauritania, South Sudan et al believe me they will use them. How many of Holland's best players play in Holland. How many of Wales or Belgium's best players play inside their countries?
Sorry, I edited my post and made additions. NEPA wahala.YUJAM wrote:Those Nigerian players were developed in Nigeria. In fact, you can list a first eleven from then and virtually all of them were formed in Nigeria. The 94 team was not developed overnight. Guys like Keshi, Yekini, Rufai and others started playing for Nigeria in the early to mid 80s
anointed wrote:Balderash. Nigeria's best moments in the mid 90s wasn't built around home based players but its best players. The issue is not just about home based vs foreign based; it is about using Nigeria's best players. I have up till last season watched the Naija league and I have sounded it repeatedly here that home based players have low football IQ. The reason is not unconnected with the coaching. The coaches need to build their capacity for tactical acumen. What we have are just shouters. Nothing more. No coaching is done around here.YUJAM wrote:Nah the mentally challenged are those who think the foreign based player is the savior.![]()
Tell CIV to use their home based players to play their WCQ. Same to Ghana. If Gambia has its best players foreign based players playing in foreign counties like Sierra Leone, Mauritania, South Sudan et al believe me they will use them. How many of Holland's best players play in Holland. How many of Wales or Belgium's best players play inside their countries?
You are helping me to make my points which are:YUJAM wrote:Those Nigerian players were developed in Nigeria. In fact, you can list a first eleven from then and virtually all of them were formed in Nigeria. The 94 team was not developed overnight. Guys like Keshi, Yekini, Rufai and others started playing for Nigeria in the early to mid 80s
1. when they played for Nigerian clubs, we were very competitive on the continent
2. when these players went outside Nigeria, they became better players and the Super Eagles glowed on the world stage.
Our best players are outside Nigeria. Harvest them properly and the national will mount up with wings as Super Eagles again. If the current set of CHAN eagles or home based players are good enough, foreign clubs will snap them up in no time.
I don't think I am making your point.
These guys were arguably the best generation of NT players ever and most of them were developed in the local leagues before they went abroad. Does this support a POV that players that go abroad are on average more successful if they spend more time maturing in their local leagues? Well guys like Weah, Yekini, Keshi, Jaidi, Bwalya, Finidi, Amokachi and others help make a strong point for this view.
These guys played in a mostly home based NT which evolved into a foreign based team eventually as these players got better. Playing in a home based team together allowed the team to develop so that when these guys represented the NT later, they were able to fit into the system that had already been established a long time ago
If anything this supports my point that you got to start building from inside if you want to establish a good NT.
These guys were arguably the best generation of NT players ever and most of them were developed in the local leagues before they went abroad. Does this support a POV that players that go abroad are on average more successful if they spend more time maturing in their local leagues? Well guys like Weah, Yekini, Keshi, Jaidi, Bwalya, Finidi, Amokachi and others help make a strong point for this view.
These guys played in a mostly home based NT which evolved into a foreign based team eventually as these players got better. Playing in a home based team together allowed the team to develop so that when these guys represented the NT later, they were able to fit into the system that had already been established a long time ago
If anything this supports my point that you got to start building from inside if you want to establish a good NT.
anointed wrote:You are helping me to make my points which are:YUJAM wrote:Those Nigerian players were developed in Nigeria. In fact, you can list a first eleven from then and virtually all of them were formed in Nigeria. The 94 team was not developed overnight. Guys like Keshi, Yekini, Rufai and others started playing for Nigeria in the early to mid 80s
1. when they played for Nigerian clubs, we were very competitive on the continent
2. when these players went outside Nigeria, they became better players and the Super Eagles glowed on the world stage.
Our best players are outside Nigeria. Harvest them properly and the national will mount up with wings as Super Eagles again. If the current set of CHAN eagles or home based players are good enough, foreign clubs will snap them up in no time.