OFFICIAL SQUAD AGAINST GHANA RELEASED

Re: Eguavoen releases SQUAD against Ghana

ANC wrote: Fri Mar 04, 2022 2:55 pm can you all honestly say the Northerners on the team deserve to be on the list?
Considering how Nigeria has been playing lately? Yes. We need all hands on deck as the existing group of players are not delivering. Regarding Musa, he shouldn't be in the team but my speculation is that there is some confusion right now regarding the captain issue. I'm sure they'll keep calling him until we have an official new captain.
Re: OFFICIAL SQUAD AGAINST GHANA RELEASED

This statement implies there are players on the list who don't merit the invitation but are there because of their profile. Who are those players on the list that if selected to play would not be because of merit?

I haven't seen Amoo and Bassey play, but I trust the coaches on their selection given the noise their agents have been making about them here. So as far as I am concerned, any 11 players selected from this team is our best team from this squad.
Cellular wrote: Fri Mar 04, 2022 5:51 pm
Tobi17 wrote: Fri Mar 04, 2022 11:34 am
I hope they all remain healthy.

I also hope that the best team get to play... and not an issue of player profile.
Last edited by 1naija on Sat Mar 05, 2022 12:24 am, edited 1 time in total.

Ogenyi Onazi :shock: :shock: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:!!! Dude has not played for the Super Eagles since 2018 due to poor form and fitness issues. So, what changed? Rohr caused this nonsense when he invited Ighalo. Who's next after this? Mikel Obi? Taye Taiwo? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

The midfield is still thin, are these the best midfielders we have?

You do know that our forwards scored only one real goal and one accidental goal in 4 matches in Cameroon right?
iworo wrote: Sat Mar 05, 2022 12:02 am
Ogenyi Onazi :shock: :shock: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:!!! Dude has not played for the Super Eagles since 2018 due to poor form and fitness issues. So, what changed? Rohr caused this nonsense when he invited Ighalo. Who's next after this? Mikel Obi? Taye Taiwo? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Benedict Iroha wrote: Sat Mar 05, 2022 12:06 am The midfield is still thin, are these the best midfielders we have?
our last 4 coaches do not seem to think midfield is important.
Schillachi

Post by Schillachi »

ANC wrote: Fri Mar 04, 2022 4:16 pm
kawawa wrote: Fri Mar 04, 2022 3:40 pm
ANC wrote: Fri Mar 04, 2022 2:55 pm can you all honestly say the Northerners on the team deserve to be on the list?
Why do we always have to resort to this tribal discriminatory argument. Surely the coaches has justification for call ups
you are the one bringing up "tribal discriminatory argument".

There are a lot of suspect players on the list and many of them are "Northerners", FACT
Were you born a fool or you just acquired unmitigated idiocy your entire life? Silly cretin
NIGERIAN BADBOY!

1naija wrote: Fri Mar 04, 2022 11:33 pm This statement implies there are players on the list who don't merit the invitation but are there because of their profile. Who are those players on the list that if selected to play would not be because of merit?

I haven't seen Amoo and Bassey play, but I trust the coaches on their selection given the noise their agents have been making about them here. So as far as I am concerned, any 11 players selected from this team is our best team from this squad.
Cellular wrote: Fri Mar 04, 2022 5:51 pm
I hope they all remain healthy.

I also hope that the best team get to play... and not an issue of player profile.
Uncle, noooo.

I want to see players start and play if they are the best compliment to their teammates whom they have to work well together.

For example, if Osimhen is healthy and is starting, I will find out from him who he prefers to partner with (should we play 2 up top).

When it comes to play-making, I won't mind seeing Aribo play the number 10 play-making role and have Ndidi partner with someone else in that middle.

Since Ekong is injured, I would want to see who will partner Omeruo... hopefully, it is someone who has the same long ball distributing skills that Ekong used so well to spring Simon on multiple occasions.

Those kinds of considerations are what I meant.

bret- hart wrote: Fri Mar 04, 2022 8:09 pm
Tobi17 wrote: Fri Mar 04, 2022 5:20 pm
bret- hart wrote: Fri Mar 04, 2022 5:10 pm Tobi stop this nonsence new faces talk. Other countries are bringing in reinforcements. Mali with Dacore Congo with Nkunku and Bisakka etc. If Ghana could the likes of Lamptey and CHO would be in their squad today. There is no reason why Yusuf Nwadike Adeleye Nwobodo etc should not be in the squad including the standby list. WTF is Onazi & Abdulahi doing there?
You don't get it, I'm not arguing against the fact that all these guys you listed don't deserve to be invited, but do they really stand out so prominently that they would make any significant difference in that team- especially in the midfield compared to the players we currently have? Nwobodo plays in a position Etebo effectively thrives in, even Bassey who is very versatile can play as a defensive-mid; ditto Ajayi... Yusuf and Nwadike are satellite players who aren't any different from Innocent Bonke (whom I actually prefer over those players) cause he plays in a better league at least... This team remains the best we could have had and I trust Egu/Amunike to handle the business!
You can invite Nwobodo Yusuf and Nwadike and still have Etebo in the squad. I hope you guys know who we are playing agaisnt. Ghana is a midfield heavy team. If they lock up the middle we are screwed. What happens if God forbid Ndidi gets injured?
No mind them.

All these people commenting seem to be absolutely clueless, like our coaches.

If Ndidi gets injured, that's a wrap folks. Get ready to cheer for Ghana in Qatar.

I do not understand the embecilic nature of our coaches and many fans on this site. Clueless.

danfo driver wrote: Sat Mar 05, 2022 1:51 am
Benedict Iroha wrote: Sat Mar 05, 2022 12:06 am The midfield is still thin, are these the best midfielders we have?
our last 4 coaches do not seem to think midfield is important.
I dont know what the problem of all these guys was/is.

Seriously it's football 101.

If things were working as it should, the team of a smaller country like Ghana should be played off the field by Nigeria. Its like Sweden vs Germany, the game should on average be one sided.

danfo driver wrote: Fri Mar 04, 2022 7:30 pm
ANC wrote: Fri Mar 04, 2022 5:22 pm I am on record for disapproving the appointment of Eguavoen. Never like him as a player either.
Yea, i feel you. But just imagine how much Eguavoen will hate you if he knew of your rotten existence.

mcal wrote: Fri Mar 04, 2022 5:49 pm
...if they deserve a seat at ruling Nigeria and being your leader at every federal post they definitely deserve a place on the national football team. Go chew on that.
lol, na joke i dey joke o

oscar52 wrote: Sat Mar 05, 2022 5:42 am If things were working as it should, the team of a smaller country like Ghana should be played off the field by Nigeria. Its like Sweden vs Germany, the game should on average be one sided.
Using your logic, Uruguay should be the whipping boys of world football.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

sabb wrote: Fri Mar 04, 2022 5:43 pm 8 defenders 9 forwards and 4 midfielders wow. Amoo is not a midfielder, more like a forward ala Moses
as usual we ignore midfield and flight balls to strikers until we get found out and confusion starts
all the best to the SE, hoping they find a way to qualify for the big dance
Mixed bag of a squad. Again, it's another lop-sided squad with some fat in need of trimming.

10 forwards is excessive - Amoo is a forward/winger; not a midfielder.

Obviously Musa and Ighalo are past their use by date.

Disappointing not to see Raphael Onyedika or Innocent Bonke in the squad, nor the standby list.

Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25
"The Yeyeman is hardly ever vulgar when dealing with anyone." - Mar 23, '18
"I will take Trump over Clinton but I am in the minority." - Jul 19, '16

© The YeyeMan 2025

Enugu II wrote: Fri Mar 04, 2022 5:52 pm
Sabb.

It is time we call a spade a SPADE. You are really writing about central midfielders and not midfielders in general. Let that be clear. There is a decided difference.

Are there midfielders on that list. Yes. A TON OF THEM are listed. Many are widefielders and for areason because Egu chooses to use the wide areas. Moses Simon is a wide midfielder. Chukwueze is and there are others.

Let that be clear.

Now if you choose to write on CENTRAL midfielders then perhaps you have a debate. But there is none to be had if you are writing about midfielders in general. There are a ton of them listed.
Moses Simon is a forward in the modern game. It'd be passé to consider him a midfielder.

The squad has 4 midfielders. The likes of Musa, Amoo, Chukwueze, Simon are wide forwards.

Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25

© The YeyeMan 2025

Tobi17 wrote: Fri Mar 04, 2022 6:37 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote: Fri Mar 04, 2022 6:26 pm
bret- hart wrote: Fri Mar 04, 2022 5:10 pm Tobi stop this nonsence new faces talk. Other countries are bringing in reinforcements. Mali with Dacore Congo with Nkunku and Bisakka etc. If Ghana could the likes of Lamptey and CHO would be in their squad today. There is no reason why Yusuf Nwadike Adeleye Nwobodo etc should not be in the squad including the standby list. WTF is Onazi & Abdulahi doing there?
Nkunku has agreed to play for Dr Congo? Thats a massive coup
I can't find any info on that anywhere
It's from the same source as your "Tunisian coach works in a kebab shop" story.

Bigpokey24 quote:

© The YeyeMan 2025

ANC wrote: Sat Mar 05, 2022 7:59 am
mcal wrote: Fri Mar 04, 2022 5:49 pm
...if they deserve a seat at ruling Nigeria and being your leader at every federal post they definitely deserve a place on the national football team. Go chew on that.
lol, na joke i dey joke o
...na expensive and very misconstrued joke.
A passive reader may not get it like that.

The YeyeMan wrote: Sat Mar 05, 2022 4:31 pm
Sabb.

It is time we call a spade a SPADE. You are really writing about central midfielders and not midfielders in general. Let that be clear. There is a decided difference.

Are there midfielders on that list. Yes. A TON OF THEM are listed. Many are widefielders and for areason because Egu chooses to use the wide areas. Moses Simon is a wide midfielder. Chukwueze is and there are others.

Let that be clear.

Now if you choose to write on CENTRAL midfielders then perhaps you have a debate. But there is none to be had if you are writing about midfielders in general. There are a ton of them listed.
Moses Simon is a forward in the modern game. It'd be passé to consider him a midfielder.

The squad has 4 midfielders. The likes of Musa, Amoo, Chukwueze, Simon are wide forwards.
5 with Shehu…

Anyone know why Ndah is not in the squad?
I thought Egu was very keen on him and he had a fairly good AFCON.

Damunk wrote: Sat Mar 05, 2022 8:22 pm Anyone know why Ndah is not in the squad?
I thought Egu was very keen on him and he had a fairly good AFCON.
Your last sentence is puzzling lol, he played like 15 or so minutes all tournament…Balogun is back along with Bassey’s inclusion, I don’t see the need for Ndah…

maceo4 wrote: Sat Mar 05, 2022 8:02 pm
The YeyeMan wrote: Sat Mar 05, 2022 4:31 pm
Sabb.

Let that be clear.

5 with Shehu…
Four.

Shehu is a back up to Aina.

Four specialist midfielders.

Bigpokey24 quote:

© The YeyeMan 2025