Botswana vs Nigeria (0-2)

Re: Botswana vs Nigeria (0-2)

iworo wrote: Fri Jul 08, 2022 4:26 am I honestly don’t think that we made the right decision with the appointment of this coach. It feels to me like he’s trying to fit square pegs in to round holes to get the best players on the pitch by playing players out of their natural position. It looks as if he doesnt trust a lot of our home based players. We have a lot of good players in this team, but this coach is all about fielding big name players instead of form.
I was thinking the same. God I hope we are wrong!
Oguleftie

Post by Oguleftie »

jette1 wrote: Thu Jul 07, 2022 11:38 pm Ordega doesn’t deserve woman of the match when onumonu and Ayinde with that beautiful pass that created the first goal are there
Welcome to the land of popularity.

And a land where average is called world class.
Oguleftie

Post by Oguleftie »

packerland wrote: Fri Jul 08, 2022 4:40 am
iworo wrote: Fri Jul 08, 2022 4:26 am I honestly don’t think that we made the right decision with the appointment of this coach. It feels to me like he’s trying to fit square pegs in to round holes to get the best players on the pitch by playing players out of their natural position. It looks as if he doesnt trust a lot of our home based players. We have a lot of good players in this team, but this coach is all about fielding big name players instead of form.
You mean you did not know who he was before he was appointed as coach.

Knowing him for years before the pandemic you will not like to hear what I will say.

Is the player of the match award based on a couple of plays in a game or overall performance in a game?
Oguleftie wrote: Fri Jul 08, 2022 5:28 am
jette1 wrote: Thu Jul 07, 2022 11:38 pm Ordega doesn’t deserve woman of the match when onumonu and Ayinde with that beautiful pass that created the first goal are there

That was Ordega’s best match in years. She controlled the game and was the most reliable link from offence to attack.

Ajigbade was her usual aggressive self but end product was lacking. Ayinde has some good passes too.

I actually would have picked T Payne but I do think Francesca deserved the award.

So who made the decision on WOTM?
Francesca’s boyfriends?
Move on. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Cito wrote: Fri Jul 08, 2022 4:04 am
Bigpokey24 wrote: Fri Jul 08, 2022 2:48 am
packerland wrote: Fri Jul 08, 2022 2:44 am
Ugbowo wrote: Fri Jul 08, 2022 1:17 am
Enugu II wrote: Fri Jul 08, 2022 12:58 am Maybe I am expecting much better from this team. I am just not feeling IT, to be honest. Sure they may get to the final four but the expectation is to win it all and right now I will be surprised if they do.
I do not expect them to emerge as Champions.
At this point I’ll take WC qualification first. By the time the WC comes, the coach will maybe stop playing some of the players out of position or we get a new coach. I won’t shed tears if we don’t win this cup. We got like 9 in the cabinet already.
This is the 12th WAFCON. They won 9 with Equatorial Guinea winning the other 2.
Learn to research . I expect you to vanish from this thread
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Africa_ ... of_Nations
The Women's Africa Cup of Nations, also called TotalEnergies Women’s Africa Cup of Nations for sponsoring reason, abbreviated to WAFCON is an international women's football competition held every two years and sanctioned by the Confederation of African Football (CAF). It was first contested in 1991, but was not held biennially until 1998. Nigeria is the most successful nation in the tournament's history, having won a record 11 titles, meaning they have won all but two of the previous tournaments. The two tournaments not won by Nigeria were both won by Equatorial Guinea. For both those times, Equatorial Guinea hosted the competition. Ghana hosted the tournament in 2018.[1]

Bigpokey24 wrote: Fri Jul 08, 2022 11:26 am
Cito wrote: Fri Jul 08, 2022 4:04 am
Bigpokey24 wrote: Fri Jul 08, 2022 2:48 am
packerland wrote: Fri Jul 08, 2022 2:44 am
Enugu II wrote: Fri Jul 08, 2022 12:58 am Maybe I am expecting much better from this team. I am just not feeling IT, to be honest. Sure they may get to the final four but the expectation is to win it all and right now I will be surprised if they do.
At this point I’ll take WC qualification first. By the time the WC comes, the coach will maybe stop playing some of the players out of position or we get a new coach. I won’t shed tears if we don’t win this cup. We got like 9 in the cabinet already.
This is the 12th WAFCON. They won 9 with Equatorial Guinea winning the other 2.
Learn to research . I expect you to vanish from this thread
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Africa_ ... of_Nations
The Women's Africa Cup of Nations, also called TotalEnergies Women’s Africa Cup of Nations for sponsoring reason, abbreviated to WAFCON is an international women's football competition held every two years and sanctioned by the Confederation of African Football (CAF). It was first contested in 1991, but was not held biennially until 1998. Nigeria is the most successful nation in the tournament's history, having won a record 11 titles, meaning they have won all but two of the previous tournaments. The two tournaments not won by Nigeria were both won by Equatorial Guinea. For both those times, Equatorial Guinea hosted the competition. Ghana hosted the tournament in 2018.[1]
OK. Thanks for the correction. My info was wrong.

Gotti wrote: Thu Jul 07, 2022 11:04 pm CONGRATS LADIES! UNA DO WELL TODAY... :clap:

Let's respect all our opponents, but realistically the next game against Burundi should be another confidence booster. We win that handily and then get into the business end of the tournament. Once there, one more win and we achieve the PRIMARY goal of WC qualification. Once that hurdle is crossed and the associated stress ameliorated, it's hell to leather.
+1

I like peaking at the right time...

Not doing the AFCON type playing your best game early and then going downhill from there.

I still think the coach is yet to find his optimal lineup and formation. I will like to see our midfielders show for ball in our own half and not seem like they are hiding from the ball...

lacidi wrote: Thu Jul 07, 2022 11:07 pm
Enugu II wrote: Thu Jul 07, 2022 10:53 pm
Odas wrote: Thu Jul 07, 2022 10:50 pm We need more improvements, though. We should have scored our third goal there, I think.
This team is not just it. The team needs serious improvement in a couple of games or kiss this championship good bye.
Well I don't think others teams are better with the performance today. SA also stunk up the joint against Burundi.
Which match did you watch? SA dominated and could have scored at least 6-8 goals easily had they been more clinical against the Burundians.

It is too early to call...

They will get better... but the team play is improving. At least they have ditched the "pump the ball to Oshola" since there's no Oshola there.

Oguleftie wrote: Fri Jul 08, 2022 5:33 am
packerland wrote: Fri Jul 08, 2022 4:40 am
You mean you did not know who he was before he was appointed as coach.

Knowing him for years before the pandemic you will not like to hear what I will say.
I knew he coached an NWSL team. I don’t know everything about him. Falcons don’t play enough friendlies for me to fully know his ways. So, please do share.

Damunk wrote: Fri Jul 08, 2022 8:16 am

Francesca’s boyfriends?
...that pick baffled me too. May be something was going on on the pitch like talking and calming fellow players as the elder stateswoman she is. I think the subs did make some difference.

God I wish we are in Concacaf for both men and women! USA beat Haiti and Jamaica and they have already qualified for the World Cup.

Damunk wrote: Fri Jul 08, 2022 8:16 am

Francesca’s boyfriends?
:laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

packerland wrote: Fri Jul 08, 2022 4:53 pm God I wish we are in Concacaf for both men and women! USA beat Haiti and Jamaica and they have already qualified for the World Cup.
...with the kind of poor administration you have today in the NFA don't bet on winning at CONCACAF. Nigeria's football problem begins with the ogas at the top before you get to coaches and players.
chopachop

Post by chopachop »

Odas wrote: Thu Jul 07, 2022 10:13 pm The commentators are saying we are much better in this game than we showed against South Africa (SA). If so, it means we sucked against the SAs
There is a saying that Water finds its level.
chopachop

Post by chopachop »

Adisboy wrote: Thu Jul 07, 2022 11:45 pm
Odas wrote: Thu Jul 07, 2022 10:50 pm We need more improvements, though. We should have scored our third goal there, I think.
This team is not just it. The team needs serious improvement in a couple of games or kiss this championship good bye.
Prof, have you actually been watching the tournament? This most domination of a team by another since this championship began & trust me Botswana are no mugs. We totally dominated especially in the 2nd half. Tactically, Africa women's game has tremendously improved.
Talking of tactically. The women's Euro is taking place, watch it and then talk of tactics.
You think Africa women's game has improved tremendously but the Euro Women's game has
improved astronomically. countries like Japan. S.Korea and China continue to be tactically
very good. I see it differently. the big guns in women's soccer in Africa like Nigeria and Cameroon have
regressed big time while the countries newly embracing women's soccer are improving and closing the
gap. Considering the number of times the falcons have won the Wafcon, the falcons should be aspiring to
to play the semis or finals of the WC and that is what should be asked of them. Even, Japan has won the
world cup. Nothing wrong having higher goals.
chopachop

Post by chopachop »

packerland wrote: Fri Jul 08, 2022 4:53 pm God I wish we are in Concacaf for both men and women! USA beat Haiti and Jamaica and they have already qualified for the World Cup.
Have you bothered to check the number of times the U.S has won the women's WC and Olympics ? I can assure you
the falcons won't make it to the finals playing in the concacaf something they are assured of in almost every Wafcon.

chopachop wrote: Sat Jul 09, 2022 2:30 am
Have you bothered to check the number of times the U.S has won the women's WC and Olympics ? I can assure you
the falcons won't make it to the finals playing in the concacaf something they are assured of in almost every Wafcon.
You missed my point. I’m talking about how easy it is for them to qualify for the World Cup. They just beat Jamaica and Haiti and they already booked a place in the upcoming World Cup. As for their men, they only have to deal with Mexico & the new Canada and they will book 1 of 4 spots available for concacaf.

chopachop wrote: Sat Jul 09, 2022 2:18 am
Prof, have you actually been watching the tournament? This most domination of a team by another since this championship began & trust me Botswana are no mugs. We totally dominated especially in the 2nd half. Tactically, Africa women's game has tremendously improved.
Talking of tactically. The women's Euro is taking place, watch it and then talk of tactics.
You think Africa women's game has improved tremendously but the Euro Women's game has
improved astronomically. countries like Japan. S.Korea and China continue to be tactically
very good. I see it differently. the big guns in women's soccer in Africa like Nigeria and Cameroon have
regressed big time while the countries newly embracing women's soccer are improving and closing the
gap. Considering the number of times the falcons have won the Wafcon, the falcons should be aspiring to
to play the semis or finals of the WC and that is what should be asked of them. Even, Japan has won the
KPOM. This is actually what I believe as well. One is making gradual improvement and the other is making astronomical improvement.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Japan vs Nigeria oct 6

chopachop wrote: Sat Jul 09, 2022 2:18 am
would you like me to tell you how much money is spent in women football in Asia, Europe and the US? maybe that will give you an idea. How much competition is in Africa? one country has won 12 of the 14 championships. You think women football in Europe go to where it is over night.. you have CAF doing some pathetic qualifiers via regions. football will never grow with regional qualifiers