OFFICIAL SQUAD AGAINST GHANA RELEASED

Re: Eguavoen releases SQUAD against Ghana

vancity eagle wrote: Fri Mar 04, 2022 4:16 pm
maceo4 wrote: Fri Mar 04, 2022 3:32 pm
Lolly wrote: Fri Mar 04, 2022 2:55 pm Our coaches must have a special strong drink that causes them to make boneheaded decisions.

Etebo hasn’t played competitive football in almost 6 months. Shehu Abdulahi over
Ebuehi? Collins dropped for who? Sadiq over Awoniyi? Onazi? And 10 attackers and wide midfielders as against 4 central midfielders. A typical Nigeria squad.
Ebuehi is currently injured. Etebo has only been playing with the U-23's so its interesting seeing his name on the list, guess it underlines our lack of proper midfield options.
We do not lack options in midfield.

We are just plagued with clueless coaches.

Alhasan Yusuf and Obinna Nwobodo are waiting to be called.

They play week in week out and have good numbers, yet Egu would rather call 10 strikers and have Onazi on standby.

Kai

These clowns are not serious.
I wouldn’t risk too many new faces for such a crucial match. The real issue is why these guys never got a look in over the previous umpteen years with many friendlies so we can have an understanding of who fits in and who can be trusted to do a good job at the NT level, it’s not this kind of game that you will be taking those risks, so you can’t really blame Egu here. He’s working within the confines of the mess he inherited and hasn’t had the opportunity of friendlies to really try and address those issues.
Last edited by maceo4 on Fri Mar 04, 2022 4:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Red card during AFCON.. He will miss both games in Cape coast and Abuja.
Bigpokey24 wrote: Fri Mar 04, 2022 1:47 pm notice no Iwobi
Re: OFFICIAL SQUAD AGAINST GHANA RELEASED

So Chiedozie Awaziem goes into main squad with Troost Ekong reportedly unavailable via injury. Who is likely to captain team on the field?
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Fri Mar 04, 2022 4:32 pm So Chiedozie Awaziem goes into main squad with Troost Ekong reportedly unavailable via injury. Who is likely to captain team on the field?
Where did you get the news?

Enugu II wrote: Fri Mar 04, 2022 4:32 pm So Chiedozie Awaziem goes into main squad with Troost Ekong reportedly unavailable via injury. Who is likely to captain team on the field?
Why was he not included in the first place?
He is your best natural defender

Lolly wrote: Fri Mar 04, 2022 2:55 pm Our coaches must have a special strong drink that causes them to make boneheaded decisions.

Etebo hasn’t played competitive football in almost 6 months. Shehu Abdulahi over
Ebuehi? Collins dropped for who? Sadiq over Awoniyi? Onazi? And 10 attackers and wide midfielders as against 4 central midfielders. A typical Nigeria squad.
Ebuehi is currently injured. Etebo has only been playing with the U-23's so its interesting seeing his name on the list, guess it underlines our lack of proper midfield options.

They play week in week out and have good numbers, yet Egu would rather call 10 strikers and have Onazi on standby.

Kai

So you think it's smart to risk fielding new faces in a cagey affair against Ghana?not saying the likes of Nwobodo, Alhassan etc aren't good players, but this is world cup qualifier where winner takes it all over just two legs, it will be daft to start rookies in such crunch affair. I mean if we qualify then there will be lots of friendly matches before the world cup in December to try out all these new players for goodness sake, it's crazy how you guys allow your emotions get the better of basic cognitive reasoning.

Eguavoen has really put sand sand for piss poor bad agents garri. :rotf:
bret- hart wrote: Fri Mar 04, 2022 2:50 pm Yusuf and Nwadike should have been on the list. mcheweeeeewee

https://www.watfordfc.com/news/injury-u ... oost-ekong

Dammy wrote: Fri Mar 04, 2022 4:38 pm
Where did you get the news?
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

:rotf: E dey vex you. I am sure Otitokoro and donzman are somewhere causing their babalawos out for not being able to make the coaches bend to their agenda.

You are blaming the coaches for not seeing the players through tainted glasses like most people do here. The list is consistent with what many of us that look at the players objectively saw the past few months. 90% of the comments here since the AFCON agree with the Sadiq selection. Only people with agenda saw it otherwise.

maceo4 wrote: Fri Mar 04, 2022 4:22 pm

Kai

I wouldn’t risk too many new faces for such a crucial match. The real issue is why these guys never got a look in over the previous umpteen years with many friendlies so we can have an understanding of who fits in and who can be trusted to do a good job at the NT level, it’s not this kind of game that you will be taking those risks, so you can’t really blame Egu here. He’s working within the confines of the mess he inherited and hasn’t had the opportunity of friendlies to really try and address those issues.
So you can call Onazi ?

Amoo, Lookman, Dennis, are they not new faces ?

Same with Bassey.

The "new face" excuse does not hold.

Egu like Rohr and other SE coaches before them continue to fail woefully when it comes to handling our midfield .

Such disrespect WILL be punished.
The Eagle

Post by The Eagle »

ANC wrote: Fri Mar 04, 2022 4:16 pm
kawawa wrote: Fri Mar 04, 2022 3:40 pm
ANC wrote: Fri Mar 04, 2022 2:55 pm can you all honestly say the Northerners on the team deserve to be on the list?
Why do we always have to resort to this tribal discriminatory argument. Surely the coaches has justification for call ups
you are the one bringing up "tribal discriminatory argument".

There are a lot of suspect players on the list and many of them are "Northerners", FACT
Is he?

Aren't you the one who opened an ethnic-baiting thread during the Nations Cup, where you made clear that your opinion as to whether an Eagles selection was meritocratic depended on the number of Yoruba players invited? Back then you approved of Eguavoen because of what you considered an appropriate number of Yoruba invitees, now you disapprove of him because of what you believe to be unqualified "Northerners".

No, I don't think kawawa is the one whose analysis cannot rise above ethnicity
The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects the wind to change; the realist adjusts his sails.
Don't believe anything until it has been officially denied.
If you are controversial, you will lose some votes. If you are courageous, you will lose the election.

OGENYI FU$%ING ONAZI

SERIOUSLY !!!!!!!!

The Eagle wrote: Fri Mar 04, 2022 5:04 pm
ANC wrote: Fri Mar 04, 2022 2:55 pm can you all honestly say the Northerners on the team deserve to be on the list?
Why do we always have to resort to this tribal discriminatory argument. Surely the coaches has justification for call ups

There are a lot of suspect players on the list and many of them are "Northerners", FACT
Is he?

Aren't you the one who opened an ethnic-baiting thread during the Nations Cup, where you made clear that your opinion as to whether an Eagles selection was meritocratic depended on the number of Yoruba players invited? Back then you approved of Eguavoen because of what you considered an appropriate number of Yoruba invitees, now you disapprove of him because of what you believe to be unqualified "Northerners".

Any talk of ethnic this or that should be ignored. It is total bull crap. It does not deserve any attention. Nothing else to add.

Tobi stop this nonsence new faces talk. Other countries are bringing in reinforcements. Mali with Dacore Congo with Nkunku and Bisakka etc. If Ghana could the likes of Lamptey and CHO would be in their squad today. There is no reason why Yusuf Nwadike Adeleye Nwobodo etc should not be in the squad including the standby list. WTF is Onazi & Abdulahi doing there?

Is he?

People want to see that which they want to see.

bret- hart wrote: Fri Mar 04, 2022 5:10 pm Tobi stop this nonsence new faces talk. Other countries are bringing in reinforcements. Mali with Dacore Congo with Nkunku and Bisakka etc. If Ghana could the likes of Lamptey and CHO would be in their squad today. There is no reason why Yusuf Nwadike Adeleye Nwobodo etc should not be in the squad including the standby list. WTF is Onazi & Abdulahi doing there?
You don't get it, I'm not arguing against the fact that all these guys you listed don't deserve to be invited, but do they really stand out so prominently that they would make any significant difference in that team- especially in the midfield compared to the players we currently have? Nwobodo plays in a position Etebo effectively thrives in, even Bassey who is very versatile can play as a defensive-mid; ditto Ajayi... Yusuf and Nwadike are satellite players who aren't any different from Innocent Bonke (whom I actually prefer over those players) cause he plays in a better league at least... This team remains the best we could have had and I trust Egu/Amunike to handle the business!

I am on record for disapproving the appointment of Eguavoen. Never like him as a player either.
The Eagle

Post by The Eagle »

ANC wrote: Fri Mar 04, 2022 5:14 pm

Is he?

You wrote what you wrote in clear English. There was nothing else to see except what you wrote.
The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects the wind to change; the realist adjusts his sails.
Don't believe anything until it has been officially denied.
If you are controversial, you will lose some votes. If you are courageous, you will lose the election.

The Eagle wrote: Fri Mar 04, 2022 5:24 pm

Is he?

You wrote what you wrote in clear English. There was nothing else to see except what you wrote.
Missouri

The Eagle wrote: Fri Mar 04, 2022 5:24 pm

Is he?

My problem is this needs to stop. Our country has been irrevocably damaged with Igbo this, Yoruba that, or Hausa this. We have forgotten about productivity and have elevated representation. When that becomes part of our sports, Nigerian sports will be DEAD like other sectors. Stop it!!!!!!

This ANC character is very divisive and toxic, is he even Nigerian?

Tobi17 wrote: Fri Mar 04, 2022 11:34 am
...oh boy, the haters hate till kingdom come. Wey dat notorious CE hater :lol: :lol: :lol:

Good list overall. This would have been my changes:

Etebo for Yusuf, Dele-Bashiru, or Onyediaka
Amoo for Ejuke (more experienced)
Musa for Awoniyi