Is igaho really an SE material?
On this forum, we always have that expectation that the inform striker in the EPL will roll in and do the damage against our oppositions.
I don't blame Ighalo but I blame Siaone, for not observing and making the right changes from the first leg. Iwobi and KELE would have changed the complexity of the match and created chances however we have missed that opportunity.
Musa and igaho had no business starting this match based on the first leg performance but Siaone has again thrown this opportunity away.
Siaone will later in future confess on not using KELE as a striker in this match after his performance in Rio Olympics
Best of luck to iwobi and Kelechi in Rio !
I don't blame Ighalo but I blame Siaone, for not observing and making the right changes from the first leg. Iwobi and KELE would have changed the complexity of the match and created chances however we have missed that opportunity.
Musa and igaho had no business starting this match based on the first leg performance but Siaone has again thrown this opportunity away.
Siaone will later in future confess on not using KELE as a striker in this match after his performance in Rio Olympics
Last edited by osita on Sat Apr 02, 2016 9:31 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Re: Is igaho really an SE material?
Our failure wasn't Igalo's fault. If you ask me, it was more of players selection
nope, he is not SE material. Seems like a one season wonder also.osita wrote:On this forum, we always have that expectation that the inform striker in the EPL will roll in and do the damage against our oppositions.
I don't blame Ighalo but I blame Siaone, for not observing and making the right changes from the first leg. Iwobi and KELE would have changed the complexity of the match and created changes however we have missed that opportunity.
Musa and igaho had no business starting this match based on the first leg performance but Siaone has again thrown the opportunity again.
Siaone will later confess on not using KELE as a striker in this match after his performance in Rio Olympics
Musician wey go sing for deaf and dumb reunion don miss road.
yeah you're right. Someone selected Ighalo. MssshhheeewwOdas wrote:Our failure wasn't Igalo's fault. If you ask me, it was more of players selection

- metalalloy
- Flying Eagle
Lionel Messi would struggle in that "team." No single player is the problem. Lets should stop this witch hunting and blame game that we love to partake in when the going goes bad. we have not been good for a while and it will take a while to develop a team.
Yes Ighalo is definitely an SE material.
Please remind the site how many through passes he received today.
We have talent, but need a coach with an agenda. In the last 20 minutes
of today's game our talents showed but were not properly directed.
We have alot of talent
This is why I laugh at those that criticise the likes of Yakubu (who by the way scored 21 goals for his country). Ighalo is a decent player but playing in the SE is no easy task. Ask the various of strikers that have been tested upfront in the GWG....
Zelex-CE World Cup 2010 prediction Winner
http://forum.cybereagles.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=177767
Ighalo is a team player; always tries his best to put in a good shift. But he struggles against close marking, and his style is out of sync with what best suits Naija. He will do well in Watford, Everton etc but struggle in a cat and mouse close marking game. There are many subtle differences, but we think scoring 30 goals at Watford gives you the pass to lead the SE frontline, It does not work that way. Hope we learn before it costs us even more disastrous (ie WC qualification),pajimoh wrote:yeah you're right. Someone selected Ighalo. MssshhheeewwOdas wrote:Our failure wasn't Igalo's fault. If you ask me, it was more of players selection
Odas wrote:Our failure wasn't Igalo's fault. If you ask me, it was more of players selection
I agree however what ever selection you do, igaho conversion rate is very low. Out 10 chances igaho requires pratically a one on one oppurtunity or a tap in to score.
I blame Siaone surprised he did not notice this lack of movement and conversion rate on igaho. KELE in tight corners or passing surpasses igaho.
It is a sad period for me am so disappointed because we had the quality to finish this Egyptians .
Last edited by osita on Tue Mar 29, 2016 8:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
- airwolex
He's a very good player but I think he will struggle in the SE because right now we are not creating chances. Strikers that have prospered for the Eagles have traditionally been the overly athletic, strong, quick hustlers that can create their chances on their own (Yekini, JAG, Emenike and to a lesser extent even Osaze) system players that are used to sane environment and getting people to give them the ball where they want it like Yakubu and Ighalo will struggle.joao wrote:Yes Ighalo is definitely an SE material.
Not once was he given a through ball till Iwobi came in. Not one good pull out to contest for a header...I feel sorry for him...Lewandoski will struggle in this team.
Why don't you focus on the chances he blew in front of goal? He got enough balls to make it tell and fluffed each chance over 2 matches. In the 2 games with Egypt, he had AT LEAST 5 good chances that he could have put away. He blew each and every one.
International football in NOT the EPL. You cannot expect to get perfect passes, as it is a whole lot more competitive. You get half or quarter chances which you MUST utilize.
Over several games now, this guy has repeatedly demonstrated that he simply cannot hack it at the international level. He simply is not it. We need to source for someone else.
International football in NOT the EPL. You cannot expect to get perfect passes, as it is a whole lot more competitive. You get half or quarter chances which you MUST utilize.
Over several games now, this guy has repeatedly demonstrated that he simply cannot hack it at the international level. He simply is not it. We need to source for someone else.
joao wrote:Yes Ighalo is definitely an SE material.
Yes he is. Heck, he'd probably start for Brazil! They don't have a #9 better than him right now...don't believe me? Look at who they have started at that position since the Mundial and even before. Wehn they play a structure that requires a pivot man, they're lost. He'd probably start for Germany...a side forced to play Gomez and Kruse. He'd likely start for a handful of other 'big' countries.
The more pertinent question for us is WHY are we trying to put square pegs in round holes. Why force Ighalo into a side not built for his qualities. Conversely why not build a side tailored to him? We can't keep doing what we're doing and have him...he'll keep looking lost out there. HOWEVER, watch what happens when he's not invited. Watch all hell break loose.
Ighalo has his qualities, we don't get the best out of them because our structure is too haphazard. I wouldn't START him for the SE, I'd start someone who has a different set of skills. Someone whose skillset is more individualistic. Ighalo relies on the team functioning as a unit to bring out his best. Think of someone like Benteke before Liverpool. When the team works as a unit for him, he delivers. When he has to do other things outside his skillset....well, he looks like rubbish.
To the guy who called him a one season wonder, you obviously have not been following him.
The more pertinent question for us is WHY are we trying to put square pegs in round holes. Why force Ighalo into a side not built for his qualities. Conversely why not build a side tailored to him? We can't keep doing what we're doing and have him...he'll keep looking lost out there. HOWEVER, watch what happens when he's not invited. Watch all hell break loose.
Ighalo has his qualities, we don't get the best out of them because our structure is too haphazard. I wouldn't START him for the SE, I'd start someone who has a different set of skills. Someone whose skillset is more individualistic. Ighalo relies on the team functioning as a unit to bring out his best. Think of someone like Benteke before Liverpool. When the team works as a unit for him, he delivers. When he has to do other things outside his skillset....well, he looks like rubbish.
To the guy who called him a one season wonder, you obviously have not been following him.
Okosisi would've produced a moment of magic, but not after suffering splinter injuries, having carried the cross. Odion and the rest are no Lionel. Many Greats would've been reduced to nothing in that systemless, shapeless, strategy-less, shower of sh*t. To consider it the fault of one is to mistake the lump of sh*t as falling from one a*s. It was all garbage, everything about it, all that was missing was a black bag and dustbin van.metalalloy wrote:Lionel Messi would struggle in that "team."
You hit the nail on the head right there. Hustlers thrive better for the SE than system players.
Ighalo is simply NOT it!
airwolex wrote:He's a very good player but I think he will struggle in the SE because right now we are not creating chances. Strikers that have prospered for the Eagles have traditionally been the overly athletic, strong, quick hustlers that can create their chances on their own (Yekini, JAG, Emenike and to a lesser extent even Osaze) system players that are used to sane environment and getting people to give them the ball where they want it like Yakubu and Ighalo will struggle.joao wrote:Yes Ighalo is definitely an SE material.
Not once was he given a through ball till Iwobi came in. Not one good pull out to contest for a header...I feel sorry for him...Lewandoski will struggle in this team.
Otitokoro wrote:Why don't you focus on the chances he blew in front of goal? He got enough balls to make it tell and fluffed each chance over 2 matches. In the 2 games with Egypt, he had AT LEAST 5 good chances that he could have put away. He blew each and every one.
Over several games now, this guy has repeatedly demonstrated that he simply cannot hack it at the international level. He simply is not it. We need to source for someone else.joao wrote:Yes Ighalo is definitely an SE material.
Thats the point, his conversion rate is terrible , needs time to score and you would't get that playing Argentina or Brazil.
Talent this latent that! Where is the latent sef?oglex30 wrote:We have alot of talent

Nigeria shall wallop the dormitable lions
If Ighalo was not invited, same people will cry blue murder!
We don't have ANY high profile player. Prospects? YES!Mudi E wrote:Talent this latent that! Where is the latent sef?oglex30 wrote:We have alot of talent
wanaj0 wrote:If Ighalo was not invited, same people will cry blue murder!
Not me, I had prayed that he was never invited , he is not an SE material, he is one of the worst striker we have ever had.
Painfully only clueless individual will complain.
I have read more excuses here for Ighalo's underperformance than dude has shots on target in the GWG...
Dude has shown himself to be a fine and useful player at Watford (though not at Udinese or at lowly Granada before that) and has earned his way into the mix, but if the argument here is seriously that the SE "system" (I use the word liberally) is ill-suited to his game (as it apparently was also at the U20 FE and U23 levels), then perhaps it's time to quit inviting him.
Last edited by Gotti on Wed Mar 30, 2016 2:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Given that we haven't qualified for this and the last ANC, I wonder if we should instead be asking if the SE is Ighalo material.
That being said...I appreciate the sentiment. Ighalo's style is not suited to the way we typically play our strikers...just doesn't work
- cic old boy
- Flying Eagle
90% of our players are not Watford material.