Dangote Plans to Buy Arsenal Within Four Years

JACKAL
Dangote Plans to Buy Arsenal Within Four Years

Post by JACKAL »

This is obviously going to be a vanity purchase for Dagote.. He shouldn't expect to make any kind of real money from Arsenal. The biggest benefit of this for him is this is something that promotes his image and has an African person joining the ranks of oligarchs buying sports teams.

He should create his own league in Nigeria and turn in into the most powerful developmental league in the world with a powerful emphasis on Youth development. The league should be players from age 17 -24 with European management and coaching standards connected to all the best Academies across Africa and they should source their players though the league to Europe. The raw talent available would be ridiculous

Aliko Dangote, Africa’s richest man, plans to buy London-based Arsenal soccer team within four years.
Dangote, a Nigerian worth $10.9 billion, according to the Bloomberg Billionaires Index, announced his intention to buy the club last year. He said he needs to wait for his business prospects to improve and his investments in gas pipelines and an oil refinery to play out before making the acquisition.
“There’s no doubt” he’ll buy Arsenal and “it’s not a problem” of money, Dangote said in an interview with Bloomberg Television in New York on Wednesday. “Maybe three to four years. The issue is that we have more challenging headwinds. I need to get those out the way first and start having tailwinds. Then I’ll focus on this.”

Dangote, an Arsenal fan, has lost $4.4 billion this year, the fourth most of anyone globally, due mainly to the depreciation of Nigeria’s currency, the billionaires index shows. The bulk of his wealth is tied up in Lagos-based Dangote Cement Plc. An acquisition of the team would make him the first African owner of a team in England’s Premier League.

“It’s not about buying Arsenal and just continuing with business as usual,” he said. “It’s about buying Arsenal and turning it around. I’ve run a very successful business and I think I can also run a very successful team. Right now, with what we’re facing, over $20 billion of projects, I cannot do both.”
While Arsenal has won 13 top flight league titles in England, making it one of the country’s most successful sides, it’s last was in 2004.

Arsenal Holdings Plc, the owner, trades on the ICAP Securities & Derivatives Exchange, or ISDX, and has a market capitalization of 1 billion pounds ($1.3 billion).
Stan Kroenke, worth $7 billion and owner of the National Basket Association’s Denver Nuggets, holds 67 percent of Arsenal Holdings, according to data compiled by Bloomberg.
http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/ ... four-years
Re: Dangote Plans to Buy Arsenal Within Four Years

Naija man too dey make noise

what happened to that Naija man who promised to buy a formula 1 team?

If he is buying it to make money,he should pray Wenger is around to make him rich.If Wenger is gone he better start look who will run the club :clap: :clap: :clap:

But his net-worth has dropped.

I thought Arsenal would be the last thing on his mind.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

Charity.....

Arsenal will not sell to him,a Nigerian buying a club will bring too much unwanted attention and of cause questions will be asked about the state of Nigeria and what has he done to help his own.
General Trousers

Post by General Trousers »

A Nigerian has already owned Arsenal before, so this is not a problem.

<

He should buy a Nigerian club. This man is beginning to get on my nerves.

Is that before he completes our refinery

Which Nigerian team does he support?

cic old boy wrote:He should buy a Nigerian club. This man is beginning to get on my nerves.
Says the person hiding away in the UK.

Maybe in future he'll seek your counsel on how to spend his money in a way that won't get on your nerves.

Kano Pillars nko..

theYemster wrote: Says the person hiding away in the UK.

Maybe in future he'll seek your counsel on how to spend his money in a way that won't get on your nerves.
I'm hiding in the UK b/c Dangote and his friends in govt screwed Nigeria.

He doesn't have to ask me how he spends his money, but that doesn't mean I shouldn't have an opinion. You bore us with your opinions on Wenger and the Arse spending and it's got nothing to do with you!

theYemster wrote: Says the person hiding away in the UK.

I'm hiding in the UK b/c Dangote and his friends in govt screwed Nigeria.

He doesn't have to ask me how he spends his money, but that doesn't mean I shouldn't have an opinion. You bore us with your opinions on Wenger and the Arse spending and it's got nothing to do with you!
Nine try but sorry that's a poor argument. I've never once opined on how Wenger spends/should spend his personal fortune.

He can blow it all on all the whores of Babylon for all I care

theYemster wrote: Nine try but sorry that's a poor argument. I've never once opined on how Wenger spends/should spend his personal fortune.

But you've bored us with your views about the Arse and the club ain't yours!

theYemster wrote: Nine try but sorry that's a poor argument. I've never once opined on how Wenger spends/should spend his personal fortune.

Yes so if/when Dangote eventually buys Arsenal feel free to also bore us with your own criticism of the running of the club. Until then STFU about criticizing how he chooses to spend his personal fortune. He's a private citizen who's already invested a sizeable chunk of his fortune in the country...he's not a govt official who grafted public funds.

theYemster wrote: Yes so if/when Dangote eventually buys Arsenal feel free to also bore us with your own criticism of the running of the club. Until then STFU about criticizing how he chooses to spend his personal fortune. He's a private citizen who's already invested a sizeable chunk of his fortune in the country...he's not a govt official who grafted public funds.
But if you can bore us to tears about the Arse (a private club) that has nothing to do with you, I'm free to comment on Dangote spending his money that has nothing to do with me.

theYemster wrote: Yes so if/when Dangote eventually buys Arsenal feel free to also bore us with your own criticism of the running of the club. Until then STFU about criticizing how he chooses to spend his personal fortune. He's a private citizen who's already invested a sizeable chunk of his fortune in the country...he's not a govt official who grafted public funds.
But if you can bore us to tears about the Arse (a private club) that has nothing to do with you, I'm free to comment on Dangote spending his money that has nothing to do with me.
Arsenal isn't a private business. It's a business that runs on fan support, fans who've invested time and money supporting the club. Like I said feel free to bore us to tears about that. After all no one cares how you spend your own money.

cic old boy wrote:He should buy a Nigerian club. This man is beginning to get on my nerves.
He shouldn't buy a Nigerian club. Nigeria needs to go the German route and have clubs owned by the fans.
kalamashaka

Post by kalamashaka »

Arsenal isn't a private business. It's a business that runs on fan support, fans who've invested time and money supporting the club. Like I said feel free to bore us to tears about that. After all no one cares how you spend your own money.

It is...

I've also spent a lot of time and money shopping in my local supermarket but it doesn't entitle me to act as if I own it or can tell the owner how to spend the money I've spent there, no?

Sorry for interrupting, carry on with your argument :taunt:
"How many white men went in the party that destroyed Abame?"

theYemster wrote: Arsenal isn't a private business. It's a business that runs on fan support, fans who've invested time and money supporting the club. Like I said feel free to bore us to tears about that. After all no one cares how you spend your own money.
Arsenal is a private business. Are you an Arsenal fan? What makes you think you are one? How much have you invested supporting the club? What proportion of your so-called investment makes a dent in the club's revenue?

Mr. Piffington wrote:
He shouldn't buy a Nigerian club. Nigeria needs to go the German route and have clubs owned by the fans.
Germany also has clubs owned by local businesses that are parts of the community. Dangote should buy Kano Pillars.