Nigeria vs Ecuador 0:1 FT

Re: Nigeria vs Ecuador 0:1

Ugbowo wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 2:32 am Awaziem, Sani and Moffi have been shockingly bad!

Iwobi and Aribo are enjoying playing with each other in the middle. Iwobi's performance has been amazing. We really missed him against Ghana. Dessers and Moffi have both been fed superbly by him and he will again in the second half.

We have to see Aina and Dennis now.
Can't argue with your observations.

Goalgetter

Post by Goalgetter »

Easy to see that Nigeria are well-coached now. Peseiro if given time will take Naija far.
Are you saying that things you do not know, do not exist, just because you do not know that they exist?
sabb

Post by sabb »

Sunset wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 2:20 am
txj wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 2:18 am The Sani Faisal in DM does not have a clue what his role and positioning should be
That tends to happen when you're a LB being asked to play in a very unfamiliar role
LB playing right wing and he's supposed to play DM, thot we playing 442.

Anyway I think we need to go to 433 cos Moffi looks lost and his position will be useful in midfield, cmon SE let's go
To d Super Eagles - there's no limit to wot can be accomplished when nobody cares who gets the credit (ucb)
speech is ma hammer bang d world into shape - mos def
A win is a win, whether u win by an inch or by a mile - Dominic Toretto
life without knowledge is death in disguise - talib kweli

Watching the highlights their keeper made some point black saves.

Re: Nigeria vs Ecuador 8:30pm EST/!:30 am

Cellular wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 2:30 am
vancity eagle wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 2:27 am
Cellular wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 2:09 am
Who is number 20? :roll:
Do you understand the basics of football?

The guy who scored was a LEFT BACK.

Who marks the leftback ?

Right wing, which is the homebased guy. Even the commentators were going off about it.
You are an insincere fella with an agenda.

They are showing the replay over and over and over again...

Who was marking the dude?

Who is wearing jersey number 20?

I hate watching games with people who have an agenda... :veryangry:
Are u seriously this dumb ?

It doesn't matter if Awaziem was next to him, it was Faisals man to mark and he was nowhere to be found.
Awaziem at RB is not responsible for their LB, that is the right wingers (Faisal) job.

Like I said the commentators were going on about his inexperience for like 5 minutes. It was FAISALS fault.

Ecuador dominated the first 20 minutes and a defensive lapse on the free kick led to the goal. The SE were better in the last 25 minutes. The Ecuador goalie made 2 good saves to keep the score at 1-0.

Iwobi is looking like a player reborn. He's everywhere. Dropping deep to help the defense and making thru passes. Bassey and Simon are playing well on the left, but Simon needs to make decisions quicker. Awazeim has been ok, but you can tell he's not a natural RB tho he's played there many times.

Overall I like the fact we are trying to build from the back. We need to maintain possession and create more chances.

Goalgetter wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 2:35 am Easy to see that Nigeria are well-coached now. Peseiro if given time will take Naija far.
Hmm, what did you see, bro? What made you say so?

Has Moses Simon ever scored a freekick for Nigeria? Why does he keep taking our freekicks at the most dangerous spots? Can someone just stop that?

"My friends - "We need to really reassess the way we trash our national team, derogate some players and disrespect the people that run our football. Let the brand new Super Eagles become our new Brand of national pride.. The unifying identity for all.. Bar none!" - CE's The Great Seloweizer (6/24/13)

Enugu II wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 2:29 am In my view, Iwobi is head and shoulders above any SE. Others doing well are Simon, Bassey, Faisal, Aribo.

Seriously?

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

txj wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 2:18 am The Sani Faisal in DM does not have a clue what his role and positioning should be
Dude, you're sounding like the one who does not have clue... :oops:
Sani Faisal is NOT playing in DM, he's reprising the same role(s) he played in the 2H of the Mexico game.

Cellular wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 2:36 am Watching the highlights their keeper made some point black saves.
:clap: :clap:
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

vancity eagle wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 2:36 am

Who marks the leftback ?

Right wing, which is the homebased guy. Even the commentators were going off about it.

It doesn't matter if Awaziem was next to him, it was Faisals man to mark and he was nowhere to be found.
Awaziem at RB is not responsible for their LB, that is the right wingers (Faisal) job.

Like I said the commentators were going on about his inexperience for like 5 minutes. It was FAISALS fault.

He's responsible for defending the far post in a corner kick in a zonal setup, which is what we are doing.

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Odas wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 2:37 am
Goalgetter wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 2:35 am Easy to see that Nigeria are well-coached now. Peseiro if given time will take Naija far.
Hmm, what did you see, bro? What made you say so?
...abi o! Nigerians "time" is shortsighted, make him lose one to African minnow or draw, na im be say him don come :lol:

Gotti wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 2:38 am
Sani Faisal is NOT playing in DM, he's reprising the same role(s) he played in the 2H of the Mexico game.
Yes. Which makes him at fault for the goal and not Awaziem like a bunch of know nothings on this forum are trying to claim.

Team playing well generally...
Unfortunate to have gone behind relatively early, but now in control.

Who marks the leftback ?

VE, do you have to say such? Why don't you debate without using such words?
lacidi

Post by lacidi »

Please is Faisal playing right wing (as per Vancity) or defensive midfield (as per TXJ)?
Its nice when someone shoots ur murderer in the back, without asking to be paid.

Gotti wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 2:38 am

He is the DM in the diamond MF that we are playing.

We are not traditionally a pressing team but I think that's something we need to do more of. Moffi needs to be more mobile and press a bit like Dessers. I don't think the two are the best fit. It'sonly their second game together tho. Could see Dennis coming in to replace Moffi.

txj wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 2:38 am
Enugu II wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 2:29 am In my view, Iwobi is head and shoulders above any SE. Others doing well are Simon, Bassey, Faisal, Aribo.

Seriously?
Seriously. Although he faded late but did good work on the right before the game went late.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

txj wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 2:39 am

Who marks the leftback ?

He's responsible for defending the far post in a corner kick in a zonal setup, which is what we are doing.
Both him and Faisal were ball watching.

The guy who scored is Faisals man to mark. You are now using zonal excuse.

They are BOTH at fault, and we're both ball watching.

Gotti wrote: Fri Jun 03, 2022 2:40 am Team playing well generally...
Unfortunate to have gone behind relatively early, but now in control.
Ecuador has been lucky the score is NOT 1-1 yet. If it continues like this, we will equalize, but it's football and the worst can happen to us still.
sabb

Post by sabb »

Who marks the leftback ?

l think it was a lack of communication from the entire defense, it was a set piece and defense was supposed to communicate and watch the free men for runners instead there was nobody watching the back post and the attacker exploited the hole, Uzoho, Faizal and Awaziem were just admiring the flight of the ball but we move
To d Super Eagles - there's no limit to wot can be accomplished when nobody cares who gets the credit (ucb)
speech is ma hammer bang d world into shape - mos def
A win is a win, whether u win by an inch or by a mile - Dominic Toretto
life without knowledge is death in disguise - talib kweli