Is Pep a fraud?
Re: Is Pep a fraud?
And what experience did Grant and Matteo have when they Chelsea to europe by storm? No need to try to explain certain things. It is quite simple Spurs failed in europe, even the best teams and seasoned coaches have failed in the past. This one had nothing to do with Poch not being experienced in europe...they simply flopped,it does happen in this game. Good thing is Spurs will get another chance!Cristao II wrote:Spurs' problem in Europe was not self belief. That sentence has been mouthed so many times that people believe the myth. Ranieri has far more CL experience than Poch including reaching a CL final.green4life wrote:IMO, the biggest factor is a combination of Spurs as an organization being inexperienced in CL football and lacking self belief in Europe. Leicester City similarly lacks even more experience in CL than Spurs but I saw a certain level of self belief in their European performances that helped them to win their CL group.Cristao II wrote:Tottenham's underperformance in the CL is due to several factors ...cic old boy wrote:A Man City fans said in this vid: "The top 6 teams in the Premier League are 6 of the best teams in Europe".![]()
Even Tottenham that went out of the CL in the group stages! Hilarious.
1: New Stadium - It was a good idea to play games there this season preparing us for next year. I am seriously downplaying Spurs ability to over-perform due to the move to Wembley next season.
2: Inexperience of the squad and coach. People forget that this squad is quite young and that Pochettino is still learning.
3: Injuries to key players.
4: Players late recovery from the shambles of Euro 2016
5: Sometimes shiite just happens
That said - I would like to know the European team that would want to face Spurs and not feel some trepidation.
@ CIC, using your logic, since Leicester City won their CL group, plus are the EPL defending champions, that makes them a top team in Europe especially considering Pep got demolished by them not long ago, abi?
- cic old boy
- Flying Eagle
A matter of interpretation. I wouldn't call 6 of the best, 6 out of the top 50. More like 6 out of the top 10.Cristao II wrote:
But cic - arent you over-reacting? The article never said the TOP 6 teams in the EPL ARE the top 6 teams in Europe. It said that the top 6 teams in the Premier League are 6 of the best teams in Europe. If you had to draw up a list of the 50 top teams in Europe, you would have those teams in there.
The biggest problem for Spurs and this will come to the fore next year is WEMBLEY.green4life wrote:IMO, the biggest factor is a combination of Spurs as an organization being inexperienced in CL football and lacking self belief in Europe. Leicester City similarly lacks even more experience in CL than Spurs but I saw a certain level of self belief in their European performances that helped them to win their CL group.Cristao II wrote:Tottenham's underperformance in the CL is due to several factors ...cic old boy wrote:A Man City fans said in this vid: "The top 6 teams in the Premier League are 6 of the best teams in Europe".![]()
1: New Stadium - It was a good idea to play games there this season preparing us for next year. I am seriously downplaying Spurs ability to over-perform due to the move to Wembley next season.
2: Inexperience of the squad and coach. People forget that this squad is quite young and that Pochettino is still learning.
That said - I would like to know the European team that would want to face Spurs and not feel some trepidation.
@ CIC, using your logic, since Leicester City won their CL group, plus are the EPL defending champions, that makes them a top team in Europe especially considering Pep got demolished by them not long ago, abi?
Spurs have not lost at WHL this season and record breaking teams have floundered at the Lane (Man City & Chelsea). We play our CL home game at Wembley and not a single one won.
Most players dream of playing in a stadium like Wembley and some of them will never get a chance to unless they are in a cup final or playing for their national team. Yet playing Spurs there gives them a chance - It is not a home game for us and a dream for other teams.
It's a recipe for encouraging your opponents. I dread playing our home game there next season. We are practically going to play 38 away games next season.
People forget the first season Spurs played in the CL, they made it to the QF or something like that.
Wembley is definitely not it for us, just a good revenue earner
Enugu, the very same attributes cited as pivotal to performance are those oft instilled by the coach. The sport of kings speaks loud and clearly of the significance of the corner men. Were Floyd born Hatton, would he have been as good? But for Cus, would there ever have been Tyson?
@Enugu II:
I could not agree more. Most coaches are more or less average imo. There are some truly bad coaches (I mostly know only German horrible coaches) and some truely good coaches. Most fall inbetween. I think the challenge for clubs is finding the right coach for their specific situation and good coaches might fit for more situations or make the most of a specific situation compared to others.
"If two grown men can't make a pervert happy for a few minutes in order to watch a film about zombies, then maybe we should all just move to Iran!"
- green4life
How much CL experience did Di Matteo have as a manager when he took over from AVB in 2012?Cristao II wrote:Spurs' problem in Europe was not self belief. That sentence has been mouthed so many times that people believe the myth. Ranieri has far more CL experience than Poch including reaching a CL final.green4life wrote:IMO, the biggest factor is a combination of Spurs as an organization being inexperienced in CL football and lacking self belief in Europe. Leicester City similarly lacks even more experience in CL than Spurs but I saw a certain level of self belief in their European performances that helped them to win their CL group.Cristao II wrote:Tottenham's underperformance in the CL is due to several factors ...cic old boy wrote:A Man City fans said in this vid: "The top 6 teams in the Premier League are 6 of the best teams in Europe".![]()
- Cristao II
You cant compare the experience and strength of the squads Avram Grant and Matteo had with the Spurs squad of this year! Chelsea had players well experienced in Europe. Come on!!oloye wrote:And what experience did Grant and Matteo have when they Chelsea to europe by storm? No need to try to explain certain things. It is quite simple Spurs failed in europe, even the best teams and seasoned coaches have failed in the past. This one had nothing to do with Poch not being experienced in europe...they simply flopped,it does happen in this game. Good thing is Spurs will get another chance!Cristao II wrote:Spurs' problem in Europe was not self belief. That sentence has been mouthed so many times that people believe the myth. Ranieri has far more CL experience than Poch including reaching a CL final.green4life wrote:IMO, the biggest factor is a combination of Spurs as an organization being inexperienced in CL football and lacking self belief in Europe. Leicester City similarly lacks even more experience in CL than Spurs but I saw a certain level of self belief in their European performances that helped them to win their CL group.Cristao II wrote:Tottenham's underperformance in the CL is due to several factors ...cic old boy wrote:A Man City fans said in this vid: "The top 6 teams in the Premier League are 6 of the best teams in Europe".![]()
Thank goodness the coaching staff are engaging proper understanding of what happened and how to not repeat it next year. One thing that gives me hope is the understanding that Poch and his coaching staff are having to learn and push themselves alongside the players. Before last season, Poch had never managed a side pushing for a title. Before this season, he had never managed in the league.
Sometimes people enter competition for the experience.
- Cristao II
He had a lot as a player and he also had a team that had a lot of experience.green4life wrote:How much CL experience did Di Matteo have as a manager when he took over from AVB in 2012?Cristao II wrote:Spurs' problem in Europe was not self belief. That sentence has been mouthed so many times that people believe the myth. Ranieri has far more CL experience than Poch including reaching a CL final.green4life wrote:IMO, the biggest factor is a combination of Spurs as an organization being inexperienced in CL football and lacking self belief in Europe. Leicester City similarly lacks even more experience in CL than Spurs but I saw a certain level of self belief in their European performances that helped them to win their CL group.Cristao II wrote:Tottenham's underperformance in the CL is due to several factors ...cic old boy wrote:A Man City fans said in this vid: "The top 6 teams in the Premier League are 6 of the best teams in Europe".![]()
- Cristao II
Subjective. One has to ask the writer what number did best refer to?cic old boy wrote:A matter of interpretation. I wouldn't call 6 of the best, 6 out of the top 50. More like 6 out of the top 10.Cristao II wrote:
But cic - arent you over-reacting? The article never said the TOP 6 teams in the EPL ARE the top 6 teams in Europe. It said that the top 6 teams in the Premier League are 6 of the best teams in Europe. If you had to draw up a list of the 50 top teams in Europe, you would have those teams in there.
Did Monaco have you more experience than Tottenham? I highly doubt it.
"If two grown men can't make a pervert happy for a few minutes in order to watch a film about zombies, then maybe we should all just move to Iran!"
- green4life
Lol. Really? Or are you making it up to suit your position?Cristao II wrote:He had a lot as a player and he also had a team that had a lot of experience.green4life wrote:How much CL experience did Di Matteo have as a manager when he took over from AVB in 2012?Cristao II wrote:Spurs' problem in Europe was not self belief. That sentence has been mouthed so many times that people believe the myth. Ranieri has far more CL experience than Poch including reaching a CL final.green4life wrote:IMO, the biggest factor is a combination of Spurs as an organization being inexperienced in CL football and lacking self belief in Europe. Leicester City similarly lacks even more experience in CL than Spurs but I saw a certain level of self belief in their European performances that helped them to win their CL group.Cristao II wrote:Tottenham's underperformance in the CL is due to several factors ...cic old boy wrote:A Man City fans said in this vid: "The top 6 teams in the Premier League are 6 of the best teams in Europe".![]()

- green4life
He will tell you that Monaco as an organization has more experience. Then what about Leicester City? Oh, their manager, Ranieri is a wizard in Europe. Ok oookofi86 wrote:Did Monaco have you more experience than Tottenham? I highly doubt it.

- tfco
- Eagle
lol so now that The Revolution is struggling you have taken to making blanket statements about ONE Citeh fan.cic old boy wrote: The point of this thread is in the title. Jeez, you are slow.
But yet you fight tooth and nail defending against what >60% Bayern fans said about The Revolution

Naira Did We

- cic old boy
- Flying Eagle
You clearly don't know what a "blanket statement" is. I thought what the City fan said was funny. "Blanket" is when I attribute his comments to all City fans.tfco wrote:
lol so now that The Revolution is struggling you have taken to making blanket statements about ONE Citeh fan.
But yet you fight tooth and nail defending against what >60% Bayern fans said about The Revolution
I'm sure you don't know what "tooth and nail" is either.
- tfco
- Eagle
You used HIS comment as your thread opener. ONE freaking comment.cic old boy wrote:You clearly don't know what a "blanket statement" is. I thought what the City fan said was funny. "Blanket" is when I attribute his comments to all City fans.tfco wrote:
lol so now that The Revolution is struggling you have taken to making blanket statements about ONE Citeh fan.
I'm sure you don't know what "tooth and nail" is either.
Oh yeah, you do rely on 'sauces' for your info,
Naira Did We

- cic old boy
- Flying Eagle
Time to change tack. It was not a blanket comment. It was a funny comment. What bit of "what he said was funny" don't you understand?tfco wrote: You used HIS comment as your thread opener. ONE freaking comment.
Oh yeah, you do rely on 'sauces' for your info,
Uncle, just admit that you read it to mean top 6 teams in the EPL are top 6 teams in Europe. I have always warned against market women interpretation of these articles.cic old boy wrote:A matter of interpretation. I wouldn't call 6 of the best, 6 out of the top 50. More like 6 out of the top 10.Cristao II wrote:

- cic old boy
- Flying Eagle
OK, I read it different from how I quoted it!1naija wrote: Uncle, just admit that you read it to mean top 6 teams in the EPL are top 6 teams in Europe. I have always warned against market women interpretation of these articles.![]()

"The top 6 teams in the Premier League are 6 of the best teams in Europe"
Then what's funny about the statement?cic old boy wrote:OK, I read it different from how I quoted it!1naija wrote: Uncle, just admit that you read it to mean top 6 teams in the EPL are top 6 teams in Europe. I have always warned against market women interpretation of these articles.![]()
"The top 6 teams in the Premier League are 6 of the best teams in Europe"

- cic old boy
- Flying Eagle

- danfo driver
green4life wrote:He will tell you that Monaco as an organization has more experience. Then what about Leicester City? Oh, their manager, Ranieri is a wizard in Europe. Ok oookofi86 wrote:Did Monaco have you more experience than Tottenham? I highly doubt it.

That boy is just fighting the truth -- SPURS IS CURSED!
- Cristao II
Monaco does have players and a coach that are more experienced. They also have a squad with as much youth talent as Spurs. Leonardo Jarolim is a more experienced tactical and technical coach than Poch. Ranieri is far more experienced than Poch!! What exactly is the laughing matter?green4life wrote:He will tell you that Monaco as an organization has more experience. Then what about Leicester City? Oh, their manager, Ranieri is a wizard in Europe. Ok oookofi86 wrote:Did Monaco have you more experience than Tottenham? I highly doubt it.
- green4life
The laughing matter is I feel like I'm trying to catch a fish with my bare hands. ... so Di Matteo must have been far more experienced than Poch when he led Chelsea all the way to the CL title in 2012 .. Abi, no be so?Cristao II wrote:Monaco does have players and a coach that are more experienced. They also have a squad with as much youth talent as Spurs. Leonardo Jarolim is a more experienced tactical and technical coach than Poch. Ranieri is far more experienced than Poch!! What exactly is the laughing matter?green4life wrote:He will tell you that Monaco as an organization has more experience. Then what about Leicester City? Oh, their manager, Ranieri is a wizard in Europe. Ok oookofi86 wrote:Did Monaco have you more experience than Tottenham? I highly doubt it.

No one expected Spurs to win the CL trophy but to go out in the first round from a group that did not include Juventus, Bayern, Dortmund, the two Madrid's, Barca or any proper CL power house.... we're talking CSKA Moskow, Levervusen and Monaco for Pete's sake... hardly different from the make up of Leicester City's group. Yet, one club in their first CL in their history actually WON their group while the other organization that has a lot more CL experience than Leicester City crashed out in the first round. Anyway cheers.