The best way to enjoy the World Cup
Re: The best way to enjoy the World Cup
oloye, great thread as usual.
I wrote here a while back about watching the SE with other Naijas.
With due respect, most posing as football fans never played the game.
They merely watch and follow the hype by fellow fair weather fans, or
looking for dribbles, long range shots, or the glorious dive by a goalie after
catching the ball.
Following an SE game on CE reminds one, of going to the movies in Lagos with
some of the audience rudely vocalizing their take on the action.
Too many lily livered football ITKs herein.
catching the ball.
- cchinukw
I don't even remember a Joao for even grassroots soccer.joao wrote:oloye, great thread as usual.
catching the ball.

"How are UK Conservative MPs selected? They are selected for intelligence and then rejected at final stage for thar fact"
- Peter Hitchens interviewed on Novara Media 2025.

- The YeyeMan
I'm only here for the social media posts of Onazi playing piano and everybody singing on the bus. That's what it's all about. Everything else is just a bonus.cchinukw wrote:My brother at least some of us are realistic. No need to raise hopes unnecessarily.
We need to protect our emotions.
Personally, I'm okay with them touring the 3 towns for the group stages. Looking forward to the selfies.
Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25
"The Yeyeman is hardly ever vulgar when dealing with anyone." - Mar 23, '18
"I will take Trump over Clinton but I am in the minority." - Jul 19, '16
© The YeyeMan 2025
The YeyeMan wrote:I'm only here for the social media posts of Onazi playing piano and everybody singing on the bus. That's what it's all about. Everything else is just a bonus.cchinukw wrote:My brother at least some of us are realistic. No need to raise hopes unnecessarily.
Personally, I'm okay with them touring the 3 towns for the group stages. Looking forward to the selfies.

I'm just here for the wild commentary
Advocating rational thought since 1987
- The YeyeMan
Nna, I'm still waiting for the video of them on the bus back to the hotel after the Czech game. That video will tell you what's really up.Kneedeep wrote:The YeyeMan wrote:I'm only here for the social media posts of Onazi playing piano and everybody singing on the bus. That's what it's all about. Everything else is just a bonus.cchinukw wrote:My brother at least some of us are realistic. No need to raise hopes unnecessarily.
Personally, I'm okay with them touring the 3 towns for the group stages. Looking forward to the selfies.![]()
I'm just here for the wild commentary

Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25
© The YeyeMan 2025
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
The team is actually a good TEAM. One of the better all around squads we have assembled. They will go as far as their goalie will take them.kolinzo wrote:There is nothing to enjoy in this WC to be honest. SE is just not a good team.
- The YeyeMan
"It's a good balanced squad whose fate hinges solely on the goalkeeper."Cellular wrote:The team is actually a good TEAM. One of the better all around squads we have assembled. They will go as far as their goalie will take them.kolinzo wrote:There is nothing to enjoy in this WC to be honest. SE is just not a good team.

Bigpokey24 quote:
© The YeyeMan 2025
oloye wrote:Stay away from CE, the fans have lost it completely. I cannot believe some of the stuff I am reading here.
A couple of weeks ago, there is no Super Eagles without Mikel, after today drop him to the bench he is past it.
After Argentina a host of the fans had a Thanksgiving singing Ose Ose o, Ose O , Ose Baba.....their reason for Thanksgiving...Brian Idowu the much awaited left back has arrived. After the match today...they have changed their tune....this Idowu nor be am.
A couple of days ago after Aina committed the penalty in the Congo match.....Aina should be dropped, he adds nothing to the team was the chorus. After today...the fans were wondering why he was dropped. Suddenly he is that missing link,who can do no wrong.
Only Nigerian fans expect a 19 year old keeper not to parry a shot that came at him from close range the way he did when seasoned keepers have done worse.
I don't know what expectations these fans have set for themselves, I don't know what they expect from a team with hardly any world class players, a team with mostly average but hard working players. I don't know what these fans are expecting, but geez I expect to watch the World Cup in peace, so I have stumbled upon the best formula...stay away!

- maceo4
Whatever we lack in goal keeping we more than make up for in shaku-shakuing and piano playing!The YeyeMan wrote:"It's a good balanced squad whose fate hinges solely on the goalkeeper."Cellular wrote:The team is actually a good TEAM. One of the better all around squads we have assembled. They will go as far as their goalie will take them.kolinzo wrote:There is nothing to enjoy in this WC to be honest. SE is just not a good team.

Kpom and kpomestCellular wrote:The team is actually a good TEAM. One of the better all around squads we have assembled. They will go as far as their goalie will take them.kolinzo wrote:There is nothing to enjoy in this WC to be honest. SE is just not a good team.

"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo
- Okochadman2Nas
cchinukw wrote:My brother at least some of us are realistic. No need to raise hopes unnecessarily.oloye wrote:Stay away from CE, the fans have lost it completely. I cannot believe some of the stuff I am reading here.
A couple of weeks ago, there is no Super Eagles without Mikel, after today drop him to the bench he is past it.
After Argentina a host of the fans had a Thanksgiving singing Ose Ose o, Ose O , Ose Baba.....their reason for Thanksgiving...Brian Idowu the much awaited left back has arrived. After the match today...they have changed their tune....this Idowu nor be am.
A couple of days ago after Aina committed the penalty in the Congo match.....Aina should be dropped, he adds nothing to the team was the chorus. After today...the fans were wondering why he was dropped. Suddenly he is that missing link,who can do no wrong.
Only Nigerian fans expect a 19 year old keeper not to parry a shot that came at him from close range the way he did when seasoned keepers have done worse.
I don't know what expectations these fans have set for themselves, I don't know what they expect from a team with hardly any world class players, a team with mostly average but hard working players. I don't know what these fans are expecting, but geez I expect to watch the World Cup in peace, so I have stumbled upon the best formula...stay away!

Even with my arthritic joints and fat belly, I am sure I can still legallycchinukw wrote:I don't even remember a Joao for even grassroots soccer.joao wrote:oloye, great thread as usual.
catching the ball.
Too many lily livered football ITKs herein.![]()
slide-tackle you into your team bench.

- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
Yes, good competent goalkeeping will keep them in games long enough for them to get going.The YeyeMan wrote:"It's a good balanced squad whose fate hinges solely on the goalkeeper."Cellular wrote:The team is actually a good TEAM. One of the better all around squads we have assembled. They will go as far as their goalie will take them.kolinzo wrote:There is nothing to enjoy in this WC to be honest. SE is just not a good team.
Do you recall our 98 game against Spain?
Or the most recent World Cup with The Netherlands against Spain... Spain was about to be 2 nil up on The Dutch. Keeper makes a point-blank save... the Dutch go down the opposite end of the field, score the equalizer and go on to have the momentum.
We are notorious slow starters... if he can keep us in the game long enough to get going, we might make it to the medal rounds.
Yes! We are that complete of a TEAM.
Oloye,oloye wrote:Stay away from CE, the fans have lost it completely. I cannot believe some of the stuff I am reading here.
At Wembley Stadium, a young man (nigerian) sat near my friend and I, probably about 26-28 years and each time our player passed to another, this boy will just shout out loud with a jerky movement, wave his hands and complain. If Iwobi simply passed to Mikel in our own half of the field, the guy will go "ah ha, did he not see Onazi there? Move the ball forward joor! What's all this rubbish? I mean, is he blind? These boys are all useless". He made other folks around us nervous. After a while, I asked him if he was a member of Cybereagles, he said he never heard of Cybereagles. I thought thank God, we have more than enough. We certainly don't need more.
Goldleaf wrote:Oloye,oloye wrote:Stay away from CE, the fans have lost it completely. I cannot believe some of the stuff I am reading here.
At Wembley Stadium, a young man (nigerian) sat near my friend and I, probably about 26-28 years and each time our player passed to another, this boy will just shout out loud with a jerky movement, wave his hands and complain. If Iwobi simply passed to Mikel in our own half of the field, the guy will go "ah ha, did he not see Onazi there? Move the ball forward joor! What's all this rubbish? I mean, is he blind? These boys are all useless". He made other folks around us nervous. After a while, I asked him if he was a member of Cybereagles, he said he never heard of Cybereagles. I thought thank God, we have more than enough. We certainly don't need more.

oloye wrote:Stay away from CE, the fans have lost it completely. I cannot believe some of the stuff I am reading here.
Stay off social media completely for 1 month, CE is not as bad as Nairaland, Naij.com and Instagram.
Prime Example here https://www.instagram.com/p/BjsbUBmlQNX ... nigeria247
Pulsenigeria247 posted a video from our Poland victory.....................Lazy Youths just started commenting thinking it was after the game yesterday.