Nigeria 1vs 2 Algeria: FT
Re: Nigeria 1vs 2 Algeria: FT
Better coach = Better coached.1naija wrote:We should give credit to Algeria. They were the better team and earned the victory.
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo
- maceo4
Better players too...zee wrote:Better coach = Better coached.1naija wrote:We should give credit to Algeria. They were the better team and earned the victory.
- imehjunior
Rohr should go. Ighalo, Musa, Mikel should retire from international football. Enyeama should look for a team and come back till we get a replacement.
Thank you Sirgreen4life wrote:Please stop it. Our players are good enough to compete and win this tournament but sometimes they need a Coach to turn a game around from the bench. That’s why he’s there and not to lazily rely on having better players to win. That my friend is the definition of a clueless coach.marko wrote:What if Rohr is not as delusional as some people? Knows the team are pretty average and has to fashion out a playing style to suit we he has? Our players dont have common sense , saw this over 90 minutes, their football is too basic and not pleasing to the eye, Algeria more than deserved to win, i can admit i was hoping for the best, maybe a mistake or individual effort but everything pointed to an Algeria victory and we should be happy at least football won the day!

"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo
- TonyTheTigerKiller
Re: Nigeria 1 vs 1 Algeria: Second half
No goalie in the world would have saved that free kick. It was masterfulIgugu wrote:I questioned that too. This is the upteeth time he has done this stupid positioning of himself during free kicks. I keep wondering who his goal keeping coach is!green4life wrote:Lmao @ Akpeyi positioning on that pk. Practically invited the goal.

- maceo4
KPOM.oscar52 wrote:True.marko wrote:What if Rohr is not as delusional as some people? Knows the team are pretty average and has to fashion out a playing style to suit we he has? Our players dont have common sense , saw this over 90 minutes, their football is too basic and not pleasing to the eye, Algeria more than deserved to win, i can admit i was hoping for the best, maybe a mistake or individual effort but everything pointed to an Algeria victory and we should be happy at least football won the day!
- green4life
Sadly he wasn’t smart enough to understand same and have faith in his wallmaceo4 wrote:Anyways, we knew going in we had a crap goalie, so I was not expecting anything from him, was hoping the wall would save us...Oguleftie wrote:Or have a player stand by goal line on that side of the post.Waffiman wrote:Awful positioning. Gave himself no chance and made Mahrez mind up.green4life wrote:Did you see his positioning?maceo4 wrote:You want to blame the goalie for that?green4life wrote:I knew it. Goalie just focus on your side.
Algeria created the better chances and played better so deserved to win. Not a fan of Akpeyi, but can't really blame him on the goal. It was a well struck freekick
Ou current team is loaded with great players..............2013 team had even local players as key players and they won the cup without losing a game.maceo4 wrote:Better players too...zee wrote:Better coach = Better coached.1naija wrote:We should give credit to Algeria. They were the better team and earned the victory.
Little off topic here: WTF is the finals of the biggest sporting event in Africa scheduled for a Friday?!?!?
- green4life
And I’m waiting for you to blame Mikel for costing us this game or Ndidi your new whipping boy?maceo4 wrote:But you knew our keeper wasn't good from the jump, what does your complaining do? And I have seen these kind of goals go in against better keepers, haven't you?green4life wrote:It was needless given the positioning of the fk was near the 18 box meaning it’ll have had to be a world class effort where goalie watches it curl in. In that situation you clap for the fk taker. .. at a minimum you must give yourself a fair chance to save the ball coming straight to your uncovered side. That is basic from that close distance because it’s much much easier for the kicker to get it on target going to the uncovered side than having to curl it over the wall. In this instance his actual starting position was in the middle of the post then he further cheated to his left. So silly and easy peezy for a player the quality Of marhez.Vincent. wrote:He did what all modern goalies do - gamble that Mahrez would get the ball over the wall into the far corner. He took a step to the left before returning to his corner when he saw the ball was going there. It happens in club football every week..green4life wrote:No mind am. I’ve given up on mace04 understanding the game.Mister Dolly wrote:The goalie should always protect the weak sidemaceo4 wrote:You want to blame the goalie for that?green4life wrote:I knew it. Goalie just focus on your side.
Anyways, I'm waiting for you guys great football minds to open some more threads on Etebo while you guys stay mum about Ndidi and his incessant fouling in dangerous positions...

Algeria had better players and they were coached better than Nigeria. Belmadi is light years better than Rohr.
We are just not very good, and haven’t been for years. The last SE game that I can say we played to a good standard in my opinion was probably against Argentina in the 2014 World Cup under Keshi - and we lost. Rohr is definitely not the solution, but I can’t think of anyone immediately that has what we need that can tolerate not being paid their salaries on time. So we are doomed to only mediocre foreign coaches or local coaches that don’t get the respect and support they need. I’m looking forward to the day when I can expect to be entertained and enjoy SE performances again, regardless of result.
- danfo driver
This is a lie. I know the Algeria players, as much as I know the Nigerian players.maceo4 wrote:Better players too...zee wrote:Better coach = Better coached.1naija wrote:We should give credit to Algeria. They were the better team and earned the victory.
- maceo4
I know we don't want to admit it, but who do we have as good as Mahrez though...danfo driver wrote:This is a lie. I know the Algeria players, as much as I know the Nigerian players.maceo4 wrote:Better players too...zee wrote:Better coach = Better coached.1naija wrote:We should give credit to Algeria. They were the better team and earned the victory.
- maceo4
We are talking about an important SE game you are bringing up Mikel (this is not Championship or Turkish retirement league), abeg stay on topic. He's not a whipping boy, I love him, but I know his flaws, you guys apparent can only see Etebo's, I know why when it comes to you and Cellular, but like I'm a take my own advice and stay on topic...green4life wrote:
And I’m waiting for you to blame Mikel for costing us this game or Ndidi your new whipping boy?
Last edited by maceo4 on Sun Jul 14, 2019 11:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
- TonyTheTigerKiller
Any coach who takes Onuachu over Iheanacho is more than clueless. Trust me on thatmarko wrote:What if Rohr is not as delusional as some people? Knows the team are pretty average and has to fashion out a playing style to suit we he has? Our players dont have common sense , saw this over 90 minutes, their football is too basic and not pleasing to the eye, Algeria more than deserved to win, i can admit i was hoping for the best, maybe a mistake or individual effort but everything pointed to an Algeria victory and we should be happy at least football won the day!

- danfo driver
None of our wingers today is as good as Mahrez. Chukwueze will become significantly bettet than Mahrez, because he is more talented. But right now, he is NOT as good as Mahrez.maceo4 wrote:I know we don't want to admit it, but who do we have as good as Mahrez though...danfo driver wrote:This is a lie. I know the Algeria players, as much as I know the Nigerian players.maceo4 wrote:Better players too...zee wrote:Better coach = Better coached.1naija wrote:We should give credit to Algeria. They were the better team and earned the victory.
Okay, I have answered your question. But you claimed they had "better players." Mahrez is only one player. Their other 10 players nko? The likes of Feghouli and even the kid who just moved to AC Milan are quality, but the same Fegouli failed at West Ham while Iwobi plays for Arsenal.
Trust me bro, truth is, i know their team, they have competent players here and there, but when you look at each of their eleven, they aint better than us. This loss and performance is down to horrendous tactics! I said it over and over again! I noticed it when we lost to Croatia, that was the day i lost respect for Rohr. I have never coached a professional team in my life, so when I begin to see things that the coach cannot see, it tells me we are in huge trouble.
I am confident that I am a better coach thatn Rohr, and that is a huge problem for Nigeria. Thats ridiculous on every level.
- maceo4
Their keeper is better than ours, and just like that I don't need to name more because thats plural players abi....danfo driver wrote:None of our wingers today is as good as Mahrez. Chukwueze will become significantly bettet than Mahrez, because he is more talented. But right now, he is NOT as good as Mahrez.maceo4 wrote:I know we don't want to admit it, but who do we have as good as Mahrez though...danfo driver wrote:This is a lie. I know the Algeria players, as much as I know the Nigerian players.maceo4 wrote:Better players too...zee wrote:Better coach = Better coached.1naija wrote:We should give credit to Algeria. They were the better team and earned the victory.
Okay, I have answered your question. But you claimed they had "better players." Mahrez is only one player. Their other 10 players nko? The likes of Feghouli and even the kid who just moved to AC Milan are quality, but the same Fegouli failed at West Ham while Iwobi plays for Arsenal.
Trust me bro, truth is, i know their team, they have competent players here and there, but when you look at each of their eleven, they aint better than us. This loss and performance is down to horrendous tactics! I said it over and over again! I noticed it when we lost to Croatia, that was the day i lost respect for Rohr. I have never coached a professional team in my life, so when I begin to see things that the coach cannot see, it tells me we are in huge trouble.
I am confident that I am a better coach thatn Rohr, and that is a huge problem for Nigeria. Thats ridiculous on every level.
I hope Senegal wins, with all their talent, they are long overdue for a damn trophy already.
- green4life
And what’s really sad is I actually believe you. This coach relies on wining when his team has better players while a good coach prides himself on winning when its even talent wise or when the other team has better players. I’ve given him a chance and defended him in support of the team but Rohr no be am.danfo driver wrote:None of our wingers today is as good as Mahrez. Chukwueze will become significantly bettet than Mahrez, because he is more talented. But right now, he is NOT as good as Mahrez.maceo4 wrote:I know we don't want to admit it, but who do we have as good as Mahrez though...danfo driver wrote:This is a lie. I know the Algeria players, as much as I know the Nigerian players.maceo4 wrote:Better players too...zee wrote:Better coach = Better coached.1naija wrote:We should give credit to Algeria. They were the better team and earned the victory.
Have you watched them play? But for inspired performances all round, they'll be made to look like a darker-skinned version of Nigeria today. Plenty of talent, yet, for whatever reason, as a collective, they're nothing like what they should be. Koulibaly is coveted the world over, see the central defending offered up today. Idrissa Gueye, bulldozer in the Premiership, couldn't pass urine today, talk less of the ball. Mane wasn't at his best and the less said of Niang the better. If they can play to the sum of their parts, they'll make a fist of it. If.Tobi17 wrote:I hope Senegal wins, with all their talent, they are long overdue for a damn trophy already.
- TonyTheTigerKiller
Why do we have to have a foreign coach when we have people like Emenalo and his vast experience in big time football... and he’ll probably be happy to do the job for freeogiso wrote:We are just not very good, and haven’t been for years. The last SE game that I can say we played to a good standard in my opinion was probably against Argentina in the 2014 World Cup under Keshi - and we lost. Rohr is definitely not the solution, but I can’t think of anyone immediately that has what we need that can tolerate not being paid their salaries on time. So we are doomed to only mediocre foreign coaches or local coaches that don’t get the respect and support they need. I’m looking forward to the day when I can expect to be entertained and enjoy SE performances again, regardless of result.