Nigeria 0 v Madagascar 2 (FT)
- TonyTheTigerKiller
Re: Nigeria 0 v Madagascar 2 (2H)
The only obvious thing here is that Rohr is a dunderhead. He’s firmly entrenched in Ighalo, stubbornly refusing to give our proven performers a chance. How on earth does it make sense for Etebo to be the driver of the attack. That’s a sure recipe for losing. Iwobi and Onyekuru should have been in the game from the beginning. Musa didn’t come to play today and Rohr’s substitutions and the timing thereof were profoundly abysmal. As for Ighalo, he’s not itCellular wrote:Against might Madagascar, ONE (1) shot on goal.
When Damunk asked many moons ago if we have a scoring problem, he was attacked for stating obvious.

Ok, you seem to forget the coach! ok.Ugbowo wrote:Where to start???
We need Collins back so Aina can go to RB. Playing 2 right footers on the left na wa.
Never ever again should Ogu and Mikel play together. Mikel at 10 is now forever dead.
Musa Musa Musa, the grace of the Iceland game is over.
If only Onuachu wasn’t so bad in the first game. We r stuck with Ighalo.
Fair play to Madagascar. They defend comfortably. 2-0 flattered them a bit but their defensive work deserved a victory.
Dump that effin green jersey in the trash can. It brings out the worst in us. Full on psychological implosion.
- theYemster
Can't argue with either of you.truetalk wrote:He is an extremely lazy and incompetent coach. Plus he is making out like a bandit with no clue about our playing mentality.okidoki wrote:The team just lacks, the cutting edge. I said it last game, and one angel* was insulting me. One of the guys on Eurosport has finished Nigeria. The team isn’t making use of its best players. Roth’s first instinct is to play safe.
All our greatest moments in football globally has been the opposite, of his style. When we play expansive football like Siasia, Manu, Westerhof, and Oliseh was ingraining in the team before he flamed out, We excel.
Rorh simply negates our clearest, and most obvious strength, “our explosiveness” . By being so conservative, he’s turned us into a mid level European team.
He is stiffing the team. We had 2 good halves in about 6 games leading up to (& including) the World Cup. 2nd halves vs England & Iceland.
This dummy reverted to the exact things that were not working in the aftermath of these halves.
He is the problem. I don't like talking down to the generality of people, but anyone who did not see that after the Croatia game does not have a sound football mind.
I'm not sure sure why he didn't use this game to try Osimhen and Onyekuru. Especially for a team struggling to score goals, you have a "free" game to take advantage of trying out new strikers but what does he do instead, same old, and old. We already know what Ighalo and Z Musa give us, his ceiling isn't good enough, but even if you still want him as your starter why not use this also dead rubber game to try options, and if they don't impress then you at least know you've tried all else and are justified in going with the tried and tested.
I was almost certain he'd try a combo of Onyekuru, Osimhen and Chukwueze in this game.
So bloody infuriating.
© ɹ ǝ ʇ s ɯ é ʎ ǝ ɥ ʇ" ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
- danfo driver
There was nothing wrong in Onuachi being bad in the first game. Our coach simply behaved like a fan! Because Ighalo scored, he immediately dropped Onuachu for the next game. That tells you that this is not a coach who actually makes plans! zero! Any coach who planned for this tournament and had a reason to make Onuachu the starter, would trust his decision. instead, this Ram-looking muthafooker was swayed by one goal and decided to revert to Ighalo.Ugbowo wrote:Where to start???
We need Collins back so Aina can go to RB. Playing 2 right footers on the left na wa.
Never ever again should Ogu and Mikel play together. Mikel at 10 is now forever dead.
Fair play to Madagascar. They defend comfortably. 2-0 flattered them a bit but their defensive work deserved a victory.
Dump that effin green jersey in the trash can. It brings out the worst in us. Full on psychological implosion.
Re: Nigeria v Madagascar Official Line-up
I support Nigeria 100 percent. Rohr must go.Robbynice wrote:I support Coach Rohr 100% and will judge him based on results ATF.
This is what I keep saying. Everyone has some player they think is the answer but when I watch them, they are not that impressive. Chukwueze was willing to take on players in game one but his passes and crosses were decidedly subpar. I'm not saying that he won't or can't play better. He still might but we are still searching.Lolly wrote:Yobo still thinks we have good attacking players. We have names playing in Europe but if you watch them closely, they are very average.
I think the high number of foreign born might be the problem, they dont look suited to the physical jambody football that African refs allow to go on. A player completely takes out Kalu with a scissors kick and ref awarded throw in to Madagascar.soma wrote:Eagles need to get all foreign born 11 into this team. The rest lack football intelligence
- green4life
Osimehn picked up a knock (groin?) in a clip I watched. That said he could’ve given Henry a chance today.maceo4 wrote:This was their practice before this game, and Osimhen was there in full flow, don't believe he has a knockCellular wrote:Is Onyekuru injured?okidoki wrote:You need a goal, you have Chukwueze and Onyekuru on the bench(15 & 10 goals respectively), our genius coach brings in Simon Moses, who is a wingback for his team and has scored only one goal all season in all competition. If you think Rorh shouldn’t be handed the pink slip, you epitomize why Nigeria is virtually bankrupt.
Hear Osimhen is recovering from a knock.
Why not start Musa centrally and play Onyekuru or Chukwueze?
We need to score and Rohr is bringing on likes of Moses Simon who's strength is providing defensive stability more so than attacking prowess, leaving a direct runner like Chuckwueze on the bench...
Most of what I said are coaching decisions.fabio wrote:Ok, you seem to forget the coach! ok.Ugbowo wrote:Where to start???
- theYemster
Yeah. Most here were caught up being prisoners of the moment.danfo driver wrote:There was nothing wrong in Onuachi being bad in the first game. Our coach simply behaved like a fan! Because Ighalo scored, he immediately dropped Onuachu for the next game. That tells you that this is not a coach who actually makes plans! zero! Any coach who planned for this tournament and had a reason to make Onuachu the starter, would trust his decision. instead, this Ram-looking muthafooker was swayed by one goal and decided to revert to Ighalo.Ugbowo wrote:Where to start???
I repeat again, for the umpteenth time that Ighalo should be coming off the bench.
- maceo4
Etebo was the DM though, Mikel was the AM. And yes someone else should have started that position in place of him. BTW, John Ogu better not see one more second of play in this tournament...tufiakwaTonyTheTigerKiller wrote:The only obvious thing here is that Rohr is a dunderhead. He’s firmly entrenched in Ighalo, stubbornly refusing to give our proven performers a chance. How on earth does it make sense for Etebo to be the driver of the attack. That’s a sure recipe for losing. Iwobi and Onyekuru should have been in the game from the beginning. Musa didn’t come to play today and Rohr’s substitutions and the timing thereof were profoundly abysmal. As for Ighalo, he’s not itCellular wrote:Against might Madagascar, ONE (1) shot on goal.
When Damunk asked many moons ago if we have a scoring problem, he was attacked for stating obvious.![]()
Re: Nigeria 0 v Madagascar 2 (FT)
Naija deluded fans. Tournament after tournament, we assemble on CE beating chest as the giant of Africa. Forgetting that prior to the mercenary Rohr, we were struggling against countries like Lesotho, Mozambique, Niger, Uganda, Angola, Ethiopia, Sudan etc...
- maceo4
That was an older clip, from before the last game I believe...you can see him here playing without any obvious issues...green4life wrote:Osimehn picked up a knock (groin?) in a clip I watched. That said he could’ve given Henry a chance today.maceo4 wrote:This was their practice before this game, and Osimhen was there in full flow, don't believe he has a knockCellular wrote:Is Onyekuru injured?okidoki wrote:You need a goal, you have Chukwueze and Onyekuru on the bench(15 & 10 goals respectively), our genius coach brings in Simon Moses, who is a wingback for his team and has scored only one goal all season in all competition. If you think Rorh shouldn’t be handed the pink slip, you epitomize why Nigeria is virtually bankrupt.
Hear Osimhen is recovering from a knock.
Why not start Musa centrally and play Onyekuru or Chukwueze?
We need to score and Rohr is bringing on likes of Moses Simon who's strength is providing defensive stability more so than attacking prowess, leaving a direct runner like Chuckwueze on the bench...
- maceo4
Bruh, these Madagascan players play in 4th and 5th divisions across Europe, I mean can we cut the crap. This is not a team we should be losing 2-0 to...haba I thought this was obvious...Ekorian wrote:Naija deluded fans. Tournament after tournament, we assemble on CE beating chest as the giant of Africa. Forgetting that prior to the mercenary Rohr, we were struggling against countries like Lesotho, Mozambique, Niger, Uganda, Angola, Ethiopia, Sudan etc...
Did not watch the game, thought Nigeria should win this comfortably but in world football these days, there are no minnows anymore, at least i thought a point will do to win the group, well at least they are through to the knock out stage, no more mistakes allowed or they out
- danfo driver
I see you keep making excuses for men, but went in hard against the Falcons. Your hatred for women is disgusting.marko wrote:Did not watch the game, thought Nigeria should win this comfortably but in world football these days, there are no minnows anymore, at least i thought a point will do to win the group, well at least they are through to the knock out stage, no more mistakes allowed or they out
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
The coach must have thought Etebo is a Superman to cover for two slow players. Don’t think any of our resident line-up experts would come up with that line up.Ugbowo wrote:Where to start???
2 guys I am worried about their health status are Osimhen and Onyekuru.
Positives about the game is that we know folks who should be coming off the bench. Ahmed Musa being one of them.
Also that Moses Simon hid Awaziem deficiencies at RB.
Are you guys sure they have improved defensively? The biggest improvement/difference in that defense for me is the retirement of shoelace Yobo.aruako1 wrote:Same thing I saw at the world cup.txj wrote:FATHER TIKO wrote:This is not a knee-jerk reaction: Rohr has not improved this team since he arrived...
Yeah, he has achieved results, but this team has been dormant for years...
Defensively we have clearly improved, but that has taken away from our offense. A problem made worse by the conservative bent of the coach...
No excuses, just facts presented in front of me, well at least i am not accused of been biased against African teams, makes a huge difference, we dont have any white man or VAR to blame, most important, no minnows in world football!danfo driver wrote:I see you keep making excuses for men, but went in hard against the Falcons. Your hatred for women is disgusting.marko wrote:Did not watch the game, thought Nigeria should win this comfortably but in world football these days, there are no minnows anymore, at least i thought a point will do to win the group, well at least they are through to the knock out stage, no more mistakes allowed or they out
- green4life
My brother abeg e done do. Allow marko to rest small. Today has been a rough one. A need a drink.danfo driver wrote:I see you keep making excuses for men, but went in hard against the Falcons. Your hatred for women is disgusting.marko wrote:Did not watch the game, thought Nigeria should win this comfortably but in world football these days, there are no minnows anymore, at least i thought a point will do to win the group, well at least they are through to the knock out stage, no more mistakes allowed or they out

How are we stuck with Ighalo? What about Osimhen?Ugbowo wrote:Where to start???
- FATHER TIKO
Its much deeper than the conservative bent of the coach...Its also attitude...aruako1 wrote:Same thing I saw at the world cup.txj wrote:FATHER TIKO wrote:This is not a knee-jerk reaction: Rohr has not improved this team since he arrived...
Defensively we have clearly improved, but that has taken away from our offense. A problem made worse by the conservative bent of the coach...
Going by his words, Rohr appears 'meek'... Meekness is no virtue in elite sport...Didn't a sage once comment that at the highest level sport is 90% mental and 10% skill..?
Rohr kept talking up Madagascar & Burundi after the draws as if those 2 nations were our 'equals'...That probably lowered the fear factor for them...
Its probably no coincidence that Rohr has supervised 2 nightmares for us: Loss at home to SAfrica; Loss to Madagascar...
"...Some say football is not a matter of life and death;
I can assure you it's more important than that..."
- Bill Shankly
I can assure you it's more important than that..."
- Bill Shankly
FATHER TIKO wrote:Its much deeper than the conservative bent of the coach...Its also attitude...aruako1 wrote:Same thing I saw at the world cup.txj wrote:FATHER TIKO wrote:This is not a knee-jerk reaction: Rohr has not improved this team since he arrived...
Going by his words, Rohr appears 'meek'... Meekness is no virtue in elite sport...Didn't a sage once comment that at the highest level sport is 90% mental and 10% skill..?
Rohr kept talking up Madagascar & Burundi after the draws as if those 2 nations were our 'equals'...That probably lowered the fear factor for them...
Its probably no coincidence that Rohr has supervised 2 nightmares for us: Loss at home to SAfrica; Loss to Madagascar...
I really don't give a flying fvvck what he says. Its what he delvers on the pitch that I'm focused on...
You can have a meek demeanor and still be on top of your game...
The issue with our fullbacks today was so frustrating my family thought I was going to start throwing stuff at the wall!
Last edited by txj on Sun Jun 30, 2019 7:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.
We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp