Let's DISCUSS: which players need to be called up for the play offs?

I don't know if Rohr will survive this brand of football terrorism that he has been dishing out to millions of Nigerian fans, but we can't help but wonder if most of these players are just irredeemably BAD regardless of the coach?

Anyway we made it to the final round albeit unconvincingly... and major changes have to be effected which means some players either need to be dropped or permanently benched, we are seeded in the same groups as Algeria, Senegal, Ivory Coast, Egypt? which would mean we won't be meeting any of these teams (thankfully, correct me if I'm wrong)... Which team would you not want us to face? and which players need to be called up for the play off rounds?

Hopefully by then the likes of Ejaria, Lookman, Amoo, Onyedika and other promising names would be ready... and yeah Rohr has got to go... along with Ekong.
Re: Let's DISCUSS: which players need to be called up for the play offs?

Ebuehi

You mean there's no world class player out there that hasn't being called? How about C RON and MESSI?

Those names are not really upgrades though

I am hoping that our CDs improve before the playoffs.
Or that we accidentally discover a partnership that works.

Need to find an understudy for Moses Simon as well.

BTW, Ndidi needs to get back to match fitness... I never see this kind trekking since Oga used to roam the field pre-Bolton days. Dude was literally standing and walking while action was going on around him.

Cellular wrote: Tue Nov 16, 2021 7:32 pm I am hoping that our CDs improve before the playoffs.

BTW, Ndidi needs to get back to match fitness... I never see this kind trekking since Oga used to roam the field pre-Bolton days. Dude was literally standing and walking while action was going on around him.
You really hope Ekong and Balogun will improve? your optimism meter must be very high then.
donadoni

Post by donadoni »

Basic things like passing accurately when not under pressure were lacking. The number of poor passes from Iwobi for example or poor crosses from Simon. It takes a position where we have the ball in offense and coverts it to one where we are under pressure- all for no reason. Ekong making unforced errors in defense. Mentally something is up with their focus and confidence. To me it’s not about inviting other players (it’s not like there are so many much better players) but getting the ones we have to play with confidence and to their abilities. On paper this should be a great team

What kind of retard calls back Ighalo. Rohr should be sacked. What a borefest!! What does Pinnick see in this guy?

Ejaria, Lookman, Ebuehi, Awoniyi, and Sadiq. We can drop Musa, Shehu, and possibly Ighalo.

Cellular wrote: Tue Nov 16, 2021 7:32 pm I am hoping that our CDs improve before the playoffs.
They won't. This is how they play.

Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25
"The Yeyeman is hardly ever vulgar when dealing with anyone." - Mar 23, '18
"I will take Trump over Clinton but I am in the minority." - Jul 19, '16

© The YeyeMan 2025
tedder89

Post by tedder89 »

Re Ndidi, he's clearly not fit.....he was struggling to cover ground esp in the heat and humidity
IN OUR CASE, THERE IS NO TIME. NO SERIOUS COACH WILL TAKE THIS JOB

Pasamu on Monday Feb 22nd 2010 post ANC- I will repeat again, the problem with our team was never ability or personnel or even tactics . It was confidence pure and simple confidence. Amodus team had been spat upon, anything they did was dismissed as insignificant To see the team going from playing brilliant football against Egypt in the first half of their ANC group game to the cautious fear laden play against Zambia was sad.

Both Balogun and Ekong are poor on the ball and this affects our build up from the back, leading to long balls routinely by passing our midfield. Just criminal in this day and age of modern football.

We can afford 1 but not both of them. I will hold onto Balogun and troway Ekong who is simply not good enough on the ground and not imposing in the air. We have better CD options who will improve our possession build up from the back AND through the midfield. All this 1950 kick and rush route 1 has to end pronto.

tedder89 wrote: Tue Nov 16, 2021 9:10 pm

Re Ndidi, he's clearly not fit.....he was struggling to cover ground esp in the heat and humidity
He was fairly improved from the last game (liberia) where is was a shadow of himself at best.

Callup

Ejaria, Lookman, Alhassan, Onyedika, Dennis, Sadiq, Ajayi, Awoniyi, Ebuehi, Kalu, Nwobodo

Drop

Musa, Shehu, Ighalo, Onuachu,

Relegate to deep bench

Simon, Collins, Troost,

Kingsley Michael was good in hos one game. Not sure why he was dropped.
Bushboy's bushmen : 1.Isaac Success 2. Terem Moffi 3. Victor Boniface 4. Samuel Omorodion. 5. Samson Tijani. 6. Rafiu Durosinmi. 7. George Ilenikhena.

bushboy wrote: Tue Nov 16, 2021 11:01 pm Kingsley Michael was good in hos one game. Not sure why he was dropped.
Injury

airwolex wrote: Tue Nov 16, 2021 7:29 pm Those names are not really upgrades though
That’s what most fans are missing. We don’t have better players anywhere than what has been on display for the past year.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Lolly wrote: Wed Nov 17, 2021 12:20 am
airwolex wrote: Tue Nov 16, 2021 7:29 pm Those names are not really upgrades though
That’s what most fans are missing. We don’t have better players anywhere than what has been on display for the past year.
absolute nonsense.

I beg go hump a transformer

We dont have better players than

Moses Simon ?
Jamilu Collins ?
Odion Ighalo ?
Troost Ekong ?
Paul Onuachu ?
Ahmed Musa ?
Shehu Abdullahi ?

These junks need to get the fock off of our team. And you clowns claiming there is no one out there better, go find a bridge and do the necessary.

vancity eagle wrote: Wed Nov 17, 2021 1:03 am
Lolly wrote: Wed Nov 17, 2021 12:20 am
absolute nonsense.

I beg go hump a transformer

We dont have better players than

Moses Simon ?
Jamilu Collins ?
Odion Ighalo ?
Troost Ekong ?
Paul Onuachu ?
Ahmed Musa ?
Shehu Abdullahi ?

These junks need to get the fock off of our team. And you clowns claiming there is no one out there better, go find a bridge and do the necessary.
Why are you so rabid? It’s ok to express your opinion but these “ junks” and “ clowns” have actually served our country. Make you point but the constant name calling does not assure we hear you or agree with you anymore than if you were civil.

...just scout Europe for more foreign born as usual, dem plenty, since uns no like home based players, don't wanna invest in them.

Benedict Iroha wrote: Tue Nov 16, 2021 7:58 pm What kind of retard calls back Ighalo. Rohr should be sacked. What a borefest!! What does Pinnick see in this guy?
My question is still: Why did Ighalo accept the offer to come back? If I were him, I wouldn't have come. I hope he doesn't regret his return.

mcal wrote: Wed Nov 17, 2021 4:21 am ...just scout Europe for more foreign born as usual, dem plenty, since uns no like home based players, don't wanna invest in them.
just shut up with your junk home based players who cannot even qualify for CHAN.

SE could field 3 squads of 23, and goalkeepers would be the only home based players called.

and since you are so dense, scouting for players in Europe in no way stops investment in the local league. Its as if you think the two things cannot be done simultaneously.

It is not the duty of SE, or a SE coach to develop or promote the local league.
Last edited by vancity eagle on Wed Nov 17, 2021 5:10 am, edited 1 time in total.

Thats a fuucking lie.