Seyi Olajengbesi - GT asks for opinions

General Trousers
Seyi Olajengbesi - GT asks for opinions

Post by General Trousers »

Can someone please provide a complete treatment on Seyi Olajengbesi. He is a Bundesliga player said to be worth his salt ... yet what is his SE record. How as a defender does he compare to the SE starters?
kongi the emir

Post by kongi the emir »

Seyi is a good player and has being rather unlucky with injuries. To me he is about the same as Joe but faster. Played well at the unity cup with joe but was unlucky to pick up an injury. Upon his return his team was chopping so many goals he would had being better off not returning. Good in the air and a decent man marker. He is still way better than any of the so called naija defenders in England except Yobo. Simply put he is 2ice as good as Shittu and 5 times as good Sam sodje
monkeypost

Post by monkeypost »

IMHO. I think he is better than all of them including Yobo and this is coming from someone who knows his football very well. if a good manager claps his eyes on him barring injuries he will tie down that position for years and if he plays for Nigeria at any world cup he will be heralded as one of the best ever seen, yes he is that good. there is something scientific about his play, he reads the game so well and all in a twinkle of an eye.
If you give me Cole and I give you Gallas, surely, SURELY, you owe me money? waka man on the Cole Gallas transfer saga
Re: Seyi Olajengbesi - GT asks for opinions

General Trousers wrote:Can someone please provide a complete treatment on Seyi Olajengbesi. He is a Bundesliga player said to be worth his salt ... yet what is his SE record. How as a defender does he compare to the SE starters?
If the boy is fit and playing for a top club he would be the best naija defender and I have Joe E and Joe Y play
megapro

Post by megapro »

seyi capped a seriously injury early last season. before that,

he was the best defender in the bundesliga. wk 1 - wk 4 (sportsbild/kicker datenbank)

He had the seventh best playing coefficient in the entire bundesliga. wk 1 - wk 4(sportsbild/kicker datenbank)

after his return, the team had fallen apart and his level was as mediocre as his mates.

would be a shame if he actually plays in the 2nd division next mont.

regarding the SE, he is the best man marker and his height gives him advantage over the others. He should be the ideal stopper.

Good squad player. We do not have a stand-out Central defender but with Yobo, Enakharhire, Olajegbensi, Nwaneri, Shittu we have a good core that can form a solid unit.

For someone who claims to know about almost every Nigerian player in plying their trades outside Nigeria, it does seem rather odd that you would not know anything about Seyi Olajengbesi, doesn't it?

(Thread Reference: GT Revises His 23 Man WC Selection)
General Trousers wrote: I have studied almost every single Nigerian player who is playing professionally today, and I here are my thoughts on Nigeria’s 23 man selection.
General Trousers wrote:Can someone please provide a complete treatment on Seyi Olajengbesi. He is a Bundesliga player said to be worth his salt ... yet what is his SE record. How as a defender does he compare to the SE starters?
ojafranpa

Post by ojafranpa »

Monkey Post,Well said about Seyi he is one guy that reads the game very well,i believe the injury has done a lot of havoc to his playing career and that would be his first major injury,the last time we spoke he said watch out for next season and i believe he is pursuing a transfer.
General Trousers

No it is not odd. Seyi Olajengbesi and Adebowale Ogungbure are two players that I have not tracked thoroughly. I did preface the sentence with "ALMOST".

Nonetheless these two players seem to be SOLID claimants to a defensive shirt and deserve some more examination ...
Otitokoro wrote:For someone who claims to know about almost every Nigerian player in plying their trades outside Nigeria, it does seem rather odd that you would not know anything about Seyi Olajengbesi, doesn't it?

General Trousers wrote: I have studied almost every single Nigerian player who is playing professionally today, and I here are my thoughts on Nigeria’s 23 man selection.

At a time on this forum, we could not hear word enough about Ogunbure. Does the NFA still having a beef with him or has his stocks gone so bad that he does not fit into SE plans at all?

What's up with that?
General Trousers wrote:No it is not odd. Seyi Olajengbesi and Adebowale Ogungbure are two players that I have not tracked thoroughly. I did preface the sentence with "ALMOST".

Nonetheless these two players seem to be SOLID claimants to a defensive shirt and deserve some more examination ...
Otitokoro wrote:For someone who claims to know about almost every Nigerian player in plying their trades outside Nigeria, it does seem rather odd that you would not know anything about Seyi Olajengbesi, doesn't it?

General Trousers

The NFA really did a number on Omoefe and Ogungbure ... it was very bad ...
balo wrote:At a time on this forum, we could not hear word enough about Ogunbure. Does the NFA still having a beef with him or has his stocks gone so bad that he does not fit into SE plans at all?

What's up with that?
General Trousers wrote:No it is not odd. Seyi Olajengbesi and Adebowale Ogungbure are two players that I have not tracked thoroughly. I did preface the sentence with "ALMOST".

Akure4Life

Post by Akure4Life »

If not for Seyi Olajengbesi and Kalu, Nigeria would have not gone to the last ANC.
Akure4Life

Ojota is my hood.
General Trousers

This is why we need to have a long list of regularly capped players.
Dog Bruno

Post by Dog Bruno »

If..........

Abeg make we hear about players wey no get a lot of "if", surrounding dem.
You are Your Own Dog
General Trousers

The onus is on these players to make a case for themselves. They have one year. Kalu had a poor outing with Bordeaux and Seyi has had some injuries ... 05/06 will reveal much.
Dog Bruno wrote:If..........

Abeg make we hear about players wey no get a lot of "if", surrounding dem.
Martin

Post by Martin »

I think Olajengbesi is an excellent defender. I agree with the praise for his reading of the game and he's also quite good in the air. Hopefully he can completely recover from his knee injury and return to his pre-injury form.

As for Ogungbure, he looked like a good defensive midfield prospect 2 years ago but his fortunes have gone downhill since and at the end of this past season his contract ended at Energie Cottbus and they were not interested in re-signing him so he is a free agent looking for a club now.