Re: VAR Is problematic
VAR is the best thing that happened to football in this decade
Africa needs it to undermine corrupt referees
In Ghana 100 referees were caught for taking bribes
some took as little as $20 to turn a game
Africa needs it to undermine corrupt referees
In Ghana 100 referees were caught for taking bribes
some took as little as $20 to turn a game
Have you guys noticed 5 to 6 mins of extra time in most matches nowadays.
Ramos can run all he likes, incidents are reviewed in the control centre, with the previously unseen now seen. VAR hasn’t been without its flaws but for a first try out, it hasn’t been bad. By the next major tournament, it’ll be far more efficient and effective. Football needed to move forward, this is a step in the right direction.
Coach wrote:Ramos can run all he likes, incidents are reviewed in the control centre, with the previously unseen now seen. VAR hasn’t been without its flaws but for a first try out, it hasn’t been bad. By the next major tournament, it’ll be far more efficient and effective. Football needed to move forward, this is a step in the right direction.
I agree. Especially invoking it consistently. Then, the referees can confirm 100% what it is they want to see.

- Heliopolis
I support VAR but it amplifies referee weaknesses and biases. I watched the Portugal Iran game and saw the ref bottle 2 decisions after VAR due to pressure he was under. The first was to give Ronaldo a yellow when he clearly deserved a red. Ronaldo deliberately elbowed the Iranian player in the head and was completely shaken up during the VAR process because he expected to be sent off. For some unknown reason the referee came back and gave the golden boy a yellow even though the incident was clear as day.
Then, the Iranians pressured the ref to use VAR for a handball incident inside the box that did not warrant the PK that the ref ended up awarding.
VAR is very good but there needs to be a better way of implementing it so that refs don't succumb to bias and player/crowd pressure.
Then, the Iranians pressured the ref to use VAR for a handball incident inside the box that did not warrant the PK that the ref ended up awarding.
VAR is very good but there needs to be a better way of implementing it so that refs don't succumb to bias and player/crowd pressure.
We've got to temper our expectations with VAR. Even in Basketball and Hockey, the refs still make a sizable number of wrong or biased calls and yes some players influence them like fouls not called against Lebron James or the amount of fouls for Steph Curry. They get it wrong even though we all watch it and there's an ex referee to analyze it for viewers in real time. VAR is just another tool for the ref like linesmen and he'll still make his call as VAR doesn't make any calls. He's the guy on ground running around with the players.
My only fear is if VAR affect the refs negatively by creating dependency or reduced motivation to better themselves.
VAR is good. It tells the truth by giving refs second looks on calls.
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
charlie wrote:I fully agree. I like how they implemented VAR in Baseball or American Football. Each team should get 1 challenge per game to force the Ref to review a contested play. If you lose your challenge, you cant challenge again for the rest of the game (its up to the refs). If you win your challenge, you keep it and can use it again. Challenges are reset during extra time.Enugu II wrote:I believe VAR is awesome and is welcomed great addition. The problem is not VAR but the current process for implementation. A lot of these can be solved by giving the teams the power to get. VAR review instead of leaving that decision to some faceless guys hidden in some room somewhere.airwolex wrote:It gives refs with bias an easy way of cheating.
Pique deserved a red card and handled the ball twice but no VAR. Linesman calls offside and the fuuul calls for VAR. What an Ahole...so pissed!!!
Human bias has always been a problem in officiating. VAR helps to reduce the problem, but it doesnt eliminate human bias. Improve VAR, dont do away with it.

It might evolve into this.
It comes down to Human interpretation. Pique's challenge was a straight red, VAR or no VAR. REF helped Spain at the last minute, corner was taken on the wrong side. Ronaldo RED is a maybe...since there was no violent intent I think yellow is justified. Iran's penalty was no penalty, defender going after the ball, hand is close to body and happens real quick. The referee controversies continue in the World Cups..
“love the life you live. live the life you love.” Bob Marley
[/video]asabe wrote:It comes down to Human interpretation. Pique's challenge was a straight red, VAR or no VAR. REF helped Spain at the last minute, corner was taken on the wrong side. Ronaldo RED is a maybe...since there was no violent intent I think yellow is justified. Iran's penalty was no penalty, defender going after the ball, hand is close to body and happens real quick. The referee controversies continue in the World Cups..
http://www.sportingnews.com/soccer/vide ... cnu?pgNm=2
- metalalloy
- Flying Eagle
All i know is im glad that the VAR farce occured today before our game. Qieroz lashed out against fifa and VAR in his post match conference. I hope that this heightened attention to VAR will make those morons upstairs and refs think twice before blatantly ignoring clear fouls. 6 people should not be making mistakes like this. God bless Queiroz for taking one for all smaller teams out there. He will most likely be fined by FIFA
start at 22.20mins
https://www.theguardian.com/football/20 ... var-escape“We don’t know if it was the referee or the guys upstairs [who decided]. This game belongs to the people not to a couple of guys behind the scenes. My suggestion, Mr Infantino, they have to put up their hand and say: ‘Sorry, VAR is not working so we have to stop it,’ or the communication must be clear like rugby, when everybody knows what is going on.”
start at 22.20mins
- metalalloy
- Flying Eagle
Haba its the opposite, there was clear intent to throw an elbow which is probably enough for a red card, the only thing that could mitigate it to a yellow is that he didn't make full contact and the Iranian player embellished a bitasabe wrote:It comes down to Human interpretation. Pique's challenge was a straight red, VAR or no VAR. REF helped Spain at the last minute, corner was taken on the wrong side. Ronaldo RED is a maybe...since there was no violent intent I think yellow is justified. Iran's penalty was no penalty, defender going after the ball, hand is close to body and happens real quick. The referee controversies continue in the World Cups..
- metalalloy
- Flying Eagle
folem wrote:[/video]asabe wrote:It comes down to Human interpretation. Pique's challenge was a straight red, VAR or no VAR. REF helped Spain at the last minute, corner was taken on the wrong side. Ronaldo RED is a maybe...since there was no violent intent I think yellow is justified. Iran's penalty was no penalty, defender going after the ball, hand is close to body and happens real quick. The referee controversies continue in the World Cups..
http://www.sportingnews.com/soccer/vide ... cnu?pgNm=2
Horrible call back then too. Straight red especially as Henry was retaliating for the tackle the guy attempetd on him. This is simply the football version of "Jordan rules"
- metalalloy
- Flying Eagle
If i recall under the VAR rules, players are not allowed to do that. Refs are just not enforcing it.Heliopolis wrote:I support VAR but it amplifies referee weaknesses and biases. I watched the Portugal Iran game and saw the ref bottle 2 decisions after VAR due to pressure he was under. The first was to give Ronaldo a yellow when he clearly deserved a red. Ronaldo deliberately elbowed the Iranian player in the head and was completely shaken up during the VAR process because he expected to be sent off. For some unknown reason the referee came back and gave the golden boy a yellow even though the incident was clear as day.
1. Ronaldo got off lightly because his elbow missed the target (head). The Iranian should have been given a yellow for embellishment.Heliopolis wrote:I support VAR but it amplifies referee weaknesses and biases. I watched the Portugal Iran game and saw the ref bottle 2 decisions after VAR due to pressure he was under. The first was to give Ronaldo a yellow when he clearly deserved a red. Ronaldo deliberately elbowed the Iranian player in the head and was completely shaken up during the VAR process because he expected to be sent off. For some unknown reason the referee came back and gave the golden boy a yellow even though the incident was clear as day.
2. Only VAR officials (not the referee) can ask for a review. So the Iranian pressure did nothing
- Heliopolis
So a player can throw a punch, miss, and then get a yellow? Ronaldo has violent intent and deserved a red.
MOVE TO WORLD FOOTBALL
- Scipio Africanus
Ex nihilo nihil fit
Danfo driver when he comes across a new pic to add to his large collection: