Redknapp to coach Nigeria?
Source:Daily Mirror : https://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football ... t-22076992
Harry Redknapp could be offered return to management as next Nigeria boss
Nigeria could be about to offer Harry Redknapp a route back into management as the Super Eagles consider their options.
Harry Redknapp is being considered as the next manager of Nigeria.
Current Super Eagles coach Gernot Rohr sees his contract expire at the end of the month and there is serious doubt over the German's future
It has led the Nigerian hierarchy to review their options meaning Redknapp could be set for a return to management.
A Super Eagles source told the Star : “The feeling is Harry Redknapp will be coming to manage Nigeria soon.’’
The African nation and the former Tottenham boss have previously held discussions about the role.
That was back in 2016 but negotiations broke down, however they are confident of completing a deal this time round.
Harry Redknapp could be offered return to management as next Nigeria boss
Nigeria could be about to offer Harry Redknapp a route back into management as the Super Eagles consider their options.
Harry Redknapp is being considered as the next manager of Nigeria.
Current Super Eagles coach Gernot Rohr sees his contract expire at the end of the month and there is serious doubt over the German's future
It has led the Nigerian hierarchy to review their options meaning Redknapp could be set for a return to management.
A Super Eagles source told the Star : “The feeling is Harry Redknapp will be coming to manage Nigeria soon.’’
The African nation and the former Tottenham boss have previously held discussions about the role.
That was back in 2016 but negotiations broke down, however they are confident of completing a deal this time round.
Last edited by DIMKA76 on Sun May 24, 2020 11:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Re: Redknapp to coach Nigeria?
Didn't we just reach an agreement with Rohr?
I thought Rohr's contract situation was already sorted out?
- General Trousers
This is a bad idea.
<<
<<
they were saying Redknap and Hector Cuper were circling like vultures for the job and that the NFF wanted to frustrate Rohr out, but Rohr conceded to the terms.
This is a very bad idea.
Although these coaches are more established than Rohr, I dont think it will be a good idea to just do what we do best and create an unstable situation.
Rohr has done well with this team, Rome was not built in a day. He should continue with the team, we are improving every game, and there is an upward trajectory.
I hope patience and long term planning prevails.
This is a very bad idea.
Although these coaches are more established than Rohr, I dont think it will be a good idea to just do what we do best and create an unstable situation.
Rohr has done well with this team, Rome was not built in a day. He should continue with the team, we are improving every game, and there is an upward trajectory.
- TonyTheTigerKiller
We are not improving in spite of the numerous options available. If anything, we are inconsistent and the recent ACN amply demonstrated that. Giving all that’s going on in the World right now, this is the perfect time to make a change, if they’re thinking about it. If they can’t pull off the change within a month or two tops, they should stick with Rohrvancity eagle wrote:they were saying Redknap and Hector Cuper were circling like vultures for the job and that the NFF wanted to frustrate Rohr out, but Rohr conceded to the terms.
This is a very bad idea.
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:We are not improving in spite of the numerous options available. If anything, we are inconsistent and the recent ACN amply demonstrated that. Giving all that’s going on in the World right now, this is the perfect time to make a change, if they’re thinking about it. If they can’t pull off the change within a month or two tops, they should stick with Rohrvancity eagle wrote:they were saying Redknap and Hector Cuper were circling like vultures for the job and that the NFF wanted to frustrate Rohr out, but Rohr conceded to the terms.
This is a very bad idea.
actually we are improving, and many of the "numerous options available" have only really come to life AFTER the concluded ANC
Aribo and Ajayi have only played for SE since, and have added quite a bit.
Osimehn has only really played any serious minutes POST ANC.
Chukwueze also has only really stamped his authority on SE POST ANC
Thats 4 key players who have drastically improved SE POST ANC.
So judging our progress on the ANC alone, and ignoring the matches since is disingenuous. Not to mention that we only lost to eventual champions by a last minute free kick, and if you think the Algerians are a joke I suggest you go to youtube and watch how they completely dismantled a Colombia side 3-0.
The match SE played against Ukraine displayed a high pressure attacking football that frankly Nigeria has not seen in a long time. The match could easily have ended 4 or 5 nil, if not for sloppy finishing and bringing on that carpenter Esiti to give the Ukrainians a way back into the match. The Ukrainians are also a very good team by the way.
and to say that drawing Brazil is not an improvement on some of our play in the past is also disingenuous, as also to deny the attacking display we put on against Lesotho, in a tough away match on artificial turf.
Yes sir we ARE improving.
It would take someone with a serious agenda to deny that.
That will be a disaster waiting to happen
God forbid bad thing!
It would have been an incredibly STUPID idea to have hired either Redknapp or Cuper in place of Rohr.
Redknapp is a man who last coached in 2017. He has only coached one (1) national team, namely Jordan. He is a club coach with inconsequential national team experience (wasn't he booted out by Jordan after only 2 matches because he couldn't hack it?)
With Cuper, really no upswing over Rohr. Another club coach. With Egypt, he lost to Cameroon in Nations cup final and had a very poor outing at the 2018 WC - lost all 3 matches. Last coached Uzbekhistan.
I mean, seriously??? Who the heck are these LOSERS who keep trying for foist these men on Nigeria?
It would have been an incredibly STUPID idea to have hired either Redknapp or Cuper in place of Rohr.
Redknapp is a man who last coached in 2017. He has only coached one (1) national team, namely Jordan. He is a club coach with inconsequential national team experience (wasn't he booted out by Jordan after only 2 matches because he couldn't hack it?)
With Cuper, really no upswing over Rohr. Another club coach. With Egypt, he lost to Cameroon in Nations cup final and had a very poor outing at the 2018 WC - lost all 3 matches. Last coached Uzbekhistan.
I mean, seriously??? Who the heck are these LOSERS who keep trying for foist these men on Nigeria?
vancity eagle wrote:they were saying Redknap and Hector Cuper were circling like vultures for the job and that the NFF wanted to frustrate Rohr out, but Rohr conceded to the terms.
This is a very bad idea.
Last edited by Otitokoro on Mon May 25, 2020 2:07 am, edited 1 time in total.
- danfo driver
Wheeler Dealer 'Arry is a better coach than Rohr. No question.
However, if we are going to replace Rohr, we should go for someone better than 'Arry.
This is like when Nigerians tried to replace Buhari with that thief, Atiku. While Atiku may be better, he is just another bad direction.
However, if we are going to replace Rohr, we should go for someone better than 'Arry.
This is like when Nigerians tried to replace Buhari with that thief, Atiku. While Atiku may be better, he is just another bad direction.
Hey may be better, but is he as committed to this project as Rohr ? Or will he cut and run the first time he is owed money. There is benefit in stability and continuity, it just is not worth it at this point, starting from scratch, for what ?danfo driver wrote:Wheeler Dealer 'Arry is a better coach than Rohr. No question.
If it's not broken why try to fix it.
Seems these NFF guys just want a "big name" They are downright foolish for this kind of approach.
It's one thing if Rohr has been poor, then I can understand, but for heavens sake, it is not our birthright to win the ANC.
What the heck do they think teams like Algeria, Senegal, Morocco, CIV, came to do, sell groundnut ?
Jeez, we didn't even have the best squad on paper, and missed the previous 2 ancs. We went there with a very young team (mikel our stability in MF for a decade was finished and dropped) and we still finished third, losing to the champs in the last minute. some people think na our birthright. I hope it's not 2002 all over again.
Last edited by vancity eagle on Mon May 25, 2020 2:26 am, edited 1 time in total.
They will not stop until they hand SE over to the English FA. Colo people. 

On what basis? Club football? or National team football?
How many times did Redknapp play in the final of a major competition? How about club competition?
Rohr coached Girondins Bordeaux in the UEFA cup finals, losing to Bayern after defeating AC Milan in the semis. What the 'F' has Harry done?
Please, enough is enough!!
How many times did Redknapp play in the final of a major competition? How about club competition?
Rohr coached Girondins Bordeaux in the UEFA cup finals, losing to Bayern after defeating AC Milan in the semis. What the 'F' has Harry done?
danfo driver wrote:Wheeler Dealer 'Arry is a better coach than Rohr. No question.
Maybe they figure Redknapp will help with the dual British Nigerians.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:They will not stop until they hand SE over to the English FA. Colo people.
- danfo driver
What else?Otitokoro wrote:On what basis? Club football? or National team football?
danfo driver wrote:Wheeler Dealer 'Arry is a better coach than Rohr. No question.
As for 'Arry, I believe he won a few trophies including:
1. UEFA Intertoto Cup
2. FA Cup
I want to see this happen. It will end terribly with at least one person going to jail, so I want it to happen.
Rohr's accomplishments:
As a Player:
73/74 Season: European Champions Club winner, German Cup winner (Bayern)
72/73 Season: German Cup Winner (Bayern)
83/84 Season: French League Champion (Girondins Bordeaux)
84/85 Season: French League Champion (Girondins Bordeaux)
85/86 Season: French Cup Champion (Girondins Bordeaux)
86/87 Season: French League Champion and French Cup Champion (Girondins Bordeaux)
As a Coach:
1996 European Champions Club runners up medal (Girondins Bordeaux)
2019: AFCON bronze medal (Nigeria)
Since you want to play 'accomplishments ping pong', please line up Harry's relevant accomplishments as player and coach, and let's see how they stack up.
The thrust of my arguement is Harry has no credible (or indeed relevant) international experience and will be completely useless to the SE, in comparison to Rohr.
As a Player:
86/87 Season: French League Champion and French Cup Champion (Girondins Bordeaux)
As a Coach:
Since you want to play 'accomplishments ping pong', please line up Harry's relevant accomplishments as player and coach, and let's see how they stack up.
The thrust of my arguement is Harry has no credible (or indeed relevant) international experience and will be completely useless to the SE, in comparison to Rohr.
danfo driver wrote:What else?Otitokoro wrote:On what basis? Club football? or National team football?
As for 'Arry, I believe he won a few trophies including:
1. UEFA Intertoto Cup
2. FA Cup
- danfo driver
kalani JR wrote:I want to see this happen. It will end terribly with at least one person going to jail, so I want it to happen.

at least 1 person?

- danfo driver
Otitokoro wrote:Rohr's accomplishments:
As a Player:

What has he WON?As a Coach:
Not interested. I am not going to reduce my standards to be arguing IN FAVOR of Wheeler Dealer 'Arry Redkpnapp.Since you want to play 'accomplishments ping pong', please line up Harry's relevant accomplishments as player and coach, and let's see how they stack up.

I couldnt care less about him or his accomplishments or his career. Thats his business. In a normal world, it will be an insult to the Super Eagles to have his name mentioned in the same sentence as my team.
- Eaglezbeak
So all the news about Rohr agreeing terms with the NFF are fake or this is what I hope it is a late April fools joke.Harry will not hang around and Nigeria will suffer for their dumb mistakes once again if this is true!
https://africanfootball.com/news/778621 ... s-new-deal
Last edited by Eaglezbeak on Mon May 25, 2020 11:12 am, edited 1 time in total.
I want to say two but I have a feeling the second will turn informant.danfo driver wrote:kalani JR wrote:I want to see this happen. It will end terribly with at least one person going to jail, so I want it to happen.![]()
at least 1 person?
I like him but don't trust him.vancity eagle wrote:Maybe they figure Redknapp will help with the dual British Nigerians.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:They will not stop until they hand SE over to the English FA. Colo people.
Reading between the lines regarding Rohr's revised contract and all that is rumoured to have gone on, seems like the NFF tried to make the revised contract as unattractive as possible. With Rohr agreeing to it, seems like a tactical game of chess. If NFF leave Rohr unpaid as they have in the past, he might leave with a huge payoff. E be like say NFF don't chop bottle.