TRIBUTE TO STEPHEN KESHI:ICONIC MEMORIES OF KESHI
Re: TRIBUTE TO STEPHEN KESHI:ICONIC MEMORIES OF KESHI
For me what I think about is a similar story related by two different players who played under him. They both spoke about how he would speak to them before the game and the speech will make the players want to break down the wall for him. He made them feel that they were better than they may be. To me that is the hallmark of the ultimate motivator. Kesha was indeed a GREAT ONE and he will be missed. Rest in Peace the BIGGEST of all bosses.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
oloye wrote:Roll back the time to 1981 it has to be,during the qualifiers for 82 WC, a young Keshi was on the bench while a retired CCC was brought back from retirement due to pressure going way up to Shagari the president at the time.
We were down to the Algerians, CCC was not up to it and should not have featured. He was yanked off at half time and in came Stephen Keshi, still with ACB at the time...you could not have written a better script..it was like baton being exchanged from one great centerhalf to another both of whom dominated the position for many years.
For some of us who were sentimentally attached to CCC, it was like what can this small boy do where chairman failed, but all that was quickly consigned to the rubbish heap the first face to face confrontation between Belloumi and Keshi. In a similar situation in the first half the late Tunde Bamidele panicked and made a hasty clearance that was blocked and intercepted by Belloumi which led to the second goal.
Keshi was supreme, he simply flicked the ball over Belloumi's leg, a trick i would later do severally when faced with an attacking bearing down on a 50-50 situation. I clapped while cursing Bamidele a more experienced Green Eagles for lacking the basic skill.
Keshi announced himself that day,he graduated with honors from the junior cadre to the senior. He went on to become a centerhalf that i drew great inspiration from.
While he did wonders with the Super Eagles, i would say i enjoy him more in NNB colours playing the DM role, from where himself and Nwosu terrorised teams with cannons and missiles. Ask all the teams that NNB met on the west african region, those two put the fear of God into keepers with the exocet missiles that brought in unbelievable goals.
Yes. Na oloye set gist I dry await.

Sad. Wow. Icon gone. One of my great memos was when he took that bullet from center circle against Angola in 89 WCQ and their keeper did not have a prayer. Sweet player man. U, okon, ikarika do u thing up there for all 2 c. God bless. RIP.
Forgive me folks, I said Egypt, it should be Tunisia.
Tunisia it was. Thanks.Odas wrote:Was it in Egypt or in Tunisia? I can't remember where, but I think it was in TunisiaWaffiman wrote:I have got many and they are not always happy because I am a Bendel Insurance man.![]()
But for me it has to be that moment when he lifted the ANC trophy in Egypt. Boy, it took an age to win it again but i could think of no one better to lift that trophy as Captain in Nigeria's great triumph. I know he lifted it as a Coach but to me, it was the victory as Captain that remains my iconic memory of Keshi.
Many forget that ANC was not easy, who can forget that epic contest with that very good and dangerous Ivory Coast team.
- EagleGunner
A real BIG boss of men and players.... a colossus of a player. The man who initiated the export of professional Nigerian players.
You gave me great footballing joy, especially nationally and I will never forget how you won us our third ANC by knocking out the other heavyweights in spectacular fashion.
Go well Okechukwu, be with Kate and may both of you rest eternally in peace

You gave me great footballing joy, especially nationally and I will never forget how you won us our third ANC by knocking out the other heavyweights in spectacular fashion.
Go well Okechukwu, be with Kate and may both of you rest eternally in peace

Super Eagles Apparel Storefront
http://bit.ly/2KAOOse
No substitute for intelligence. Keshi had intelligence in abundance.oloye wrote:His biggest asset was his ability to organise the defence. A half fit defender with the ability to organise the defence is way better than a 100% fit defender who cannot organise a simple set of dining chairs.tunde72 wrote:Mine was yhe qualifying match for the 1994 worldcup Eagles vs Ivory Coast in Lagos. Keshi was in bench Naija was leading i think 3.1 but we are not comfortable at the back despite leading. Agbonibavre was our saving grace in the first half. Westerholf had to play Keshi in the second half and i want to believe he played with an injury. But the way he control and organised the defence when he came in put Ivory Coast at bay and we ended up winning 4.1. Leader per excellence
A great M/F and great CD. Positions of intelligence.
- AreaDaddy

This is the image I will always remember!
THE BIG BOSS

RIP
Just read Jonathan Wilson's Keshi write up. Interesting.
His biggest asset had nothing to do with his soccer skills, it's that that he was a natural leader and had insurmountable self belief. Everywhere and at every level, people immediately saw that in him.
Think about this, folks. I'm still on awe of how an African can arrive the shores of Europe and captain a championship winning European team after only one season! And that was in the 1980s.
The man led Togo to a world Cup berth! Togo!! In another life, maybe he should have gone into politics. He sure would have made a better leader than many of the guys we have there now.
Think about this, folks. I'm still on awe of how an African can arrive the shores of Europe and captain a championship winning European team after only one season! And that was in the 1980s.
The man led Togo to a world Cup berth! Togo!! In another life, maybe he should have gone into politics. He sure would have made a better leader than many of the guys we have there now.
"We will go through the gate. If the gate is closed, we will go over the fence. If the fence is too high, we will pole vault in. If that doesn’t work, we will parachute in. But we are going to get health-care reform passed"
Nancy Pelosi, 01/28/2010 after Scott Brown got elected to Ted Kennedy's senate seat.
amofolas,amafolas wrote:His biggest asset had nothing to do with his soccer skills, it's that that he was a natural leader and had insurmountable self belief. Everywhere and at every level, people immediately saw that in him.
Excellent point about Keshi. Imagine a guy who in a few years amassed tremendous powers that checkmated the NFF from removing him at their own will. Had the Presido and top politicians in his corner that he overturned NFF decision to remove him after Sudan. He sustained himself as coach in spite of NFF's angst. He was a man with tremendous leadership skills that so many bowed in respect. Read the tribute by the President of Ghana FA, Mr. Nyantakyi. Much respect for the man Keshi.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
- Omo Eniyan
WOW. Sad.
The last news I read about Keshi was how he was vying to be a coach at Florida in the MLS. I was beginning to warm up to watching MLS matches on the regular when (not if, 'cause I know he's well qualified) he gets the job. Really sad man.
RIP Stephen Keshi.
The last news I read about Keshi was how he was vying to be a coach at Florida in the MLS. I was beginning to warm up to watching MLS matches on the regular when (not if, 'cause I know he's well qualified) he gets the job. Really sad man.
RIP Stephen Keshi.
"If you even dream of beating me, you better wake up and apologize." - Mohammed Ali
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
AreaDaddy wrote:
This is the image I will always remember!
THE BIG BOSS![]()
RIP
Too many memories.....
Semi finals against Egypt in 84 to the Seoul 88 Olympic qualifier against Algeria in 87 in Enugu....... Remains one of the most domineering performances I recall ever watching the Eagles give..... I remember the tension before both the 1st round and final games against Cameroon in Maroc 88... Would Anderlecht release him or not...... The news of a private jet being arranged to bring and take him back to Belgium after those games.... The effect on my young impressionable mind.
His commanding performance against Zaire in Senegal 92, including that disallowed goal.
The sad realisation that his prowess was on wane during the qualifiers for USA 94; those tears after the one all draw in Oran to qualify for the first time for the WC. The conflicting emotions of watching an ageing hero now consigned to the periphery while younger warriors took the centre of attention.
Ha reinvention as a coach, the immense pride at watching a Nigerian legend lead his team once again to the summit of African football and step out to the highest stage of world football in Brazil.
Too many memories, too many but thank you big boss for them all.
Rest in peace Stephen Okechukwu Keshi.
Ps: is it too much to ask that the national stadium in Abuja be named after him?
Semi finals against Egypt in 84 to the Seoul 88 Olympic qualifier against Algeria in 87 in Enugu....... Remains one of the most domineering performances I recall ever watching the Eagles give..... I remember the tension before both the 1st round and final games against Cameroon in Maroc 88... Would Anderlecht release him or not...... The news of a private jet being arranged to bring and take him back to Belgium after those games.... The effect on my young impressionable mind.
His commanding performance against Zaire in Senegal 92, including that disallowed goal.
The sad realisation that his prowess was on wane during the qualifiers for USA 94; those tears after the one all draw in Oran to qualify for the first time for the WC. The conflicting emotions of watching an ageing hero now consigned to the periphery while younger warriors took the centre of attention.
Ha reinvention as a coach, the immense pride at watching a Nigerian legend lead his team once again to the summit of African football and step out to the highest stage of world football in Brazil.
Ps: is it too much to ask that the national stadium in Abuja be named after him?
God bless and keep Nigeria and make his face shine on her undeserving as she may be.
RIP: Keshi you are a born leader and you gave so much to Nigeria, even though you were persecuted by inefficient and envious NFF. I pray that God will comfort the 4 children and relatives you left behind. I believe that you are in heaven right now as one of the best football coaches.
- jtosho

hestonap wrote:Too many memories.....

I Kpom this with emotion.hestonap wrote:Too many memories.....
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
Video courtesy of Calvin Emeka Onwuka
Cellular wrote:[/video]

- Flex Swift
1979 principals cup quarter finals (UAC) between Baptist Acadmey and St Finbarrs. The Baptacads were on the field first warming up , their supporters were drumming singing and dancing. Then the St Finbarrs team arrived( late they ran onto the pitch straight from the coach dressed in all white track suits Keshi was the captain the stadium erupted. The st Finbarrs players in all white stood in a line bouncing up and down then all at the same time they unzipped their track suits it was like being at a musical concert. Baptacads were frozen. In side a few second s of the start of the match Finbarrs scored.........
His best attribute in my limited footballogy... I once saw Big Boss arrange Eguavoen, Iroha and Uche in that order to go thwart an attack... bros just strolled in and cleaned up the ball when the attackers don weak after facing those knights...oloye wrote: His biggest asset was his ability to organise the defence. A half fit defender with the ability to organise the defence is way better than a 100% fit defender who cannot organise a simple set of dining chairs.
If Big Boss nor bin play football, na music conductor hin for be....
WENEVER..... WEAREVER ..... WOTEVER .... 4EVER .....
................................................................................... ARSENAL!!!!!
"No great things has ever been accomplished without somebody's crazy ideas; the biggest things in life have been achieved by people who, at the beginning, we would have judged crazy. And yet, if they had not had these crazy ideas, the world would have been more stupid." - Arsene Wenger..
................................................................................... ARSENAL!!!!!
"No great things has ever been accomplished without somebody's crazy ideas; the biggest things in life have been achieved by people who, at the beginning, we would have judged crazy. And yet, if they had not had these crazy ideas, the world would have been more stupid." - Arsene Wenger..
One of the ex Bafana players of miniature size in the early 90s lamented coming to Lagos to play Nigeria for a world cup qualifier and he bumped into lanky Yekini and muscular Keshi in the elevators and Keshi asked him nicely, you must be one of the assistants so where are your players
. The poor guy had a hard time convincing Keshi he was a player until they got to the field

The only time I saw him play live was at my school grounds 1979 - St. Finbarrs v Lagos City College, Finbarrs won 2 - 0